Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow A respected muslim woman comments on yoga fatwa

A respected muslim woman comments on yoga fatwa PDF Print
Monday, 24 November 2008 09:31

I am shocked, aghast and dismayed at the fatwa on Yoga and the dressing of not so feminine clothes. What will they think of next? It seems to me these people have nothing better to do. Their posts are redundant and they have to do something to attract attention. Unfortunately the attention they attract is very negative and further destroys the liberal image of Islam Hadhari which the Prime Minister had tried to portray.

I have been practicing yoga since I was young and have never become a "lesbian" or joined the Hindu religion as alleged by these ignoramus! What an insult to Muslims and particularly women. Insulting women and belittling them seems to be the main target of these men! Stop it before people start calling you MORONS!

There are more important issues to focus and worry about such as the killing of innocent civilians, women and children under the false guise of 'jihad'  The killing of innocent women who have been raped. Instead of punishing the rapists, the poor innocent victim is put to death for the 'shame'.

This is not ISLAMIC! Islam stopped the killing of innocent female infants! Read the Quran and know its meaning properly. Study what is the SUNNAH – THE WAY OF LIFE OF THE PROPHET ad follow it! Any level thinking person will know that they are way off track. No wonder the International media too has been has such a negative view of ISLAM by headlines such as 'Muslim terrorists' and the like. How is that we never see headlines like 'Christian terrorists'? As such they blame every negative incident on Islam whereas it is these ignorant and not so well informed people who are further enhancing the true meaning and purpose of Islam.

Stop it now before it is too late! JAKIM should be shut down immediately and safe good public funds which could be put to better use to assist the poor and needy. There are enough 'Muslim' organizations already looking after the Muslim interests without them messing it up and making more Muslims particularly women angrier. When the women march there will be no stopping them!

Hajjah Marina Yusoff
A Muslim Malay woman who loves her religion

Note: I personally like to know what the NGO, Sisters in Islam, has to say on this issue. Will all the so-called liberated and intelligent Muslim women in Kuala Lumpur speak up on this issue. Well, I think this fatwa is politically motivated and damaging to the image of our country. — Din Merican

written by rizzku, November 24, 2008 09:41:33
I personally think that woman's voice will never be taken seriously in this particular 'circle of belief'. However, do not stop. Keep on voicing your displeasure. I am in agreement with you.
written by Flex65, November 24, 2008 09:52:56
How good can one be if you have to force your followers to follow the rules? Many Indian become a vegetarian on their own free will on certain days of the month. The Chinese also did the same same thing on the ninth moon of the chinese calendar. Nobody force them, no laws that says they must do it. No enforcers to catch anyone who don't follow. YET THERE ARE MANY PEOPLE DO IT.

How good can one be if force has to be used? It is either you are no good or no confidence on the followers. Why should I believe in you if you don't believe in me?
written by Xerxes, November 24, 2008 10:19:10
At the same time this yoga fatwa was announced, there was also reported in the press the lavish opening of the resort Atlantis in Dubai, UAE. I cannot help thinking of the irony that while, Dubai, on the Arabian peninsula and the bastion of Islam, is moving towards joining the modern world, in Malaysia here we are moving backwards. I am not qualified to comment who is wrong or right but I will wonder how can we expect the Arabs to invest in Malaysia. The Arabs from UAE are among the most business savvy people from the Middle East and the support for Atlantis clearly demonstrates their thinking, which is opposite to what Malaysia is promoting at the moment with this fatwa and the tomboy issues.

written by Bigjoe99, November 24, 2008 10:20:12
Jeffersonian ideals in Malaysia...
written by krising1, November 24, 2008 10:57:49
I am not a Muslim and I will not comment on this. Orders from the IGP. So the non-Muslim will also stay out. But I think I see enough disgust amongst the Muslims on this fatwa that they will surely vote the UMNOputras out of power in the next election. Will they?
written by Sam W, November 24, 2008 11:11:00
When the women march there will be no stopping them? Hahaha, of course not...march to the kitchen and prepare your men their favourite food. Go ahead make my day. There are more of you in higher institutions of learning, top jobs, etc.etc. and yet you let them lead you by the nose.
written by mick_err_stan, November 24, 2008 11:17:07
Hahahahaha! Practicing Yoga will lead to deviation of fate.It is this backward thinking that makes a rape victim the instigator, whilst the rapist a victim of consequences. In the old days many religions has this flawed thinking on dos and donts with example of the Spanish inquisition, the boxer rebellion in China, people are led to believe and not taught to think. However today they have moved on. Using sound rationale and reasoning to distinguish the good from the bad and to adopt the good is the way forward.

