Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malay, Muslim NGOs lodge police reports

Malay, Muslim NGOs lodge police reports PDF Print
Sunday, 23 November 2008 20:49

By Zulkifli Abd Rahman, The Star

KUALA LUMPUR: Representatives from an umbrella body of Malay and Muslim non-governmental organisations lodged five police reports Sunday over several issues which they claimed endangered Muslim and Malay unity.

The Heritage Associations, Malay Cultural Organisations and Related Bodies Cooperation Network (Pewaris) urged the Government to act against groups which are asking for the abolition of the Internal Security Act (ISA).

They also lodged reports against the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf), Gerakan Wanita chief Datuk Tan Lian Hoe and Sisters in Islam, the last for their remarks on the National Fatwa Council’s edict against pengkid or tomboys.

They urged Tan to apologise to the Malays for her remarks, which they claimed had insulted their race.

Pewaris spokesman Datuk Dr Maa’mor Osman told reporters that the 30 NGOs had agreed to form a coalition called Majlis Permuafakatan Ummah to counter criticism made against Malays and Islam.

He said the Malay NGOs felt that it was crucial for them to voice their concerns against the action of other parties which allegedly tried to belittle the Malays, Islam as the official religion of the Federation, and bumiputra rights.

“We will hold several roadshows nationwide, starting in Selangor, to explain the issues that are affecting the Malays and to remind them of the importance of maintaining unity.

“Those who question the rights of the Malays as enshrined in the Constitution should be taught about how these rights and privileges had been agreed upon by the country’s leaders during Independence.

“We hope to reach a consensus by the end of the year, which will be detailed in a memorandum that we will send to the Prime Minister and the Yang di-Pertuan Agong,” he told reporters after attending a closed-door talk with other Malay-based groups here on Sunday.

On the ISA, Dr Maa’mor said the group agreed that the Act was needed to prevent the outbreak of problems that might hamper national security.

Later, about 500 of the coalition’s members held a peaceful gathering outside their meeting place at Wisma Sejarah before going to the Jalan Tun Razak police station to lodge their reports.

During the gathering, a woman who was standing at an overhead pedestrian bridge shouted obscenities at the group.

Some members of the group responded with shouts while others chased her before they were stopped by policemen.

The group lodged another report against the woman at the police station.

Comments (52)Add Comment
written by Midvalley, November 23, 2008 21:05:07
This group should be arrested and ISAed for displaying BABI on banner, being racist and behaving like gangster kicking the woman car this pro ISA group are nothing but a bunch of askholes being paid to protest.

agree 149
written by san amin, November 23, 2008 21:13:36
yes bcos of that woman at the bridge, could hamper msian national security,malay unity and threaten islam.
written by IbnAbdHalim, November 23, 2008 21:16:27
I feel ashame they are Malays and claimed to be Muslims.
agree 115
written by Dogboy, November 23, 2008 21:17:32
These jokers lodge reports like changing underpants. Talk bad about Muslims, lodge report. Talk bad about Malays, lodge report. Obviously freedom of speech is lost in translation with them and unfortunately with our beloved police as well. These are the people who play the racial card to assist their political masters in their manipulation of Malaysian Malays in hope to brain wash them into thinking the Malays are under threat from the other races and to unite against the other races meaning continued support for UMNO.
written by lamakawan, November 23, 2008 21:21:09
What is the police reaction to this gathering of 500 people? Police said before that a gathering of more than 4 is illegal? and can be arrested under ISA?
What sort of enforcement authority we have in Malaysia now?
agree 131
written by ahmadneil, November 23, 2008 21:25:28
They should also lodge a report that ahmadneil is a tomboy who wants to screw saiful the bastard.
written by Motherchell, November 23, 2008 21:31:57
My humble advise to the The Heritage Associations, Malay Cultural Organisations and Related Bodies Cooperation Network (Pewaris) is to see this video of a very progressive , secular , advanced (Science and Tech) ,cultural, with an ancient history etc . They have scientists in Nasa, Boeing , Intel , MS etc . They have world renown poets, writers , journalists , and artists.

