Home arrow The Blogs arrow My Little Scrapbook arrow Neighbourhood Candlelight Vigil

Neighbourhood Candlelight Vigil PDF Print
Sunday, 23 November 2008 09:36

Sad to say, my immediate neighbours in my Taman are not terribly socially conscious. And outside my Taman is an UMNO stronghold kampung. Trying to do a Vigil there may not serve any purpose.

So I had to do the Vigil all by my lonesome self. But that's the point. The numbers at each location don't count. It is the cumulative numbers that will add up. I hope to see others also having started on these fledgling Vigils. And, even better, these may inspire yet others to hold their own Vigils.

People of Seremban and Penang... are you paying attention? You don't need to wait for someone to get a permit to organise for you. It's in your hands.

What about the other towns and states? Where is all the fire we see spewing here in MT when it's time to complain about this and that? Put some of that energy to good use. If Saturday is too late, there is still Sunday. And next week. And the week after that.

If, next week, I still can't get any of my neighbours to join me, perhaps I will join one of the Vigils in a nearby Taman where the people are more in touch with the hardships of day-to-day life.

SV

end

Comments (4)Add Comment
written by renoir, November 23, 2008 14:29:24
Malaysians can actually do videoteleconferencing and this allows us to see what other people are doing. Nowadays webcams are very affordable and most computers come with the required software. Perhaps some computer-savvy folks can help organize thousands of weekly simultaneous vigils in the privacy of our home which would then be photographed and sent to international news organizations.

Let's use technology to defeat the local bums who've usurped the right of Malaysians to peaceful assembly.

written by Angela Ooi, November 23, 2008 14:46:43
I am in the midst of applying for the permit cos I do not want any of my friends to get into trouble with the cops. I will be more than glad if you come and vigil wih me here while awaiting the permit. That will be 2 of us and as you have said, it's not about the numbers.
written by malgal, November 23, 2008 15:42:17
little flickers will ignite into a blazing success. thanks for your reminder. and really all it takes is one brave soul to lead the multitudes.
written by scorpion, November 23, 2008 15:44:15
I had never attended any Vigils as I'm overseas most of the time. The number of people attending the Vigils and location of Vigils is not important. Vigils can be conducted simultaneously all over the world at the same time. Important is the date and time has to be fixed then people can light up a candle even alone in any location we wanted. We can had few friends having dinner in a restaurant and when the time come, just take up a candle and light it up. Keep quiet and say a prayer in our heart. I don't think lighting a candle in this way require permit, it is like lighting a cigar. Just imagine, how wonderful and united of people power when we can see restaurant patron, people walking in a street, car stopped at R&R etc lighting up a candle at the same time.

We can even do it at our own compound but I advise against doing it in our own compound as it will trigger unwanted attention from our unprofessional police.