Striking A Pose PDF Print
Tuesday, 25 November 2008 09:12
THE recent ruling by the National Fatwa Council on yoga has resulted in a range of responses, from dismay to unqualified and devoted acceptance. I must admit to bewilderment in part because of all the pressing issues that confront Muslims in this country, many of which directly pertain to matters of social justice, yoga was one of the least expected amongst those that demanded urgency. It would have been useful for the Council to have directed its mind and resources to matters of faith that complement efforts aimed at the nurturing of an inclusive, just and compassionate society.

That being said, a ruling has been made. I say ruling because until and unless the ruling is endorsed by the fatwa committees of the various states and the Federal Territories and then gazetted (published in the official government journal), the ruling is not a fatwa.

The administration of Islam is a matter that falls within the exclusive purview of the state under the Federal Constitution and, as such, where fatwas are concerned within the sole domain of the state fatwa committee. In this context the National Fatwa Council allows for policy consultation at a federal level to facilitate a more unified vision of the practice of Islam, each state being legally entitled to pursue its own vision.

READ MORE HERE: http://malikimtiaz.blogspot.com/

written by ssathia, November 25, 2008 09:36:59
Yoga has been there for more than 5,000 years tested and re-tested millions of times and has found firm way into modern medicine. It is space age science.
Islam came in only 1,400 years ago, and the propounders of Islam would have definitely known about Yoga which was also already in practice by then in Egypt, Arabia, Iraq and Iran. Yet, niether the Prophet nor the Quran declard Yoga haram as they have done so on many matters.
Since our National Fatwa Council chose to ban something that neither the Prophet nor the Quran chose to, what must be their underlying motive or objective?
written by ssathia, November 25, 2008 10:17:23
Are the principles of Hindu “Advaita Vedanta” (an older religion) any different from the tawhîd (doctrine of oneness) of Islam ( a later religion) and al-a‘yân al-thâbitah?

What is the difference between Prophet Muhammad's night-time ascent to Heaven, al-Mi‘râj on al-Burâq, riding a beast with the head of a woman, through the seven heavens to the Throne of God and the yogic concept of kuNDalinî, a feminine power (sakti) that dwells at the base of the spine and ascends through seven levels (represented by the seven cakras) to the summit of liberation (brahmarandhra)?

What is the difference between the asanas of Yoga and the salât of Islam? Qiyâm, rukû‘, sujûd, jalsah?

“In historical time, Muslims did consciously borrow from yoga and acknowledged the source. The traveling scholar Abu Rayhan al-Biruni (11th century) translated the Yoga Sutra of Patanjali into Arabic. Shah Muhammad Ghaus of Gwalior (16th century), a leader of the Shattârîyah order of Sufis, incorporated yoga practices into his teaching, based on the yogic text AmrtakuNDa. Yoga even reached as far as North Africa, where al-Sanusi (19th century) wrote of the yoga âsanas (jalsah); he referred to yoga in Arabic as "al-Jûjîyah". However, the congruences between yoga and Islam that I noted above are not historical borrowings, but derive from the primordial beginnings of the traditions.” ( By a Muslim Scholar)

written by whlau, November 25, 2008 10:18:31
I say, leave them alone and let them (Fatwa Council and the Muslim community) do what they want and like, as long as they don't encroach on other people's beliefs and right of religion as enshrined in our constitution.

If they think certain things or practices can erode their faith in their religion, let them do whatever they like. All I can say is to each his own. Its their followers who have the say as to want to obey or not. Afterall, only they themselves (and Allah) know how strong their faiths are without others telling them what they can or cannot do.
written by harryo, November 25, 2008 10:32:08
ssathia, you have raised a researched findings. Would you please share with us or tell us where to find these literature. Thanks again.
written by NSTPravda, November 25, 2008 10:56:00
So what if Yoga has been practiced for 5000 years
'Tis the wavering faith of UMNO muslims that we fear
Corruptions, murders and power abuse are not important
Practicing infidel Yoga is much much more abhorrent

We need all the fatwas we can proclaim
Yoga can make our UMNO muslims insane
To hell the collapsing global economy
Banning kafir yoga should be our first priority!

