Home arrow Why You Should Not Vote Barisan Nasional

Beyond reproach PDF Print
Monday, 24 November 2008 10:18

Therefore, let us here set aside any questioning of these latest fatwa, and consider instead their effect. They drive a wedge deeper between this country's Muslims and non-Muslims, at a time when racial and religious polarisation are worse than they've been in three generations.

NST Editorial

WHAT is called "yoga" in fitness centres and gymnasiums has about as much relation to Hindu devotional practices as taking a deep breath and counting to 10 has to transcendental meditation. This would have been obvious to the National Fatwa Council had it matched its presumably exhaustive research into the religious antecedents of yoga with a visit to any session of the practice now forbidden to Malaysian Muslims. They would have found no chanting of mantras, no liturgies or sacerdotal offerings -- merely people engaged in physical exercise. The term "yoga" in this context is scarcely more laden than "Pilates", "aerobics" or "jumping jacks". Still, the council has seen fit to solemnly proscribe it for Muslims, for fear of it eroding their faith.

To be fair, were the Fatwa Council to have no more than an advisory role, it is highly doubtful that anyone would heed its rulings on matters such as this and the similar proscription now levelled against women not dressing as the council maintains women should dress. But the council seems clearly to presume that Muslims themselves can't be expected to know what being Muslim means, and is consequently concerned with protecting them from themselves. Hence, the council's edicts are accompanied by equally stern warnings against their decisions being questioned by any quarter: the opinions of non-Muslims are irrelevant for obvious reasons, and the criticisms of Muslims are also irrelevant because the council holds that, by definition, those who question these decisions are afflicted with a flawed understanding of their own religion. The council cannot lose, and its critics cannot win.

Therefore, let us here set aside any questioning of these latest fatwa, and consider instead their effect. They drive a wedge deeper between this country's Muslims and non-Muslims, at a time when racial and religious polarisation are worse than they've been in three generations. They undermine, perhaps fatally, the more inclusive and universal tenets of the "civilisational" Islam Hadhari advocated by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and the rationalism alluded to by Raja Muda of Perak Raja Dr Nazrin Shah in his address to last weekend's international conference on Islamic studies, as well as efforts to present ourselves as "an exemplar of a modern, progressive and moderate Muslim country" in a world where civilisations are clashing to ever deadlier effect. Most gravely of all, they emphasise again that the National Fatwa Council enjoys the legal standing to declare that its decisions can never be questioned, presuming they hold all the authority of divine scripture.

written by densemy, November 24, 2008 10:26:09
I'm gobsmacked
written by SCM, November 24, 2008 10:34:00
densemy,

Why are you gobsmacked? This is Islam Hadhari and it's just like the guy who propagates it, i.e. doesn't work but is still put in place. Soon, they will have a fatwa banning marbles as Adam and Eve were the first to play marbles and it may thus be related to Christianity and the Bible.
written by michael chick, November 24, 2008 10:40:38
Get the Shiite Muslims to move into Malaysia. They should put a stop to UMNO's nonsense...
written by RumahPanjai, November 24, 2008 10:43:15
Thank goodness there are still kafirs amongst us. They get to do as they choose within the law. Their private lives are their own business. No godforsaken busy body gets to tell them to abide by narrow minded fatwa values in this progressive world. Why do they pick on YOGA which is a form of exercise is beyond us. A fatwa on all muslim men to cover any expose skin would be more appropriate in this case.
written by raven1958, November 24, 2008 10:45:20
The morons at the FARTWAH Council are the direct products of the kampong education system the UMNO government runs. you NST should be in the know more then anyone else as you were the champions of the this half baked education system. instead of whining why dont you try to set it back to the English education system before there are more drug addicts, bohsias, mat rempits and 10A rejects at Al Azhar. this country has been destroyed by the likes of gutless journalism employed by the NST. no (guts) to stand up to the political heat of kampong simpletons. the greatest enemies of this nation are nationalistic half educated gangsters who buy their way to being law makers. it is so easy to identify them in parliment. if you have any principles left.the NST should go after these lunatics before the country burns out.
written by cahaya, November 24, 2008 11:00:26
This latest fatwa has nothing to do with Islam. It has to do with Malaysian politics.
In Malaysia, politics is race-based. Malays are the majority race. All Malays are Muslim. In their efforts to control the Malays, some Amno politicians are using religion, a Muslim Council, to make silly decisions. By not consulting experts (whether Muslim or others), they display their disregard for other religions and other races, as well as their low intellect.
written by LACOBRA, November 24, 2008 11:06:25
I begin to doubt if my Malay forefathers actually embraced Islam freely during the Arab trade or influence. It seems to be the only united front against the pendatang until the inception of UMNO.
written by nafis, November 24, 2008 11:13:39
and amno is rubbing its hands together in delight as its plan is working to put the rakyat in chaos. remember "divide and rule", guys. like cahaya said, this is purely political especially with the case of that dr. maamor and the police report