What do we have in Malaysia----- police reports ! police reports ! and what do they do day long --- carry bags for UMNO! I hope Jakim and the NFC sit back and relax with a teh tarek and learn from this video, each scene of it and see what level of a human you belong to!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...re=related
written by kennyeu, November 23, 2008 21:33:40
In recent months I have felt that the non-malays in MT have gone overboard with their Malay bashing when commenting. I felt it got to a stage where there were hardly any Malay readers left and it is a pity because that would mean MT's readership demographic was very one sided and no longer represented the real Malaysian people. Really, what is Malaysia without the Malays? The commenters kept criticizing the Malays saying they are closed minded and intolerant of other races yet the comments posted against the Malays in MT were just as vicious and intolerant.

Then we have people making these comments...

Those who question the rights of the Malays as enshrined in the Constitution should be taught about how these rights and privileges had been agreed upon by the country’s leaders

Is it me or is there an underlying threat in the statement in using the word "taught"? As in to "teach" a lesson to the non-malays? I really don't know who is at fault now but it really does seem as if both malays and non-malays are helping each other down the road to disaster. Malaysia really is in an identity crisis and it is all because we do not communicate well with each other. Before we can get down to the issues we're calling each other names and throwing threats, totally oblivious of what really matters. May be UMNO has won. Years of racial conditioning may be too much to overcome and Malaysia will continue to be divided.

I just feel that we don't know how to move forward from here. We've been living a certain way for so long and now that change is at hand, we don't know how to change. We want change but we're completely clueless in how to get it. There definitely is a lot of over-reaction and I hope, for the love of the country, we find the right path soon.
disagree 20
written by Alice, November 23, 2008 21:37:03
My goodness what a bunch of uncouth,ungentlemanly,moronic men chasing ONE WOMAN around. I was stunned to watch the "drama" on tv. Eeeeks what kind of men are those oppurtunistic creatures.
written by budakindia, November 23, 2008 21:45:20
simple points to ponder.

1) If they are so united why there are like 30 NGO's for the same religion? Weird isn't it?
2) Why need to do a roadshow if the media are happily airing all those Nazi propagandas day and night?
3) Why make so many police reports? One is not enoughto tell?

Pretty telling isn't that all of this is organised by UMNO morons! I guess that's why they need someone to lead them because they are too stupid to start with!
written by Msian Idol3, November 23, 2008 21:45:44
We have leaders in this group that is good for nothing. They already know no one can challenge the malays as the malays are the majority in parlimaent & in population wise. These idiots should be channeling their efforts to help on the ground & honestly if such groups were no supported or given the tongkat by the govt they won't even have 2 pennies to their names. So what if they are led by datuks etc, they are 99% half past six in quality & unfortunaely they have the numbers. These are the very people who go around doing more harm to their race & nationood. They can't even be msian first.Gd for nothing & even chase the brave women who disagree -- what a bunch of gangsters too
written by hiro, November 23, 2008 21:49:24
Everyone, remember this name Datuk Dr Maa’mor Osman. He's the next Ahmad Ismail. And you already know his political affiliation. These guys are really doing anything and everything to destabilise the country so that UMNO can perpetuate its political power.

How exactly is the Malay rights under the constitution being questioned, he never elaborated - it's another episode of shooting from the hip, stirring up emotions, without providing facts nor reasons.

And to throw in ISA in his defence - what does ISA have to do with race and religion? This coalition is seriously confused about their objectives.

