Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Defending customs, Malay unity and rights

Defending customs, Malay unity and rights PDF Print
Monday, 24 November 2008 15:18

Mahathir said instead of just defending their rights under the social contract, the Malays should start talking about the benefits enjoyed by the other races because of the social contract.

Translation by Cindy Tham and Khairil Anhar, The Nut Graph

FROM 15 to 21 Nov 2008, the Malay press highlighted Raja Dr Nazrin Shah's speech on integration; Foreign Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim's comments on the position of the Malays; and the threat of a naked protest against the Selangor government's plan to raise the rent for a public housing programme.

Raja Nazrin's speech

Utusan Malaysia's front-page lead on 20 Nov reported on Raja Nazrin's speech, stressing on the importance of immigrant communities respecting and accepting the customs, history and government system of the country they migrated to.

According to the report, Terima adat tempatan, the Raja Muda of Perak said immigrants should observe the Malay saying, "Di mana bumi dipijak, di situ langit di junjung" (respect for local customs).

He said this in his keynote address at the Diversity Matters Forum on Diasporas in the Commonwealth at Monash University, Sunway campus.

In the report, Raja Nazrin went on to say that in a plural society, the different cultures should be allowed to live freely without being made to do anything they do not wish to.

He said democracy means one can choose to adapt to society, assimilate, or not be interested at all. However, it is important to create a society that shares similar values and priorities.

Berita Harian's report on the same speech started with a different angle. The report, Komuniti pendatang perlu hormati tradisi tempatan, led with Raja Nazrin saying that people in a multiracial and multicultural society should be given the freedom to choose their way of life without being forced to do what they do not want to.

"However, the need to form a society with similar values, norms and priorities is very important," he said.

Raja Nazrin noted that the responsibility of integrating with the original or indigenous community does not only lie with the adopted country. Immigrants should also respect and accept local traditions, he said, quoting the same Malay saying.

He also said that in order to uphold fairness and equality, a receiving country should practise integration instead of assimilation. "Integration accepts and enlists; it does not coerce. It respects and values differences as legitimate. Assimilation, on the other hand, seeks to change language, customs, religions and even worldviews," he said.

On 21 Nov, Berita Harian published an editorial, saying all parties should ponder Raja Nazrin's reminder that immigrants in any country should respect and accept the local customs, history and governing system.

It observed that of late, there have been efforts to dispute the social contract and special rights of the Malays.

It said in a plural society like Malaysia, each community, no matter indigenous or immigrant, should be mindful of the other communities' sensitivities.

"Provoking racial sentiments can jeopardise the country's peace and harmony and economy," it said.

It added that if all parties acted rationally and did not make statements that provoked racial tension, we would be able to live together and understand one another better.

Call for Malay unity

On 17 Nov, Utusan Malaysia ran a front-page report on Foreign Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim calling on the Malays to strengthen their unity to avoid being ridiculed by other races.

In the report, Kukuhkan politik Melayu, he said too many negative remarks have been made about the Malays recently, as if they have lost their purpose and pride.

He said this in his keynote address, Kepentingan Melayu dan pribumi dalam sejarah dan perundangan, at a recent forum on legal issues and indigenous rights in the constitution.

Rais said historical facts have been used as a political game, which insults, humiliates and disrespects the Malays and indigenous people. He said the Malays should react whenever the race and Umno are slandered.

Rais argued that historical facts show that the Malays were the first inhabitants in the Malay peninsula.

On the same day, Sinar Harian published an interview with Rais entitiled Tiga elemen untuk ketepikan "ego politik" Melayu.

He said the Malays will continue to be disrespected if they continue to uphold their political ego and sentiment without really understanding it. "If the Malays want to be proud of their position, they must show their abilities and political strength," he said.

Rais said the Malays are starting to become weak because of the existence of three camps — Umno, PAS and Parti Keadilan Rakyat. He said the Malays need to find a unifying factor, such as Islam, to strengthen the race and avoid being ridiculed by the other parties.

In an article in Utusan Malaysia on 20 Nov, former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad called on the Malays to adopt a more proactive attitude in defending their rights.