i have always been in support of the so-called persatuan pengguna muslim malaysia when it tries to protect the muslim consumers' interests but of late, i am disgusted at seeing its website contents which is getting more and more "non-malay bashing" than actually fighting the cause of 'muslims' interests'. korang kat ppim ni lupa ke muslims are not all malays? the swearing and cussing that the forummers use put other muslims in shame. "ini bukan budaya kita" malulah sikit.
and now with this report and that report, we the rakyat are getting apart even further with all sorts of religious issues [small ones but blown out of proportion thanks to amno]

my heart bleeds........
written by densemy, November 24, 2008 11:28:57
SCM I'm gobsmacked cos someone on the NST is actually having an original thought Of course the reference to Islam Hadhari cancelled that out But i'm inclined to agree with cahaya. All this fatwa business is obviously directed at maintaining the chasm between malays and Malaysians and hence UMNO in power

Once again politicians use religion to manipulate Malaysians
written by Compadre45, November 24, 2008 11:52:05
I have nothing against PAS. We have voted for PAS an Islamic Party and in the last GE even more non-muslims and muslims have voted for PAS hoping that they will play a role in PR govn to protect the interest of thier supporters whether muslims or non-muslims. They are more an Islamic Party compared to PKR and DAP. Why are'nt they doing something to correct any issues that FART WAH and DUMNO goons who comes up with ridiculous laws which may be out of the true ISLAMIC guidelines ? Did PAS forget that they have their roles, duties and responsibilities towards us who gave them our support with our votes ??? Hmmm.. Whats happenning Mannn !!!! smilies/shocked.gif >

PAS ... Can you pls dont be silent and do something to stop all these nonsense ????
written by SeriousLy, November 24, 2008 12:07:46
UMNO is using all this issues to cloud our focus that UMNO is doing something behind the scenes! UMNO is using sentiments to make Malays angry because UMNO knows that all they need is leaders either in NGO or Kampung or street gangsters to lead a mob. Well just pay the leaders and the leaders will do it! Now using Fatwas? My question is Where is all the RAKYATs money going? ECONOMY!!!!! Hello when is the price of petrol coming down? how much money is collected from petrol tax? Petrol TAX??? First time in Malaysian history! Petrol Tax!
written by SeriousLy, November 24, 2008 12:16:00
Dear RPK, Lets refocus all our attention on the money trail! How much are Malaysians paying for petrol tax? We need to destroy UMNOs money train! Why is UMNO protecting the government contractors when their price is high compared to other quotes? If they can create jobs so can other contractors with cheaper cost! I have many more questions that can open up minds of Malaysians!
written by FFT, November 24, 2008 13:09:51
The fatwa council is currently under the payroll of Najib and Rosmah to create racial instability as a cover to oust Badawi.

Instrumental in this design You can already see some of Mahafiraun's lapdogs, like Rocky Bru, trying to spin the reasonable questioning of this fatwa into a racial tinderbox.

There isn't a better time for all the beans to be spilled about Najib and Rosmah's involvement in Altantuya's murder, and to initiate the arrest of Mahafiraun and a few of his lapdogs under the ISA to maintain order and security.
written by Samanyan, November 24, 2008 13:47:15
I truly pity my malay friends. The world requires them to be progressive, competent, able to face competition from evey side and in every field of endeavour... but neither the education they receive nor the policies of the government prepares them for any such competition.

And to top it, the religious authorities constantly tell them that they need to learn nothing from others (the kafirs) for they have the essence of all knowledge they need to survive and excell on earth. All other knowledge everyone else has is, supposedly inferior.

But, when my malay friends come out into the real world and look around them, they find nothing further from the truth. For every smart malay out there, they find 20 other non-malays excelling in their respective fields .... and my malay friends know in their hearts that the other 20 are making it without any form of assistance from anybody.... while they have had all sorts of assistance to arrive at where they are.

They then ask themselves.... "if we have all the knowledge, we should do very much better than all these kafirs? Why? What? How?....." they scratch their heads. Of course they can not say anything to those who keep telling them that they need not look at any alternative modality ... everything they require to excell is there with them.

They scratch their heads in private...... a thousand questions... a constant nagging voice inside... trying to question.... Why? What? How? ...... I truly pity them. Before they can even engage with the rest of the world on equal footing, they have to deal with that constant voice inside.
written by cruzeiro, November 24, 2008 14:09:29
Can some creative guy come up with an arabic name for these excercises without the "religious elements" in yoga and market it as "halal excercises"?
Maybe they should consider some "ang pow" for some people too ...

It'll work for these guys bent on splitting hairs to divide society.
written by ekt tan, November 24, 2008 17:29:43
Fatwa against yoga today! Tomorrow Fatwa against all forms of entertaintments, travelling in cars, having sex. Let the country move backwards into the dark ages. Oh yes! bring in the Taliban and impose public stoning and prosecute all women and girls who are raped!
written by Admiral Tojo, November 24, 2008 21:10:30
Howcome no fart wah on Guru Ji, Rosmah and Najib's soothsayer???

Salaam