Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Yoga banned for Muslims in Singapore?

Yoga banned for Muslims in Singapore? PDF Print
Sunday, 23 November 2008 20:42

MC emailed a link to Singapore Straits Times rebutting the claim by the chairman of the National Fatwa Council Datuk Dr. Abdul Shukor Husin when announcing a ban on yoga for Muslims that “Malaysia is not the only country which prohibits Muslims from doing Yoga” and that “Singapore and Egypt have come out with the same edict”.

The Singapore Straits Times report “Yoga is okay” dated Nov. 9, 2008 reads:

A MUSLIM cleric in Malaysia has called on Muslims to stop doing yoga exercises, but some religious experts in Singapore do not share that sentiment. 

They are largely of the opinion that yoga is harmless as long as its spiritual aspects are not practised.

Professor Zakaria Stapa, a lecturer at University Kebangsaan Malaysia’s faculty of Islamic studies, said recently that yoga is based on Hindu elements and could affect the faith of Muslims practising it.

That sparked a nationwide debate and the Malaysian National Fatwa Council may issue a fatwa, or decree, on yoga soon.

The country seems to be alone in its concern.

Yoga centres are flourishing in more orthodox Muslim countries such as Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.

In Iran, yoga is so popular that there are classes for children.

In Singapore, Mr Mohammad Yusri Yubhi Md Yusoff, 33, executive imam of Al-Falah mosque, said: ‘Yoga may have its roots in Hinduism. But if you take away the meditation and other spiritual aspects, it becomes just another form of exercise.’

READ MORE HERE: http://blog.limkitsiang.com/

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by Steven Tan, November 23, 2008 20:57:53
Sendiri punya buntut cuci bersih bersih dulu nanti baru boleh orang lain punya buntut. Singapore is First World Country, they know what is best for them. So I think our Ulama not need to talk on behave of them smilies/wink.gif
written by bodohland_citizen, November 23, 2008 21:00:30
Malaysian National Fatwa Council is more islam than the more orthodox Muslim countries. But why Al Azhar university in Cairo is not accepting malaysian students anymore ? smilies/sad.gif
written by Motherchell, November 23, 2008 21:08:49
Where did Prof Stapa and Dr . Shukor buy their Ayam Brand doctorates from ?? Is it a style to baggage around a dropout thesis?? or is it that they were hard kicked out of Al Ahzar U , came home and cut and pasted -- went to Najib and got a job where they are all set to churn out garbage in their bosses words??

http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by ahmadneil, November 23, 2008 21:11:33
In singapore,tomboys are doing roaring business at Bugis street.A quickie in the public toilet cost only $10.
disagree 23
written by ahmadneil, November 23, 2008 21:14:47
Go to aerobic and you can see muslim girls braless,jumping with their tits swinging like a pendulum clock.Why not in malaysia and dare to call 'malaysia truly asia.
disagree 16
written by ahmadneil, November 23, 2008 21:17:25
Go to yoga class and you can also see these muslim girls sitting with their legs wide open and wearing skin tight body glove.You can see all curves,valleys,mountains,airports,well,peanut nipples etc.Singapore,truly asia.
disagree 17
written by ahmadneil, November 23, 2008 21:18:50
And at nite you go to Geylang,what you want we have.Girls of all religion are welcome.
written by justinlian, November 23, 2008 21:38:01
Malaysia should be ashamed of themselves bringing laws within themselves for nothing but get screwed..
There is so many things that involved hinduism even our languages.
written by IbnAbdHalim, November 23, 2008 21:44:27
As long as we have UMNO bigots in religious departments, Islam will be vandalised.
written by budakindia, November 23, 2008 21:48:01
What's next? It gets more ridiculous each day! Oh yeah thanks for all the intimidation!
written by justice6, November 23, 2008 21:54:38
aiya ppl..what the big fuss... buying 4 ekor is also haram but I see many muslim bro buying with me side by side each week...
written by Thambidoorai, November 23, 2008 21:59:06
"In singapore,tomboys are doing roaring business at Bugis street.A quickie in the public toilet cost only $10., etc., etc."

