Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Razak's helping hand to Najib not helpful

Razak's helping hand to Najib not helpful PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 22 November 2008 10:08

Important examples of these court incidences were the mysterious erasure of immigration records of Altantuya and her female companions at the material times of the crime, and the mention in court of a photo allegedly showing Najib having a meal at a round table with Altantuya and Razak.

Kim Quek

There appears to be only one motive in Razak Baginda’s press conference on November 20.  It was to alleviate the mounting pressure on Deputy Prime Minister Najib Razak and his wife Rosmah Mansor, who have found themselves irretrievably entangled in the Altantuya murder case.  These entanglements spring from two sources: a judicial process bruised by numerous irregularities and dubiousness that are widely perceived as motivated by the desire to protect the real culprits; and the suffocation and dubious response to incriminating new evidences.

In the 40-minute press conference, Razak Baginda only delivered two solid points: one, Razak himself is innocent; and two, Najib & Rosmah are also innocent, as Razak claimed that the latter never met Altantuya, and that all allegations against them were lies.  Beyond these two assertions, Razak did not yield even one inch of facts that might have thrown some light on the numerous puzzles that have found no answers in the one-year old trial.

And since the court has already acquitted Razak of the charge, why should he bother to hold a press conference to perform the redundant act of once again declaring himself innocent, if it is not meant to help out his close friend and benefactor?  (Some view this as quid pro quo, saying Razak deliberately cancelled the previous press conference on Nov 6 so that it could be held after the end of the allowable appeal period, which fell on Nov 14, just to make sure that the prosecutor would not appeal against his acquittal.)

But if Razak and the intended recipients of this supposed reciprocal gesture think that Razak’s declaration of Najib’s innocence is of any help, they are mistaken.

HOW DID RAZAK KNOW?

It was interesting to observe that when Razak was asked how he knew that Najib never met Altantuya, Razak was stunned and speechless for a moment, before he found his composure to emphatically utter: “I know …. I know”, without explaining how he knew.

Stacked against this simple answer of “I know, I know” is of course a mountain of facts and events that point to the contrary of Razak’s claim of innocence.

The first event that strikes the mind is the mysterious disappearance of private investigator P. Balasubramaniam (Bala) after implicating Najib to the case.   On 4th July 2008, Bala disclosed his explosive affidavit revealing the existence of the alleged Najib-Altantuya-Razak triangle of relationship – in direct contradiction to Najib’s repeated vows that he never met Altantuya - in addition to furnishing other details that helped to make sense of this otherwise puzzling case.  The next day, under apparent coercion, Bala signed another affidavit retracting every paragraph in the first affidavit with links to Najib; and immediately after that he and his entire family disappeared and never re-appear until this day.

In the first affidavit, Bala said he wanted to prevent a miscarriage of justice, as many details with links to Najib given by him to the police had been left out in the police statement and also never raised in court.  He therefore sought to appear in court to provide these missing links.  Regrettably, he never had that chance.

Upon disclosures of these two affidavits, the police promised to investigate them.  They later claimed to have located Bala and his family in a foreign country (the identity of which the police refused to divulge), and they also claimed to have taken a statement from Bala.  However, to this day, the police have remained silent on these investigations as well as the whereabouts of Bala and family.

CRITICAL EVIDENCES BLOCKED

Meanwhile, the lawyer for the family of Altantuya and the Mongolian government (Karpal Singh) applied to have Bala’s affidavit included in the trial, but was blocked by the concerted objections from all the participating players in the trial – the judge, prosecutors and defence lawyers.

This instance of blockade of evidence to the trial is only one in a series of similar blockades that appear to fit into a pattern whereby critical evidences that were deemed important leads to this murder mystery were blocked, apparently to prevent the truth from surfacing.

Important examples of these court incidences were the mysterious erasure of immigration records of Altantuya and her female companions at the material times of the crime, and the mention in court of a photo allegedly showing Najib having a meal at a round table with Altantuya and Razak.

In the latter case, Altantuya’s cousin Ms Burmaa Oyunchimeg (called Amy) testified on 29 June 2007 that Altantuya had shown her the photo in Hong Kong when the former returned from a trip to France.  However, before Karpal Singh could lead the witness further, he was stopped by the judge, upon strong protest from prosecutor, enjoined by defence lawyers.

According to Amy’s testimony, the photo was taken after August 2005, and she considered it an indication that her cousin’s love affair with Razak had not ended by then (The Straits Times dated 3 July 2007).  This testimony clearly contradicted with Razak’s claim that his affair with Altantuya ended in August 2005.  That brings us to the question of the reliability of his statements.

EMOTIONAL OUTBURSTS

In fact, Razak was found wanting in honesty in his replies to questions on the two emotional outbursts – once by himself in mid trial in Feb 2008, and once by his wife when he was first charged in 2006.

