Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow It Is Still “Lebuh Acheh”, Utusan!

It Is Still “Lebuh Acheh”, Utusan! PDF Print
Sunday, 23 November 2008 21:17

west-landesbank002

Utusan Malaysia

Well guess what, me are not happy to read the way Utusan publish reports. They are not sincere though. The issue of multi-lingual signboard again played up by Utusan. Sorry my camera is not as clear as Panzer’s canon SLR.

So this picture (above) was taken from today’s Utusan frontpage. Now let see what we got here from the Star;

The Star

So I cannot make myself available to go to Penang and see for myself. But the reporters are there to provide us the picture though. I found no wrong for us to have a multi-lingual signboard and thus it makes no sense at all for the Malays to get angry after watching the picture here from The Star, not Utusan.

READ MORE HERE: http://writtenbyhim.wordpress.com/

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by Steven Tan, November 23, 2008 21:25:18
Well, this is just to find fault.
written by lamakawan, November 23, 2008 21:29:48
This is very clear that UTUSAN is the "front man" for UMNO in Penang. It is playing the people's sentiment for UMNO and testing the tolerance of all Penangites.
written by IbnAbdHalim, November 23, 2008 21:40:42
Racists are racists. That is what they are. When Mahathir implemented the teaching of science and mathematics in English UMNO made no fuss. UMNO is RACIST! RACIST! RACIST! And it is not going to stop. To stop it the general Malaysia public must send that party to hell.
written by ahmadneil, November 23, 2008 21:43:22
Revoke the permit of Utusan.Where is Antu shit Hamid.This is fanning the racist fire.Bastard,they are want to revisit May 13.
written by SiHangChai, November 23, 2008 21:50:05
Saya tak tahu apa masalah orang UMNO Penang. Tapi kalau mereka tak mahu papan jalan berbahawa bilingual, boleh juga setuju dengan syaray semua papan jalan yang guna bahasa jawi turut dipadam. Kita guna saja alphabet dan semua tak sebab nak protes lagi.
written by san amin, November 23, 2008 21:56:22
chinese letters are forbidden in islam, malay is the language of the quran,isnt it? wait for another upcoming fatwas on the forbidden chinese letters or language,watever suits them...
written by budakindia, November 23, 2008 21:59:28
Let's boycott everything, UMNO, Utusan, the stupid NGO's and whatever they called themselves! This is a multi-headed amoeba we need to destroy! Bloggers unite! We want and can change this! smilies/wink.gif
written by justinlian, November 23, 2008 22:00:47
They have nothing to do but to find faults.
written by Hello Keithy, November 23, 2008 22:31:02
The toilet paper has done it again. Fanning racial sentiments, hoping their readers will run amok. Come On, bring it on, you bastards. We are waiting. Bring out the keris, you cowards.
written by Qcumber, November 23, 2008 22:33:33
Actually the Penang state government must thank Penang UMNO for giving such a good publicity to the multiligual road signs by making such a fuss. Now many people from inside and outside the country want to come to visit Penang to see these "miracle" road signs. LGE, is this ur strategy to boost Penang tourism? Clever move I should say, now Penang UMNO's leaders, Utusan and all the UMNO's running dogs are working hard for you. Free labour, very effective. smilies/grin.gif

(Admin pls dont publish tis comment too long in case the UMNO ppl read this, came to their senses and stop making noise.)
written by eow_eow, November 23, 2008 23:07:10
Clearly it is meant to play the racial card. This Utusan mischief has been proven? Then it must be reported to the police for investigation and prosecution.
written by Bloodhound, November 23, 2008 23:13:37
Sue them!

Make police report against them for intentionally inciting racial hatred.

written by Horizonline, November 23, 2008 23:36:07
Dear Proarte:
I think you have misunderstood something about the signboards or rather, ignorant. First, they have not change the signboards. They just simply add more signboards.

I am partly agree with your opinion about the signboards in English language. But do you think that UMNO members will not make any fuss about that? What they want is only political gain. Put any language you want, they will still say you does not respect our national language. Furthermore, this is Malaysia and Malaysia is a multiracial country. We need to show our identity to the tourist, so they will know more about us.

As the difference between two signboards you have mentioned... well, this is what we call variety and multilanguage! If you want to say "why don't fit them all?" well it is because the signboards is too small.

Sorry if I have offended you but this is just my 2 cents. Please ignore this comment if you do not like it.
written by scorpion, November 23, 2008 23:46:49
Hey guys,

Come and think of it, the multilanguage signboard also can encourage tourist to learn Malaysia Language. If the Chinese tourist seeing this signboard, they can read the Chinese language for the first time and then learn the Malaysia Language. Therefore subsequence signboard does not need to be in Chinese language anymore as this tourist has learned Malaysia Language for that particular road. The next signboard is for tourist from other country to learn Malaysia Language.
written by truthbespoken, November 23, 2008 23:52:12
When Penang PR does it now, there is this big hu-ha from UMNO and Utusan. When Selangor, Johore and other UMNO states did the SAME thing then, what were their reaction? None?

How stupid can they be? The UMNO boys and Utusan people should kick each other's arse real bloody hard on this! Their conscience, if they have any, should forbade them from sleeping well.

written by truthbespoken, November 23, 2008 23:57:49
sorry,..'forbid' them from sleeping well.
written by DontPlayGod, November 24, 2008 00:28:23
Well, the Penang m_m_ks wants to show UMNO General that they are more Malays than the Malays, and KIMMA(Muslim Indian organization) has requested that they be called Malays. So, UMNO General, please take action to declare the Penang M_m_ks as Malays quickly, otherwise these racists inciting and fanning race hatred will not stop their utterances and shouting.

If they are so against the use of other languages besides Malay, then they should direct their anger at TDM who asked that science and mathematics be taught in English. They should ask that only malay be allowed to be taught in schools. And all private colleges and universities should use Malay as the only medium of instruction.
written by Dualties, November 24, 2008 00:54:09
Utusan:

This is what Utusan depicts:

U = U
T = Trust
U = UMNO
S = Sanity
A = and
N = Nonsense
written by Horizonline, November 24, 2008 01:12:34
How will tourists know more about you, if you have road signs in a language they dont understand like Chinese or Arabic? It is only logical to have the road sign in English where the vast majority of tourists will understand.

You definitely got the point there dear Proarte. But you have misunderstood my meaning. You need to know to it is not about "me". It is about Malaysia, therefore it is about Malaysian aka "us"! Of course the tourist from USA or German would not understand the meaning of those words, but I believe they will know what language it is!

Imagine a white man come here with his families. His son will ask him "Dad, what language it is?" Then his dad will answer him "there was 2 languages on it. The top is Malay language and the bottom one is Chinese." Then his son will turn to ask him "Why it is so different than our country?" His mom will then answer him "dear child, this is Malaysia! Malaysia is a multiracial country! Of course their signboard will also be multilingual!"

I know it is quite silly to put such a long conversation in previous paragraph, but does it possible? Of course!

As your Northam Road and Green Lane example, I am quite fond with it. Of course it is such a great idea! Take a time machine and travel to the past. I do not believe the name of the roads will be so many as now. The name of the English roads is simply too few compared to the roads nowadays. Does it mean we need to translate all of the signboards into English language? No! It is because there are too many historical value to be destroyed. Do not forget that it is not only white people who named all the roads in Penang. All the races also got part in it! Yes, the roads have their own name but do not forget one thing, they also got their own respective languages name! It is not really good to destroy that! Not just they got their own historical value, they also got their own sentimental value to Malaysian!

Well I tend to view this issue with my own perspective. I do not support any parties with my points of view. I just support the best thing. Thanks for replying anyway. lol
written by Proarte, November 24, 2008 03:47:43
"Imagine a white man come here with his families. His son will ask him "Dad, what language it is?" Then his dad will answer him "there was 2 languages on it. The top is Malay language and the bottom one is Chinese." Then his son will turn to ask him "Why it is so different than our country?" His mom will then answer him "dear child, this is Malaysia! Malaysia is a multiracial country! Of course their signboard will also be multilingual!"