We really need a change of federal government, the sooner the better. A new IGP and AG with integrity and level headedness will put a stop to all these nonsense.

written by malsia1206, November 23, 2008 21:51:13
Very good indeed. More police reports means more work for the Police. And the police need more work because they are getting paid and not been able to nab Nurin and the political-laced murder. Yoga may indeed be a refreshing art to soothe their minds and bodies before they swarm the police stations all over the country.
written by lamakawan, November 23, 2008 21:53:28
This is very clear that these people are paid to protest and lodge police reports. Their main strategy is to stir up the people's feelings, thats all. They had failed and refused to admit that they are a failure in society. Otherwise they would realise they had more important things to do than to find trouble. This situation is similar to that gathering outside KOMTAR, Penang, just after the march 2008 general elections. It was learnt that there were 20 busloads of mainlanders specially recruited to go to Penang on that friday. Hint, Friday is a holiday for northerners in mainland. The protesters tried to instigate the Penangites that day. But alas, ...... it was a complete failure. As a progressive Malaysian travelling around the peninsula, I see no benefits for these innocent people to gather in such grouping in order to please their masters
( the masters are the people who pay them for this purpose).
written by SiHangChai, November 23, 2008 21:54:41
Tak kerja lain nak kasi polis buat keh? kalau nak ugut NGO dan kumpulan lain bantah ISA, buatlah protes kat jalan. Jangan nak buat hal dibelakang seluar polis. Beritahu betul-betul kat muka meraka yang tentang ISA yang kamu semua tak setuju dengan mereka. Kalau mereka cakap bantah ISA, dan you orang setiap kali buat laporan polis, memang polis tak dapat bantu rakyat banteras jenayah sebab you orang asyik kasi kerja tak berprodukti pada pihak polis.
written by Kathy, November 23, 2008 21:57:06
Why are there so many of these reports lodged with the Police? Aren't they wasting valuable Police time that can be used in solving crimes? Honestly, this is getting out of hand and I don't hear a pip squeak out of the govt. to inform these complainants that, in a democracy, there is such a thing as freedom of speech therefore opinion. Am I living in a nightmare?
written by onnetline, November 23, 2008 22:04:40
Dr Maa'mor,

Do you also represent the mentally retarded ??? Because, I sincerely believe they need real help regardless of race and religion !
written by Mustapha Kamal, November 23, 2008 22:09:19
Muslim nodies and NGOs asking for a zalim law to be perpetuated ? Why don't we call a spade a spade, and label these so-called "Muslim" bodies as being fronts for UMNO ? Then all could understand their motivation and the loud but useless noises they are making. I am a Muslim and I am proud of my religion, but I don't need these UMNO puppets speaking for me.
written by jeffrey3005, November 23, 2008 22:10:44
I saw NTV7 news today and judging by the way these flers acted police should have water cannoned them. Did you all see how they attacked the poor lady, they harassed her kick her car and someone even wnt to the extent of denting her car bonnet!
written by Hello Keithy, November 23, 2008 22:26:15
Oooh, they really know how to run amok. Wish I was there, I run them down with my four-wheel. Bastards at their best, having a "field" day. These are the terrorist of Malaysia and what have the police done ? Have they identified the culprits ? Shameless bastards chasing after a lone woman. How I wish I was there. I just can't wait to send these bastards to hell. Some day.
written by arazak, November 23, 2008 22:33:18
Dear Datuk Dr Maa’mor Osman,

If you are a true Muslim you should lodge a report against those UMNO leaders that have robbed the poor Malay rakyaats' money. These UMNO thieves are the one that will destroy the Malay Ummah.

. . .otherwise, you are nothing other than an UMNO-fearing lapdog Malay leader, not to champion the poor Malays but being used to champion the corrupt elite Malays who have robbed us. . ., the poor Malays!
written by miracle, November 23, 2008 22:38:43
this country is getting frm bad to worst with these bunch of idiots bastard .. nothing else to do .. so called "holy" and sincere to their "religion" ...by acting so "animal" like (oops sorry to all animals ... these creatures are worst kind).. reall idiots .. shame to have these creatures around in this country ..barbarian ... everyone improve but these creatures back to before stone age ... just watch one of P Ramlee 's movie .. there are hugging & kisses and scenes of half naked (in towel) man and a woman in bathtub .. back then but now everything are "Haram" ...
written by san amin, November 23, 2008 22:40:19
dear kennyeu,
im one of the so many malay muslims in MT. go suck urself with ur comments @chedet.com.shithole
written by Stormquest, November 23, 2008 22:44:41
I too saw the NTV7 report. This lone woman had the guts to stand up to a big group of thugs, who were pro-ISA. Then these thugs started running after this woman on the pedestrian bridge. NTV7 showed a scene of how these thugs started kicking her car, until she sped away.

