Sultan questions yoga ban PDF Print
Monday, 24 November 2008 23:32

KUALA LUMPUR (AP) - BEFORE banning Muslims from performing yoga, Malaysia's top Islamic body should have first consulted the country's nine hereditary sultans who are considered upholders of Islam here, one sultan said on Monday.

The unprecedented comment bordering on rebuke by Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah exposes the deep divisions caused by the Fatwa Council's edict in this Muslim-majority country against yoga, a form of Indian exercise, breathing technique and mind control popular worldwide.

The council said on Saturday that yoga is rooted in Hinduism and its practice could corrupt Muslims. The edict angered many ordinary Muslims who said they have been performing yoga for years without losing their faith.

Sultan Sharafuddin and the other eight sultans of nine Malaysian states form the Conference of Rulers and take turns to be the country's king. The rulers occupy a largely ceremonial and titular position but command great respect among Muslims.

The king is seen as the supreme upholder of Malay tradition and symbolic head of Islam, while the sultans occupy that position in their own respective states.

None of the other sultans - including Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin, the current king - have commented publicly on the yoga ban.

In his statement, Sultan Sharafuddin said he hopes 'that in future, any fatwa decision that touches on issues involving the general public should be referred to the Conference of Rulers to be approved first before it is announced'.

'This is to ensure that the process of channeling the fatwa decision is implemented wisely to avoid any confusion and controversy,' said Sultan Sharafuddin, who rules the central Selangor state.

Decisions by the Fatwa Council are not legally binding on the country's Muslims until they are enshrined in national laws or Shariah laws of individual states.

Sultan Sharafuddin said the fatwa on yoga 'is still not enforced in Selangor because it has not been brought to the Selangor State Fatwa Committee'.

The committee will meet to 'discuss this matter in greater detail regarding yoga activities in Selangor so that a decision is not made hastily,' he said.

It is the first time that a Fatwa Council's decision has been criticised by a state sultan - a sign that the country's Malay Muslims, who are 60 per cent of the 27 million population, have not accepted the fatwa uniformly.

Still, the edict reflects the growing influence of conservative Islam in Malaysia, a multiethnic country where minority ethnic Chinese and mostly Hindu ethnic Indians have been clamoring for more rights.

Recently, the Fatwa Council said girls who act like boys violate Islam's tenets. The government has also occasionally made similar conservative moves, earlier this year banning the use by non-Muslims of the word 'Allah', the Arabic word for God.

Analysts say the fatwa could be the result of insecurity among Malay Muslims after their party - in power since 1957 - saw its parliamentary majority greatly reduced in elections because of gains by opposition parties supported by the minorities. -- AP

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by middlepath, November 24, 2008 23:59:36
Wow, well said. our sultan is finally speak their mind, speak the truth, and speak with integrity, courage to tell the right and wrong. what is good for the world, Yoga ? only the weak and the one with inferiority complex will afraid of Yoga, will ban this kind of activity. What a shame, so afraid of this and that, so weak, so weak. This is divisive, this is thinking weak, afraid, afraid of being influence by doing Yoga ? what a shame. We must respect our sultan, who got wisdome, we must all learn from the wise sultan. to create a progressive and respected country Malaysia. not the divide and rule, bully and discriminate, suppressive etc. construcitve like the USA, vote for new vision.
written by hellosunshine, November 25, 2008 00:14:39
The rakyat sincerely hope the Sultans would be able to rein in and control those ultras and expose those politically motivated fatwas to divide the rakyat.
There is still hope for the nation.
smilies/cool.gif
written by crazygweilo, November 25, 2008 00:17:21
The National Fatwa council should be aware of how they are perceived, not only by their own community, but by external groups also.

Most of the Sultans are aware of the world outside Malaysia, even though I do, and have questioned the conduct and relevance of two Royal families before. The Sultans are now expressing themselves in a more "presidential" manner, which in the case of Raja Nazrin Shah (Perak) is getting the respect of Malaysians.

The National Fatwa council seems to think that that the more it talks, the better it is, and that it must issue inane edicts on a weekly or monthly basis to remain relevant.

I suspect that there is a shadow play going on. There are three columns today (November 24th) relating to the Fatwa on Yoga. Lets ask a few questions:

1. How does the National Fatwa council propose to improve Malaysia for all?
2. How does the National Fatwa council propose to get around the economic recession?
3. How does the National Fatwa council propose to get foreign tourists back to the likes of Kelantan, Terranganu, and rural Pahang, when these areas are (wrongly) perceived to be hotbeds of Islamic extremism.

