Fatwa on tomboys is regressive PDF Print
Sunday, 23 November 2008 12:58

And how do the authorities define manly behaviour? Not gentle and demure enough? Talking too loudly? Who would and how could one define and determine whether a woman is a tomboy or a lesbian?

The Nut Graph

Protestors outside KLCC
Fatwa protestors outside KLCC (photos by Lainie Yeoh)

DOES Malaysia have serious morality and social problems? Definitely. To name a few: corruption, money politics, draconian laws like the Internal Security Act (ISA), abuse of power, violation of citizen's rights, environmental problems, failure to reduce the high crime rate, rampant snatch theft, domestic violence, and failure to chase after errant fathers who do not pay maintenance.

Sisters in Islam (SIS) urges the government, political and religious leaders, including the National Fatwa Council, to give more focus to the effort of upholding justice, equality, civil liberty and democracy in Malaysia, which are intrinsic values in Islam.

Malaysia has made some good progress in the advancement of women's rights.  Thus, it needs to ensure that women's movement, the freedom to live our own daily lives, and the ability to define women's identity and lifestyle are not curbed and controlled by those who have narrow perspectives. The Malaysian government and all political parties have to enhance their efforts in creating gender awareness among civil servants, and political and religious leaders.

Protestor outside KLCC
Placard says "Berhenti mengawal pemakaian, pemikiran dan
tingkah laku rakyat!"
SIS is concerned with the continuous sexist and discriminatory approach towards Malaysian women, especially Muslim women. Sexist remarks issued by our Parliamentarians, instructions by political leaders for women not to wear high heels and lipstick, prioritising non-beautiful women for jobs, prohibiting women from singing in public, and now a fatwa on tomboys, are all alarmingly regressive trends.

The fatwa on tomboys can lead to arbitrary arrests and undue harassment towards Muslim women and girls. How do the authorities define a tomboy? A woman with short hair? Who wears pants? Wears shirts? Has no make-up? Many Malaysian women sport short hair, wear pants, shirts and don't wear make-up. It is culturally normal for Malaysian women to be body comfortable with each other - many women hold hands, hug their friends or kiss their friends on the cheek.

And how do the authorities define manly behaviour? Not gentle and demure enough? Talking too loudly? Who would and how could one define and determine whether a woman is a tomboy or a lesbian?

Women who do not dress or behave in ways that are perceived by certain quarters as "not feminine" are not a menace to society. In fact, many of these women hold respectable positions and actively contribute to society.

Women being targeted

An important question that needs to be raised is why is the fatwa only imposed on women? This is yet another example of selective prosecution in Malaysia. In 2000, the Selangor religious department (JAIS) charged a woman singer who sang in a premise that served alcohol for "insulting Islam" while the male members of the band were not charged.

Lawan semua fatwa menindas perempuan
Banner declaring "Lawan semua fatwa menindas perempuan"

In 1997, JAIS also arrested three young Malay girls, charged and fined them for indecent dressing and for taking part in a beauty contest. But it took no action against the Malay men in skimpy swimming trunks who paraded their glistening bare bodies in the Mr Malaysia contest that was held at about the same time. Is it because women are deemed as easy targets?

SIS believes it is not Islam's obsession to police people's morality, find people's fault or to spy on its followers. Islam is also totally against defaming one's character. In fact, Islam regards privacy and preserving one's dignity as an intrinsic basic right. Thus any human-made law cannot violate these basic rights enshrined in Islam.

All Malaysian citizens should uphold our Constitution that promises justice and equality for all, and prohibits discrimination based on gender. Hence, if any injustice or discrimination is perpetrated on any group or segment of society, every Malaysian citizen, Muslim and non-Muslim, has a right to speak out against such unjust laws and policies.

In Malaysia, unlike some Muslim countries, a fatwa is enforceable by law once it is gazetted. Therefore, any fatwa or ruling that discriminates against any segment of society, especially minorities, will be detrimental towards gender justice in Malaysia.