Since these jerks are so pro-ISA, then they should be charged under the ISA for endangering the life of this poor woman. These thugs are threat to the security of the nation.

It doesn’t speak much for the manhood of these violent idiots to go after this woman like that. Shame on them.
written by Bloodhound, November 23, 2008 22:47:50
Another wayang kulit by BN using their outside feelers to justify the start of the process of clamping down on various issues which are not favourable or going against them.

When they want to clamp down on certain activities, their lapdogs always initiates the causes for the government to justify using the "rule of law and security of the nation' as excuses to initiate arrests, harrasment and intimidation of the public.

With such sewage mentality, is it a wonder that progress has been stifled all these while?
written by Old Man, November 23, 2008 22:52:39
Oh my Allah! 500 coalition Muslim members felt threatened by one woman standing at an overhead pedestrian bridge? Is this Islam Hadhari propagated by AAB? smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by smeagrooo, November 23, 2008 22:54:46
Later, about 500 of the coalition’s members held a peaceful gathering outside their meeting place at Wisma Sejarah before going to the Jalan Tun Razak police station to lodge their reports.
------------------------------------------

Mana itu F are U?

Why police no arrest them? Got permit ah?

TNS!
written by truthbespoken, November 23, 2008 23:27:53
This is an illegal demonstration of the true colours of a bunch of insecure, cowardly, bought-over UMNO trouble-makers! But even a woman has shown us that she is not afraid of these morons! Then should we?

Gangsters using violence must not be allowed to prevail in this country! We must continue to struggle for our good Malaysian cause!
written by Sabahfan, November 23, 2008 23:29:21
Here we go again... A bunch of UMNO asss licking NGO trying to make a name for themselves.....

YES keep the ISA... we still need it to LOCK up people from this very NGOs...
written by scorpion, November 23, 2008 23:32:24
Wake up smeagrooo,

If they are from PKR or Malaysia Today blogger, then sure all of them will be water cannoned and the leader will be jailed before they able to make a police report. They police STOPPED them when the chase the woman, if from the opposition, police already arrested them.

There is a huge double standard in Malaysia Police force and AAB reforms for Malaysia Police force turns out to be the force is more brutal and double standard.

Use of permit is just an excuse for police to make arrest as they want. Even gathering without permit will not face arrest if the gathering is from the group that is feeding the police and on the spot the police can say they had permit (eventhough they do not have it).

Another Bolehland special.
written by agadam magadam, November 23, 2008 23:42:37
Aiyo..!! Polis report....Protests.... Malay rights...Malay this...Malay that..
Don't these 'bums' know that we; the non-'them' are really not bothered with their rights or wrongs...
We've got better things to do, like work, earn money, raise a family and so on...
And eventually, to migrate...
Mass Migration is actually taking place,tho' we don't 'see' it ..Large Corporations which grew thru sheer intelligence, sweat and hard work of the non-Malays are gradually phasing off - i.e. investing abroad, undertaking massive projects overseas in growing continents like India, China and some parts of Europe and not forgetting Dubai..with the idea of leaving 'empty' shells of these Corporations for those left behind, whose main ambition in life is to fight for their rights..
One fine day, they'll realise this when it's too late.. Will UMNO be able to help them then..?? They'll be bankrupt too... No one to feed them...
Almost all moderate and level headed Malays have also migrated and hold top jobs overseas..
So what's going to happen to our beloved Malaysia and their children..???
Can your 'Rights' feed you then..??
Grow up lah.., work hand in hand with all of us, forget about handouts and your rights.. Do a honest job and you'll realise how good you feel.. Earn your own money, to spend it.. You will then be able to reap your own, hard earned rewards..