On Razak’s outburst in court on 20 Feb 2008, this is what the New Straits Times reported.

Before proceedings began, Razak’s father Abdullah Malim Baginda whispered something to his son who was in the dock.  Razak’s demeanour changed and he walked back to the holding cell, turned to face his father and angrily shouted: “Shall I shout it out?”   His father pointed his finger at him and indicated no.

Then Razak loudly said, “I am innocent! I am innocent!” before going into the cell.

When the trial judge adjourned proceedings for lunch, Abdullah walked up to his son and again whispered something into his ears.  Razak jumped up from his seat and in an animated way shouted: “Oh no, oh no.”  He then kicked the dock gate angrily as he walked out and banged on the lock-up door and looked terribly upset.  He was in tears.

And what was Razak’s explanation during the press conference for this outburst?  He said he was only venting his anger, as he was upset with the postponement of the case.  That answer did not sound very convincing, did it?  So, what is the secret that Razak is hiding from us?

On the second outburst when he was charged in Nov 2006, his wife shouted hysterically “Why charged my husband, he does not want to be the prime minister?”  Razak explained that his wife was then under stress as she had not seen him for some time.

That certainly didn’t sound like an honest answer. A more reasonable guess is that she was angry that her husband was made the scapegoat for someone who was aspiring to be the next prime minister.  The identity of this person is so obvious that it needs no further elaboration.

Finally, with regards to Razak’s claim that allegation of Altantuya’s involvement with the submarine deal was a lie because the contract was signed in June 2002 while he first met the deceased at end 2004, my answer is this: whose words are to be believed – Bala’s or Razak’s?  If Bala told the truth, then there is no credibility gap in the two dates, as according to Bala, Altantuya was passed on from Najib to Razak, as Najib did not want her to harass him since he was then the deputy prime minister (Najib became DPM in 2004).

If Bala did not tell the truth, why wasn’t he sternly dealt with?  Why should the authorities be so fearful of him that he was forced to retract his statement, made to disappear and his affidavit barred from court?

written by justice, November 22, 2008 10:15:29
written by binarytan, November 22, 2008 10:19:33
Razak Baginda PC is full of ballocks!!!

May be he could fool my 3 year old kid.

He tried to cover fire with paper, the end result???

Let us send the killer of Altantuya to hell, we do not need a killer suspect najis to be our future PM and also highly corrupted and sinful old fat mama be the first lady.

It will be total shame of Malaysia.

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by JUST, November 22, 2008 10:23:49
此地无银三百两
Ci di wu yin sanbai liang
No 300 taels of silver buried here
画蛇添足
Hua she tian zu
Draw a snake and add feet to it
多此一举
Duo Ci Yi Ju
Unnecessary Move
written by biggun129, November 22, 2008 10:26:09
RB and his family is living under the threat, 'The Mystery murder case of Altantuya will buried together with RB! RB is the one who knew the whole truths of the murder case, nothing but the real murderer!The whole world knew who is the Murderer!!!
written by Delima25, November 22, 2008 10:31:06
It all points to a collusion on the part of all and sundry to cover up the involvement of other high profile people in the murder.
Today, the Police said they had taken a statement from PI Bala in Thailand but do not know where he is now. Is it believable that after the gravity of his allegation against Najib and the subsequent retraction of that controversial SD, the cops will allow him to remain free after meeting him in Thailand. Why was PI Bala not extradited back to Malaysia to help resolve the matter.
It is all too obvious that a powerful invisible hand is at work to make everyone deny the involvement of Najid. It is even more suspicious when the prosecution also conducted the case as if they were part of the defence. We hope there is a satisfactory answer as we do not want the possibility that we might have a PM of questionable background.
written by Angela Ooi, November 22, 2008 10:32:36
Heard from a friend that her friend was screamed at while trying to serve her on the plane...'I dont want any Keling or Cina p!@i serving me!' Superbitch!
written by SCM, November 22, 2008 10:59:10
Hey Razak Baginda, the entire nation knows that you lied to save Najib as it was a deal struck to save you from the gallows. You and your group of thieving bandits (yes, that fat ugly pig included) must be punished severely for blowing up a mother.
written by Limau, November 22, 2008 11:15:16
RB, whatever you say are not the truth, you are forced to do, the police met Bala in Thailand and let him free. Last week I was out of Malaysia, in a party my friends started disscussing this case after knowing that I am from Malaysia, believe me I really felt ashamed the way they questioned about our law system.
written by benny loh, November 22, 2008 11:42:46
TRUTHFUL BLOGGERS
http://malaysiancartoons.blogs...truth.html
written by malsia1206, November 22, 2008 12:01:04
1. Someone sitting high in Putrajaya has something to hide
2. The Defence Ministry has something to hide.
3. The Police has a lot of things to hide
4. The Immigration has some records to hide
5. