Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Pakatan Rakyat beginning to feel Hindraf heat

Pakatan Rakyat beginning to feel Hindraf heat PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 23 November 2008 16:14
By Baradan Kuppusamy in The Malaysian Insider

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 23 - It will be one year ago on Tuesday that Hindraf rallied on the streets here, as dissent and anger among the Indian community exploded into a groundswell which helped turn the political tide against the Barisan Nasional.

But some of that anger and frustration is now beginning to be directed at Pakatan Rakyat (PR) state governments, which are being perceived as dragging their feet when it comes to resolving Tamil working-class issues.

This development was readily admitted by participants at a forum in Parliament on Friday that was chaired by Klang MP Charles Santiago and attended by a disparate group of about 30 people.

These included NGO leaders, several DAP MPs and councilors like Ipoh Barat MP M. Kulasegaran, PKR leaders S. Sivarasa and Dr Xavier Jeyakumar, a few lawyers, business people and even individuals who manage orphanages and charities.

Others include Dr Denison Jayasooriya and SUHKAM commissioner Siva Subramaniam.

One participant privately lamented that instead of elected leaders telling what they have done for the Indian community since winning state power on March 8, the forum became a general discussions more on what is the problem and not how to solve it.

Problems being faced by the Tamil working class communities are not new. They range from abject poverty to low skills, urban squalor, low wages and lack of upward mobility and the related ills that include wife beatings to single parenting, crime, alcoholism and drugs.

All these were dredged up during the forum but with little understanding of the core issue - neglect by the state especially by the MIC and the BN government in the last few decades when Tamils in the estates were uprooted and thrown out in an improper, unplanned manner and ended up as urban squatters.

In 1980 81per cent of Tamils lived in estates and rural areas. After 2006 over 80per cent are living in urban centres, according to government statistics.

The forum also dangerously and erroneously slipped into "us" against "them" debate with "us" being Indians and "them" Malays although some participants tried to qualify "them" as "Umno Malays."

Several participants argued that poverty cuts through race and that the way to understand the dilemma is to look at it as a problem of the exploited working class.

They said Indians should discard their "it is our right" approach and work with the poor of other races to right the wrongs and stop the rich from hijacking the national wealth.

However several participants openly took a racial approach and demanded to know what the Pakatan Rakyat had done for the Indians since riding on Indian anger to win.

They argued, erroneously as the case may be, that it was the Indian vote that brought victory for Pakatan Rakyat.

One participant even said that some of the newly elected MPs, unless they resolve the Tamil miseries, would end up as one term MP.

Dr Xavier, the sole Indian exco member in Selangor, was the star attraction and the man in the hot seat.

Dr Xavier cut a cheerless figure as he listened to the arguments, the problems and the accusations pile up.

When he spoke up he shocked the participants with a narration of the "horrendous" task he faced trying to help resolve Tamil woes.

He did give some solutions that are gestating in the pipeline but his narration of his woes was also a litany of all the ills that the Tamils face.

One setback, he said, is that Indians in the state make a beeline to him and not to the other exco-members or government departments, resulting in a situation that constantly overloads him.

Tamil school headmasters, many of whom are MIC leaders, don't attend meetings, nor do they participate in problem solving and work with the state government.

They look to the Education ministry for direction and the ministry does not encourage state-headmaster co-operation.

"The Nov 25 rally unleashed huge expectations and the demands are very high. They expect change in the next 48 hours, it is impossible. We are talking about a 50 year old delivery system that has its own way of doing everything," said Dr Xavier.

Indians too have a strong attachment with temples and temples are mushrooming everywhere in the state without regard to rule or law, he said, adding it is emerging as a huge problem.

The community's main emphasis is on temples and Tamil schools and not breaking free of the cycle of poverty that is gripping them, he said.

"For the first time in history the state has allocated RM4 million to Tamil schools but headmasters refuse to turn up to collect the money," he said adding federal officers had also refused them permission.

