Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Penang Umno on 'Amar Makruf Nahi Mungkar'

Penang Umno on 'Amar Makruf Nahi Mungkar' PDF Print
Sunday, 23 November 2008 20:57

At the state assembly sitting on Thursday, Penang chief minister Lim Guan Eng fielded criticism from Umno representative Shabudin Yahya who chided him for misusing the term 'Amal Makruf Nahi Mungkar' for political gain.

Malaysiakini reported that Lim denied deriving political mileage as charged by Umno but rather "was attempting to absorb the values espoused by the term in his governance as he wanted to infuse Penang's administration with the values of other religions and cultures".

Earlier, Lim had come under fire too from former Penang deputy chief minister, Umno's Dr Hilmi Yahaya.

The present deputy CM, Mohammad Fairus Khairuddin of PKR however defend­ed Lim's use of 'Amar Makruf Nahi Mungkar' as something Muslims should be proud of.

Fairus added that the state mufti had said there was nothing wrong in the CM quoting the phrase.

If we're agreed on the shared values at the core of the major faiths, then we can appreciate how their scriptures have enriched our lexicon. Think of the teachings of Christianity which have found a place in our vocabulary, such as 'Love thy neighbour as yourself' and 'Do to others what you would have them do to you'.

Doesn't Umno's nitpicking then negate the universality of the 'Amar Makruf Nahi Mungkar' message?

Below is my English translation of an article which appeared in the PAS-affiliated website Tranungkite on Nov 19 headlined 'Will Umno faint away if Guan Eng understands Islam?'

READ MORE HERE: http://english.cpiasia.net/

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by lamakawan, November 23, 2008 21:09:11
These UMNO assembly men has nothing to do except to argue over petty matters of religion. While in the state assembly, they should be contributing ideas to the assembly on how to improve the administration of the state. They are irresponsible assemblymen and take this opportunity in the assembly sitting to split hairs with the Pakatan rulers.
written by Motherchell, November 23, 2008 21:20:02
The True Islam ive learned from RPK in simplified version taught like Steven Hawkings A history of Time is so true of the richness of the teachings . The versions the trouble makers read ---they themselves cant understand .
The crooks here are UMNO lords who find this useful to protect their evils. They love these divisions.The reason UMNO has to go to smithereens !

http://sjsandteam.*********.com

written by IbnAbdHalim, November 23, 2008 21:21:10
UMNO is hijacking Islam. Does Islam belong to UMNO alone? There are far more non-Malays who are Muslims around the world but in Malaysia Islam belongs to UMNO alone. What a shame.
written by varvoom, November 23, 2008 21:24:31
Umno's Dr Hilmi Yahaya, why don't u just speak in arab, if u really know how, better still go and live there, then u will know how prejudice those arabs are.
written by san amin, November 23, 2008 21:36:02
i suggest that u DAP guys invite some religious arab to come by and have talks with u on islam,lets say from al azhar university. make it a huge publicity. that way these umno monkeys get a deserved big slap. Now could they question these arab scholars? theyl will look like hyenas staring at a lion. do it,just invite these scholars.
written by ahmadneil, November 23, 2008 21:38:56
They are jealous becos not only LGE is handsome but can do a much better job than them.Also LGE is intelligent and decisive.Not like those products of inbreeding.
written by Rozlan, November 23, 2008 21:44:44
LGE was correct in using the term.It is a sentence in AlQur'an wich urging its followers do and preach good deeds and forbade themselves and other from doing and creating vices/mischiefs...Those UMNO reps should be ashamed with themselves.They are the one who were the frontrunners in doing and maintaining vices...
written by Alice, November 23, 2008 21:45:29
UMNO - always using something Islamic to control everyone. Islam is just another religion .It doesn't belong to anyone per se. Give it uplah UMNO dummies.Anyone can use those words. The point is can u practise it?
written by justinlian, November 23, 2008 21:53:59
UMNO is the loser so they have to protect themselves as things getting out of their hands now.
It is sad to see something like this happen.
written by hanisma, November 23, 2008 22:05:10
What's wrong with LGE using that Arabic term? RPK has been using that term many times in his blog. I've not heard any of the Umno leaders mentioning that term in their speeches. Anyway, it isn't a surprise because that term is not their ideology. What these Umno goons are more interested is to accumulate as much wealth as they could, even by foul means ( while being in Umno )before the party and themselves perish.
written by gx27, November 23, 2008 22:10:24
bunch of losers.
what do these amno s holes know about Islam?
talking cock.
go to hell la
written by cheekhiaw, November 23, 2008 22:10:24
'Amar Makruf Nahi Mungkar', all you muslim thieves!

