Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Mission and vision statement, revisited

Mission and vision statement, revisited PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 24 November 2008 17:45

We use our enemies to fight our enemies. Enemies of our enemies become our friends. We keep our friends close and our enemies even closer. That is the order of the day.

I have said this before and it looks like I will have to say it again. Malaysia Today is about the fight for social justice. And just what comes under the ambit of social justice? I suppose anything that touches or affects our daily lives.

Racism, inequality, economic disparity, any form of violence, oppression, persecution, a manipulated judiciary, an unfair election system, social problems, any form of slavery, suppression of the fundamental rights of citizens, violation of the Federal Constitution, corruption, plundering and mismanagement of the country’s coffer; you name it and it would certainly be a fight up the alley of Malaysia Today.

These are actually very broad issues and within each issue they can again be dissected into sub-issues. For example, ‘any form of violence’ could be about wife beating, police violence, road rage, the Mat Rempit problem, crime on the streets, and so on. ‘Suppression of the fundamental rights of citizens’ could be about the stifling of freedom of speech, the University and University Colleges Act which forbids students from speaking out or from getting involved in politics, the Police Act which forbids assemblies of more than four people, the Publication and Printing Press Act which makes it mandatory to apply for a licence before one can publish a newspaper and which is renewable every year, and much more.

Okay, those are our focal points. Those are the issues that have become our focus. Most Malaysians would agree that these are issues that ail our society and which need addressing. But how do we address them? How do we attack these issues and grab them by the horns? This would involve a viable strategy and a coordinated and concerted tactical move. Knowing the problem is one thing. Knowing what to do about them would be the more important issue.

Understand one thing, the problems that plague us are merely the symptoms and not the disease. We can’t get rid of the problem by curing the symptoms. We need to get to the root of the problem and attack them there. Once the root of the problem has been eliminated, the problem will cure itself. But too much time is wasted trying to cure the symptoms rather than the disease itself. And this is why we see very little success from all that effort. And this despairs us and leaves us with the feeling that whatever we try to do is pointless. It leaves us with the feeling that it is hopeless to continue because whatever we try to do we will never see changes.

To understand where we are now, we must first understand where we came from and where we wish to go from here. Therefore, it is crucial that we know our history. Once we know our history and understand what went wrong then we will know what needs to be done to be able to put things right.

Malaysia is 51 years old. For me to explain what happened over the last 51 years and to plot the probable scenario the next 49 years and what Malaysia will be like when we celebrate our Centennial would require me to write a thesis. But then I can’t do that in my normal three to four pages and I am really not looking for a PhD. But how do I summarise in 1,000 words what would require 100,000? Let me try.

In any turn-around exercise, you need to look for the top ten problems. Then you attack the top three and most likely the top three would represent 80% of the organisation’s problems. This means just by solving the top three problems you solve almost all the problems. And chances are you need no longer even look at the balance of the problems because by solving the top three, which represent 80% of the problems, the other problems solve themselves. In other words, the other problems are the result of the top three and by taking care of the top three the balance takes care of itself. And even if they don’t you can still live with them if the top three or 80% of the problems no longer plague your organisation.

So what are the top ten problems facing Malaysia and what are the top three? Let us try to look at them in order of importance and in the priority that it impacts society.

1.    Violation of the Constitution.
2.    Erosion of the independence of the four branches of government.
3.    Arrogance of those in power.
4.    Denial of the fundamental rights of the citizens.
5.    Corruption.
6.    Mismanagement of the nation’s coffer.
7.    Unequal representation of the people.
8.    Lack of understanding of the nation’s history.
9.    Distorting of information.
10.  Poor education system.

That would be my list in order of priority. Of course, this may not be the list of others and, even if it is, the order of priority could be disputed. And certainly our problems are not confined to just these ten. Nevertheless, my believe is that by attacking the top three problems we need not even look at the balance seven because the balance can solve themselves if we tackle the top three.

For example, items 4 and 7 can be addressed by solving item 1 while items 5 and 6 can take care of themselves if we solve item 3, etc. So, by my reckoning, solve items 1, 2 and 3 and most problems will go away.

The Constitution that we have is already quite complete. But this Constitution has been amended so many times and these amendments have distorted what our Founding Fathers and the British Colonial Masters who gave us our Constitution had originally intended.

Many laws that we have today actually violate the Constitution and were formulated using provisions in the Constitution that allow for ‘illegal’ laws. For instance, Malaysia declared an emergency 46 years ago and, under the emergency provision, laws can be passed which actually take away your rights that were originally guaranteed in the Constitution. But the circumstances (war with Indonesia) that allowed for laws which take away your rights have long since disappeared but the emergency was never lifted and therefore the ‘illegal’ emergency laws, though ‘illegal’ going by the Constitution, remain ‘legal’ as long as Malaysia is still in a state of emergency.

Lift the emergency, repeal the emergency laws, allow the Constitution to revert to how it was intended, and laws such as the ISA and many more would no longer exist. And the same would apply for laws such as the Police Act, Societies Act, Sedition Act, PPPA, UUCA, OSA, and many more, which would no longer be needed as well since Malaysia is no longer in a state of ‘declared’ war with Indonesia.

Most countries have three branches of government -- the Executive, the Legislature, and the Judiciary -- which are all supposed to work parallel to one another and independent of each other. Malaysia, however, is unique. Malaysia has a fourth branch, the Monarchy. If the Executive, Legislature, Judiciary and Monarchy were all independent of each other then we would have a fantastic system of checks and balances.

As it is now, power rests in the hands of the Executive and the Executive tells the other branches of government what it should do.

Imagine a company run by the Managing Director who does the accounts and audits the books plus he is also the Registrar of Companies who is supposed to safeguard the interest of the investors. A well-run company has to have an accountant who manages the books and an auditor who checks the books and a Registrar of Companies who make sure that the MD, accountant and auditor all do what they are supposed to do and according to the law. This means four different parties are involved in safeguarding the company’s money.

In Malaysia’s case the man who runs the organisation also balances the books, check the books, and decides if the books have been cooked -- all four functions in one. How can we expect Malaysia to have any transparency when one man decides all and no one can question or look into what he does?

And this brings us to the third ailment, the arrogance of those in power. The Executive and his band of merry men feel that they are unshakeable and that no one can remove them, so they blatantly do what they want with total disregard for the citizens’ rights and needs. They violate our trust and mandate every step of the way and retaliate with a vengeance if we have the audacity to question them. This is why items 4 to 10 prevail, because they feel they can do what they like and they think there is nothing we can do about it.

Malaysians need to put these people in their place. We need to cut them down to size. We need to show them that the people made them and the people can therefore unmake them. We gave them that power and we can also remove them from power if need be.

Those who walk in the corridors of power are playing the very dangerous divide and rule game. They divide us by race and they divide us by religion. This is similar to a very dangerous time bomb that, if not properly controlled, can explode with drastic repercussions. And this divide and rule game has escalated of late and has become a matter of concern to many Malaysians who realise that not all fires can be controlled, as much as those who walk in the corridors of power erroneously think it can.

So they play the divide and rule game to keep us apart, as they know a united Malaysian bodes trouble for those who wish to cling to power. Then let us too play this same game. Let us too divide and rule them. United, they are too formidable a foe, as would we be too if we are united. So, as they divide us racially and religiously, let us too divide them politically.

We must support Pakatan Rakyat to keep Barisan Nasional in check. When Pakatan Rakyat forms the federal government then we shall support Barisan Nasional to keep Pakatan Rakyat in check. When Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad was under attack we supported him (at least Malaysia Today did from 2006) to keep Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in check. Now that Mahathir is, again, strong and his ‘kuda’ is about to become Prime Minister we must support Abdullah Badawi to be able to keep Najib in check.

Yes, it’s a dirty game of checks and balances and divide and rule that Malaysia Today plays. So be it. Dirty or otherwise that is the game they too are playing -- and a more dangerous one of race and religion on top of that -- so let us play that same game. If we can’t beat them, we will join them. And all is fair in love and war and is this not just that, war?

So don’t become perplexed when Malaysia Today changes side and realigns itself from time to time. We do what is expedient and what the situation demands at that point of time. We need to see a two-party system emerge in Malaysia. And we will support the weak to match the strong in our effort to achieve this. We work with the underdog whoever that may be. And we are not apologetic about it. This is not about lack of principles. Our principle is: absolute power corrupts absolutely. So no man or political party must be allowed absolute power.

We use our enemies to fight our enemies. Enemies of our enemies become our friends. We keep our friends close and our enemies even closer. That is the order of the day.

And that will be how we address the top three problems that plague this nation of ours. The US works with the Al Qaeda to fight Russia and with Iraq to fight Iran. In this game of denying someone absolute power there are no permanent friends or permanent enemies. Enemies become friends and friends become enemies in the interest of balance of power. Sentiments have no place in this game of power.