Some may say that our nation is in a mess
But if we don’t ban yoga we will not progress
Yes practicing yoga bend you faith and ruin your day
Haramkan yoga! Everything in the universe will be semua-nya OK!

smilies/cry.gif
written by Kaneeneh, November 25, 2008 10:59:44
San Francisco Chronicle carries a 1/3 page on this news. It is a reflection of our backwardness, a crying shame that a few old men dictate what we can and cannot do. MALU, MALU.
written by ssathia, November 25, 2008 11:54:28
Since Yoga is considered haram by National Fatwa Council because it is a Hindu practice, how about making declarations on other Hindu practices and beliefs, that are found among Muslims today such as the following:
1.Believe in one God (source: Rig Veda, the oldest available text on Hinduism)
2.God can be formless.
3.Pray five times a day. Hindus call it pancamahayagna.
4.Circumambulation in holy places such as Kaba.
5.Use of crescent moon as an Islamic symbol: it happens to be an emblem of Lord Shiva
6.Going for holy pilgrimage to holy cities
7.Males shaving their head and wearing white cloth when conducting pilgrimage. Just go to Batu Caves to see evidence.
Just to name a few.
written by 2edgedsword, November 25, 2008 11:57:44
The root cause now is not Yoga. If it is, then there will also be problems with Wushu, Shaolin martial arts, etc. Graduates in Theology are not marketable. There are too many of them. So the government has to create jobs for them. Once in positions of power, these officials will major in trivialities to justify their positions. It is the same when the top post is reserved for a certain race despite the lack of qualifications. Such a boss will be a tyrant and specialise in witch-hunting to justify his position, making life difficult for all his subordinates.
The first degree a person should obtain is one that can provide gainful employment. Once the person can take care of himself without crutches, he can then seek further enlightenment with religious studies as a second degree. In this way, citizens will be confident and hold their head high and will be less of a nuisance to society.
written by DontPlayGod, November 25, 2008 13:09:02
PAS Nik Aziz was reported in the papers to have said that fatwas are from God and it is sinful to disobey God. So what else is there to debate or discuss about? Just follow lah God's laws(as enacted by men playing God).
written by michael chick, November 25, 2008 13:39:03
Dear ssathia, ****** "Hindu Kaaba", and you will find all that you just listed above.
written by Eskay Lim, November 25, 2008 13:54:15
"Doing Yoga should be avoided by Muslims because doing such things could lead to another"... says Datuk.... from the NFC.

Maybe Datuk should come out with another fatwa that Muslims should not join Umno politics with the same reasoning that they could get involved in money-politics and later on to corruption and other corrupt practices that had been rampantly reported recently, which we believe are against religious teachings.
written by tino_chan1988, November 25, 2008 15:21:43
U-N-B-E-L-I-E-V-A-B-L-E!

I am very sure there are about a 1,001 more urgent matters to attend to than fatwah the practices of yoga. Go clean up all the dirty politics and politicians and rid of all the corruption and illegal practices instead of this incredibly insignificant issue.

written by gtl, November 25, 2008 17:08:29
why no fatwa on money politics, corruptions, rempit, incest and other bigger issues?
did any muslim convert to hinduism due to yoga?
written by crayon, November 25, 2008 17:19:36
it saddens me to see how JAKIM is messing with Islam, and the Malaysian Muslims in general. They are always creating new rules and regulations. Islam is being portrayed by JAKIM as if it is a narrow-minded religion of sorts, banning this, banning that, and all these regulations and rules created by JAKIM makes it appears as if Islam is trying to control what Malaysian Muslims can or cannot do. If this goes on without control, it will only deter Malaysians from accepting Islam, because honestly, who likes to be controlled and told what he/she can or cannot do all the time??? This is getting ridiculous. I think if we wanna be a Muslim, dont do it in Malaysia because JAKIM will screw you over.