Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Sarawak For Sarawakians

Sarawak For Sarawakians PDF Print
Sunday, 23 November 2008 18:11
First of all, Sarawak headhunter wishes to make it clear that he is only anti-BN Malayans and not Malayans in general. All references to Malayans" here and in his other postings should therefore be read accordingly

Sarawak has contributed more than its fair share to Malaya, and the Malayans have messed things up. Not only have the Malayans messed things up, they have ignored Sarawak's contributions and have never even acknowledged the same or shown any gratitude to Sarawak or Sarawakians.

Even worse, they look down on Sarawak as being backward while enjoying and wasting the fruits of Sarawak's natural resources, especially its petroleum. It is as if the Malayans refuse to invite or even allow Sarawakians to sit at the banquet table and eat the food that the Sarawakians themselves have provided. This is of course a typical colonial and feudal mentality and attitude, even if the Malayans may
deny it.

Must Sarawakians beg to be let into the banquet hall? Or do they grace the festivities only as performing artistes showing off the purported multi-ethnic culture of Malaysia? Do the Malayans really know anything about the culture of Sarawak and Sarawakians? Do they care or even bother?

Continue Reading Here

written by ahmadneil, November 23, 2008 18:37:48
Never have the Malayans care about Sarawak! After 45 years,you just see the condition of the roads,the transport system,the drainage,erosion,floods,broken schools,kampongs in ruins etc.All the funds that are barely enough for sarawak are also partly going into the cronies 's pockets.With the land mass about the size as Malaya,the unbalance distribution of the country wealth can be clearly seen.Even the main tran- Borneo highway look like a kampong road.With the cow's head in sarawak and the tits in Malaya,it wouldn't be long before all the resources goes dry.
Now with Gabriel Adit ,who have just join PKR,we hope that he will orchestra the change that we all have been longing for.The dayaks will play a part to realise this dream.
written by ylcc, November 23, 2008 19:12:09
As you have said ... not all Malayans. We do understand your plight and we hear your cries, and of course, we welcome you to grace our banquet tables ... you have to help yourselves ... you have to stand up for your rights ... you must get rid of UMNO .. they are the ones draining all your resources!
written by Kathy, November 23, 2008 19:23:02
As a Sarawakian, I have read this article with great interest. First of all, I agree with the author that, for too long, Sarawak has been treated like a country cousin by the Federal govt. As country cousins we provide the food and work in the kitchen but are never allowed to sit at the banquet table. We eat the left-overs in the kitchen. Secondly, we cannot solely blame the Malayans for the state Sarawak is in now. It was the Sarawakians who voted in firstly Abdul Rahman Yakub then Taib, but it was voter apathy and ignorance that allowed them to stay in power this long. The fact that both uncle and nephew have between them ruled Sarawak since the last Dayak CM and, in the process, amassed great wealth and got away with sheer murder is aided and abetted by the Federal govt. and the betrayal of the Chinese and Dayak leaders.