"Nowadays we only see the Malays defending instead of attacking," he said. "We need to defend our position, and like the English saying that the best defence is a good offence, we need to be on the offensive to defend ourselves," he said at a Perdana Leadership Foundation talk.

Mahathir said instead of just defending their rights under the social contract, the Malays should start talking about the benefits enjoyed by the other races because of the social contract.

Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra gave out one million citizenships to non-Malays without any question, he said. "If they want to revoke Malay rights, we too want to revoke the rights given to them," he said.

Naked protest

On 14 Nov, Gerakan Reformasi Rakyat Malaysia (Reformis) threatened to stage a naked protest in objection to the Selangor government's move to raise the rent for the People's Housing Programme from RM124 to RM250 per month.

Reformis plans to stage the protest at the Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah state secretariat building in Shah Alam.

On 15 Nov, Sinar Harian frontpaged reactions from the state government. In Mogok bogel kurang matang, local government, study and research committee chairperson Ronnie Liu said he was willing to have a discussion with Reformis to stop them from going ahead with the protest.

On 16 Nov, Utusan Malaysia reported that the Selangor Islamic Religious Department (Jais) warned Reformis not to go ahead with the protest or it would face stern actions.

In the report, Jais director Datuk Muhammed Khusrin Munawi said naked protests are against Islamic principles.

Selangor mufti Datuk Seri Tamyes Abdul Wahid said the plan to stage the naked protest reflected the person's level of morality and dignity. "Usually, nudity is done by those who have lost their sanity in differentiating between right and wrong," he said.

On the same day, Sinar Harian reported that Reformis chairperson Ramlan Abu Bakar had demanded a debate with Menteri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim.

He said the movement was tired of the Pakatan Rakyat government neglecting the welfare and problems of the poor and marginalised in Selangor.

Comments (47)Add Comment
written by cheekhiaw, November 24, 2008 15:21:42
Instead of talking about their thievery, they should talk about how lucky others are because they did not steal more...

written by ahmadneil, November 24, 2008 15:21:58
I don't need you all to defend my rights.I can only defend my family and my stomach.Don't speak on my behalf.It shame me as a malay baru.Thanks but no thanks.
written by Arubin, November 24, 2008 15:38:59
The rights of other races in Malaysia:

- You have the right to remain silent.
- You have the right to work extra hard in order to afford better education for your children.
- You have the right to be hauled up by the ISA.
- You have the right to be called 'immigrants'.
- You have the right to NOT bid for government contracts.

And lastly, but not least...
- You have the right to migrate to a country which respects you and places more value on your skills and contribution to society.
written by ahmadneil, November 24, 2008 15:45:02
Defend what rights! You all are driving this big imported continental cars,sports cars etc while we malays drive Kancil,Kanari and all this coffin cars. You all go to feast in the restaurant while we sit at the road side stalls with dust in our eyes.
Get lost! Don't use our name to say we all have rights and benefited from your protection.In fact we all malays are left to rot if not forgotten.
written by FFT, November 24, 2008 15:45:27
NOTE:Repeat posting removed
written by Mr Smith, November 24, 2008 15:46:39
I wonder how this same people will react if a European country or America calls on all immigrants, including Muslims, to 'accept and respect' local customs.
Will they run berserk.
written by Sinewy, November 24, 2008 15:49:04
"The need to form a society with similar values, norms and priorities is very important"

The most similar values which can be shared among malaysians are equality, fairness, humility, honesty, hard working, kindness, compassion, and respect for human liberty.
written by skc, November 24, 2008 15:52:44
Great men say, 'Life has to be an incessant process of repair and reconstruction, of discarding evil and developing goodness…. In the journey of life, if you want to travel without fear, you must have the ticket of a good conscience.'
written by Flex65, November 24, 2008 15:55:35
How can I respect someone who still live in the past.

Utusan Malaysia's front-page lead on 20 Nov reported on Raja Nazrin's speech, stressing on the importance of immigrant communities respecting and accepting the customs, history and government system of the country they migrated to. According to the report, Terima adat tempatan, the Raja Muda of Perak said immigrants should observe the Malay saying, "Di mana bumi dipijak, di situ langit di junjung" (respect for local customs).

They are still talking as though we the Chinese just step foot onto this country. When are they going to wake up. Even my father is born here in this country.
written by mob1900, November 24, 2008 15:59:42
"Mahathir said instead of just defending their rights under the social contract, the Malays should start talking about the benefits enjoyed by the other races because of the social contract."

These 'Benefits' you talked about, TDM = Other races' Own Hard Work.
If you have THAT in your equation, then you can 'enjoy these benefits' regardless of your race and religion. That is what TDM meant in his own sarcastic retorts. The social contract put 'Other races' in tougher situation and environments, even succeess for a few and these creme de la croup were rewarded by you, TDM during your time.
See?
TDM actually felts 'responsible', lolx

If he meant of Ketuanan as being Taukeh Tanah and sits on fat ar$e doing nothing but collect 'rental money' like a Feudal Lord, then TDM should be sent back to the appropriate ages, The Medieval Ages with straws as toilet hygiene and Plague as company!
written by sactyr, November 24, 2008 16:13:13
Malay that, Malay this! All the time Malay Malay Malay!! What, non-Malays aren't humans izzit?? Or aren't we Malaysians??

http://sactyr.********.com
written by lamakawan, November 24, 2008 16:15:18
Mahathir a/l Kutty, it is best you keep your words for your LAST BREATH. We do not need you to remind us of past history.
written by fireduck, November 24, 2008 16:20:27
I'm having a bit of a brain-fart today, so cannot engage in any intellectual repartee.

But, damn, I'd love to see the naked protest ..... someone please upload to YouTube. smilies/grin.gif
written by takbolehtahan, November 24, 2008 16:24:48
I think all these speakers need to stop all this defending rubbish. The Malays do not need to be defended from the other races at all. What they need is to be defended from umno. Other races have not been taking anything from anybody. In fact, they are doing all the giving and umno has been taking everything from the other races.

Mahathir did say that 90% of the taxes are being payed by the Chinese. What has umno been doing with all the tax money? Putting them into their own pockets through devious means. And you want to revoke their citizenship? Then who will you be taxing from the big hole created by shipping out these pendatang? Definitely from the MALAYS then. So before these open their mouths about defending Malay rights, please be accurate with the facts.
written by takbolehtahan, November 24, 2008 16:26:02
Errata:

So before these people open their mouths ....
written by rayfire, November 24, 2008 16:27:24
The truth all Malaysians have a share in building this nation, there is no such thing as one race was responsible for all the fine development we see here.
The problem is, politicians with own interest are turning us against each other for their own benefit, my Malay friends, we have a high number of you who are now qualified and is willing to compete at level grounds with other fellow Malaysians. But some of these greedy politicians and cronies are misusing the rights to squander more from the coffers. We are not against helping the needy, why not help all Malaysians who are needy?
We are all fortunate being Malaysians. When the nation started all of us had this understanding of what it means to be Malaysians, just take any old photos and movies and you will see what I mean.
We were more united than ever before.
Now we are sooo diversified, sticking to ur own kinds and such, condemning each other. What has happened, I think one contributing factor is the emergence of pay tv. ie Astro, how many of us watch channels other than what is in our own language?
It diversifies us further. Yes, that is the real sad fact.
Furthemore, the NGOs (not all) who are becoming the NO GOOD ONES are further dividing us apart (alongside politicians).
This is the sad truth again.....
Pewaris action seems to spark even more fear in peace loving Malaysians.
Just look at their reaction and the banners they paraded around, is the power to be has a hand in this reenactment of May 13 kindof spark????
I am not sure but I hope we Malaysian stay level headed to ward off these evils!!!
written by astina, November 24, 2008 16:33:07
its funny how an Indian muslim like TDM can talk this way? Is he very ashamed of his origins that he masks himslef as a malay ?
How guilible are the umNO malays to stomach this ? smilies/grin.gif
written by InEffective, November 24, 2008 16:35:04

My rights is NOT yours to give - its mine to define and exercise.

(the former premier racist politician thinks he owns me - unbelievable - just you come in front of me, and you'll see what happens to you).

don't give a rat's ass about our social contract.
(you can try and conjure up whatever nonsense you want, don't expect me to be stupid enough to believe your crap)

written by citizenmy, November 24, 2008 16:51:51
Nobody will question the social contract if the system is not abused.
written by clarity, November 24, 2008 16:59:43
The citizenship given to our ancestors has nothing to do with us. We did not ask anyone to be born here. But as we are born here we are also citizens of Malaysia by birth. This is not only enshrined in the constitution but also a basic fundamental human right found in the UN charter.
A has 100% and B has 100% but if B says sorry I must have 130% and A can only have 70% until forever, is A taking away the rights of B?
written by joeawk, November 24, 2008 17:01:44
Old fart must know that whatever we enjoy, we work our butts out. Nothing was given on a platter and that is a big difference. Having said thta, it is quite satisfdying to succed somehow despite all the discrimination we have to suffer and all the hurdles we have to clear.

The old man is a utter disgrace to humanity, not just the malays for continueing to fan racial disharmony.

written by ahmadneil, November 24, 2008 17:05:46
We even have no rights to light candles,wear 'Free RPK T shirts',to have vigils etc.What bloody rights are they barking about.
written by sydput, November 24, 2008 17:11:01
TDM wants division, segregation and uni-ethinicity. We want unity and diversity (like the rainforst). This country must eveolve for the future. Like what we taught Obama- malaysia boleh - yes we can.
written by malsia1206, November 24, 2008 17:21:36
What Mahathir is essentially referring to is this - in the platter, the crumbs are the benefits the non-Malays enjoy as their benefits. The Malays eat their abalone in another silver platter dished out by the Government. It's up to the readers to know the differences between the crumbs and the abaoline. But both are indeed considered 'benefits' in Mahathir's taste buds.
written by yipck, November 24, 2008 17:41:45
Defend Malay from what and Attack what???
Are we at war???

If anyone that should be defending and attacking, it should be the NON-MALAY that needs to Defend their rights from being daily taken away bit by bit.

It should be the NON-MALAY that ATTACK those that steal their rights!!!
written by temenggong, November 24, 2008 17:42:58
Mahathir is instigating the malays. Let the malays ask about the citizenship of non malays. Let them do their own research and find out that there was no quid pro quo of citizenship for malay rights.

Let them research on land titles to see when ownership arose. This is going to be interesting.
written by truthbespoken, November 24, 2008 18:09:25
“Mahathir said instead of just defending their rights under the social contract, the Malays should start talking about the benefits enjoyed by the other races because of the social contract”. He also said the best defence is a good offence, meaning Malay Malaysians need to be on the offensive to defend against non-Malay Malaysians!"

Mahathir is talking about race again and is promoting internal strive within the country! So let's talk race with him! To begin with, we have an Indian (because his father is Indian) in Mahathir who have abandoned his own race and described himself as a Malay! This shameless Indian is still now calling the shots because this Indian Muslim had shamelessly convinced the Malays he is a Malay because he is Muslim! He couldn't have done that if he had not pretended and acted to be more Malay than Malay! After conning the Malays for decades and putting them under his thumb, the Malays even allowed him to become the PM of the country!

Now suffering cats we Malaysians all are, both Malays and non-Malays. After ruling the country for twenty two years during which Malaysians and outsiders have progressively witnessed and experienced deteriorating race relations within the country, this racist of a man still has the gall to advance his failed policies in the creation of a prosperous and harmonious multi-racial, multi-cultural and multi-religious Malaysia. Over time, he had unfailingly advocated and imposed his divide-and-rule practices on the people, always the Malays against the non-Malays as he is now still doing above. Poor us Malaysians! Look at how this evil man had single-handedly wrecked havoc on the country!. Otherwise, with our natural resources, human capital and a time period of 51 years, our country could have become the top few, if not one of the top two countries in Asia! Mahathir, this Indian Muslim had destroyed our Malaysian dream of becoming a harmonious and united nation by weakening and controlling the Malays and non-Malays through regressive policies. He had successfully divided us his whole life and he still wish that his old tricks will still work for him to feed his selfish ego-maniac personality.

