An Encounter With Jeanne Abdullah PDF Print
Sunday, 23 November 2008 12:48

After every function, she would enthusiastically relate to us how much she enjoyed herself and how much she looked forward to the next day's programme.

By Rodziah Morshidi, Bernama

Jeanne Abdullah was the name on most of our minds when Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi married her on June 9 last year, about two years after he lost his wife, Datin Seri Endon Mahmood, to breast cancer.

I was in Manchester, visiting a friend, when the news about Pak Lah (Abdullah) remarrying first hit the headlines. Though we were thousands of miles away from home, that became the topic of our conversation with fellow Malaysian students at Manchester's Salford University.

We were frequently asking ourselves, why Jeanne, who is Jeanne and what is so special about Jeanne? Some among us thought anyone or other eligible and more glamorous women would be willing to marry the prime minister of Malaysia. Those were the thoughts that occupied my mind at that point in time.

Seeing her on television and newspapers, she did not strike me as that special woman. I guess after a while I sort of got used to her being Pak Lah's wife and I just stopped thinking about it.

But at the back of my mind I still believe that there is something special about her that had made Pak Lah choose her.

When I was assigned to be the liaison officer to Jeanne during her visit to Kuching in August to attend functions hosted by Sabati, the Sarawak Association of Wives of Elected Representatives, I accepted it with mixed feelings.

On one hand, at 50, I thought I was sort of over-aged for the job. But on the other, I was always curious about Jeanne and now would be a good chance for me to have a first-hand encounter with her and to know her better.

When I first started a coversation with her after introducing myself as her liaison officer during her stay here, she gave a sweet smile and made me feel at ease with her politeness.

We shook hands, and as I looked down, I noticed she had a pair of dainty feet, and without reservation, I told her so.

"It was nice of you to also sometime look down," she responded in what to me were carefully chosen words.

Jeanne looked to me like someone genuinely sweet, pleasant, friendly and polite and I liked her instantly.

She looked simple, yet demure, sophisticated, yet down to earth. She was a VIP who could relate to anybody she meets, and could warm anyone who comes to her for words of comfort.

What struck me most was the appreciation and enthusiasm she showed towards all the activities in the programme for her four-day visit. After every function, she would enthusiastically relate to us how much she enjoyed herself and how much she looked forward to the next day's programme.

No matter how late the function ended, she would always have time to chat with us, sharing her thoughts on how she would want her next speech to be done, and never too tired to go through her speech with me and Normah Mohd Zain, her private secretary.

And she even read out her text to Pak Lah on the phone to get the nod from him.

I noticed that Jeanne is someone so trusting and has no reservation in expressing herself freely on certain issues.

She takes her duties seriously, wants to deliver her best and is always concerned about whether she has correctly sent her message across after every speech she had just delivered, and how it could be improved in her upcoming speech.

In nearly all the speeches she delivered during her stay here, she always made it a point to stress the effective complementary roles that wives of elected representatives could play in society.

She reminded them over and again on how important and meaningful this gesture would be for the simple kampung folk in their respective constituencies.

Jeanne, though looking soft and gentle, is actually strong at heart, judging from the way she wanted to try her hand on anything new to her.

This was what happened when she so readily tried to eat the Ulat Mulong, the sago tree worm indigenous to Sarawak's Melanau community.

She took it not only cooked but raw as well. Being a Sarawakian myself, I have never tried to eat the "delicacy", and I know of so many friends who dared not do so, too.

Jeanne also loves to be in the company of friends. She was always so obliging to pose for pictures when requested by those women who wanted their pictures taken with her.

On a trip to Kampung Budaya (Cultural Village), she requested to be on the same bus with the other ladies, looking forward to the singing and chatting she would share with them in the bus.

She was always so eager to be part of the group and to toe the line and follow the rules laid out before the group.

She walked through all the stalls set up to sell various products during a seminar, and spent a fair bit of time chatting and posing for pictures with all the stall owners and workers. This really touched everyone's heart.

Jeanne also mingled freely with a group of physically handicapped or special children and, showing genuine concern, she enquired into their welfare and financial standing.

Throughout the function, she never stopped holding the hands of these children, and enjoyed enormously rendering the songs, "We are the World" and "The Greatest Love Of All" to the very end.

Datin Seri, being a simple you, yet sensitive, strong and loving, I am sure you will do wonders to Malaysians who need love and care.

(The author is the Resident of Kuching Division).
written by ahmadneil, November 23, 2008 13:13:40
But tell us why your husband AAB always sleep during function.Is it that he didn't sleep well at night!
written by Joe, November 23, 2008 13:20:34
You should have asked her questions regarding when her relationship with AAB started... exactly! I bet she wouldn't be that truthful!
written by teohpg, November 23, 2008 13:29:22
amboi...cium, jilat kaki gau gau....
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 23, 2008 13:30:25
Ok, so we have a first hand account that DS Jeanne is a nice and down to earth person.