ahmadneil, you are a (deleted)!
written by Joelim, November 23, 2008 22:38:43
National Fatwa Council Datuk Dr. Abdul Shukor Husin.....don't be ridiculous!! Yoga is against Islam? You are just talking through your anus.
written by ahmadneil, November 23, 2008 22:40:47
Dear Thambidoorai,
Also if you want to visit muslim divorcee or widower,go to Jalan Sultan,Textile center.On the 8th Floor you can choose all that you like.Some widower whose husband have been dead for 5-7 years are in dire need of money and they are young,around 30-35 years old.Funny, why in singapore male malays die very young.Must be screwing frequently at Geylang becos too much sex is deadly.You can see some chinese ,Indians and occasionally some mongolian,ooph,shit! a slip of tongue,RB must have heard of this and the price will shoot up.
You know lah it's very hard to survive in this harsh environment without money.
written by san amin, November 23, 2008 22:49:04
yoga is sinful due to the ability of pleasuring urself,unless u hv a big belly n small p****. hmmm.. what does this dr.shukor looks like?
written by Hello Keithy, November 23, 2008 22:49:09
Hey, have a fatwa on breathing. Then all those bastards will die and this world will be free of terrorists. Have a fatwa on using Ringgit notes too. You never know where the notes have been. But nothing beats the fatwa on breathing. Sure works.
written by Kuku Burung, November 23, 2008 22:51:25
What is next? I bet jeans will be banned next, as it came from the Big devil country US. T-shirts will be banned too, as it is not Arabic. Neck ties will banned too, as it is western. Business suits will be banned, as it is not robes with white cap. The rest of the world is banned too, as it is not islamic. He, he, he... LOL
written by arazak, November 23, 2008 23:06:17
"MC emailed a link to Singapore Straits Times "rebutting" the claim by the chairman of the National Fatwa Council Datuk Dr. Abdul Shukor Husin when announcing a ban on yoga for Muslims . . ."
---------------------------------------------------------------------

Even the Chairman of National Fatwa Council is not telling the truth. . .,

Tell me than. . ., how could Malaysian Muslims abide to the "fatwa" issued by this Council, when even the Chairman of the Council is not a truthfull person? This is really absurd to the highest degree. . .!
written by anakmalaysia777, November 23, 2008 23:08:31
As a Malaysian and a Hindu, I am distressed with the recent religious rulings made by the National Fatwa Council. However, I am even more disturbed with some of the postings made here. While one can be disgusted and express their concerns with this and other rulings, one should be careful with the type of language and reasoning used. Such immature postings that do not contribute to an orderly debate only goes to show that you are incapable of putting up a good and reasonable argument. Many of the postings are also irrelevant and can certainly be seen as insulting the normal senses of other fellow Malaysians, let alone the Muslims.

My argument with the Fatwa is simple. Is Silat Islamic? Where did Silat get its foundation? If it was to be practised in its original form, would it not be breaching Islmaic teachings in the same way as Yoga.

Football is almost like a religion in many Western Countries. People rather go and see a football game on Saturday and Sunday mornings or remain glued to the television sets to see the games. While watching football, these ardent fans become oblivious to everything else, including the existence of god. This may also be another reason why the western churches are rather empty of worshippers. Is the Islamic council now going to stop or ban poor Malaysian Muslims from participating in or watching football.

The very act of questioning this fatwa is considered as being anti-Islam? So many of Muslim friends are cowed into just accepting the fatwas as they come. They are considered to be incapable of deciding for themselves where the boundary lies.

So, now we will await the Council's fatwa on silat and football.

written by san amin, November 23, 2008 23:17:30
hey rozlan!
u ideally suited into storming all the yoga classes. bring along mp zul of kulim bandar with u. u may well not b an umno guy, but u sure fits into that category. cmon bring it on...im a muslim so 'redicule' my religion...
written by sting, November 23, 2008 23:46:43
What next, O Enlightened Fatwa Council?
Banning Chinese and Indians because "if there are not for Muslims, they are against Muslims?"
Please stop declaring all these silly nonsense and make Malaysia a laughing stock.
written by Dualties, November 24, 2008 01:11:00
Just wonder is Islam a repressive teaching or progressive teaching of the tenets of the Quran? Allow the non-Muslims to see me of the positiveness on Islamic teachings. Irrespective of any religious approaches, the positiveness of the teachings attract to embrace a religious belief of non-believers.

Islam has an uphill task to achieve after 911. It is not the fault of the Islamic principles but the act or terrorists in the cloak of Islamic skin.

We should have a session of TV broadcasting daily on positiveness of Islamic positive achievements rather than indulge into edicts/fatwas against non-Muslim population in this country.
written by Dualties, November 24, 2008 01:12:39
Just wonder is Islam a repressive teaching or progressive teaching of the tenets of the Quran? Allow the non-Muslims to see me of the positiveness on Islamic teachings. Irrespective of any religious approaches, the positiveness of the teachings attract to embrace a religious belief of non-believers.