Comments (71)Add Comment
written by michael chick, November 24, 2008 17:50:19
UMNO needs to be removed. Forcefully if need be. And Jailed for all their Crimes towards the Malays for robbing them for the past half a Century.
agree 244
written by michael chick, November 24, 2008 17:52:17
JAIL UMNO TODAY !!!!

agree 209
written by Rashid, November 24, 2008 17:57:18
We must also keep rogue journalists in check like one Zubaidah Abu Bakr.

http://scandalasia.blogspot.com/2008/11/shameless-conduct-of-hatchet-woman.html
written by BOB007, November 24, 2008 17:58:12
shabas....RPK..u cm with gd artical.....

send this all UMNO cronic to hell.......

MALAYSIA FRO MALAYSIAN
written by Ben, November 24, 2008 17:58:39
And we were led to believe that he is pm to all Malaysians. What a crock of BS! Just as we thought good riddance, we jump out of the pan into the fire. God save Malaysia. Rally all the saints; is there no more hope in Malaysia? Give us hope. Is there no more justice? We pray be fair. God let Your hand be upon the evil and grace be with the humble. Amen.
written by cheekymate, November 24, 2008 17:59:50
Ruthless is the name and totally ruthless is the game of politics. Will we be forced to practise the famous Chinese saying " You must discard your six relatives " before we reach our goal?
written by BOB007, November 24, 2008 18:03:46
written by AuntyG, November 24, 2008 18:05:17
Yes, MT mission and vision is spot on, consistent and unwaived.
Yes, we play their own game to divide and rule, especially when the economical cake is shrinking, their handouts are dwindling, among themselves they will be fighting and self destructing ..... (watch out for the 2 wanita pussy cats fighting).
written by densemy, November 24, 2008 18:11:40
Three Cheers for the man with common sense
written by Thambidoorai, November 24, 2008 18:14:01
No...not you too...this article REEKS of recapitulation...and manipulation!
disagree 44
written by cahaya, November 24, 2008 18:20:40
Dear Pete

Thanks for explaining the vision and mission of Malaysia Today.
We, the readers of MT, salute your personal commitment to fight for social justice.

Yes, let us be a united people, whatever our race or religion, to fight against the enemies and to overcome all the problems they have created.

written by BennyG, November 24, 2008 18:23:14
Interesting concept.

We have much to learn and much to gain. RPK's thinking out of the box is incredible. Most will not understand until they see the result.

PEOPLE's Power must prevail despite all the intimidation by PDRM!!!
written by rizzku, November 24, 2008 18:43:31
We need two party sytem. All PR parties merge and become Party Rakyat Malaysia (PERTAMA) and all BN parties join together to form Party Untuk Kerajaan Nasional Malaysia (PUKIMA).
written by advocatusdiaboli, November 24, 2008 18:53:54
Michael Chick, UMNO needs to be removed and jailed not for crimes towards Malays only but against all Malaysians. Agree bro?
written by educationist, November 24, 2008 18:54:32
Hmm... interesting take on MT's mission and vision.
Call me an idealist, but I believe in siding with the side that is for justice and fairness, that is for social justice be it the ruling government or otherwise.
But, then of course RPK has the right to chart the course he feels is right for MT.
I'll hope he'll be able to check the ascendancy of Dr M's powers on the incoming government.
written by Lembing, November 24, 2008 18:59:55
....WELL, well, well...

I just don't know about this strategy and........I will reserve my comments...
and just don't see how this strategy will worked....
written by clarity, November 24, 2008 19:19:01
If Anwar is not ready then I'm all for it. Badawi should stay if it means the fate of MT. Whether you like it or not, Badawi opened up the websites. No more blogger website meand no more MT means no more RPK. You must be nuts if you think the racist will let things be. And don't forget RPK is fighting for our cause.
YAB Badawi, you gotta fight back. Don't let them push you around. You are still the PM. Arrest TDM. Show him who's the boss.
written by malaysianohope, November 24, 2008 19:28:34
Let me try to summarise Abang 's Mission Statement in one sentence....

To solve the first 4 problems mentioned, remove the cancer ie. "UMNO" and the rest of the problems will be disappear forthwith.

written by dumbfounded, November 24, 2008 19:32:44
sounds like something someone from the whitehouse would say smilies/wink.gif
written by dumbfounded, November 24, 2008 19:33:46
have always admired the american system
written by Motherchell, November 24, 2008 19:34:56
Yes Pete!--- this is the order of the day --- any one who can read and write will know MT's journeys. Have you imagined what Malaysia would be if MT was not there ??
So i thank you Pete for your selfless efforts !
The ones who feel insecure are the UMNOPUTRAS-- when we vomit out the truth about them it makes us look as enemies of the State.