If this gets out to the international community, Malaysia will be a laughing stock. How can this help boost FDI. If I'm a foreign investor, with choice of countries in this region to invest in. Fatwa on Yoga may just sway my decision in selecting Malaysia.

Incredible that UMNO stand by this fatwa. Anyway it's no lost to the non-muslim, but to all my yoga loving muslim friends, time to look for an alternative exercise!
written by NickChan, November 24, 2008 11:19:37
What fatwa council said is true. Muslims must accept it.

Muslims can still continue practising it without elements of hinduism.

Xerxes : "Dubai, on the Arabian peninsula and the bastion of Islam"
Muslims cannot deny Dubai is very un-islamic city. They even treat muslims labourer 2nd class with highly arpatheid-like laws.

Fatwas on tomboys or drags are not neccessary, as it is already an Islam teaching.

This is a muslim matter that in NO WAY affect non-muslims.
written by Tompios, November 24, 2008 11:53:39
This fatwa will affect non-muslims for sure. think about those Sabahan in East Malaysia. Most of the time, one family with so many religions inside. do not say that it will never affect me if my sister (convert to Islam while study in the local university) get caught by the police for acting Tomboy-ism. do you think, non-moslems are not affect my this fatwa? Bullshit!

written by wartank, November 24, 2008 12:24:16
I support your noble cause all the way.
It is good to see someone stand up to those goons who kept Muslim women oppressed and under their control.
An awareness must be created to the Muslim women at large not to follow blindly but to exercise sufficient discretion towards logic to differentiate between God's will and the wishes/wants of their men masters. There shall not be any master-slave relationship amongst us all.
Otherwise you shall not have people to march with as they will only march to the sound of their men's voice.
written by Hakim Abdullah, November 24, 2008 12:42:35
Yep!..a bunch of moronic uber male chauvinistic crap group finally burned the 'kelambu' because of a 'nyamuk'...won't be long before those bunch of idiots decree that we should all go live in a cave or on top of the tree...Funny how Islam is supposed to progress forward but instead in todays reality it actually retrogaded. Thanks to this moronic decisions, they succeeded in making the rest of us Muslims looked pretty retarded to the rest of civilisation with their warped minded solutions to simple misconceptions. There was a time not too long ago when Muslim Scholars and Muslim intellectuals astounded the world with their brilliant creations and forward thinking mentality. They were admired then... but today?
written by cheekhiaw, November 24, 2008 12:44:07
Hajjah Marina Yusof,

Sorry corect version below.

It is not the size of the letters that made those blindmen from the dark ages blind. Their blindness is deep within their arrogant and worthless brains.

We can only defeat them by educating the younger generations and instilling in them the ability to think critically.

The Europeans took 1,500 years to get rid of their idiots but some like Bush are still bossing around.

Just like these idiots in Malaysia...

written by Motherchell, November 24, 2008 12:55:14
The shocking part of the rule of Law in this Country is -- the govt gives a free hand to the little Talibans here to decide the future of this Nation. Its time for all the educated and aware True Malays to help their fellow brothers and sisters who are less fortunate. We are dealing now with Religious Studies dropouts who carry fancy DR and Phd's with their names.

http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by ireneyow, November 24, 2008 13:04:57
I am very lucky to be born a non muslim women. This is my first tought when I read of this JAKIM act. They are the least educated, stupid, and are agents for BN. They have no mercy on anything (including the choice of excercise). Is'nt it lucky that I am not under the muslims faith which controls everything. They call themselves religious groups BUT in actual fact the are political groups hiding at JAKIM.
written by beijing, November 24, 2008 13:50:24
It is nothing to do with islam. it is all about your mlays race brain of thinking..
written by Tan Tan, November 24, 2008 14:59:59
I need to speak up here for women.

