Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Syed Hamid Suggests Bloggers Formulate Their Own Code Of Ethics

Syed Hamid Suggests Bloggers Formulate Their Own Code Of Ethics PDF Print
Sunday, 23 November 2008 12:45

(Bernama)-- Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar today suggested that bloggers set up their own code of ethics to ensure that they are accountable for what they write in their blogs.

He said this is important because most bloggers are not journalists who are trained to write in a fair and balanced manner.

Syed Hamid said that the proposed code should merely be in the form of regulations instead of a legislation or a new law.

He said blogging is a powerful tool that can influence and shape the perspective of readers on various issues.

"Indeed, they (bloggers) can unite the community or divide them. Like any Malaysians, bloggers too have the responsibility in preserving national security and stability," he said when opening the Bloggers Buff 2008 Conference, here Saturday.

Syed Hamid said even professional journalists are guided by their own professional code of conduct, and thus there is no reason why bloggers should not have their own code of ethics.

He said blogs stand out from other media because readers can react to a posting as soon as it has been published in the blog.

"The comments and talkback sessions have unfortunately provided a channel for people to spread hatred and racial sentiments," he added.

Meanwhile, National Alliance of Bloggers (All-Blogs) Protem President and Journalist Ahirudin Atan said that bloggers should come out with their own Code of Ethics without interference from the government.

"Bloggers have the power of influencing opinions, and if it (the power) is abused it can create enmity among friends," he said during the conference.

He also said that anonymous comments should be treated like "surat layang" (poison pen letters) and bloggers and readers alike have the right to ignore the messages.

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by Lembing, November 23, 2008 12:56:35
Syed Hamid said even professional journalists are guided by their own professional code of conduct, and thus there is no reason why bloggers should not have their own code of ethics.

OBVIOUSLY, this code of conduct does not apply to UTUSAN MELAYU Journalist.

Each time this Hamid opens his gap, some idiotic comments would fluently flow. DID some one told me that Hamid possesses a "LAW DEGREE". HOW the hell did he manage to get one?????
written by Compadre45, November 23, 2008 13:10:31
The difference is we bloggers are ehtical and Hamid is not. We seek truth and he seek lies. We want justice and he does not. So what da hell is he suggesting ? Suggesting us to be Dumbos ????
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 23, 2008 13:11:06
"Bloggers set up their own code of ethics"??

Yes, I agree! For starters, how about the following:

1) Always refer Syed Hamid Albar as: "Fat Head (and arse) Ex-Yemenis".
2) For want of a better name, we can simply write "Shit Akbar" which can be taken to mean:
a) Shithead
b) Arsehole
c) Motherfuker
d) Bullshitter
e) Stupid
f) Brainless
g) Any other similar word for person with reference from a) to f)

There, we now have some Bloggers' Code of Ethics. You happy now, Fat Head (and arse) Ex-Yemenis Home Minister? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by InEffective, November 23, 2008 13:18:25

when politicians start their own code-of-ethics where there is observable verifiable measurable accountability and penalties, then it is relevant and free-of-hypocrisy to ask bloggers to adopt ethics and standards.

We don't believe in a tiered-standards - one of politicians, and one for bloggers.
written by ahmadneil, November 23, 2008 13:19:32
Shit Hamid,we have enough of your bloody nonsense.It's time you shut up and bring back this bastard Bala for trial.Why are you hiding Bala for!Also the rakyat want you to arrest Najis,Khir Toyo and Ahmad Ismail and till now you have failed in your duty as Home Minister to arrest them.
written by teohpg, November 23, 2008 13:25:04
formulate your hai...si botak!
written by Motherchell, November 23, 2008 13:42:46
Albozo !! why do you go on thinking the others are wrong ??

Its time for you to see yourself in the mirror of all that you are made of! Who needs disipline --- you or us?? ------ YOU MEAN YOU ARE A LEADER??? YOU MUST BE JOKING MAN!! DO LOOK UP at YOUr LAW DEGREE if it was thro a paper chase!!! Our parents have thought us more about humility than what you took 65 years and being empty upstairs!!!...............

http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by lamakawan, November 23, 2008 13:50:23
How many bloggers did you see in your National Alliance of Bloggers pro tem meeting?
Yes you see mahathir a/l Kutty. You introduce the regulations for him to follow. No other blogger is interested in your pro tem meeting. You think you can rope in the bloggers in this manner so that one day when you feel like investigating them you can do so with much ease? You are day dreaming. We know your tactics.
written by Horizonline, November 23, 2008 13:51:20
RPK got one, amar maaruf nahi mungkar. but he still cannot escape himself from kemunting.
written by cheekymate, November 23, 2008 14:04:54
Syed Botak Hamit, look closely in the mirror. That is the face of the most hated, spineless, lowly form of a hobo totally without morals nor principles. You are merely a servant to your corrupt paymasters and will stoop to whatever depth to spew damned lies. You are a disgrace to Malaysia.
written by biggun129, November 23, 2008 14:09:23
Show us your own code of ethics first, you shit Syed amid fat head!!Why dont you try to ISA the MT bloggers/commentators? Put all of us in Kamunting Camp???The first one is Mahathir a/l Kutty of yours?
written by z3_demarco, November 23, 2008 14:25:26
Seriously, i think all ministers should have their own code of ethics as well, not somebody who does nothing and arresting everybody on the street. Syed Hamid is a pathetic fool. Since when blogging is a professional line? That man has no ethics nor brains to be a house minister. He is just wasting time and our money. I say he deserved to be kicked out of the country. Just wait till i run for home minister! He will be top of my list!
written by justice, November 23, 2008 14:40:11
written by clarity, November 23, 2008 14:42:33
What he means is you should write things that pleases him, that in his opinion is correct and true. Otherwise you know where he will put you.
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, November 23, 2008 14:42:52
Ahirudin Atan Hamid Albar = Shit.
UMNO Bloggers UMNO leaders = Idiot.

http://kerajaanrakyat.com/
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, November 23, 2008 14:44:02
Ahirudin Atan plus Hamid Albar = Shit.
UMNO Bloggers plus UMNO leaders = Idiot.

http://kerajaanrakyat.com/
written by Atheist, November 23, 2008 15:03:37
Let's put this in perspective ..... as one system man to another !!!

