Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Teaching Of Science, Maths In English Should Be Continued, Says Dr M

Teaching Of Science, Maths In English Should Be Continued, Says Dr M PDF Print
Sunday, 23 November 2008 12:46

(Bernama) -- The teaching of science and mathematics in English should be continued to ensure Malaysian students, especially the Malays, are not left behind, said former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

He said the change to teach the two subjects in English from Bahasa Malaysia was to ensure students could master them and at the same time become more proficient in English, the number one language in the world.

"It is not aimed at neglecting Bahasa Malaysia. Furthermore, most publications on science and mathematics are in English.

"Take for example the cellular phone. If foreigners manufacture them equipped with cameras and the short-messaging facility but the manual is in English, can we use our science which is in Bahasa Malaysia to make the same hand phone? By the time we are done with the translation we will be left far behind," he said at the "Malay Dilemma" discourse organised by the National Writers Association (Gapena) here today.

He also cited the dark ages of the Arabs where they had to learn everything from the Greeks.

"Obviously they could not ask the Greeks to translate their knowledge into Arabic. The solution then was for them to learn Greek so that they could have access to the knowledge in their possession. By doing this, the Arabs became a progressive race," he said, adding that the same applied in the current scenario in the country.

He also said being proficient in two languages was a great asset and cited himself as an example.

"I studied in a Malay school for two years before my father transferred me to an English school. Thereafter all my education was in English.

"Did I lose my ability to use Bahasa Malaysia? It will not signify the end of the Malay race if we are to learn in English as well," he said.

written by InEffective, November 23, 2008 13:14:30
Hope the Indians and Chinese are also noting the utility and relevancy of English (and not BM) for economic empowerment, social upliftment, and competitive capability.

In a governance structure where state-sanctioned discrimination for educational and enjoyability (public and private sector) eligibility is geared for exclusion based on race, it would be wiser to remove your strategic dependency that renders you a economic captive slave.

Be careful of selling out and sacrificing your children's futures for the gains and interests of politicians.
written by ahmadneil, November 23, 2008 13:21:05
I'm lucky all my children study English.
written by bikerzon, November 23, 2008 13:32:47
Well, for this one I fully support you, M.

Anak Penanti in Beijing
written by Compadre45, November 23, 2008 13:35:33
Err ...TDM better consult the FART WAH boys first, if yoga has a problem especially with malay muslims, i believe using english ( kafir's language ) also has the same effect as yoga. In Malaysia i believe FART WAH boys will find it HARAM to use an infidel's language. TDM sir.. please seek their advice first before making such suggestion or recommendation.
written by cylee, November 23, 2008 13:59:47
I fully agreed with compadre45, Please come out Fartwa to ban all Muslim from learning
English, as this will eventually lead us to erode from our Islamic faith.

Preventive is better then corrective. So.. Jakim.. I bet U... please ban it.. smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by onnetline, November 23, 2008 14:04:36
The 'living dead ' from Kedah of Indian origin have spoken once again !

written by devious17, November 23, 2008 14:15:27
smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif FART WA boys, Ingenius compadre45. You do havea point too in referingto the FART WA boys cause the fairs language can have negative influence on the malay muslims in this country. Word like FARK can lead one person to the ' next level' smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

Which brings me to ask, will the FART WA boys bam ENGLISH??!
written by clarity, November 23, 2008 14:34:31
Why do you think we can have aproblem like this? It's just sheer laziness! All you hear are excuses like not enough proficient English teachers. Even if you import a million teachers, it will still be the same. The will to learn is not there. Just plain lazy.
written by truthbespoken, November 23, 2008 14:58:22
Talking about retaining English for the teaching of Science and Mathematics is not a big deal. Only some parties made it look like a big deal.

To be really fluent in English, revert the medium-of-instruction in some schools if not all schools to English from primary. Let other people have a choice from the present.

English wasn't new to us. It was just taken away to serve political purposes. If there is a reversion to learn and teach English in schools, then it is the BIG deal! It's for future generations!
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, November 23, 2008 15:01:24
Hello Mahathir,

Can't you pls keep your bloody mouth shut?
The RAKYAT need no more Idiot.

http://kerajaanrakyat.com/

written by Atheist, November 23, 2008 15:13:10
Dear TDM,

I guess you and I will never agree on some issues. I have said that the Malays will not learn until the 7th. Pacific fleet bombards them like the Portugis did in 1511. You said the revolutionary method is not the Malaysian way and I replied that you don't have a single bumi, muslim malaysian that can do it the evolutionary method.

We agreed to disagree then and NOW ...... will you conceed in the near future ?????If so, do you a fatwa on it????
smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by borneoman, November 23, 2008 15:44:01
FCUK YOU BASTARD MAMAK,
IT WAS DURING YOUR TIME WHEN WE WERE FORCED TO GET A PASS AND CREDIT FOR BAHASA MALAYSIA IF WE WANT TO FURTHER OUR STUDY OVERSEAS AND TO BE A PERMANENT CIVIL SERVANT.MY FUTURE AS A CIVIL SERVANT WAS TOTALLY DESTROYED BECAUSE OF THE FATWA ON BAHASA MALAYSIA BY UMNO LED BN GOVERNMENT.WHY,WHY,WHY DID YOU ALLOW IT TO HAPPEN?FCUKYOU MAHATIR,FCUK YOU AND YOUR FAMILY AND ALL YOUR UMNO MELAYU CRONIES.WHY WAS MY CREDIT PASS IN ENGLISH FOR MY SENIOR CAMBRIDGE CERTIFICATE NOT RECOGNIZED AS AN EQUIVALENT TO YOUR COCONUT SHELL BAHSA MALAYSIA EVEN THOUGH IT IS RECOGNIZED ALL OVER THE WORLD? SARAWAKIAN WILL NEVER CONSIDER UMNO BAHASA. MALAYSIA AS OUR OFFICIAL LANGUAGE! I HOPE ALL UMNO LED BN OR EX UMNO PEOPLE ALL ROT IN HELL FOR PRACTICING APARTHEID!DAMN KETUANAN MELAYU UMNO.
written by Joe, November 23, 2008 19:42:12
I think getting the Malays to speak english is better, cos as I have seen, when English is used at home, the future generations dont really pick up on the mother tounge.

I speak english every where I go and everyone can speak english, rarely do I use bahasa melayu. Most malays i speak to use english. yet they dont progress rapidly.

As far as knowledege enhancement i get my knowledge from tv (astro - discovery, natgeto, aljazeera english, cnn, bloomberg) all english channels la.

so by relying heavily on bm its going to cause the malays to be stuck with other malay speaking friends. and the nons wont be able to mix with them.
written by skc, November 24, 2008 16:33:57
Learning is never wrong, if anyone is worry that their own race is not learning enough, then force them to learn both, or even 3 languages if needed. Anyone else who says differently is trying to make people stupid by not forcing them to learn enough. But then again it is not my funeral, good luck.
written by Malaysiaputra, November 24, 2008 18:55:47
I studied in a Malay school for two years before my father transferred me to an English school. Thereafter all my education was in English.

"Did I lose my ability to use Bahasa Malaysia? It will not signify the end of the Malay race if we are to learn in English as well," he said.
=====

Then, Mahathir, why the hell did you enforce the policy to switch to fully to BM when you were the Eduction Minister ?.

The obvious reason is that you were ready to sacrifice the country and particularly the Malays for your own political gain. By doing so , you gain political mileage but , like I told my Malay friends then, you will get all their children to study in Bahasa Malaysia but you and your cronies will give your children a sound English education so that your children will be " on top" of their children.

And I am not wrong, am I ?.