1) National Fatwa council should be head by a respectful, educated and smart Muslim woman like Marina Mahathir. This is to avoid fatwa that is biased to women.

2) National Fatwa council should be sue for giving misleading statement that Singapore also have similiar fatwa on yoga as it is not true. How can a high body religious lied to Muslims in Malaysia.

3) National Fatwa should give specfic details on the tomboy dressing fatwa as it is confusing. If dressing a bit more manly is tomboy, then I think we need to ask all the Muslim policewomen to wears skirts or robe and have long hair to run after offenders. The last time I was at city or police station, the female policewoman are wearing pants and having short hair like policeman.

4) In Saudi Arabia, the Muslim men wears robe like dress and turban decorate with flowers. When are we having the same fatwa for Muslim men in Malaysia?

5) PM, you said u wanna introduce moderate Islam by the name Islam Hadari or something like that? Is National Fatwa council try to make a fool out of you?

6) Did National Fatwa get the approval or consent of Conference of Rulers as the last time I check, our Sultans and Agong is the leader of Islam in this country. I guess not since Sultan Selangor said he yet to be consulted. How come National Fatwa council being so disrespectful to our Sultans, the ruler of Islam of Malaysia?
written by Areyaar, November 24, 2008 15:38:29
Rozlan, instead of asking an intelligent, proven personality like Hajjah Marina about what is wrong with her, why don't you go and take a long, a reallly long look at yourself and your ideals, pitiful as they must be, and ask yourself what is wrong with you??

You do not have to resort to insults and snide insinuations to get a point across. But when you do resort to such cheap tactics, they only reveal your inner core which at best seems to be riddled with insecurities and pitiful chauvanism.

And, truly, don't you yourself have better things to do than to show the world how pathetic you really are??
written by Areyaar, November 24, 2008 15:40:15
If I remember correctly, some years ago, a fatwa was passed banning the smoking of cigerettes. What happened to that fatwa? Why was it never enforced??????????????????????????????????????
written by Anti Relon, November 24, 2008 17:07:07
FEAR IS AN ARTICLE OF RELIGION!!!
Battlestar Galatica
written by sandokan, November 24, 2008 17:35:29
I make a comment on fatwa but the admin deleted it. Anyway, on what ground was yoga ban? So later on the fatwa should ban on 'bersanding' because its hindu culture and pelita panjut before aidil fitri, another hindu culture. Shame on you, fatwa!!!
written by Koleta, November 24, 2008 17:43:24
lets all the Muslims first read and research into yoga and then think and decide if the ruling is done without basis, if you believe in Islam and its emphasis on the unity (tauhid) of God the Creator. Too many people on both sides are 'barking' and most of them don't even know what they're talking about.
written by Koleta, November 24, 2008 18:06:57
I found this in "Does yoga conflict with Christianity"

David Life runs the Jivamukti Yoga Center in New York City. In his article, Life tells about his guru's visit to New York. The religious role of the guru for Life is established immediately. Life tells us, "I pray to a picture of Pattabhi Jois every day," and he points out that the guru "backs up everything with Sanskrit scripture" (73). According to Life, Pattabhi Jois "pulsates with the auru of a true siddha, one who has acquired unusual powers through dedication to yoga practice and teaching for more than 70 years" (74). Heady stuff, and Life admits that being around his guru makes him nervous.

Each day after class the guru's followers lined up to take turns bowing down to Guruji, touching the guru's feet and then touching their own heads. When one of Life's students expressed uneasiness about bowing down to the guru, Life told him, "Don't bow down to just a man ... instead bow down to your own Self that you recognize inside him. Then bowing down to him is no different than bowing down before your own higher nature" (76). The student complied, apparently deciding that he didn't have a problem worshiping himself. After all, according to the pantheistic philosophy he was taught, we are all one divine Self.
======================================================= =================

This is what the writer summarises:

Does yoga conflict with my religion? You betcha. Anything that tells people that God cannot bring them ultimate happiness (as Robert Thurman argued) conflicts with my belief that the chief end of human beings is to love God and enjoy him forever. Anything that encourages people to worship their yoga master (as David Life attested) conflicts with my belief that the Lord is God and there is no other. Anything that encourages people to believe that spiritual fulfillment can be attained in any religion (as Alan Reder claims) conflicts with my belief that without Jesus Christ people of all religions (even Christianity!) are lost.