The National Fatwa council then claims that these things are beyond question, and should not be questioned by non Muslims. I for one AM questioning them, because such inane edicts impact on the perception of Malaysia abroad. The perception of Malaysia abroad should be that of a progressive nation, looking to the future, with all creeds and colours respected, with Islam being one lynchpin in this.

I am not attacking Islam, but I certainly am attacking the National Fatwa council as being another wasteful, irrelevant, taxpayer funded junket which should have its Budget cut in the event of a recession. Better again, abolish it, or have it funded by the private sector. If its relevant, then it will survive, but frankly I doubt it.
written by temenggong, November 25, 2008 00:28:46
The administration of Islam falls under the realm of the state sultans. Insofar as the federal territory, it falls under the Agong, who administers it on behalf of the 9 sultans.

Some smart ass of a mufti in the FT jumped the gun.

We are not interested in educating them on yoga. There is enough material in the public domain for seekers on health and mental balance

By the way, there are islamic 'mantras' like 'min' and 'alif' for breathing and meditating. It is pronounced 'meeeeeeeen' or 'aleeeeeeeef' when exhaling to a count of eight. Breathing exercises is meant to relax the body and mind by letting the intonations reverberate through the solar plexus, lungs, throat and the top of the throat.

But who is interested in educating the buffoons to all this. Not me! Let their stricken die!
written by FFT, November 25, 2008 00:41:26
Still, the edict reflects the growing influence of conservative Islam in Malaysia, a multiethnic country where minority ethnic Chinese and mostly Hindu ethnic Indians have been clamoring for more rights.

This has less to do with conservative Islam than with the Najib and Mahathir camp paying off the Fatwa Council to cause controversy.

Mahathir is gunning towards a racial/religious riot to use as a pretext to oust Badawi, and Mahathir's loyal lapdogs are trying their darndest to engineer this for their master.
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 25, 2008 01:45:11
It just shows that they are INSULTING OUR KINGs by not even consulting them. To insult the KING is ok with UMNO no problemo. but if we just insult one UMNO big wig we get bad words and balik india and balik cina.

Your majesty, we are dealing with a group of Malays who are very confused as to what is right and wrong. fearful of loosing power and control over the Malays and Malay rights. They do not understand that no one can question this as long as you all are around. period.it is in the constitution.

All this mumbo jumbo is jsut power play to the extent of INSULTING the very powers that have the first say in Islamic matters and Malay rights. It is time some body gives them the right education.How do we integrate and assimialte the Malaysians if we have people constantly harping on Islamic and Malay rights.The Chinese and Indians how dan they take it away?
written by Aizad 234, November 25, 2008 01:52:40
MMM... wayang kulit ada lagi ke tak?. Pupus ke tak?. Dengar cerita, wayang kulit pun di 'haramkan' .. sigh..... Pernah dengar satu cerita, di mana basikal baru sahaja dicipta dan mula tersebar di serata dunia,terdapat seorang ulama di Mesir mengeluarkan fatwa mengharamkan penggunaan basikal kerana menurutnya, ia menggunakan kuasa syaitan utk penstabilan. Tidak jatuh. Hmmmmmm.... tolong lah GELAK!!!!
written by Aizad 234, November 25, 2008 01:58:22
Sesungguhnya,kita jgn lupa asal usul kita,Melayu.Melayu tidak akan menjadi Arab.MMmm kalau tarian gelek ,orang Arab boleh tergila-gila, takkan yoga pun diharamkan?.Padahal tarian gelek lagi 'berdosa' rasanya. Steam siot tgk..
written by RumahPanjai, November 25, 2008 02:42:13
The fatwa council has usurped the power of the protectors of islam, the Sultans. They have shown utter disrespect and contempt toward their royal highnesses by issueing proposterous fatwas without consultations. Each and everyone of them in the council should be hauled up and charged for disrespect and sedition. Such disrespect by malays towards their Sultans is unprecedented. Where are the true good malays that respect the royal institution? Maybe someone intelligence enough in UMNO (if any) would have the guts to lodge a police report against the council.
written by NSTPravda, November 25, 2008 05:42:09
Why should "Sultan questions yoga ban"?
Jakin can do anything as boleh can
This is how we faithful are told to think
Gaya rites are now decreed as the rightful thing