The Papa, Mama and dear child example does not add up, with due respect. Why then have signs in Arabic? Surely if one wants to reflect our cultural diversity then Chinese and Tamil should be used in the same sign. It also gives the people in a divided country like ours a sense of 'belonging'. And this should apply to all signs in the country. In Sabah and Sarawak, Kadazan and Iban must be used.

If the purpose is to make tourists feel 'at home' in a foreign country then it should not be restricted to Chinese, Tamil and Arabic, because a sizeable proportion of our tourists are English speaking, arising from UK, America, Canada, Ausralia and New Zealand, let alone Italian ,Spanish and Portuguese speaking ( which includes all of South America), so why the Arab bias?

Would the state government consider restoring the road name Jalan Yahudi (off Jalan Macalister) which was changed in recent times? The only reason seems to be due to racism and irrational Muslim bias. Hopefully the government will then use Hebrew for that sign when the road name is restored!smilies/wink.gif

As I mentioned in an earlier posting, using English only other than Malay and restoring the former colonial names or other names of historial interest would be ideal as English is taught and understood the world over. It is a 'neutral' language and would not be difficult to justify for a touristic Island such as Penang.

My solution would be to have Chinese and Tamil included in the SAME sign. Clearly they will have to be smaller out of deference to the national language, Malay and this will please everyone. The reason is, if a Chinese or Indian sees his language being excluded in a sign, there will be a certain amount of resentment and this is all totally unnecessary.

See what Utusan Melayu did; they highlighted a sign which had only Chinese in it. This gives the impression to Malays that Chinese are now begining to show their 'chauvinism' when they are given power. If the signs had had all the 3 languages, Utusan would not have had the opportunity to peddle their racist thrash. But I also blame the Penang Statement government for this bad press. I hope they will learn from this.

The purpose of a signboard is purely to aid navigation.If there is going to be a reason for including other languages, there must be a logical reason with much care and reasoning employed otherwise a seemingly innocuous issue like road signs takes on a divisive and political dimension, pleasing nobody.
written by Horizonline, November 24, 2008 04:44:10
Yes, I agree with you. As I said, I support the multilingual road signs. But I does not say that I agree with their way of putting it up either. I have considered your opinions just before you post up this reply. Why put Arabic words on the road sign? We should instead put Tamil language on it! I does not say there will be no politics involvement in this whole episodes. I believe there is. Come on, be realistic! All politicians will definitely do something in order to gain the people's trust! Putting up Arabic words is simply one of them! I believe I have answered your first 4 paragraphs.

Yes, I also believe that it is great to put English signboards in historical interest. At least it can be read by tourist. But as I say, it is limited to historical interest only. I do not see any relevance to put it on other places. Change Kampung Air Hitam into Black Water Village? That's just not cool.

I am wholeheartedly agree with the 6th paragraph. This issue is too big to be ignored. I think state government should fit all of the languages into one signboard so all the races will not feel that they were excluded from bangsa Malaysia. I have put some thought into this matter before. But again, UMNO would not please with all of this. Add one more language, and they will huu haa there huu haa here.

Yeah, Utusan is really racist about this matter. See the picture above? Damn, even a children know they they purposely put the picture in big size (and with color too). I think state government should not be too ignorant about this matter. They should instead learn and change their ways to avoid being condemned again. While we know what they are really intended to, I don't think people who just read only MSM will think PR positively. The recent GE proved that our people are changing, but it is still in progress. Do not forget that BN still in the highest place, do not forget that. Sorry, I should not change the topic.

Yes, they have their own purpose in this issue. They are trying to walk the talk. To let the people know that they can be trusted and I believe that they can eventually. I hope so.

Well, it is so tiresome. Sorry I cannot write too long. I'm gonna sleep now. It is fun to debate with you. Hope to see you again in the next article! smilies/grin.gif
written by mob1900, November 24, 2008 05:11:35
written by mikewang, November 24, 2008 07:15:28
For all those who still don't see the picture.

The road signs are still, prominently, in Bahasa Malaysia.
They are at least twice as large as those in tourist languages, the same as what you'll find in our airports.

