Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Police practising selective persecution, says Malaysian Bar

Police practising selective persecution, says Malaysian Bar PDF Print
Tuesday, 25 November 2008 08:43

By Elizabeth Looi, The Nut Graph

The police acted unjustly when they detained one group for illegally gathering in public but did not arrest another, said the Malaysian Bar.

Bar president Datuk Ambiga Sreenevasan said both groups were exercising their right to freedom of assembly as enshrined in the Federal Constitution.

One assembly was held to protest against the Internal Security Act (ISA), while the other, which apparently marched from Wisma Sejarah to the Tun Razak police station in Kuala Lumpur, was to support the act.

"However, only one group was targeted, namely the anti-ISA group. We are alarmed that nine people from the group were arrested.

"The use of police force against only one group is selected persecution," Ambiga said in a statement.

She was commenting on the arrests of nine people at the gathering of the Abolish ISA Coalition (GMI) on 23 Nov in Ampang. Among those arrested included PAS vice-president Mohammad Sabu.

Ambiga called on the authorities to even-handedly protect and uphold the rights of all citizens to assemble peacefully to express their opinions.

DAP Member of Parliament for Klang Charles Santiago also said the police had practised double standards when they stood guard for the 500 people who demonstrated on 23 Nov to support the use of the ISA.

"While the police are quick to arrest opposition politicians, human rights workers, and members of the civil society [who take part in demonstrations], they act as protectors during street protests organised by ruling parties and groups which support the government.

"This is blatant double standard," he said in a statement.

Santiago added that the arrests reflect the highhandedness of the police force, abuse of power, and non-tolerance of dissent by the government.

He also called on the police to stop attacking members of the media as he was told that they were shoved and shouted at during the ISA gathering in Ampang.

written by Wahyu, November 25, 2008 09:02:12
Ini standardlah Polis kita ni, ahli-ahli media seharusnya rakam sebarang kekerasan/ kekasaran polis dan upload ke youtube.
Supaya kita semua boleh lihat.
written by Bigjoe99, November 25, 2008 09:04:37
BUT double standard is NATIONAL policy AND according to them, its in the constitution!!! Why, because 'they know what is right' you know like god...
written by Tompios, November 25, 2008 09:07:44
MALULAH! Ini PDRM membawa nama DIRAJA/SULTAN Malaysia menganiaya rakyat jelata RAJA. Ingat wahai POLICE. Anda dari rakyat, oleh rakyat dan BAGI rakyat. Harus ADIL. Bukan selective order for RAKYAT Malaysia yang berhak dalam demokrasi.
written by astina, November 25, 2008 09:11:35
there u have it ...the dame has spoken ...
So Madame Ambiguous wats your stand on this and wat will your band of melody makers do next ?

another march perhaps ?? smilies/wink.gif
written by AngryTaxpayer, November 25, 2008 09:13:44
Maybe bcos the rallies held by non-UMNO gathers more supporters (to the hundreds and thousands, mind you), while UMNO's rallies have, like, 25 folks (who are most likely paid or blackmailed to attend)........so someone's obviously JEALOUS, lor smilies/tongue.gif
written by oct, November 25, 2008 09:23:20
It has been very clear all the while that if your demo is from BN group you are protected and not even harassed (don't talk about arrested at all). No Police around. Even if they are around you are protected from other groups. However, if you are the opposition, PDRM is everywhere. All of a sudden you will see them every corner of the street where the demo is carried out. Looks like PDRM has no urgent matters to attend to.

When we change the Govt, please make sure to change the OCPD of the Police as they are AMNO goons. They don't have integrity and fair play. A bunch of monkeys who knows how to bully the innocent!!
written by eskay, November 25, 2008 09:38:52
PDRM have been practising this double-standard, time & again,and so baldly, as if all rakyat are deaf, dumb or even dead, not knowing what they are up too, so disgusting & shameful to have such police force in our country !!! Sooooooo disgusting !!!
written by lamakawan, November 25, 2008 09:44:35
That means in this country the police is not disciplined. They are not trained to enforce the justice that they people had entrusted to them. What a shame !
written by tanwi, November 25, 2008 10:10:10
there are numerous of other examples of selective arrests.. how about the protest at the Bar Council? Did you see how aggresive and rowdy the crowd is? The police did not even arrest a single person! Thats crap and sadly thats Malaysia. IDIOTS.
written by InEffective, November 25, 2008 10:19:06

Clear the PDRM will behave to protect their masters and their own self-interests (ensure no exposes of their clandestine nefarious activities), at the expense of you the rakyat. Your rights and interests are of no consequence to our PDRM.

The political biases of our PDRM is now reaching dangerous levels - to the point that they are willing to exert pressure, coercion, and incarceration for their self-objectives.