Malaysians, Malays and non-Malays alike, we must rise up to the occasion to tell this Malaysian nation-wrecker of the Indian mould that he still is, that his game to divide us is definitely up and he has to go and fade away from the political scene! We must all think for ourselves and for our united future! Mahathir doesn't belong to this country or era anymore. This country also doesn't belong to Mahathir!

My fellow Malaysians, just read one more time, even maybe two times, on what he had just uttered above and decide for yourself whether this divisive Indian Muslim is good for the future of a united Malaysia as a forward-looking nation. He is definitely an Indian, not Malay, and he is still bent on playing and promulgating his evil racist game on all of us, dividing Malay and non-Malay Malaysians!
written by Shimshon, November 24, 2008 18:14:34

According to PSM's Nasir, the implementation of the NEP which focused on one race soon gave currency to the ketuanan Melayu rhetoric.
-----

The NEP/DEB = Malay Economic Policy, Dasar Ekonomi Melayu - as it's all about this one this one race -
and nothing "new/baru" about the NEP/DEB.....
as they violated, betrayed the "social contract" that the NEP be a 20-yr thing, between 1971-91.
(After 1991, it should be re-termed, Dasar Ekonomi Zaman Purba/Masa Silam)

The NEP/DEB = "Pengagihan Semula Kekayaan Negara".

And we know this would never have been cooked up, the Malays were already prosperous, or "superior". It was for the "superior" Chinese to help advance the "inferior" Malays esp. economically. (So the NEP is the Malays, the socalled natives, stealing from the nonMalays - as they can't "make money", "cari makan" themselves).

So the NEP is not!! the wealthy, prosperous, highly productive, "advanced civilization race(Malays)", sharing, giving out(sedekah), Malays being benevolent to the Bangsa Asings, Kaum Pendatang, Kaum Penumpang, Kaum Pengemis(who take advantage of the ehsan/compassionate orang Melayu)......... but the other way around!!!

Because the Malays & Muslims generally(across the world evidence show) aren't good at making money, throughout the 1960s - various forms of demands, threats, including the frequent, and till today threats of: "Remember May 1969?! We'll Kill You!, Go Back to China, India! ----- and after they did do some killing spree(May '69) - the NEP was born.

Now for less than a couple of years already, (before Hindraf's Nov 25 '07 thing; including the Namewee's YouTube "Negarakuku" thing), the Malays have already sensed "some betrayal, not being patriotic, etc" among the nonMalays - and have been cooking up/conspiring another "May 13"(killing spree).

We already can see how the mainstream media esp. Utusan, TV3, Bernama TV, TV1(esp. the SMSs from viewers), before and after the Mar 8 '08 general elections and been trying to provoke the Malays into violence & killings or hostility. (Abd Rahim Thamby Chik said, "If the Indians ie Hindraf start talking about their rights, the Malays would be out with parangs"; police report made and no action taken, as the norm).

The armed forces and police did a couple of joint exercises this year, and we know it's to create an atmosphere & environment, so that Malays would go out and do some violence and killings, and when the nonMalays defend themselves, the idea would be the nonMalay-Muslims attacked the peaceful/peace-loving/nonprovocative Malay-Muslims, and the cops and military simply came to their defense (like in May '69 and Kg. Medan incident '01)!

So folks, get ready ready to be killed this 2009, as the global economic downturn now would show its effect (in '09). And of course, with economic problems, social unrest & chaos could easily be "provoked" by "certain quarters". ... And get ready for "Dictator Najib C4".
written by densemy, November 24, 2008 18:17:59
Uniting the Malays wont mean they will be any less susceptible to ridicule

The fact that they claim to be the superior race, and the fact that they claim to belong to the perfect religion leaves them wide open to ridicule

They are their own worst enermies
written by Engineer, November 24, 2008 18:26:49
Old Man, instead of talking about the benefits enjoyed by the other races because of the social contract let's talk about the benefit enjoyed by your family and cronies during your tenure as PM.