No more comment here except I hope she makes sure her husband stays retired next year and that they lived out their lives well.
written by Motherchell, November 23, 2008 13:36:14
Jeene, with all respects to you , pl! at least inform your hubby to disipline that Yemeni friend of his . Albar is taking your hubby's name to the gutters!!!........ so much to be said about your hubby's friend .......

http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by uxzee, November 23, 2008 14:09:33
Like all decent human beings, Jeanne also has the good side. Nothing very extraordinary. Jeanne was the house-manageress ( maid ) of AAB and she landed up marrying her boss. Nothing wrong with that too. Many Indons and Filipino maids marry their bosses too. But the point is she had trysts with AAB in the house, in Perth and a few other places. And she has not even settled the seperations with her second husband when she married AAB. These are unbecoming of the Iman of Islam Hadhari.
written by krising1, November 23, 2008 16:29:55
We have nothing against her. She is not a Rosmah. QWe wish her many happy years of retirement in the palace in Perth, in the boat in Turkey and wherever else has already been st up for retirement.
written by alarcarte, November 23, 2008 17:21:41
But the point is she had trysts with AAB in the house, in Perth and a few other places..
========================================

Trysts by big shots is different from ordinary people mah. If ordinary people its called KHALWAT, for big shots its call ISLAM HAD???
written by my oumrie, November 23, 2008 17:27:38
Bodowi said her name should be pronounced in the French way - Shohn. When they got married and she became first lady, I expected her to slap the fatty sow and put her in her place. What a disappointment she turned out to be - passive and two steps behind not just bodowi, but everyone else. Habit hard to break, I guess, from when she was the "seen but not heard" member of staff. Poor "Shohn"....very soon you'll be able to have your darling hubby all to yourself when you both disappear into oblivion.... smilies/cry.gif
written by liko, November 23, 2008 18:07:33
This was what happened when she so readily tried to eat the Ulat Mulong, the sago tree worm indigenous to Sarawak's Melanau community.

She took it not only cooked but raw as well. Being a Sarawakian myself, I have never tried to eat the "delicacy", and I know of so many friends who dared not do so, too.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Forgive and correct me if I am wrong. I heard some years back that Muslims are not supposed to eat sago grubs (Ulat Mulong) because it is considered as not "halal". Can somebody from the Islamic bodies enlighten us up please?
written by patlu, November 23, 2008 19:58:50
Ahyoh, the comments here are so mindless and truly missed the point.

Who is Jeanne Abdullah really, minus all the titles you have given her including house-manageress (maid).

Aren't we all "house-keepers" too in every sense of the term? Think.

After her speech at the Assunta Golden Jubilee Dinner, she surprised and touched me deeply by inviting our principal Datin Seri Sister Enda Ryan to lead the Peace Prayer before dinner was served. Watch the videos Part 5 (speech) & Part 6 (Peace Prayer) at http://www.assuntaalumni.com/a...inner.html

Watch and listen to the videos carefully and reflect. To me, it's about what was really taught at schools in the past. The love and compassion, universal truths, values and mindset incalcated in us from young to be decent human beings and responsible future citizens and leaders in whatever chosen field.

The kind of principals and teachers we had, who moulded us to be what we are today. That's the missing link. As parents and teachers, what are we teaching our children today, that will be realized tomorrow? "House-keeping" starts at schools and later with oneself.

Being ONE as Assuntarians in all school clubs and socieites; later evloved to be ONE as Malaysians in whatever field, public or private sector. All for one and one for all, not based on race and religion.

Well, that's who Jeanne Abdullah really is for me.

"House-keeping" starts at school.

Yikes, I'm late for the Anti-ISA vigil @ PJ Civic Centre!
written by patlu, November 23, 2008 20:03:09
Opps, last para should read as...

Yikes, I'm late for this "house-keeping", the Anti-ISA vigil @ PJ Civic Centre!

Pat Lu
written by LFLee, November 24, 2008 01:24:45
Haha, what an article without shame.

Jeanne is enjoying the $ from his corrupted husband,
Getting billions and giving out cents, and get your
praise.

No matter how good her personality is, she is still
the wife of the corrupted and sleeping PM, who make
all Malaysian suffer.

BTW, there is really 'nothing special' that make
Abdullah choose her, Abdullah never make any good
decision after all.
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by burn22, November 24, 2008 03:34:00
leave the women alone... she has got nothing to do with politics!
wanna condemn, condemn those BN goons that is destroying malaysia...
written by Solarium, November 24, 2008 16:13:33
Liko, LFLee
Some *******s you are!
Why is it any concern of anyone whether it was haram or otherwise for her to eat Butod!!! Butod was never eaten in the Arab world in the 5th or 6th century. But neither did they eat Tapai. Kepala bangang!!! As for you NFLee, why is it a concern of yours that she was not a right choice by one who does not normally choose right? If he did, it would have been your wife or your mother, didn't you think of that?
written by skc, November 24, 2008 16:27:31
Ahhhhhhhhhh,
Now maybe I understand why YM RPK says she is beautiful.