Looking back! , Malaysia is not an Islamic State!! Why??-- If Malaysia is an Islamic State, then -

1)Raja Petra Kamarudin will not be persecuted as he is now.

2)DSAI will not be falsely accused of sodomy, a crime greater than murderin their selective annals.

3)Special Branch members will be condemned to death for encouraging sodomy and coital acts in the torture of Munawar Anees during TDMs unethical epics.

4)Ahamad Ismail will be punished for causing hurt to fellow humans-- forbidden in Islam.

5)Beardo , groping with GROs was never charged for his acts.
6)Taking oaths in mosques, and the so called beholders Jakim and the NFC applauding in agreement.
the list goes on...

Islam forbids all this -- but is practiced to its hilt by so called gods appointed by UMno.
So Malaysia can never be said to belong to an Islamic group of Nations. The Rich teachings are never adhered due to a selective habitation by a select few who hold the religion at ransom! As a Country we are irrelevant .

God bless you Pete!--- we breath because you give us that purity to walk the uncharted waters to set ourselves free!!

http://sjsandteam.wordpress.com
written by mikewang, November 24, 2008 19:36:11
As it stands today, we stand a better chance of correcting all ten top problems if UMNO is replaced as the ruling party in this country.

It has to remain in the opposition for at least 2 terms for the party to complete the transformation.
written by batsman, November 24, 2008 19:47:01
The message is loud and clear. I just wish to point out that someone said of the Roman army that their drills are like bloodless battles and their battles are like bloody drills. In the "barbarian" armies, every warrior is a hero. The Romans went into battle in disciplined formations while the "barbarians" charge helter skelter. I don't know about the war, but who do you think wins most of the important battles?
written by batsman, November 24, 2008 19:51:16
We need to be more organised and more disciplined
written by mikefonz, November 24, 2008 19:55:32
God bless you RPK. All for one and one for all.
M2day and we are UNITED as ONE. Kick the shit out
the Pretenders. In the name of my Father, God and the Holy ones.
written by Tompios, November 24, 2008 20:20:22
Agust 31, 1957-November 23, 2008. This country experience 50 years of Zorro.
written by singam, November 24, 2008 20:38:18
Bro Pete,

As usual, brilliantly written. This should dispel the anxieties of those who have been confused by what they were told could only be uncertainty, shifting loyalties and, purportedly, mercenary works of fiction in MT. It will not stop the cybertroopers, but who cares about them.

However I have to disagree on one point. I believe Malaysians have reached the stage where, if just the first two problems are fixed, the third one could well fix itself. That is a major achievement and something we should justifiably be proud of. Let us not ignore or dismiss this. It is a coming of age.

Nevertheless, you are right in including Problem 3 in the target of things to do because people fall into old habits so easily. Having had the same party rule us for 51 years, people may assume that the successor has also to rule for another 50 or whatever. Therefore the message of regime change has to be continuously drummed into the consciousness of the people.

The majority party in Parliament merely forms the government of the day. But the infrastructure of the government departments, including the staff, are not beholden to any party. They independently serve the government of the day and their ultimate boss, the Rakyat.

The players of today who are pushing for change may achieve more success or less. But the movement towards stage 2 independence is already under way. This is inevitable.

Thank you for helping us get there.
written by zam3886, November 24, 2008 20:39:15
I don't see MT switching side at all since it has always been on the side of righteousness. The objective remains the same, the only thing changes is the tool or method used to achieve the goal. But will there be any unintended side effects?
written by denkoh, November 24, 2008 20:50:43
RPK is a writer with substance! smilies/wink.gif

Thank God
written by toni, November 24, 2008 20:53:46
for the amount of time spent thinking and writing and going to jail , you deserve a permanent place in heaven . No no need RM100,000 a month
written by lynn, November 24, 2008 20:55:36

The citizens need this message repeated & better still translated into Bahasa and circulated to the non-English speaking rakyat.

Knowledge is power; as you educate us here on MT, you enpower us to make the right decision come general elections. You ought to be the next PM of Malaysia! Just a lofty suggestion of course - but the next non-Umno PM must clean up this country of its ills and that will take at least a decade to accomplish.