If you minus these from your equation, the other races benefits little.
written by BOB007, November 24, 2008 18:28:32
u say speacial right to malay get benefit to non malay. non malay own company must hv 1 malay as share holder n this malay sidown at hm or kedai kopi get our share n we as no malay hv to work hard to earn money. bcz of ur regemetn last time now all non malay suffure.
written by Malaysiaputra, November 24, 2008 18:33:03

Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra gave out one million citizenships to non-Malays without any question, he said. "If they want to revoke Malay rights, we too want to revoke the rights given to them," he said.

====

The senile old man should ask himself what are benefits he and his cronies get for having the non Malays in Malaysia. For instance who are the ones who build up the companies that his sons has directorship in ?.

This imitation, instant maggie mee Malay should ask himself how much he and his imitation Malays have benefited from the presence of the non Malays in Malaysia. He seems to have forgotten that he mentioned that 90% of the taxes comes form the non Malays. With these taxes were he able to pay for many projects in the contry.

Instead of leading all Malaysians irrespective of race to become united as Malaysias he is still practicing his divide and rule policies.
written by KotaDamansara73, November 24, 2008 19:34:44
selama 22 tahun, kezaliman Mahathir menghantui kedudukannya yang sebenar ...
selama 22 tahun, Mahathir memperbodohkan orang melayu dan masih melakukannya hingga hari ini ...
selama 22 tahun, orang melayu menyerahkan jiwa dan raga untuk diperalatkan oleh Mahathir tanpa ketahui hakikat sebenar kezalimannya ...
selama 22 tahun, Mahathir mengagung-agungkan ketuanan melayu agar dia dapat diagungi oleh rakyat ...
selama 22 tahun, kezaliman Mahathir telah menyebabkan struktur perlembagaan serta jentera perkhidmatan kerajaan bertukar arah ke rasuah tahap tertinggi ...
selama 22 tahun, kezaliman Mahathir , hak milik tanah rakyat biasa dirampas dan ditukarkan kepada kroni-kroninya ...
selama 22 tahun, DEB yang diamalkan cuma menguntungkan anak-anak Mahathir serta sanak saudara sendiri terlebih dahulu ...
kini selepas 22 tahun, kezaliman Mahathir berlalu , dia masih berani mengancam perlembagaan kerajaan dan tiada sesiapa yang berani menahannya dengan ISA ...
kini selepas 22 tahun, kezaliman Mahathir berlalu , kesultanan melayu pun tidak berani menyuarakan sebarangan terhadap ancamannya ...
kini selepas 22 tahun, kezaliman Mahathir berlalu , orang melayu masih merupakan senjata sulit umno untuk mengekalkan kuasa kerajaan ...
kini selepas 22 tahun, kezaliman Mahathir berlalu , orang melayu masih ketinggalan dari segi sosial ekonomi dan tidak mampu berdikari tanpa mendekati dan menyembah umno ...
kini selepas 22 tahun, kezaliman Mahathir berlalu , rakyat masih mempertikaikan perkauman dan status kerakyatan ...
kini selepas 22 tahun, kezaliman Mahathir berlalu , rakyat di Sarawak dan Sabah hidup dalam keadaan terdesak dan serba kekurangan malahan ada yang hilang kepentingan diri dalam tanah sendiri ...
kini selepas 22 tahun, kezaliman Mahathir berlalu , kepolisan telah bermaharajalela dan beroperasi sebagai 'jenayah' bertauliah di Malaysia ala Mafia ...
Kini , semuanya terserlah dan mereka yang terlibat dalam skandal kejatuhan maruah negara dan bangsa masih berani menipu orang melayu bertubi-tubi demi mengekalkan kuasa mereka dalam kerajaan ...
kini , negara Malaysia menunggu kebangkitan orang melayu yang ingin menjadi rakyatNya bersatu dan memperhentikan 'kezaliman' umno yang bermula daripada razak.
Wahai , orang melayu .....
tidak cukupkah generasi dan bangsa sendiri 'diperkosakan' oleh umno ....
sampai bila baru berani menghadapi kebenaran Allah ...
Fikir Fikirkanlah selalu ..
written by borneoman, November 24, 2008 20:14:25
mahatirs head is a highly prized trophy in sarawak.the natives are what they are now because of him and his ketuanan melayu umno policy.
written by Loh, November 24, 2008 21:30:00
///Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra gave out one million citizenships to non-Malays without any question, he said. "If they want to revoke Malay rights, we too want to revoke the rights given to them," he said.///---TDM

Those who obtained the citizenships given by Tunku are happy to have them taken away now. Of course I refer to those who are long dead. Would the Malays be ready to allow their euhemerism of special rights be removed now, willingly like the late Tun Dr Ismail said that when Malays no longer require them which was the raison d’etre for having them, out of pride?.

TDM is only interested in causing disturbances in the country. He did it before 1969, and benefited as PM for 22 years. He will do it again for his son.

One might think that he sincerely cared for his co-race, if he was born Malay. No, he was the grandson of an Indian migrant. But he declared that he is 100% Malay. Is he doing and saying this for a truly united Malaysian nation?

When he was the PM, he said that so long as there was one Malay serving Chinese employer as driver, the Malays would still not be ready to forgo NEP. That was how he sidestepped serious social issue. That was his arrogance.

He is not talking about the economic situation of Malays now to see if they had reached the economic level where Article 153 was said to be required initially for 15 years, and NEP was needed for 20 years with a footnote on the level of equity share ownership attaining 30%.

TDM is now talking pure and nakedly on race alone. It is about Malays fighting the non-Malays. It is obvious that we would expect that as he had been a PM of the country and he should have been responsible to preserve and protect the constitution, and to serve the King for national interests. His statement here is a disappointment. He presided over racist policies with the intention of ethnic cleansing through non-violence means. Now he incites racial hatred of Malays against non-Malays without regards to whether there would ever be any violent social unrest. He wants to fish in trouble water.
written by MalaysianUnited, November 24, 2008 21:41:39
Bro Shimshon,

and the cops and military simply came to their defense (like in May '69 and Kg. Medan incident '01)! What i knew bro,police have reduce the Kg.Medan tension On every car that have parang etc will be taken or asked to leave the place either on both side. bro, our ego will be the last 'wall' if we knew the truth. hope we all can stand to justice rather than our race superior..

written by ChangeBoy, November 24, 2008 22:20:14
i am so gonna study hard and work hard to become a somebody, and when i become so, and the goverment isn't PR, i am so gonna migrate and contribute my tax money to some goverment that doesnt call me an immigrant and allow me to call his's land my home.
written by pixieface, November 24, 2008 22:27:27
How senile can one get. Don't know how to retire gracefully. Everytime he open his
mouth, racist remarks is all he could think about. Is he trying to incite chaos with these racist remarks. Where's the ISA on this.
written by yy88, November 24, 2008 23:37:39
You can see how evil is this Mamak Kerala, stoking his racists card again.
He is still trying to manipulate the malays, divide and rule, for his own selfish protection.

GOD works in a very unique way. As he was already given a second chance and yet he did not repent, GOD would just take him away when he thought he had achieved his goal and leave peacefully. GOD will make him regret not only in this life but in his after life for all the sins he committed against Malaysian and humanity.
written by temenggong, November 24, 2008 23:40:59
Let them question citizenship, malay lands, etc., for history is there with inescapable conclusions. The draft Malayan Union (1946) and Federation of Malaya (194smilies/cool.gif constitutions are there for all to see. There were no citizenship issues before 1909. Er, not even the malays were 'citizens'.

About two-thirds of malays today are descendants of immigrants (pendatangs) in the last 150 years. Of the remaining one-third malays, about two-thirds are descendants of slaves. In other words, just one in nine malay today was a longtime resident free malay.

