Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow PAS, PKR and ordinary Muslims criticise yoga ruling

PAS, PKR and ordinary Muslims criticise yoga ruling PDF Print
Sunday, 23 November 2008 09:42
By Shannon Teoh in The Malaysian Insider

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 22 - Muslim opposition leaders want the National Fatwa Council to be more specific in its edict so that Muslims can decide what forms of yoga are permissible.

PAS research chief Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad told The Malaysian Insider that the council should not make a blanket ban but “lay down what is or is not permissible about yoga.”

“This allows a Muslim to be critical of their own faith and empower them to make judgments based on convictions.”

The Kuala Selangor MP added that if the intention of taking up yoga was for the well-being of the body, mind and spirit, then religion need not come into it.

“There is no need for this siege mentality where everything is viewed from the perspective of encroaching on Islam and attacking us,” he said, adding that if one wanted to stray from Islam, there were other ways besides yoga to do it.

PKR Youth’s chief strategist Yusmadi Yusoff also said that the council needed to be more specific with what forms of yoga it found objectionable as generalising the entire art under a ban was discriminatory and denied Muslims a choice of a healthy lifestyle.

“The form of yoga practised in Malaysia is simply a healthy exercise. If the fatwa is on the basis of religious rituals or inclinations, then it must be more specific and detail what parts exactly,” he said.

The Balik Pulau MP also noted that other martial arts, including those in Malay culture, had religious inclination but were not banned outright and doing so, as with yoga, would sacrifice a lot of benefits as a physical and mental form of exercise.

The National Fatwa Council, the country’s top Islamic body, today ruled against Muslims practising yoga, saying it has elements of other religions that could corrupt Muslims as it includes Hindu spiritual elements of chanting and worship.

Though the council’s decisions are not legally binding on Malaysia’s Muslim population, many abide by the edicts out of deference, and the council does have the authority to ostracise an offending Muslim from society.

This has come after it recently banned Muslim women from “tomboy” behavior, ruling that girls who act like boys violate the tenets of Islam. The majority of yoga practitioners in Malaysia are female.

Both Dzulkefly and Yusmadi, however, believe that the fatwas did not reflect gender discrimination against female Muslims as claimed by women’s group Sisters in Islam.

Dzulkefly said that it was wrong in principle for women to behave like men or men to behave like women and the earlier fatwa presented a set of guidelines rather than a ban on an entire artform.

Sisters in Islam programme manager Norhayati Kaprawi also came out strongly against the fatwa, calling it the latest in a regressive trend for the country’s multiculturalism.

“There has been no report or complaint of any practitioner converting to Hinduism or that yoga has caused a Muslim’s faith to weaken,” she added.

The spokesperson for the Muslim women’s group said that many Muslims have been practising yoga for decades but no one has seen it as a religious matter up to now.

She said that there was no need to be suspicious of other religions and that these presumptions were the cause of the edict.

“When you come up with a national ruling, there must first be evidence of a problem. This is all based on negative presumptions.

“Any activity done with bad intentions can lead to negative implications,” she said, in refuting council chairman Datuk Dr Abdul Shukor Husin’s statement that the physical aspect of yoga should be avoided by Muslims as “doing one thing could lead to another.”

Several Muslims have also expressed consternation with the edict.

The Associated Press reported that yoga teacher Suleiha Merican, who has been practising yoga for 40 years, called yoga “a great health science” and there is no religion involved.

“We don’t do chanting and meditation. There is no conflict because yoga is not religion based,” Suleiha, 56, had said.

Putri Rahim, a housewife, said she is no less a Muslim after practising yoga for 10 years.

“I am mad! Maybe they have it in mind that Islam is under threat. To come out with a fatwa is an insult to intelligent Muslims. It’s an insult to my belief,” Putri told AP.

In a recent blog posting, social activist Datin Marina Mahathir criticised the council for even considering a yoga ban, calling it “a classic case of reacting out of fear and ignorance.”

Sharizal Shaarani, an executive told The Malaysian Insider that he could not see how yoga could affect a Muslim’s relationship with God.

“It is a petty thing. There are more important fatwas like on corruption for the council to address,” he said, adding that as practising yoga did not adversely affect the lives of others, others should not impose a set of values on the practitioners.

written by ylcc, November 23, 2008 09:55:31
It was stated in the Star papers that Shukor said yoga was also banned in Egypt & Singapore. Now I wonder where he got the idea from? The last I read from the Singapore news was that yoga was permitted for Muslims - minus the chants.
I searched ChannelNewsAsia Singapore, and only found this comment:
1. Yoga forbidden for Muslims in Malaysia
Date Posted: 22 Nov 2008 1513 hrs (SST)
KUALA LUMPUR: Muslims in Malaysia should not practice yoga because it will erode their faith in Islam, a senior Islamic cleric said Saturday.
written by msiaman, November 23, 2008 10:18:31
This Shukor guy is supposedly an academician but having such loose facts to make a fatwa, it does goes to show how much credibility it is giving the other more intelligent and moderate muslims. Doesn't he know that he cannot simply use loose facts where people will verify it online? You are not talking about our local univeristi where most students will accept spoon-fed 'facts' or not even allowed to dispute and debate on facts.

On another note, it also means that muslims will not be a dominant race for how can they be when they cannot even allow muslims to understand other faiths and customs? Maybe it is a way to say they will not tolerate any other way of life and religion other than their own?
written by Bloodhound, November 23, 2008 10:30:12
Yes, CORRUPTIONS (bribing, money politis, and illicit or undeclared commissions, gifts, rewards) is the single most harmful, glaring and important issue that's so very rampant in Malaysia and yet, why is it being so blatantly ignored?

These issues of CORRUPTIONS directly or indirectly adversely affects the daily lives of everyone. These detrimental issues needs immediate attention instead of petty issues raised on yoga.

Why has corruption issues been ignored for so long?
written by Tsunami08, November 23, 2008 10:50:32
It is obvious for all to see that Muslims are really confused. Instead of uniting people, some are bent on putting more and more barriers segregating Msians.

What next? How about banning Muslims from touching currency notes because all currency notes are contaminated with pork, blood, sweat etc? How about having a separate Muslim economy where Apanama Gold Dinar will be the de-facto currency. Think about it.

If it goes ahead, and it will be the end of this country's economy as we know it. To state the obvious, eventually, it's all seems to be going to go that way, isn't it?
written by Dogboy, November 23, 2008 10:51:39
I tell you what this is all about. A hippocrite with a turban on his head from the National Fatwa Council saw some women in some yoga 'poses' and while getting excited was also offended and decided to make this an issue.

This is not about religion, this is not about chanting or praying to other gods, this is about the insecurity and immaturity of the so called protectors of the Muslim faith.

written by justice6, November 23, 2008 11:25:39
the taliban have landed... maybe in few years time, Malaysia will be a safe heaven for osama kind...
written by ssathia, November 23, 2008 11:33:19
What will be next? Fatwa on Bahasa Malaysia because it contains thousands of Hindu words? The very word Bahasa is Hindu too! Negara and Raja are Hindu. Is singing Negaraku unIslamic? Bahasa Jiwa Bangsa all three words are Hindu. Fatwa on rice because, rice eating was not part of Arab culture? Fatwa on Batik because, batik is Hindu in origin? Fatwa on the use of the word Agama because, the word actually means Hindu religion. Fatwa on saluting the King using closed palms because it is Hindu in origin? Fatwa on Malay dress...that too originated among Hindus.....Endless list .....By the way the Hindu is a geographic term and a not a religious term as made out often.
written by patriotic1994, November 23, 2008 12:08:11
Just change the "yoga" name to "yoda", or may be "jeti" or "kenobi" and more name line up to be ready to change!
written by periasa, November 23, 2008 12:17:06
I totally agree with all those against this fatwa ruling on yoga and especially the one by ssathia. It is a classic observation...maybe some one should do a thorough research on the origin of the word 'malay' or 'melayu'. If this has any foreign conotations than the Muslim council should issue another fatwa on using the word 'malay' or 'melayu'...hehehe. It will be real fun to watch where all this stupid thoughts are going to lead or end. There are more pressuring issues confronting the nation. Do not waste invaluable tax payers money in paying people to think of such kind of fatwa like in the case of yoga and tomboy behaviour. Look at more serious and negative issues affecting our country. What can be done to overcome these issues...please use taxpayers monies with proper care and wisely then paying such kind of guys to drum up useless fatwas!!!!!!!!!!
written by Kirdash, November 23, 2008 12:34:39
If the ban is because of Hindu influence, then this guy got to think of many more rituals, ceremonies among malaysian muslims including bersanding...
written by ylcc, November 23, 2008 12:35:30
Alpha100 .. I hear you and other Muslims who share this view, but would you with an open mind hear the other half of your Muslim neighbours who tell the non-Muslims if they don't speak up for them "Is this not advocating the UMNO / MCA / MIC ‘Melayu jaga Melayu, Cina jaga Cina, India jaga India’ mentality?"

written by alpha100, November 23, 2008 12:43:01
ylcc, i am a non muslim. thanks.
written by ylcc, November 23, 2008 12:51:25
Alpha100 ... my apologies. I agree that we should mind our own business (the Chinese think it rude if we do) ... but we have other Muslims saying that "if someone does not slap you, would you turn your face away if others get slapped"?. I do not know about you, but personally I feel caught in between and confused! - it is like "damn if you do, damn if you don't"!
written by ylcc, November 23, 2008 12:56:00
addendum .. Haris Ibrahim is quoting examples like the Lina Joy, body-snatching cases, We have Muslims speaking up for the non-Muslims. When they do, do we tell them thank you very much for your support, but we can handle this ourselves?
written by Sagaladoola, November 23, 2008 13:01:39
This is a proof that PAS is not as extremist as some have claimed. They have researched before coming to a conclusion as outlined in this article.