If bloggers are not qualified as journalist then it could also be true that you are neither qualified as a Minister nor for the job of internal security.

If there should be code of ethics for blogging, then there should also be a code of ethics for throwing people into jail under ISA.

Hence we come to the core of the matter, just because a bunch of idiots voted for you, you think you are the solution to everything. This bunch of idiots voted because probably they are;

i) religiously loyal
ii) corrupted
iii) foriegn workers that need a job
iv) issued a fatwa to vote for BN

I have fought the Government on this core principle ..... sometimes a 1001 lambs cannot do the job of a single lion. In these times, we need that lion !!!!
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by borneoman, November 23, 2008 15:09:16
syed hamid,
even God gave men the freedom to choose between right and wrong because he love and trusted us.why are you playing God and telling every body how to behave themselves.you cant even control your racist umno members and all your ball polishing msm journalist,writers and editors.jaga tepi kain sendiri dulu lah.you SUCK SOB.
written by Kopi37, November 23, 2008 15:37:49
Wonder this camel shit Hamid understands what is the meaning of code of ethics! More relevantly, if he understands, he should asked all the political mongrels like Ahmad Is Mad and that Toyo and he himself to formulate their 'dos and not dos', since ethic is outright naught in their books!

And talking about trained journalists, did the crap papers Utusun Malayu train their low class journalist, no standard literary, no ethic whatsoever! Were they trained by the dog trainer, only know to bark like wild dogs?

The bloody botak head is teasing the monk bald without hair!!!!
written by Darth Vader, November 23, 2008 16:47:19
aiyo yo Mid al bar.

please learn how to surf the net lah.

then type "******" and then look for wikipedia "Code of Ethics".

i strongly doubt that you will be able to find it lah. the rest of us bloogers knows the meaning of ethics.

Ah Mad dog from penang called chinese pendatang, u no put him into jail.

Now u 1 2 talk ethics with us? we are beyond yr league lah.

Comprendre ? smilies/angry.gif
written by fireduck, November 23, 2008 16:49:50
He said this is important because most bloggers are not journalists who are trained to write in a fair and balanced manner.

A joke a day from this Minister, keeps the blues away. smilies/cheesy.gif Is he referring to our MSM, like the 'fair' reporting of Utusan? ROTFLMAOBT !
written by fireduck, November 23, 2008 16:57:38
Ok, to be serious about it. Yes, maybe there should be some self evaluation on the part of the blogger, as to what kind of response he or she wants to elicit. But the caveat should be on the reader. After all,

'What you say is not important, but what I THINK of what you say is important'.

And before we talk about the bloggers holding themselves accountable to their peers or blogging community, we must continue to question why the Home Minister is not accountable for his actions on or abuse of the use of ISA. Make yourself accountable for your actions first, before you preach to us, SyedHamid!
written by Fuminari, November 23, 2008 17:50:46
to the moronic beast ,syed botak!!do u hav any for urself as a human being in the first place??
written by Lim Lim, November 23, 2008 17:58:50
in any democratic realm,why should the home minister got into the bloggers' world??seems like u are telling whole world that malaysia is a police state!!by the way,syed botak bodoh,do u hav any code for ur barbaric self??
written by carribeanking7, November 23, 2008 19:16:00
Quote-
Meanwhile, National Alliance of Bloggers (All-Blogs) Protem President and Journalist Ahirudin Atan said that bloggers should come out with their own Code of Ethics without interference from the government.

Thats rich ! A self declared president, I would venture to say that he has no locus standi to represent the blogging community.
In fact quite a few prominent bloggers have removed Rocky from their blogroll.
There are many more who are in tune with the community than this turncoat and newly minted BN apologist.

written by Joe, November 23, 2008 19:32:25
No Bloggers must not come out with a code of ethics. This is the cyber world, and bloggers dont follow your rule! here there is true freedom!
written by Stupid me, November 23, 2008 22:36:52
With the greatest of respect can we also suggest that Ministers should also formulate their code of ethics, one of which is a Minister cannot tell lies and cannot arrest or caused to be arrested a person without very good reasons. The reason of arresting a person cannot be that a person has to be arrested to protect her against any harm.
written by Mustapha Kamal, November 23, 2008 22:37:07
How about a code of ethics for UMNO politicians ? Especially those relating to racism ? Ala Elizabeth Kok, Ronnie Liu, etc., etc.. ? Or, dear Minister, how about a debate between you and little old me ? After all, I am now a senior citizen who would forget my head, if it were not attached to my neck ! You pick the subject ! Maybe we could start with the merits and demerits of using C4 in a crime of passion ?
written by Sabahfan, November 23, 2008 23:51:53
Boitak botak.....

youR UMNO rithaudin already acknowledge,,,, UMNO is 70% corrupt..

SO GO AND MAKE A CODE OF ETHICS FOR UMNO...ha ha ha aha
written by ssathia, November 24, 2008 00:09:12
How about a code of conduct for yourself first. Publish it and let us see if you are capable of following it? Recommending something that you yourself are not capable of would make you a hypocrite.