And we know that this 'one in nine' is a descendent of Palembang, Acheh, Bugis, Javanese or Boyanese, most of whom were already intermarried either with Indian, chinese or Arabs.

We need to know, what is the basis of claim or 'ownership'? Is it first immigration, or conquest?
written by chanatak, November 24, 2008 23:54:08
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif Rais argued that historical facts show that the Malays were the first inhabitants in the Malay peninsula. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

THUS SPEAKS ANOTHER GREAT UMNO INTELLECTUAL IDIOT! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif UMNO NEVER RUNS OUT OF MALAY IDIOTS WHO CAUSE THEMSELVES TO LOSE THE RESPECT OF OTHERS. RAIS YATIM IS SUPPOSED TO BE BRAINIER THAN OTHERS i.e. SYED HAMID for example , and see what kind of statements he proclaims.

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif Can you blame anyone other than UMNO for causing Malays to lose face?

written by wood, November 25, 2008 00:49:14
I am indeed shock that our ex premier TDM talks like that!
smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by gorshan, November 25, 2008 00:57:21
there is a famous saying that goes like this " when you swims among sharks,do not provoke the sharks". someday i will be out of the reach of these sharks and then i will tell them in no uncertain terms what i think of their ketuanan concept and into which of their body orifices they can stuff their ketuanan.

and Dr Mahatipu, India hides her face in shame at the mention of your lineage to her. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by AsamLaksa, November 25, 2008 01:11:21
Immigrants need to respect local customs? Well, yes. But who are these immigrants? Malaysian citizens be they Malay, Chinese, Indian and Lain-lain who has held citizenship for a long time or are descendants of citizens are not immigrants. They form part of the local scene.

However, expats, migrant workers, new citizens should respect local customs. What does that mean? They should respect the multicultural customs in a multicultural Malaysia. Simple.

I do not know why people want to play up Raja Nazrin's speech. The pendatang in his speech is clearly non-citizens or new citizens. He also does not define what are the local customs like. Stop all this pendatang nonsense.

TDM is up to his tricks again. Who is planning to revoke Malay rights? What are these rights? Right to education? Well, removing racial quota does not revoke right to education. Right to housing? Removing racial quotas and privileges does not remove right to housing. What the Malays are worked up about is the removal of privileges, not rights. But privilege is a less emotive word. After all it means like something extra rather than a basic right.

The anti-NEP lobby is not asking to revocation of Malay rights, they are asking for equality. That means all Malaysians have the fair chance and access to education, housing, etc. How does this revoke Malay rights?
written by borneoman, November 25, 2008 05:46:31
"He said this in his keynote address, Kepentingan Melayu dan pribumi dalam sejarah dan perundangan, at a recent forum on legal issues and indigenous rights in the constitution."
FCUK YOU MELAYU CIPLAK UMNO ...YOU ALREADY HIJACKED THE WORD BUMIPUTRA AND MELAYU AND NOW YOU WANT TO HIJACK THE WORD PRIBUMI.WE THE NATIVES OF SARAWAK, SABAH AND THE ORANG ASLI OF MALAYA ARE THE REAL PRIBUMI.
damn you melayu tiruan,stop getting a free ride on the good and innocent name of the natives.
written by MalaysianFirst, November 25, 2008 23:08:06
In political science, a man (or woman) who dedicates his struggle to the nation is known as a nationalist, while a man (or woman) who dedicates his struggle to a race is known as a racist. There are no in betweens.

For 39 years, Mahathir has given his all to the Malays at the expense of the country's progress and unity. Therefore, he is 100% a racist. I know, there are many, many Malays who dearly love this racist, but what he is doing is socially wrong. Let me put it this way,

If you are a mother (or father), and your son who loves you very dearly, goes into the world, works hard to earn money to put food on the table for the family, you should be very proud of him.

But, if you are a mother (or father), and your son who loves you dearly, brings back money and food that is TAKEN FROM OTHERS FORCIBLY, should you be proud of him?

If my son brings home money or food that is stolen or robbed, I'll throw him out as he has disgraced the family's name.