Norhayati Kaprawi
Programme Manager
Sisters in Islam

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by takbolehtahan, November 23, 2008 13:05:36
The Council itself is regressive. I think someone needs to put a 'fatwah' on Council itself!!
written by ahmadneil, November 23, 2008 13:08:09
How to live in malaysia,cannot yoga,cannot tomboy,cannot wear jeans,cannot wear mini skirt,cannot this, cannot that.Bloody shit!
written by Qcumber, November 23, 2008 13:19:04
SIS.. u make noise somemore after they fatwa u all pertubuhan haram then u noe... smilies/grin.gif
written by Qcumber, November 23, 2008 13:24:53
How do the authorities define a tomboy? A woman with short hair? Who wears pants? Wears shirts? Has no make-up?

You left out a woman who smokes, a woman who cannot get pregnant, a woman with small breasts and a woman with body size bigger than the fatwa boys. smilies/grin.gif
written by bikerzon, November 23, 2008 13:34:25
One word for the Fatwa Council: BOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Thambidoorai, November 23, 2008 13:45:05
how does one get to be His spokesman on earth? from the look of it, intelligence is not a criteria...GOD IS GREAT! GOD IS GREAT! GOD IS GREAT!
written by san amin, November 23, 2008 13:45:58
hey gals! these fatwas goons had experienced of being rejected by these dykes. and most of them have small tits so its a turn off to some of these goons. pondan...hmmm still ok for them cos bigger tits n good service.
written by RumahPanjai, November 23, 2008 13:50:27
The fatwa council, a bunch of sexist moron. Self righteous religious maniacs we can do with out. Why do muslims have to put up with so much nonsense. Petty rules and more man make rules that interferes with their personal lives. There goes islam as a tolerance religion down the gutter with its sewage.
written by arazak, November 23, 2008 13:52:14
Oh man. . .,I am tired of "this you cannot do, that you cannot do". Why don't the Majlis "Fart waahh" issue a "fart waahh" that corruption and stealing the rakyaats money is "haram". That would be more meaningful!

Hey you know what. . .?, these UMNO-fearing "fart waahh" members will soon issue a new "fart waahh" that kite-flying and bungee-jumping will also be banned and "haram". The reason being all air space above this country belongs to UMNO. Hence, no one can fly a kite or do bungee jumping!

Since the air space now belong to UMNO, that means also another new "fart waahh" will also soon be issued too. It will be stipulated that no citizens of Malaysia can "fart" without permission from the UMNO regime. You need to apply for permits from the police and Jakim to fart just like if you wish to do a gathering of more than 3 persons; you need a permit from the police!!!
written by onnetline, November 23, 2008 14:00:08
Fatwa Council,

What sort of ruling or judgement is that with no given clear specifics to understand better ?

Have some common sense, please !

written by Thambidoorai, November 23, 2008 14:03:11
i was given to understand that, under islam, woman is chattel. as such, IT has no right except those granted to them by man...a male camel at birth would be worth more, and enjoyed more rights, than woman...this I was given to understand.
written by talk2stop, November 23, 2008 14:03:11
Muslim men are killing muslim women. Muslim women need a life too. With all thess "fawta" what is left for muslim women is nothing but a prisoner of religion.
written by ahmadneil, November 23, 2008 14:10:27
The Pope says,'Wear what you like ,be what you want and do what you think'.As long as you keep your faith.
written by Gargamel, November 23, 2008 14:20:12
Once again, Malaysia becomes the laughing stock of the world. Thank you, muslims! So hadhari, your thinking and behaviour.

written by Kerajaan Rakyat, November 23, 2008 15:05:57
What say the minister of tourism???

http://malaysian-holidays.********.com/

written by InEffective, November 23, 2008 15:07:02

Here is the fatwas that will actually help Malaysia's peoples :
- no paedophiles or women groppers, land expropriaters, money launderers,
- no C4 experts
- no racists in education administration and institutions
- no politician-driven-justice
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 23, 2008 15:12:29
smilies/angry.gif National Farkall Councilsmilies/angry.gif,

Why don't u issue a ban on closed tender corrupted government contracts which cheated the rakyat? What about the injustice of ISA? And why don't you ban politicians from having affairs with Mongolian models and blowing them up to silence them? You seem so preoccupied with the nitty gritty of unimportant issues and failed to see the maggots crawling inside our country.