If this country were to progress, don't just ask "why."
Start asking "why not" ?
written by Davy McChester, November 24, 2008 08:34:28
Cities and towns all over the world have street names in Chinese. Go and see major cities in the USA,India,Australia,New Zealand,United Kingdom ,Canada. In Malaysia you have names both in Jawi & Malay,but the Jawi names do not make any real impact as far as tourism is concerned.Even the Arab tourist are confused let alone the general public. But you still need them to boost the Malay ego,that which is anything as long as Arabic is divine .Anything Chinese and Indian ,the real part of the country's fabric is an abhorrence.
written by Zym Zym, November 24, 2008 08:36:00
how i wish a leader like hitler would emerge in this country to clean up the "mess". how i wish this leader would sent the UMNO baboons to the gas chamber. once and for all, habis cerita!
written by freerpk, November 24, 2008 08:51:11
I think BA govt in Penang led by DAP has mistakenly got itself into this trap by trying to be so called "fair". They should maintain status quo on the road sign instead of waking up this sleeping monster. In a just country where Obama has just been elected President the road signs are based on the needs of the community. The road signs in China town in USA have Chinese words on it under the official English name.
written by DreamLady, November 24, 2008 08:57:21
These trashy and low- lives have been indoctrinated at very early stage of their lives by the UMNO regime.

Though these trash of society have attended school from 7 years onward till they reach adulthood, but their mind are constantly bombarded with wayward propaganda by those irresponsible leaders.

Instead of encouraging the young mind to strive for intensive and extensive of world knowledge, and cultivate the priceless traits of social etique, instill in oneself self respect, uphold one's dignity and principle, the leaders of their society rather infiltrate the tender and vulnerable mind and instill despicable feeling of hatred for others who fare better than them.

When these young mind grow into indulthood, it is next to impossible to undo the damage done to their mentality that is filled up with abhorable trait of evil thoughts for others.....

That is absolutely a sign of brain-washing to bring deviation to the norm!!
Thus, the signs are everywhere as you could see and hear in our daily news ...

This trait of the devils shall drive further all Malaysians to the road of return unless the unseen hand of THE ALMIGHTY interferes!!!
written by Mark C, November 24, 2008 09:27:59
dun bother lah people, ppl like proarte and utusan are here only and only to stir up hate and discord amongst the rakyat. nothing more nothing less.

In the era of Globalization, Malaysia cannot be isolated and be still thinking like a hermit. having multiple languages in a signage is the first step to globalization, In fact it's a trivial matter blown out of proportion by morons in the old UMNO establishment. There is only upsides to having a multilingual signages.

We have more pressing issues to take care of rather than embroiling ourselves with what the democratically elected state government wants to do. Organizations like Utusan and UMNO and whatever newly formed malay NGOs are trying to misdirect the rakyat from the real issues, which is that they royally screwed the people of Penang with they years in power.
written by unomalaysia, November 24, 2008 10:27:15
Hmmm, whole thing looks like Germany circa 1939.... Wonder if all non amno citizen will be required a yellow badge that says "BUKAN AMNO" soon.... SEIG HEIL AMNO!
written by carribeanking7, November 24, 2008 11:18:16
Utusan should change its name to "Pesongan" or "Penipuan"-

It should be sued to bankruptcy, failing which when a new government takes over we should start a pressure group to have its publication permit revoked.
Then mansor Puteh can hold cadlelight vigils to commemorate its demise.

The bumbling home minister has the cheek to say that bloggers lack ethics,
My Malay friend who used to be an UMNO supporter says this-
" Utusan yang betul hanya tarikh sahaja, tapi berita semua tak betul".

It should be a limited publication newsletter targetted at retards.

written by Rainbowseahorse, November 24, 2008 11:53:17
Will adding additional languages to road signs endears the people to the government of the day?

Why waste time on such trivial matters as I am very sure there must be more important issues at hand to show the people what good governance is all about.
written by Wahyu, November 24, 2008 13:34:46
Kita sama-sama Boikot UTUSAN!!
kalau nak beli, belilah Berita Harian.