Malaysians need to be educated to understand the rakyat is the boss, not the corrupt politicians or ministers. Malaysians shld stop that nauseous action of treating these civil servants as VIPs or VVIPs... i mean what is so VIP about a man who has been habitually stealing from the rakyat? Those Malaysians, they behave like humble servants, simpletons, morons, lay the red carpet for the corrupt minister and give him 7-star treatment.

In Europe or some progressive country, ppl would hurl rocks at him. In Bodohland the corrupt politician is given the royal treatment. Now that reflects the lowly peasant mentality of the voters; we need to change this.. a tall order of course.

written by Great Alibaba, November 24, 2008 21:06:33
If malaysian can understand and get a grasp of the 10 points you outlines in your article, we can start counting the day malaysia is again performing as a leading Asian country. Malaysian has to have the ability to think for themselves what is good for them and what is good for their country. It's absolute foolishness to take it for granted that what the government say or do must necessarily be good for the country and its citizen. More so if those in the position of power have only money, power and position in mind.
written by johntyc, November 24, 2008 21:07:52
Check & Balance. I can live with that. But first, lets have a change of government for the first time in more than 50 years!

p.s. please translate RPK's blog into BM too. not everyone prefer to read in Eng.
written by InEffective, November 24, 2008 21:35:19
Time for all upstanding citizens to bring some understanding to politicians.

'Politicians are elected to serve, and not to rule.'

Imagine the outcomes and results, if we actually got our dysfunctional talk-only politicians to actually deliver results that we the rakyat want and need (and not what the politicians want).

Rescue Malaysia - your children deserve it.
written by ylcc, November 24, 2008 22:06:39
Sorry, Thambidoorai ... I am not on your side this time. I concur with RPK. It is the trademark of UMNO - they DIVIDE & RULE. They have been doing this since day 1, and this is the only way they know how to survive. I have personally witnessed such past events.
Even our wise Sultan of Perak had this to say on the BMF scandal, when he was a judge: "This hearing also suggests a frightening decay in the integrity of some of our leaders. It has given horrible illustrations of Lord Acton's aphorism 'power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupts absolutely', and has focused concern on the need of some avowed limitations upon political authority."
- Raja Tun Azlan Shah when convicting Datuk Harun Idris of corruption in the HSBC trial on 18th May, 1976."
written by justice, November 24, 2008 22:50:44
written by KUMON, November 24, 2008 22:56:59
You've done it again Pete,

A great piece to put everything in perspective and alignment.
You continue to be our most trusted mouthpiece. A beacon that pierce the darkness of a corrupted gomen.

A fantastic article that needs to be revisted over and over again.

Bravo Pete!

http://passiveincomekings.blogspot.com
written by Ckchew, November 24, 2008 23:03:26
it's the spr that we need to reform before we can change anything.

Anti-government protesters in Thailand is doing a good job, they are there to force the government to reform.

So, Why can't we do the same?
written by cruzeiro, November 24, 2008 23:05:59
Ah Pete!
Timely piece - there are many who would have been confused & would jump to conclusions about the "change in tact" over the last year or so.
This piece would definitely clear the air somewhat.
As for Thambidorai and others like him, I'm sure they'll understand in due time, that 'manipulations' are an essential part of ideological wars & "realpolitik" of sorts - & that it is better that they be manipulated than allow ourselves to be the victims.
written by yy88, November 24, 2008 23:18:56
Being the hidden hands in all ills of Malaysia, UMNO has to be remove ASAP.
To punish all those corrupted, arrogant, racists, manipulators, thieves in UMNO,
an independent a impartial judiaciary accountbale to the parliament is imperative.
Bodohwi can make all this happen by making his secret deals with DSAI, to give him immunity from persecution in exchange for handing over the PM ship.
written by confuseus, November 24, 2008 23:20:23
Allahuakbar !!!
RPK is truly back !!!
Another masterpiece by the great RPK.
Yes, I have practiced the same strategy... solve the vital few, and the trivial many will fix themselves.
The solution is to punish the leader of the INCOMPETENTS, problems 1 thru 10 will fix itself.

Guys, guys, guys... do not be such a bigot, the problem is not UMNO but the leaders and ex leaders of UMNO.