The thrill in reaping what you sow is great feeling...
written by cheekhiaw, November 24, 2008 00:04:29
Those idiots should personally go lodge their reports with their Allah. One would think that should be much more effective, wouldn't it?

written by Fart Fart Wah, November 24, 2008 00:47:21
We look at these Malays. Do they have the faculty to think with their brains. It is clear that they are overcome with a blind desire to create this 'jihad' that 'somebodies' out there in Malaysia are taking away their Malay rights and beliefs.
It is a fear factor of ignorance of an uneducated class of Malays who most probably
have received some form of education that has muddled thinking from some "asramas"

If their faith in Islam is strong..no matter what, they should not be afraid for a faith built on solid foundation would even not let "yoga" or "tomboys' shake them. They do not have to make police reports and try to defend anything..for if they worship the truth there is nothing to fear except the kind of fear they project.

It is time young Malays reach out to others in the proper way instead of living on the 'isolation' teachings of asramas and some bigoted religious teachers. The world is getting smaller and flatter. If the young Malays of today want to still remain in the dark ages of thinking then it is a choice that they are making. Eventually the problems of today will be repeated and they again will feel offended hurt and troubled by all that is going on,thinking that the others are attacking them always. Such fear is unfounded because instead of closing the doors on others it is better to reach out and explain things to make it clearer. There are many who do not understand the tenets of true Islam. UMNO has strayed from many things making the trivial important where even PAS being more fundamentalistic are finding some things in UMNO ridiculous making the MUSLIM society a laughing stock for the world.

We need intelligent Malays. Not Malays like these who go around causing havoc, stopping interfaith discussions, stopping forums and creating unwanted crusades for the rest of the Malaysian society and at large. It will affect the rest from assimilating and coming together and understanding Malays better like in the old days. We do not need Malays who want to divide Malaysians..we want Malays to lead the way, to show the way on how to unite and come together as Malaysians. UMNO's leaders do not fit this want, they have failed badly and Malays like these make it even harder for the Malaysian society to integrate...

written by Atheist, November 24, 2008 01:14:11
Dear Syed Albar,

Now is the time to use ISA for national security. In my days, such NGO people would be chased either by the FRU or the army and not be given a chance to chase a helpless woman and start another May 13.

Is Malaysia becoming a cowboy town ???????
written by RumahPanjai, November 24, 2008 02:20:23
Cowards and thugs. I know the majority of malays are very cultured and polite people. This group of malay hooligans does not represent the malay spirit. Like the fatwa council they only know how to bully the weaker gender but other than that they are just bigots with nothing between the ears. By the way, what is the home minister, the moron of them all doing about this protest. Closing both eyes? The IGP is walking the talk. The public have lost trust in them, the damned lot!
written by magickriver, November 24, 2008 02:42:42
Hmmm, I think I shall have to lodge a police report tomorrow against these mindless Umno minions. Their antics & utterances are causing me a chronic bellyache and uncontrollable flatulence from laughing too hard.
written by anakwatanKL, November 24, 2008 02:53:15
Sorry, I do believe the contents of the Constitution had been interpreted to suit the powers that be for many years until now.

True, they have conditioned the other Malaysians to get on with pittance and by the Grace of God, they have prevailed. I say, pittance definitely. I thank God for this experience which has made me humbled and stronger mentally going thru' life's trials and tribulations.

Only thing, Bersih or Hindraf bore the brunt of being sprayed and the wrath of the authorities when they had their walk.

I hope that the people will see through these people and get on with their lives living with their multi-cultural neighbours/work-colleagues.
written by burn22, November 24, 2008 03:40:54
no point arguing, when those NGOs is truly half past six idiots... pemikiran cetek!
written by KotaDamansara73, November 24, 2008 05:05:31
This is what Mahathir has created and how Mahathir will remain in power. By appealing to the hardcore group. No matter what, these NGOs will make the Malays more unprogressive and incompetetive.