However, all is not lost. One glance at the pie chart of the racial make-up in Sarawak will tell you that if the Chinese and Dayaks combine forces they make up 72% of the population leaving the Malays/Melanaus at 28%, so ketuanan melayu can go out of the window! The Melanaus only make up 7% of the population and they have ruled for the most part since Sarawak became part of Malaysia. Fellow Sarawakians, ask yourselves this : is this right? If they were doing a good job that would be fine but they have gained power to rob the country. It's almost like inviting a burglar into your home to rob you. We must overthrow BN's rule in Sarawak. If we do it with the help of PKR we must lay down conditions : that Sarawak be given autonomy and we do not kow-tow to the Federal govt. Whatever we do we must retain the unique characteristic that differentiates Sarawak from the other states : the racial harmony that has existed since the days of the Rajah Brookes.
written by malsia1206, November 23, 2008 19:24:37
The 'Sarawak-Malaysia' relationship is akin to the 'Sabah-Malaysia' situation. Essentially, it's a love-hate relationship caused by 2 main factors.
1. The political clouts in Putrajaya had raped both States to fill their war chests
2. The political goons in both Sabah & Sarawak play along with their West Malaysian colleagues and sell out the souls of the rakyat.
If anything, both Sabah & Sarawak had lost out more than what they had gained in the Federation. And this rapes continues unabated.
written by borneoman, November 23, 2008 19:49:57
if the umno malay keep on demanding for their special rights and position,ketuanan melayu,islam the official religion and bahasa malaysia as the official language i dont see what is wrong if we want Sarawak For Sarawakian.if the umno led bn malay want fair play they must drop their demands aswell.only then can we talk and discuss about cooperations between malaya and Sarawak otherwise we might resort to our old tribal ways of settling a score.umno led bn is in the verge of wiping out what little rights we had left.the original 20points doesnt have any bearing anymore.down with umno led bn and their proxy the emperor of all robbers taib and his uncle yakub.may they all rot in hell.
written by Tompios, November 23, 2008 19:51:16
You guys quite wrong about Malayan's BN don't invite Sarawakians in the banguet hall party. Don't forget the percentage of Sabahan oil and petroleum consumed by West Malaysia. These two countries feed West Malaysia until fat to all directions. Sadly, Sabah 10 years behind Sarawak. This not because of all real Sabahans are stupid but because of UMNO's agent that promoting official religion to Sabahan people and Ketuanan under BN's Umbrella.

If Sabah, Sarawak and Kelantan going to be independent countries than some of the Malaya's states will eat their foods by 'nasib and takdir.'

written by borneoman, November 23, 2008 19:54:58
dear kathy,i concur with you .its either autonomy or independence for Sarawak.
written by Pangkis Pangazou, November 23, 2008 20:25:19
From the word "go" since the formation of Malaysia these two Borneo states have been handed a raw deal. We should have listened to the late Datuk G.S. Sundang who insisted that we should "get engaged" first before "marrying" outright. All in all, Sarawakians and Sabahans SUDAH KANA TIPU! The abundance natural resources of these two Borneo states alone is enough to feed the whole of Malaya and what did we get in return? A meager 5 cents of every single RM worth of our oil and gas, despicable road condition, poor healthcare facilities... etc. And worst of all WE HAVE TO BEG for what is rightfully ours. So, my Borneo brethren... yes we were given a raw deal we were swindled all the way... So, what's next? Can someone go to the ICJ please to ask for a review of the Malaysian Agreement.

The Malaysian Agreement is a contract. The major signatories were MALAYA, SINGAPORE, SABAH and SARAWAK. If one party who was one of the Signatory ceases to be part of that Agreement, then that makes the said agreement NULL AND VOID! If the Malaysian Agreement is NULL and VOID.... what does that tell about MALAYSIA my friends....? Illegal?
written by ahvoon, November 23, 2008 20:30:08
hmmm what happens when one party to an agreement fails to deliver on its obligations? Can the other party(s) sue for breach of contract and have it annulled? smilies/grin.gif
written by Bloodhound, November 23, 2008 20:37:06
First of all, let me inform that I am not aligned with any party. I support efforts to improve and alleviate the living standards and inhumane poverty that Sarawakians are experiencing.....but, we must be realistic in what we want to achieve and how to achieve them.

To suggest cessation from Malaysia is a very ambitious undertaking. The government will never ever let that happen.

They will pour troops and resources into Sarawak to destroy and massacre such efforts. What are your chances of winning such an onslaught? Casualty will most certainly not be from the heavily armed soldiers from the peninsula!

Why embark on something that you cannot win when you have a better alternative available right at your doorstep?

Yes, you may not trust PKR 100%.....and you may not like Anwar or you prefer self rule.....but, will you ever get freedom or progress or independence you refuse to be part of a bigger struggle?

Why not we take it one step at a time? Provide your full support to PKR to help dislodge BN from office - this, effectivly will get rid of Taib!

Remember, it most difficult to dislodge an incumbent government when it has been in power for such a long time.