Confuseus says "HIDUP UMNO LAMA"
written by Oscar Winner, November 24, 2008 23:21:53
PM doesn't serve all Malaysians,
His fate is not in our hands,
Whoever is racist will be chosen,
By mercenary warlords of 191 divisions,
So PM need not please 26 Million
Or voters numbering 11 million,
Not even all Malays of this land,
Or other component parties of BN
But only leaders of 191 divisions...
It's a stupid joke we must end.....
written by SotPlug, November 24, 2008 23:29:20
Don't waste money jailing and feeding the corrupted.
Confiscate all properties from everyone found to be involved/benefiting from their corrupt practices.
Malaysia will be a rich country once again.
written by Spear Bing, November 25, 2008 00:03:40
Ha Ha... another new coined name for the MP for Rompin........ Beardo!!!!!!!! - by Motherchell.
written by Victory or Death, November 25, 2008 00:14:02
To sum it all - RPK/MT has no loyalty yet has absolute loyalty.

There is absolutely no loyalty to any particular person, party or government; only absolute loyalty to ideals - social justice and fairness to all!!!!!!

Anything can change,eg. changing sides but the goals and ideals remains unchangeable.
written by FFT, November 25, 2008 00:55:33
Hilarious, isn't it?

Less than 1 year ago, Badawi's lapdogs were getting their panties in a tangle by accusing MT of being funded by Mahathir, and now Mahathir's lapdogs are foaming at the mouth accusing MT of being sponsored by Badawi and Co.

Only goes to show that UMNO is afflicted with paranoid schizophrenia and the whole lot of them should be put in straitjackets and locked away for good.
written by Huador, November 25, 2008 01:24:55
Now that Mahathir is, again, strong and his ‘kuda’ is about to become Prime Minister we must support Abdullah Badawi to be able to keep Najib in check.RPK

This is hard to swallow. To support Abdullah Badawi is to support Khairy. Are you sure RPK? Are you sure you want Khairy to win the Pemuda UMNo and later put you under ISA. Are you sure you want Mamak second Finance Minister to continue screwing the country just because Abdullah is sleeping.

I beg to differ with you on this Sir. This country still have many more suitable candidates to be Prime Minister. Abdullah and Najib are not one of them.
written by miwaki, November 25, 2008 01:25:13
You are absolutely right RPK,not only we must support Abdullah at this point in time,we must make sure that stupid idiot Kay Toyo takes over UMNO Youth.We also need to get as many morons as possible to be the cabinet ministers and make Malaysia a laughing stock of the modern world.Only then UMNO-led BN will fall like coconut in the next GE or before Christmas.I hope JAKIM would not ban Christmas before Pakatan Rakyat takes over the administration of this country.
written by tenang, November 25, 2008 01:32:09
This is indeed a very well articulated mission and vision statements in the short-form article. I certainly have felt more aligned with you that ever before; Not that my singular support to MT cause matters much by itself, but I believe many others have similar feeling of increased faith of MT and your struggle after reading the article.

I too think one of the most important tactic now is to help PR side to be of equal or slightly stronger position to counter the current regime. That will certain help address the top three problems, and thus the rest of 7 problems and more. If helping PR at this time means provide measured support to ABB, then let it be.

On providing support to PR, I would like to suggest to harness our collective creativity further -- I suggest to find something to steal some attention from UMNO election. That something could be a much-hyped self-initiated PR-wide election for PR president. We know Malaysians, just like everyone else, beside loves to have civil rights, they love to see politicians fight. The PR-wide election for PR president will accomplish a few things:
a) Draw Malaysians attention to PR. Let's the PR-wide election to be of grass-root and open debate. Who can resist debate? The debate is still attention-grapping for uneven contenders such as Answar versus lesser known figure (just think of Shaberry).
b) The elected PR president is likely to be able to claim more mandate since he is elected by all PR members collective, as compared to that of UMNO president. This shall path the way for DSAI ascending the post of prime minister.
c) The fight between PR president is not likely to cause racial and religion problems, and will not serve as execuse of being arrest under ISA -- especially the current BN administration is not threaten. As much as we hate ISA, we are highly venurable to ISA; Avoid its tentacle for now is not a bad tactic.
d) Mainstream TV might even broadcast the exciting events such as debates, especially they might think the debates are harmless to BN administration. Keep in mind too that mainstream TV loves to viewerships if they think they can get it without hurting their masters.

Regards.
written by talk2stop, November 25, 2008 01:58:44
RPK, you got a western mentality and want to take Malaysia to the next level. You are fighting a fight that you can't win.
Have a look, Malaysia rather kill an innocent person than to let a criminal free. And you my friend is in danger.
written by temanmu, November 25, 2008 02:27:03
I would put CORRUPTION at the very top!

It is the BE ALL and END ALL of the the rest of the problems.