written by advocatusdiaboli, November 23, 2008 22:22:50
The words "Amar Makruf Nahi Mungkar" does not solely belong to UMNO. Maybe the use of in by the Penang CM made the corrupted BN buggers "terasa". That why the behave like that. Siapa makan cili dia yang terasa pedasnya.
written by Hello Keithy, November 23, 2008 22:36:36
Whatever! It's man-made scriptures. Only fools believe in story books. You can have the ten commandments in Islam but how many actually practice it. Devils pretending to be angels. Oops I just fell off my chair laughing.
written by budakindia, November 23, 2008 22:45:09
How about issuing edicts that non-Muslims can't use phrases from the Quran! Or better close all the doors and separate the Muslims and the non-Muslims just like in South Africa previously! Create and enforce Apartheid like laws! smilies/wink.gif There you go folks! Malaysian made Apartheid laws! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Qcumber, November 23, 2008 22:57:53
The begining of the second fall of the Islamic civilization start in Penang initiated by the Penang UMNO. These people are actually preventing the non-Muslims from coming near to the religion. Arent we supposed to feel proud and happy and thankful if the non-believers begin to get interested in quoting from our religious writing? They say if you can bring a non-believer to Islam, you will own a mansion in the heaven, the Muslim who has prompted Lim Guan Eng to use "Amar Makruf Nahi Mungkar" must have got a pillar of that mansion erected. What will the UMNO's leaders in Penang will get? Hell fire awaiting for preventing ppl from coming to Islam.
written by boeytahan, November 23, 2008 22:58:33
I am a non-muslim, but I did respect my circle of muslim brothers among my neighbourhood.

I am learning Arabic famous versus and I encourage non-muslims to practice those but to keep on tow of offensive ones to blog and comment in MT.

Keep the ball rolling to ****erise them!

written by DreamLady, November 23, 2008 23:04:13
Islam is for all who wish to embrace it sincerely. Hilmi, you have no right to monopolize it and speak as though on behalf of our God.

Shame on you for tainted the image of islam with distorted views and rulings. You shall get your fair share of torture in Hell for you action!!
written by Agahdemo, November 24, 2008 00:08:47
These group of UMNO members are out for cheap publicity and pretending to be hero....a bunch of hooligans....good for nothing bastards.....
written by liko, November 24, 2008 00:19:30
Are we wrong then to greet our Muslim's friends "Assalamualaikum"? My friend's mother didn't think so. She would always welcome us with such a big hug when we greet her with such greetings. Anyone can try to learn speak Arabic, no?
written by onnetline, November 24, 2008 01:03:13
A bunch of sore losers or UMMNO morons who are just out to create problems, even if things are done for the greater good of society !

written by arazak, November 24, 2008 03:24:45
Who the hell is Helmi asking Mr. Lim not to recite or quote from the Quraan? I am a Muslim, and I have never come across anything in the Quraan itself that states non-Muslims cannot read or quote from the Quraan. . .!

To this idiot Helmi I have this one simple question for him to answer. . .;

Q: If a non-Muslim were not to be given an opportumity to read the Quraan and to recite some beautiful phrases from it, than how could you expect the non-Muslims to unedrstand and appreciate Islam better?

Now tell me the answer to this simple question. . ., over to you . . you dumb Helmi!
written by mikewang, November 24, 2008 07:29:53
Quoting from any holy book for the good of the people is not wrong.
I would want to encourage YAB Lim to quote from the Bible too.
written by DreamLady, November 24, 2008 08:37:34
Hilmi, just tell the whole world in plain English you are jealous of Lim Guan Eng who has proven to the people of Penang he is capable of running the state the best way he sees fit!!

You don't have to smear further or create unnecessary upheaval for someone who rather spends his precious time to clear up the mess created by the previous chief minister.

You lack the appreciative outlook when the non-Muslim shows enthusiasm to get to know the islamic religion. And you are very much in lacking in terms of Islamic religion....please stop talking through your nose !!!

....'Amar Makruf nahi Munkar....can be uttered by anyone without offending our GOD ... with the exception of you and you alone, silly !!!
written by TKAL, November 24, 2008 09:19:19
I like budakindia's comment. UMNO's way is moving towards apartheid.
written by asguard, November 24, 2008 09:26:58
UMNO IS SCREW-UP ASS PARTY so what else can you expected from them... a good services? Perhaps a party of crooks, liars, manipulation, a twister, and party of goons...! if you were to asked me... that would be my answer...for now and forever..
written by Mark C, November 24, 2008 09:33:06
we can actually see the level of sincerity in the UMNO politicians. Their game plan is very da simple, "stir something up out of nothing"

the fact is that, after so many years that they have been part of the state government, after so many years of pillaging and raping the state of it's wealth, they are now more concerned with a figure of speech, which they haven't "Trademarked" it, and stirring shit out of nothing.

I reckon politics of this is still relevant in out country, very sad. People with mentality of this sort is nothing but a sore loser, bully and someone with low levels of decency.
written by gx27, November 24, 2008 09:46:50
doing good is against amno's culture.
it is jihad for them.
so, be a bad boy.
be as much corrupted as you can, and that is the true spirit of amno.
you will be a champion like muhamad muhamad taik or muhamad ISA or rahim thambi cib_i, toyol, just to name a few who are running to be become amno's top dogs.
zakaria md derus legacy - depicts an amno leader's life on before and after joining of amno
written by gx27, November 24, 2008 09:57:04
mr hilmi yahya,

my father and grandfather paid to government taxes so that you can get scholarship and your 'DR' title.
is this the way you repay to society?
forgetting your akar?

go to hell please. you are a digrace to penangites.
p_ki mak_lu
written by Jit Dharma, November 24, 2008 22:24:40
Islam belongs to UMNO? Bodoh sombong!!!!