Politically he said huge and unregulated demands on the state government and the entrenched, Malay-dominated bureaucracy could alienate Malay voters who had also made March 8 possible.

"We are up against an entrenched, 50 year old system. We cannot change in nine months or even in nine years," he said. "It takes time but I am afraid if we don't satisfy the huge expectations we might end up as one term MPs," Dr Xavier said.

With his eyes on the clock Charles Santiago hurriedly summed up saying "it appears that there have been efforts made to change" under the PKR state governments but that "there is a long way to go."

"It is too short a period to judge," he said.

- The Malaysian Insider

written by veseti, November 23, 2008 16:34:02
I hate to say but in my experience,so far la, the indian community is super messed up. There are only extremes in this community. for eg extremely smart n extremely stupid. the stupid ones are the ones in poverty, beating there wifes n other bullshit. while the smart ones are slowly making there way out of the country. Sorry don take it personal but generally Tamil ppl have the most tendecy to be violent...
disagree 33
written by gorshan, November 23, 2008 16:47:22
why squat in urban area? why not go back to the estate and do land grab ala Mugabe? Indian estate worker should demand that any estate owners who gave up their land to non green development must give up at least 20% land areas to be distributed equally among estate workers.every workers family should get at least 10 acres.

this may sound extreme but will be a just solution to over 150 years of exploitation from blood and sweats of these lowly paid workers. they need something akin to FELDA and FELCRA scheme to alleviate their poverty. how many percentage of land is in the govt hand, and why is this percentage very high compared to any other countries?

would it not be better for the govt to distribute all these land to all Malaysian regardless of race or religion. that way the govt can kill two birds with one stone. it will reduce poverty among the poor and spearhead a new green revolution. smilies/grin.gif
written by gorshan, November 23, 2008 16:53:53
may i also point out that this will swings all Indian votes back towards BN to remain in power for a long long time to come? BN,put on your thinking cap, the solution has been in front of your eyes all these while. smilies/grin.gif
written by Samanyan, November 23, 2008 17:22:27
Indians, especially the estate tamils have since the 60s had been taken a ride by each successive MIC and UMNO leaders.

All that came to an abrupt end with the upswell in the HINDRAF rally of 2007. Of course malay leaders like our great Syed Albar can talk whatever crap he may like, but the fact of the matter is under the malaysian constitution every citizen has 1 vote. And Datuk Syed Albar, you can bet your last 2 sens in your swiss account that come next election BN will get even lesser votes from the Indians then what you got in March 2008 election.

A telling sign of the times to come was the devotee turnout in the Batu Cave Temple of Thaipusam Day this year. The temple which used to receive 1.5 million devotees each year saw a turnout of a mere 300,000. Of course Samy Velu tried his usual spin on that occassion, but the visual reality of the situation was so bad that RTM didn't dare any direct telecasting of the Batu Caves festivities on that day. Instead they were showing visuals from previous years. So much for Samy Velu and his spin. If the UMNO leaders are going to continue listening to this nonsense... they are dumber than dumb.

As for you PR guys, there is no question that HINDRAF was the reason why you are where you are in 4 states. The chinese did not find their guts until the indians began to throw caution to the winds and swing completely towards the opposition. If the Indians were to change their stand in the coming elections, you can bet your new PERDANAs that the chinese voters would desert you in a jiffy.

So, please cut the crab and attend to their problems.
written by bumiputeri, November 23, 2008 17:24:27
This article is another piece of the many that this pro BN and MIC K Baradan has written. Yes, the Indians have every right to feel frustrated and demand what is their rightful rights in this sovereign land of theirs. But, to say that their votes will swing back to the Bee End is abolute brainwashing!!! The Indians are not blind to see that the PR government is more caring towards the Indian community compared to the Bee End !!! We know very well who is behind all the failures and delays in the effort made by the PR goverment to help the Indians. The Bee End goverment is trying its best to block every effort by the PR government to help the Indians as this might make the PR more popular and Bee End the End!!!! K Baradan, your brainwashing technique is obsolete and just live it in the bin!!!Doesnt work anymore!!!
written by citizenmy, November 23, 2008 17:56:02
There are 2 serious problems need to be tackled within Indian Community themselves
(i) Unity among Indians - Caste system is still a factor which creates disunity
(ii) Alcoholism - Every level of society, rich/poor/young and old is affected by this problem. Some work hard, but alcohol is given higher priority compared to other basic needs. This le*** to other problems.

Unless the above basic issues are resolved within the indian community, its difficult to see how the community can raise up as a whole to be of par with other races, even with Government assistance.

Thats my opinion only.
written by Joe, November 23, 2008 19:29:59
I am an Indian, and I wont vote BN. I'd rather vote PKR, or PAS.
written by advocatusdiaboli, November 23, 2008 22:17:05
BN already felt the HINDRAF heat and got their ass burned together with MIC. Just because PR is slow in implementing the reforms to the Indian community does not mean that Indians will jump ship back to BN in droves coming the next elections. You fcukers (meaning BN) have screwed the Indian community for a long time. I will NEVER vote BN for the rest of my life and I will take this message across to many people to do the same.
written by rajaphillips, November 23, 2008 22:20:55
HELO HELO, PAKATAN FEELING THE HEAT? PAKATAN IS LESS THAN 1 YEAR OLD. IT CANNOT CLEAN UP A MESS THAT HAS BEEN ACCUMULATED (CREATED BY MIC AND BN) FOR THE LAST 50 YEARS OVERNIGHT. GIVE THEM TIME LAH. INDIANS GOT PROBLEM, MALAYS ALSO GOT PROBLEMS. YOU THINK THE CHINESE ARE WELL?
written by The Hammer, November 24, 2008 01:05:35
i don;t understand why some of the Indians still complaining about their status! It is a known fact many Indians were displace when the estates were converted into housing and industrial kand and were forced out. Yes it is also a fact that most were not educated and due to their low esteem keep to themselves. That is why some turn to gangesteism as the quickest way to overcome their poverty. The rest as most Indian do; turn to alcohol for their consolation.
And now they exepect PR to turm their povert to riches overnight.Give PR time' Hell for 50 years most of you Indians were voting blindly for Semi Value !
written by anand, November 24, 2008 02:17:40
I AM ALSO DISSAPOINTED WITH PAKATAN PROMISES.I DONT KNOW WHO 2 VOTE NEXT GE. IF I DONT VOTE THEN BN WILL WIN. DSAI PLS adVICE
written by anand, November 24, 2008 02:19:15
ANWAR, SAY SOMETHING
written by asguard, November 24, 2008 09:11:59
It will take time to dismantle UMNO led's institution if you want to see results as you know all of the changes can't be done over night .... the best example PAS led Kelantan ...how many years did they took to dismantle umno led institution in that state answer almost 18 years!
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 24, 2008 13:03:38
With so much resentment and frustrations of the Malayan Indians melted out at the PKR even at this moment in time, you Malayans want us Sabahans & Sarawakians to trust and to throw our support blindly behind the PKR? You think we are stupid or what?
What say all those Malayans who have been telling us to “Wake up”, “Don’t be cowards”, “Vote for PKR”, and other equally idiotic remarks?

Collectively, Sabah & Sarawak have over 70 ethnic races. Can’t a mere 2 Malayan Chinese & Indian communities/races unit to face the BN?
written by InEffective, November 24, 2008 17:23:01

I think the Indians need to bring their influencers and thought-leaders (teachers, politicians etc) to account for enabling or contributing to their marginalization, dependance, and exclusion.

Indian need to take more direct accountability for the outcomes in their lives, and ensure that those who threaten, repress, and suppress their opportunities experience some real pain, as they (and their children) do everyday.