===eRRor....... should read as "Allow the non-Muslims to see MORE of the positiveness on Islamic teachings."
written by apa jadi, November 24, 2008 01:50:34
Rozlan
But I will start ridiculing others..It is very easy to ridiculed your religion you know..

Before people rediculing your religion, you are rediculing your own self. Please enlighten me which phrase(s) before your comment people rediculing your religion. Please do not make yourself a laughing stock over your own seige mentality.

Check out with those Muslims who practices Yoga. By the way, what is Sufism in Islam? Enlighten me.
written by monstercat, November 24, 2008 02:12:29
No one here is ridiculing any religion. Please read properly & understand what you are reading. Perhaps your command of English is not good Roslan. There's a difference between criticising the formula of a medicine and the doctor who dispense that medicine to you. Get it Roslan?
written by RumahPanjai, November 24, 2008 02:29:55
Quote "Datuk Dr. Abdul Shukor Husin when announcing a ban on yoga for Muslims that “Malaysia is not the only country which prohibits Muslims from doing Yoga” and that “Singapore and Egypt have come out with the same edict”.

The council should issue a fatwa for lying. There is no such edict in Singapore! If the leader of NFC can mouth such lies, who can we trust in this self serving body? A bunch of prolific liars just like UMNO. The integrity of this Datuk Dr. has created doubts on his qualification to lead.
written by grant, November 24, 2008 09:07:00
this guy is putting his d**k in his mouth for talking rots...egypt and singapore ban yoga my a$$.. since when?? ask him to show proof la.. talk c**k no.1.. buat bodoh sendiri
written by macanhitam, November 24, 2008 09:40:39
for those mujaheeds who think MT'ers here is ridiculing islam, prove it. you gotta make it clear that national ****wa council is Islam but Islam is not necessarily national ****wa council. The MT'ers here are merely bashing the ****wa council. Because of the stupidity of ****wa council, good adherent muslims are being victims of their ****wa council stupidity.
written by kawaafi, November 24, 2008 10:41:21
Salam,
common guys, please read the two of them speak.

In Singapore, Mr Mohammad Yusri Yubhi Md Yusoff, 33, executive imam of Al-Falah mosque, said: ‘Yoga may have its roots in Hinduism. But if you take away the meditation and other spiritual aspects, it becomes just another form of exercise.’

~~~
Majlis Fatwa Kebangsaan hari ini mengharamkan umat Islam mengamalkan yoga secara sistematik, yang melibatkan unsur-unsur fizikal dan spiritual kerana ia bertentangan dengan syariat Islam.

Pengerusinya Datuk Dr Abdul Shukor Husin bagaimanapun berkata, amalan fizikal iaitu senaman dalam yoga, tanpa adanya unsur-unsur mentera dan pemujaan pada zahirnya tidak menjadi kesalahan

Are they not talking about the same thing about YOGA. Physical exercise is OKAY, but not the spiritual aspect of it.

I thought you all are very meticulous reader..smilies/smiley.gif
written by kawaafi, November 24, 2008 10:48:29
Salam Rozlan,

We Muslim did not ridicule other religion is not because they do not do the same and vice versa. We simply do not do that, period. Because Allah does not allow us to do it at all. we only shall treat other religion with honour and respect.
written by anniyan, November 24, 2008 12:35:25
Errr... i wonder where do these peoples get the info Singapore banned Yoga.. From what i know and what i see.. unlike malaysia, singapore is way to civilized to think which is bad and which is wrong.. im preety sure they are laughing at us on this baseless point of singapore banning yoga..

I have many muslim friends practicing yoga and they even introduced to their relatives and friends.. none complained on wanted to convert to hinduism.. im thinking these fatwa council people are running out of ideas on showing their existense.. Only god knows when we can be released by this types of clutches.. gosh.. smilies/sad.gif
written by ylcc, November 24, 2008 13:37:47
Ahmadneil ... your comments leave much to be desired. I can only see this:
1) You are not a Muslim, I see you as Neil A.H. MAD!
2) How do you know so much about Singapore red light areas? Have you been frequenting these places? Are you a Singaporean here to create problems for us non-Malays on MT? Many Muslims have been complaining of us being insensitive to their feelings (including ours) ... but I noticed that there are only few like you, including you!
3) Tomboys hang out with girls ... are you gay?
4) If you are Malaysian, you definitely have expensive taste to go over to Singapore for a quickie!

This is for you, Thambidoorai ....
written by ahmadneil, November 24, 2008 15:18:31
Dear ylcc,
Your guess too far off target,sorry!Way Way Off the bull eye.