Just ask why to each of the problems and the answer is MONEY (or POWER but to get that one would have to have money first!
written by borneoman, November 25, 2008 05:01:41
we need to get this message across to the very poor groups of malays and the natives of Sarawak and Sabah, especially those in the rural areas who still believe that umnoled bn is their one and only saviour.if we can be their friend ,umno would be their enemy.never mind about those whose name starts with a tun,tan sri,datuk,doctors phd beli etc especially if they are align with the bastard umno led bn.
written by teo siew chin, November 25, 2008 08:50:21
Well, like they say - "Everything is changing. People are taking the comedians seriously and the politicians as a joke."
written by EUGTAN, November 25, 2008 09:52:48
"Racism, inequality, economic disparity, any form of violence, oppression, persecution, a manipulated judiciary, an unfair election system, social problems, any form of slavery, suppression of the fundamental rights of citizens, violation of the Federal Constitution, corruption, plundering and mismanagement of the country’s coffer; you name it and it would certainly be a fight up the alley of Malaysia Today."
We have all these. But we think a fatwa against yoga is more important.
written by Apache, November 25, 2008 10:23:47
Fantastic article which should be published for all malaysian to read and get the message across. You have claerly spelt what we the normal citizen need to do for us , our family and the future generation.
written by freerpk, November 25, 2008 10:38:34
RPF articles are always crystal clear and to the point. He doesn't need 100,000 words to carry the message across. May be one day he will be given an honorary doctorate for all his articles he has written in MT
written by freerpk, November 25, 2008 10:40:26
Sorry for the misstyping, I meant RPK... smilies/grin.gif
written by skc, November 25, 2008 11:57:12
Dear YM RPK,
Hahaha, I see that the time in ISA has not change you one bit, a fighter still and I, for one, am glad for it.
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 25, 2008 12:41:10
Most Malaysians would agree that these are issues that ail our society and which need addressing. But how do we address them? How do we attack these issues and grab them by the horns? This would involve a viable strategy and a coordinated and concerted tactical move. Knowing the problem is one thing. Knowing what to do about them would be the more important issue.

YO, BRO RPK, NO PROBLEM FOR ME TO USE AN ENEMY TO KILL OFF ANOTHER ENEMY.
PUT UP THE MONKEY TO KILL OFF THE SCOUNDRELS. BEEEND'S HORNS ONLY KNOW HOW TO POKE EVERY OPPOSSING RAKYAT UNDER ISA TO KILL OFF THE RESISTANCE. SO, LETS PLAY DIRTY.
written by HHKim, November 25, 2008 13:43:02
That picture depicting the ex-president of Taiwan is exactly what I wanted to tell all Malaysians and politicians in the country. ALL those who have committed corruption should and must be tried in open court and send to jail if they are found guilty.

Of course currently we can't because the corrupted politicians wield the power of controlling the ACA. There will be no prosecution unless PR comes under power like Kuo Ming Tang in Taiwan.

I am pretty sure there are too many here in Malaysia like ex-president Chen Sui Bian of Taiwan. In my opinion, he should be sentenced to death, not to jail. A useless scum of Taiwan so to speak, and he brings untold shame to all Taiwanese people.

We as Malaysians are facing the same predicament but unable to act due to political failure.
written by zam3886, November 25, 2008 18:00:52
It just shows that good and bad as we know them always come in mix package deals, I am not sure if there is a moment in the history of human beings where there was only good or bad.
written by DontPlayGod, November 25, 2008 19:14:17
The above article which states that all four branches of power should be independent and run parallel has broken down and controlled by one power center brings to mind the administration of TDM. It was him who managed to rule as a dictator and subjugated the judiciary under UMNO. The constitution clauses were revised, changed, and new laws enacted like nobody's business during his rule. It is doubtful the constitution looks similar like the original when it was first promulgated in 1957. Laws were enacted to make him the most powerful man in the land, even above the Sultans(it was him who changed the laws to curb the Sultans' powers). And UMNO governed and ruled the country as if it is their personal property, and they have been doing and acting as if UMNO are kings for the last 30 years and more.

And they are still acting as such, what with the PDRM, the judiciary, the ACA, the armed forces under their control(don't forget they have an UMNO man as the Chief Justice).

And to top it all, TDM still wants to have a say in the running of the country.
written by sarawakian, November 25, 2008 20:56:14
written by advocatusdiaboli, November 24, 2008 18:53:54
Michael Chick, UMNO needs to be removed and jailed not for crimes towards Malays only but against all Malaysians. Agree bro?

actually, if you really look at it, no.