And they will continue this behavior forever - their incentives are totally skewed towards the politicians (who believe that they own your rights and your souls).

Only way out, is a comprehensive change in the allegiance and incentive structure of the leadership inside the PDRM.
written by RumahPanjai, November 25, 2008 10:43:35
Are the job of the PDRM to protect the public or in this case to intimidate them? They are not the protector of the peace anymore. They are just goons in uniform working for UMNO. Instead of acknowledging that their pay masters are the taxpayers,they choose to do the will of their political masters. Selective persecution has always been their hallmark. Service without fear or favour is a thing of the past for this makan gaji buta institution!
written by IbnAbdHalim, November 25, 2008 10:58:18
Do we need those kind of people within the force? They should realise where their pay check come from. For ingratitudes the only punishment is to deprive them of their life-lines. And perhaps those police personnels will find themselves out of job when the next government takes over.
written by Wisdom above, November 25, 2008 10:58:25
Shall we campaign to Institute IPCMC now ?

Syabas to all Peacemakers.
written by Susanna, November 25, 2008 11:06:34
double standard also because aiyoh they scared of the samseng mat rempit people but they can bully the civilised peaceful people who are anti ISA and anti violence. Ironical those who are for ISA and are so yes to it are the very ones who should be in lock up and yes happy if they are off the streets!
written by Democrats, November 25, 2008 11:29:47
I often wonder why our respected rulers have never come out to address this issue. I mean after all they carry the title Polis "Di Raja" Malaysia and not Polis Raja di Malaysia. They bring out a very bad perception and association to our royalties. I beleive if the King and Sultans really step in and give a stern warning to them, they will heed, or not they will be boycotted by fellow officers or subordinates.

Ampun tuankus, please step in..... the rakyat are always at your disposal, (except maybe the umno goons that called you "natang") if you can show your care for your people.....
written by SimpleSoul, November 25, 2008 11:55:40
The police acted unjustly when they detained one group...............

Bar president Datuk Ambiga Sreenevasan,
Is that all you BAR Council could do? Issue statement and interview? Isnt there any other way especially Organisations such as your who member had read law.
written by batsman, November 25, 2008 12:09:42
Wake up! Only "selective prosecution"? What about the trumped up charges against opposition politicians and activists?
written by Xerxes, November 25, 2008 13:04:21
IGP, you complained about lack of public cooperation in the fight against crime so this is your answer. Who would be confortable to cooperate with a police force that practises double standards. Can you imagine what would happen to you if the police sides with a Mat Rempit you complained against because the police and the Mat Rempit are from the same kampung?

And as for Syed Botak who complained that people are complaining too much about the police, this type of behaviour by the PDRM explains why. Trust begets trust
written by mykantree, November 25, 2008 13:59:34
There has never been an element of doubt that the law is on the side of the government.....the ruling government that is. No amount of verbal complaints will change that.Want to change? Change the ruling government than.
written by HHKim, November 25, 2008 14:00:47
It will not change as long as BN is still the government. It is deep rooted into the system and far too difficult to right the wrongs.

The only solution is the total change in government and total change in political leadership and then evolution sets in.
written by Bandit, November 25, 2008 14:22:06
Polis Anjing Umno Malaysia not Polis diRaja Malaysia.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 25, 2008 15:19:23
I think one doesn’t have to be a lawyer to see and to know the obvious that Malaysian Police practice selective persecution.

The question is: What is the Malaysian Bar Council going to, or can do about this double standard? Just complaining about it is not going to help much.

Hold more protest?
Yes that would help and a mere 0.1% would see almost 22 thousands Malayan Protesters out on the street which will most certainly be taken more seriously and effective instead of about 200 Protesters which comes up to a very insignificant 0.0033% of Malayans.
written by advocatusdiaboli, November 25, 2008 16:13:23
Here we go again, another statement from BAR COUNCIL. A statement only lah. Bar Council = NATO (No Action Talk Only). You think in Bar Council itself no double standards aa?
written by cllim123, November 25, 2008 18:06:05
More should be done against the police for their double standards. It is clear they serve their political masters and this ahs to stop. The police and the judiciary are part of one greater justice system. If they are biased then they are no better than a corrupt judge. Innocent people will lose. Justice will go to the highest bidder.
written by adan, November 25, 2008 18:16:33
SELCTIVE PERSECUTION.?? Isn't this the TRADEMARK of our police?? something that is UNIQUE to 'POLIS RAJA DI MALAYSIA'??
written by onnetline, November 25, 2008 20:27:45
The pariah dogs of Barisan Najis have one standing instruction only ....... either bark or bite the Oppositions !