If they spend more of their time to be more productive, maybe then the Malays will be a race to look up to.
written by A MI, November 24, 2008 06:14:55
I am sure PEEDeeArEmm will spring into action. That is they have been doing lately - responding to Malay groups who feel insulted.

KL is on the way to become the unsafest city in terms of crime and PEEDeeArEmm and PeaceHill will be busy calling bloggers in for statements and acting on police reports on anyone againsts the grain of AMNO.
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 24, 2008 08:37:35
He said the Malay NGOs felt that it was crucial for them to voice their concerns against the action of other parties which allegedly tried to belittle the Malays, Islam as the official religion of the Federation, and bumiputra rights.

THESE GROUPS ARE NOTHING MORE THAN LEECHES AND PARASITES LIVING OFF THE MASTER AND WILL DO ANYTHING TO CONTINUE TO LICK AND SUCK. THEY HV NO BRAINS TO THINK OR WISDOM TO JUDGE, ONLY JUST TO FEROCIOUSLY PROTECT THE HAND THAT FEEDS THEM.
written by ylcc, November 24, 2008 08:56:06
Dear kennyeu, I agree with you that some of us have been insensitive to the Malay feelings. MT is a place where you put your thoughts down ... instant, without reflecting a bit (with plenty of grammatical, spelling errors) ... so I always ignore lots of comments, because I believe some would regret what they said after a good night's sleep - it does happen to me too.
Since you are on the subject of racism ... maybe you could reflect on some questions:
1)So far, have you read any report of violence from non-Malays towards the Malays?
Have you noted the faces of UMNO-backed protestors? Does it reflect beauty, kindness, compassion? The Chinese cannot hit back the same way, maybe MT is the only way they know how to let go their frustrations? AND they are actually voicing their frustrations at the Malay perpetrators, and not the innocent Malays - not everyone knows how to pen their thoughts clearly!
2)Cheras report: victims-Chinese, perpetrators: Malay FRUs (very brutal)
3)DAP anti-ISA: Non-Malay MPs activists badly treated, perpetrators: Malay FRUs
PAS anti-ISA: I know all arrested were Malays - any report of ill treatment?
..... and so on.
I hate to bring back history, but since 1964 when the FRUs were involved in the Geylang riots where the Chinese were harshly treated, nothing has changed. WHY?
I have always reiterated "It has nothing to do with the Malays, Chinese, Indians" ... the reality is UMNO ... this is the way they operate ... they need to keep racial strives alive to achieve their aims. They need to divide and rule. They need the Malay support. I hope my explanation makes some sense. You are welcome to dispute my comments ... this is a friendly exchange of views.
written by Bigjoe99, November 24, 2008 09:55:00
This is a glimpse of the future. The destruction of EVERYTHING. Those who oppose these groups better prepare to lose everything for it because they guys don't get it they will....
written by borneoman, November 24, 2008 10:30:19
all these happened cos they know that they can depend on umno jc,umno pdrm and umno syed.there are 10million non malays and non muslim who can make your life very2 miserable if continue to pressure them.we have been very tolerent with you so please dont take us for granted.if there is civil unrest of of us will suffer but not the umno leaders because by then they would have migrated to other countries together with their loots which was stolen from us.INDEPENDENCE FOR SARAWAK.
written by densemy, November 24, 2008 10:32:10
So this is how the official arm of Islam cares for the welfare of Malaysian Muslims

No wonder they have never stood up for the Islamic rights of their fellow men women and children

All they want it POWER AND CONTROL
written by LTn, November 24, 2008 11:28:38
MAJLIS PERMUAAFAKATAN UMMAAAH MY ASSSSS!!!! DR MAAAAHHROOFFF AN IDIOT BLOODY STUPID JACK ASSSS!!! GO TO INDONESIA AND SEE FOR YOUR SELF THEIR COUNTRY HAS THE HUGE MUSLIM AND I WOULD SAY MUSLIMS THAT WITH BRAINS!!!!