source: http://www.irr.org/yoga&christianity.html

======================================================= ======================

That is what a Christian thinks about yoga. What about us Muslims?

written by Koleta, November 24, 2008 18:11:18
This is what a Mulsim says about yoga:

. Metaphysical Doctrine.
Since the metaphysic of Advaita Vedanta is in agreement with the tawhîd (doctrine of oneness) of Islam, there is perfect compatibility between Islam and yoga on the highest level. All traditional esoterisms agree that everything in manifestation has its origin in the Supernal. The manifestations on the material plane are derived from the ideational realm of archetypes (known as al-a‘yân al-thâbitah in the metaphysics of Ibn al-‘Arabî). This world, limited as it is, is just an expression of the ultimate Reality, and will ultimately be reabsorbed in its supernal Origin. Advaita Vedanta and Islamic esoteric metaphysics are agreed that God is the only absolutely real, eternal Reality; all else is contingent and therefore transitory. The unitary view of reality in Advaita Vedanta accords well with the tawhîd (divine oneness) of Islam, and the Oneness of Being in the Sufi doctrine of Ibn al-‘Arabî.

source: http://www.crescentlife.com/we...d_yoga.htm
written by Koleta, November 24, 2008 18:29:49
Zikir in Islam is a form of meditation. Like this writer says: "In fact I believe that one of the deadliest problem in the Islamic world now that we don't practice meditation like before in our golden age"

I don't see anything in Islam against Yoga and its practice , because the main thing in Yoga is meditation and Islam doesn't prohibit meditation on the contrary ,Prophets Ibrahim "Abraham" and Mohamed "PBUH" both of them reached to God through the meditation , yes of course the holy spirit angel "Gabriel" came down to earth to them , but they thought in the world around and them , thinking in God's creation and the Universe I think is some kind of an order in the holy Quran, it is mentioned several times. For Instance when I used to practice Yoga ,I used to close my eyes ,trying not to think in anything at first and just say "Sobhan Allah" and similar praises inside me , of course I could not stay more than 20 minutes in the same place on one position doing nothing . Yes Yoga is the product of the Hinduism but in the end of the day I worship Allah and I pray to the Mecca's direction not lighting up candles for Shiva with all my respects to the Hindus

In fact I believe that one of the deadliest problem in the Islamic world now that we don't practice meditation like before in our golden age

source: http://egyptianchronicles.vox....iracy.html

written by Alice, November 24, 2008 18:58:25
Awwww Marina Yusoff I feel your pain. You are absolutely right. Come on gather the religiously sound muslims and fight for Islam. These half baked religious people have been misusing their power for a long,long time. They totally enjoy bullying women also.The religious authority in this country NEEDS HELP URGENTLY. THEY ARE MENTALLY SICK. RELIGION,GOD,RELIGIOUS JOURNEY IS ALL TOO PERSONAL AND NO ONE SHOULD DICTATE ANOTHER ON THESE THINGS
written by seethinkact, November 24, 2008 23:27:56
This is a bunch of syok sendiri flers who've lost their way in the real world and are now gropping in the dark in trying to create their syok sendiri world whilst trying to make sense of a new syok sendiri system by formulating their syok sendiri and sporadic policies...err..err..now where am I?? Oo me gosh..err I'm lost, I give up...Can anyone help??
written by Koleta, November 25, 2008 18:11:41
Too may 'fiqh' (rituals) ulama. All they know is halal and haram and that too based on what they think and what they fear. When question in depth they ask people not to question. You know why?..They themselves don't know how to explain. They treat the 'non-ulama' like children. In the first place, they are the ones who elevate themselves as 'ulama' or 'scholar' ... in the academic sense, thas all. The greatest ulama, Prohet Muhammad S.A.W. never had any doctorate or passed any exam or go to university. His exemplary behaviour and conduct and his God-given inspiration from God was genuine. Dare these people claim that they are the inheritors of Rasulullah?... Ask them to muhasabah diri (look and study their own selves)..they are the ones who need it most.