If PKR becomes government, and if they do not perform solidly and look after your interest, then, you can initiate efforts to dislodge PKR from office.

Being a new boy in the block, PKR will be a much easier target than an incumbent BN (especially when they are merciless and blatantly abuses the rule of law to maintain power).

Why waste your human resources unnecessarily? Your objectives could be achieved in a much simpler form.
written by Mustapha Kamal, November 23, 2008 22:23:17
Let's cut the bull and ask whatever happened to the brave Iban warriors I used to know in the early '70s ? The ones who joined me in Brunei ? They of the tattoos everywhere, including their necks ? They were a proud warrior race. BUT, I don't see them anymore. Don't blame Malaysians for your ills. Look at who has been running the state for decades, and guess what ? He's not even a member of the majority race in Sarawak. So, who has let who down ?
written by monstercat, November 24, 2008 01:44:23
Kathy, I agree with what u! The Sarawak's Malay/Melanau-Muslims are minority but they r in power! The Malays always claim that they have been very tolerant of the nons. Well, the nons are 100% more tolerant than the Malays I'd say. In countries where the Muslims are a small minority, the majority lets them have their azan calls. They may find it annoying esp when some really scream into the microphone, but they do not pass law to ban it. They know it is an important feature in the religion thus they let it be. The UMNO malays are aiming to brainwash our local malays. Recently my teacher friend went to a training camp conducted by a West Msian trainer. This trainer ask the teachers how to divide 39 sen amongst the malays, chinese & indians. Whoa! He significantly left out our Dayaks! He's answer to them was of course y'all know lah! His reason, because the Chinese & Indians are pendatangs! So, again the same tactics! One of the teachers ask him back - so what about debts?? Will the Malays get to pay more???
written by RumahPanjai, November 24, 2008 02:38:30
The damned thing is, they have colonised Sarawak and hijacked all top civil service positions from deserving Sarawakians as well. Sarawakians have never been considered as equals by these malayans. When in Sarawak, the malayans think that they are more superior and treat our cultures with disrepect and they get away with it too. To them Sarawak natives are just like the orang asli in Malaya and are not Bumis..
written by goman2k3, November 24, 2008 06:31:41
The head hunters have themselves to be blamed. They are out played and fall prey to the money politics by the minority rahman and taib. Their ancestors would have turned in their graves many times. Where have all the bravery of their ancestors gone. Where have the cries of the head hunter gone to. Just for a few millions dollars they sold their souls and their jungle to the BN. Shame on you the Dayaks. With 70 % plus of the population it is time you wake and remember RENTAP.
written by goman2k3, November 24, 2008 06:46:42
The present Dayak Leaders are all pussy and with a few million dollars in bank they are willing to sell their soul and land to the muslim Rahman and Taib. Where are the spirit and bravery of the headhunters? Your ancestors warriors wold have cut off your nuts and have it for breakfast.
With all the oil/gas and timber, the land of the hornbill would have enjoy all the richness it has. With s population of 2.5 million and 40-50 trillion cubic feet of gas, 3-4 billion barrel of oil and lots of timber and oil palm, it should be among the richest state of Malaysia if not the richest.
written by Hope4all, November 24, 2008 06:55:14
Sarawak Dayaks better beware! Don't share the same fate as your Kadazan brethrens in Sabah. Soon, they will be the minorities in their own Sabah, no thanks to people in power violating the constitution to protect its citizens, but rather selected illegals, not all illegals.

You guys are lucky to have your Kalimantan Dayak brethrens across the border.

But it is time you guys wake up and unite! Have a corrupt-free leadership for the benefit of all Sarawakians.
written by Ahjamal, November 24, 2008 12:36:46
This is the same issue the West went to Africa carried with them the Bible and the back African gets the Bible and exchange the land to the West. This is the same issue Malayan UMNO gave the political goons in this two states hope of sharing in the agreement
of Malaysian Unity but turns out Malayan UMNO now gets the resources and power over this two states.