BECAUSE OF THESE KINDA MENTALITY MALAYSIAN MALAYS AND MUSLIM ARE HARD AND SLOW IN CACTHING UP WITH THE WORLD. LETS HAVE FATWAH ON YOUR ASS!!! COZ YOU WEAR UNDIES!!! THE KAFIR WHO HAS CREATED UNDIES! THE ARABS NEVER USE UNDIES! STUPID MORRONS!!
written by zackzeni, November 24, 2008 11:31:21
Dr Maamor...aku punpelik kat mana ko dpt title dr....jangan la nak menipu orang melayu lagi dgn lakonan korang ni....menyampah...muka korang la menyundal kan org melayu...kalau semua harta2 pemimpin umno termasuk dr maamor ni diagih-agihkan, takde sorang pun org melayu susah, semua dpt biasiswa masuk univ, takde org melayu menganggur....kepada org ni semua...korang semua mmg anjing umno, sundal, sial, pukimak...bodoh punya melayu...
written by kennyeu, November 24, 2008 12:41:13
Hello Ylcc. I absolutely agree with you and it is no big secret that the people in power whether they are UMNO, the police, etc have been abusing their power to bully non-malays and to perpetuate racism in Malaysia. I don't disagree with you that these people in power have been malays and what they have done and continue to do today is wrong and often even criminal. I've seen many of the telling videos Malaysiakini has provided to the public and read many, many of the articles released on a daily basis.

I am a little surprised on how negatively my comment was received. My point was that yes Malaysia needs change and it needs it desperately but I really feel some moderation is needed. To expect a complete change to happen immediately when you are trying to change some pretty fundamental elements of a country is unrealistic. Things take time and because we're impatient, I feel that an aggression has emerge. With this aggression, which malay bashing comments are a form of, we create head on conflict and a lot of hate which in the end slows us down to achieving real change. Meaningful change must come from a willingness of the people to change and it will not work through force. All I was saying was that we should take a step back from all this attacking and try to foster understanding again. Ultimately the real evil in the country comes from UMNO and we should channel that energy to remove them and not blanket blame on the entire malay population. Just because a Malay FRU personnel punched Ronnie Liu doesn't make all malays guilty of violence and racism. It's putting things into perspective.

I don't know, I still believe Malaysia Today is losing malay readership and really if MT becomes a place where non-malays rant to each other... really what's the point. I'm a non-malay but more than ever I would like to move into the future with the malays by my side. I'm hoping Anwar is the person to do this because he has shown patience and knows that all of us are walking on fragile ground. Thanks Ylcc.
written by Bigjoe99, November 24, 2008 13:11:32
Would they be pro-ISA if ITS USED AGAINST THEM?? Their protest just giving more credence why the ISA should be abolished.
written by amoker, November 24, 2008 13:39:12
The report stated rightly that they were protected by the police. Am sure they do not have permit to gather but it is ok as they are UMNO members. They even run after the women to beat her up, so sad. So, dear police .... are you going to do some action on the ahmad ismail police report or are you going to fast track these reports?
written by skc, November 24, 2008 15:55:49
Dear kennyeu and ylcc,
Well say, could not have say it better myself. Yes both are right, and the main problem is Umno, or more accurately the NEP.
This NEP thing have condition all of us up to a certain extend, it is time to uncondition our self, the first thing to see is that we our self must drop the racist view first, (Even US cannot do that - first thing us see is "He is the first African - American President", why specify his "race", he is American period).
Oh if we can have all Malaysians thinking like the two of you maybe there is still hope yet for Malaysia. Do not give up the fight, we have to do our bit on the ground too, talk to as many people as you can, we need to open up their mind, do not be influence by the COLOUR glass, all Malaysians look through due to the NEP. Drop the glasses first before we should even try to put right the current system.
Great men say, 'Life has to be an incessant process of repair and reconstruction, of discarding evil and developing goodness…. In the journey of life, if you want to travel without fear, you must have the ticket of a good conscience.'
written by InEffective, November 24, 2008 17:33:41

New forms of introducing frictions - for the ultimate beneficiary - unscrupulous politicians.

Looks like we will be seeing more and more.