UMNO's biggest crimes are actually towards the Malays. by pretending to be their champions yet are actually keeping them poor and always needing aid. they have been kept poorly educated and indoctrinated with UMNO hate policies. these people have been brought up to only support UMNO who continuously keep them where they are.

just compare the present crop of 70-80 yr old Malays with the young ones (20-50 year olds) and you will see a great difference. can anyone name one Malay now who can claim to have the stature of P Ramlee?
written by bigben, November 25, 2008 23:31:21
welcome back RPK. I was fortunate to meet you and your family at the PJ court. i fully agree with you on giving blind loyalty towards politicians. even some of the PR guys are now going expecting to be addressed as YB's. state governments passing laws and regulations without consideration and with hidden agendas. i seek your advise my dear RPK as to what we should do when faced with such an occasion. thank you my hero.
written by shepherdvoyage, November 26, 2008 00:30:01
UMNO has been robbing Malaysia of what has been bestowed on this land (rich resources, pluralistic beauty, true intellectuals etc) for over the past 51 years, and is driving Malaysia to hell instead of new heights! smilies/angry.gifsmilies/angry.gif

UMNO must be sentenced to death to save Malaysia!

written by Running Sardines, November 26, 2008 07:57:04
Well said RPK ... it all boils down to the greed and lack of compassion for those in power ... whether in Government or in Opposition, we come across things that are not right ... of course the BN is lagi teruk lah ...

To strike at the roots to get the problem, you are right but then how to strike if people who supposed to stand up for the truth prefers to sit ? Only a handful of Malaysian dare to stand up ... Thus I don't have hope for Malaysia as it is now but I pray God will make all those in authority to realise that He exist and there is a Judgement Day and Hell is not a good place to be after this life.

I pray also that God will continue to bless and protect you RPK and your family ...
written by A MI, November 26, 2008 10:20:44
If Malaysia mass media has been truthful and had acted with integrity over the last 20-30, none of the 10 problems:
- the ones which I feel are critical in bold

1. Violation of the Constitution.
2. Erosion of the independence of the four branches of government.
3. Arrogance of those in power.
4. Denial of the fundamental rights of the citizens.
5. Corruption.

6. Mismanagement of the nation’s coffer.

7. Unequal representation of the people.
8. Lack of understanding of the nation’s history.
9. Distorting of information.
10. Poor education system.

would have grown to become such great demons.

There would have been check and balance.

It is because our mass media has been an a**-licking one, the ruling party AMNO became so bold and corrupted.

Now that we have MT, much of the sad truth is being revealed but the masses still rely on RTM, TV3, Utusan and Berita Harian.
Bush won his second term because CNN aired Osama Ben Laden's speech. AMNO wins with contant reminder of 1305 and how Malays wll lose out if NEP is abolished.

Mass media has hidden the real fact that NEP ended in 1990. Since then Dasar Ekonomi Baru became Dasar Pembangunan Baru. So why is AMNO still harping on NEP?

We need more watch-dog groups who are responsible to maintain check and balance.

We need more than watch-dog groups to revive our education system. About 20 years ago Malaysians were laughing at India as it had more graduates with postgraduate qualifications than jobs but today the ICT backbone world-wide relies on Indian IT graduates. In Malaysia it was reported that there were 6000 ICT professionals who are Indian Nationals.

AMNOites sneer and snigger at Bangladeshis but the latter are proud to have a country-man who is a Noble Prize winner. What about AMNO?
written by merlin2001, November 26, 2008 17:31:52
Come March 2009, our beloved Nation will be dead meat as I do not see one single good UMNO man nominated so far.
Thus PM Badawi is still my preferred choice. How this can happen is anybody's guess.
I wish we have the guts like the Thais. They the people dare to oppose the government whom they think is useless to them. Not one , not two but by the hundreds of thousands. That is democracy greater than US standards.
written by redzuank, November 27, 2008 10:51:03
Agree with U Pete,

Fatwa should set priority on Corruption at first.
2nd might be ISA.

redssays.blogspot.com
written by swordfish11, November 27, 2008 11:50:27

They should also issue fatwas pertaining on gambling at 4 digits shop, buying lottery ticket and smoking
written by cpchen, November 28, 2008 00:58:34

You have upheld the dignity of HISTORY in Malaysia. Ketuanan Melayu has been politicised by those in power. In this modern world Master vs Slave mindset will finally go into graveyard for ever with the victory of Obama in Ameirica. TQ so much Pete.