There are two forms of Yoga.. External Yoga and Internal Yoga

Most Yoga practised in Malaysia and United States are EXTERNAL, in gyms and such are only physical exercises and telling the mind to cool down. No religion is involved.

Internal Yoga may involve chanting and to temples and such. These are not done in gyms or yoga centers. Besides, many Malaysian Indians do not learn that form of yoga in Malaysia. It is not a general practice in Malaysia.

I am surprised that External Yoga is banned in Malaysia as well. Is this an Islam Hadhari move?

Besides, even Iran, an Islamic State does not ban Yoga. It is allowed only as a physical exercise. We should not just follow Egypt which ban it. We should research before coming to a conclusion.

written by pillars, November 23, 2008 13:03:04
RPK is right, local Moslem is the worst enemy of Islam.

This Yoga thingy is just part of series of anti Hindraf, next you will know, curry and papadam are haram too. They are threat to local foodie like nasi lemak.

written by Jit Dharma, November 23, 2008 13:03:40
National Fatwa Council, for your information, unlike Islam and Christianity,
Hinduism is not a missionary religion and does not seek converts.One is either
born Hindu or not. There is no conversion.So, there is no need for you to worry about Muslims being surreptitiously 'converted' to Hinduism. Coming in the wake of
HINDRAF's activism, one wonders if the edict is motivated by a desire to draw
a line between 'us' and 'them'. In other word is mean spiritedness the guiding
light for these fatwas.If so, it is truly shameful.
written by truthbespoken, November 23, 2008 13:23:09
In creating another social problem out of nothing, the authorities are just continuing to use the hands of the ultras and religionists to divert attention from the real political pressures facing them, personal or otherwise. We can expect more of these nonsense to appear more from time to time to annoy the people for an intended but unworthy response each time.

It's the authorities and their balls-carrier's modus operandi to save themselves from public pressure even if they have to do it at the expense of the people! The people must therefore wake up and be alert to these slimy tactics and strike back hard where it counts!
written by lonewolf, November 23, 2008 13:54:51
If these morons have balls and dare to uphold the truth.. I dare idiots to issue a fatwa banning Money politics, Mat Rempit and ISA.. They will not do that because they will not serve the UMNO goons well. Sad to say, Islam has been made a scape goat by these so called defenders of Islam. U may have suceeded in banning yoga and you have also suceeded giving ISLAM a bad bad name. smilies/angry.gif
written by onnetline, November 23, 2008 13:55:02
The Fatwa Council rulings seems highly questionable and controversial.

Doesn't seem like an authority that's good enough to dictate sound interpretation of Islamic values and ways !!!
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 23, 2008 14:39:32
I am mad! Maybe they have it in mind that Islam is under threat. To come out with a fatwa is an insult to intelligent Muslims. It’s an insult to my belief,” Putri told AP

In a recent blog posting, social activist Datin Marina Mahathir criticised the council for even considering a yoga ban, calling it “a classic case of reacting out of fear and ignorance.”.

Dear Marina,

Ignorance is ok...stupidity is not ok...bodoh sombong is for the Jakim and Jais guys...it is to whack the Muslim women to portry Muslim men of UMNO as demi Gods..

it just want to tell women...you are bodoh..we are bodoh sombong..
written by ssathia, November 23, 2008 15:26:11
Hi periasa,
According to Javanese, the word Melayu means "runaways". The Javanese do not consider themselves as Malays. This meaning is well documented and known among researchers.
In Sanskrit, Alla means Mother, another name for Goddess Kali. Hindus worship God both as formless and in many forms, one of which is Alla the Mother Goddess. This has been the practice long long ago, even before Arabic as a language came get a written form. Even the word Arab and Arabia came from Sanskrit denoting horses and land of horses respectively.
written by harryo, November 23, 2008 18:09:52
What a sad end to Malaysia and the great understanding of reliogiosn, cultures and practices.
written by advocatusdiaboli, November 23, 2008 22:10:07
Bro ssathia, I also heard that Alla in Sanskrit also means Mother Goddess and that the word Alla was used even before the emergence of Islam as a religion. Bro, any reading materials on this? Maybe this could be a strong point to be used in the ongoing war in the courts as to the use of the word Allah. Care to help out bro?
written by ssathia, November 25, 2008 11:29:08
Hi advocatusdiaboli,
Any Sanskrit- English dictionary will tell you the meaning of alla. It is a common word in Sanskrit.