So,
We the faithful sokong the rigorous use of Fatwa
We faithfully sokong the wisdom of the Fatwa on Yoga
Fatwa should be used against all infidel taints, we implore
Here are some suggestions to use Jakim Fatwa even more

First we think there should be a Fatwa against all foods
Since we can’t tell which are tainted, all foods be eschewed
We faithfuls should be mindful of the water we drink
A Fatwa against drinking water should really be the thing

Worst of all we share the air with unclean infidels
We should have a Fatwa against breathing as well
Until we have all these Fatwa applied right away
How can our faith be maintained as Semua-nya OK!
smilies/tongue.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by ylcc, November 25, 2008 06:20:42
Now, I wonder who on earth gave us the impression that the National Fatwa Council is the highest authority pertaining to rights of Muslims in Malaysia!
So who is the Boss here?
written by borneoman, November 25, 2008 06:28:31
it is very unfortunate for our sultan,raja and king to have their kingdom in malaysia because bolehland malaysia actually belongs to umno led bn government.when umno led bn is on the verge of defeat they will hide behind the rulers back or rather hitch a ride on the rulers power just like the way they hijack and abused the word bumiputra and pribumi for their own existence.
written by Lembing, November 25, 2008 07:53:28
So the National Fatwa Council has insulted our Sultans....that means they have insulted Muslims and our Malay Race.

This is a serious seditious act and, this FATWA COUNCIL should be charged.... So is our Home Minister investigating this issue before laying some charges....
written by batsman, November 25, 2008 07:58:22
See how eagerly they usurp the prerogatives of the Malay Rulers? They expose their true intentions in their hearts. Hadhari wants to play god.
written by Hakim Abdullah, November 25, 2008 10:45:05
I am sorry but I once thought dragonheart was smart, highly educated and a balanced muslim, rupa nya dia sesat juga....what a shame...btw, 'Syirik', how does that apply to 'Hadhari' ? Isn't this an 'association' in your interpretation as well?
written by asguard, November 25, 2008 10:51:55
Those idiot simply to whatever they like and without consulting the Sultans! What kind of law is this...? Never bother to seek permission simply pakai hentam... to their suit and needs!
written by tino_chan1988, November 25, 2008 14:55:47
Common sense should prevail.

Who in the world or in this case, in Malaysia, whether muslim or non-muslim practice yoga singing Harekrishna or/and trying to attain Hinduism spirituality or whatever The Dragonheart is trying to convey?

As far as I am concern, its a form of exercise, a form of healthy exercise for people who enjoy a good streching once a while.

So, whats wrong with that?

written by cheekhiaw, November 25, 2008 16:24:49
dragonheart,

May be the reactions of MT readers is what GOD rendered to them. Why are you questioning it?

Or you think you know GOD better than them?

written by cheekhiaw, November 25, 2008 16:26:05
And do you think that unto such as you;
A maggot-minded, starved, fanatic crew:
God gave the secret—and denied it me?
Well, well, what matters it? Believe that, too.
- Rubaiyat, Omar Khayyam

written by ssathia, November 25, 2008 17:02:14
Why are Non-Muslims upset? Simple, Non-Muslims are the biggest tax payers in this counrty which money is used to pay the likes of National Fatwa Council, building of mosques, paying Syariah Courts, paying govt servants who break non-Muslim places of worship by claiming illegal and not giving due approval in the first place. We expect the money to put to sensible use such as the upliftment of all Malaysians including Muslims. If Muslims do not wish Non-Muslims to comment on such matters, please do not use Non-Muslim tax money for Islamic religious purposes. Is that not the right thing to do?
written by Milo, November 25, 2008 17:06:34
dragonheart,

Putting a religious tag on a stupid ruling should not exempt it from being critized by right thinking people. If the fatwa is not stupid, then the religious council should have no problem defending their fatwa. And why shouldn't we care if a fatwa affects our Muslim's friends unfairly? Furthermore, a non-muslim today could be a muslim tomorrow if he choose to convert. And what if my relatives are muslims? So potentially, the fatwa can affect anyone living in Malaysia.
written by Milo, November 25, 2008 17:18:12
dragonheart,

The religious authority (made up of mere mortals irrespective of how well-versed they are in Islamic teachings) assume this is God's intention when they issue a fatwa. If these are not subjected to open analysis by the public, what guarantee do we have that their intepretations are right? Have they been wrong before? Sometimes, I wonder if these religious zealots are so small minded to think that God is also so small minded as to care whether a muslim should practice something as mundane as a harmless yoga exercise.