One of these days, the Fatwa council will issue a ban to prohibit Muslim women from wearing bra. Bra is an invention of the kafirs, therefore these buttheads will say it is unislamic. They will ask the JAKIM jakuns to spot check the muslim women by peeping down their blouse or kebaya to make sure they don't wear any bra. Otherwise these JAKIM jakuns will force these women to strip while video-taping them for record documentation; like how they recorded the video of the malay girl who was forced to pee in their lorry after being caught by JAKIM for serving alchohol in a pub smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif

Keep it up, UMNO-fearing Fatwa and JAKIM jakuns! Allah will "reward" you richly next time for working so hard to uphold the justice in this land!
written by OutsideLookingIn, November 23, 2008 15:18:04
Is there a fatwa against men with boobs (man-boobs). You know those men that are so overweight that they have boobs bigger than their wife. If not, why not?
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 23, 2008 15:18:07
Women who do not dress or behave in ways that are perceived by certain quarters as "not feminine" are not a menace to society. In fact, many of these women hold respectable positions and actively contribute to society.

Such as Datuk Azalina Othman, the Minister of Tourism in Malaysia. However, I must say that she didn't really contribute much. Visit Malaysia Year was a flop smilies/sad.gif
written by borneoman, November 23, 2008 15:30:55
CALLING ALL TOMBOY,
PLEASE GO FOR A FREE HORMONE SUPPLY FROM ANY GOVERNMENT HOSPITALS OR CLINICS SO THAT YOU WILL BE WHAT THEY WANT YOU TO BE.
YOURS STUPIDLY
IDIOT JAKIM
written by ahmadneil, November 23, 2008 16:10:35
In malaysia tomboy will be extinct becos of gov't suppression.
written by ahmadneil, November 23, 2008 16:12:51
Adios Tomboy!You are history!
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 23, 2008 16:17:44
Yang tersuci National Fatwa Council,

Adakah permintaan duit kopi oleh polis dan komisyen rasuah oleh pegawai kerajaan sesuai dengan akidah seorang muslim???
written by densemy, November 23, 2008 16:24:50
If you are a muslim you just know what is right and what is wrong

Just a pity that you foul up just about everything you touch
written by Tompios, November 23, 2008 18:01:42
Some people keep insisting that Fatwa should be understood to its root. Those bigot people cannot see how stupid this fatwa when the other heavy sins un-highlighted by the religion authority. Why there are no fatwa on corruption, Nepotism among government workers, and showing off their belonging stuffs?

Fatwa on women is totally out of work! Where is the fatwa for Men who are dressing like girl-ly? I advice to you dear religion authority to work and put all energy to fight the corruption practice among Malaysian by strong FATWA before going to the minor epidemic problem in Malaysia.

Just imagine, most Sabahan family belong to Islam, Christians, Buddhist, free thinker and many more. You touch one of our family members who is Moslem in religion will also hurting Non-Moslem families. Why hurting? Tahi sebesar gajah di depan mata tidak nampak tetapi tahi mata sebesar pasir di hujung mata orang lain dikenakan FATWA. Please, make more relevant and applicable to the Malaysians as whole. You cannot simply say, this is exclusively for Moslem. Some of my siblings are Moslem in faith; do you think I will shut up my mouth when my sister who is Islam in religion been caught by police for practicing Tomboy? How can you define fair and square of the fatwa if you are selective applying it?

written by smalluncle, November 23, 2008 18:12:16
tough. If the lady dress and behave very feminine, and GOT RAPE, they will then say " See, I told you, THEY ASK FOR IT!"

SUSAH LEH
written by Joe, November 23, 2008 20:15:23
For those bloggers who think that non-muslims have no say to make any comments on fatwas done in this country, i think its a bit too late. Ever since the two commercial flights slammed into the world trade center, Islam was set to center stage.

So deal with it!
written by ngiuchap, November 23, 2008 20:43:01
Lets see how and when they will take action, if ever, against the Minister of Tourism!
written by Dogboy, November 23, 2008 21:25:53
These guys at the NFC are being paid to be idiots!!! With so many social ills plaguing Muslim society today, they persist to have this 'hard on' with Muslim women and sexual behaviour. I'm not surprised as like the TALIBAN they consider women as sex objects not to bee seen or heard in public. REGRESSIVE is an understatement!!!
written by Sabahfan, November 23, 2008 23:42:32
Sisters in Islam also protested...

I am simply sure, that if all the members of SIS are living in England, all of them would have converted OUT of a repressived and taliban style religion...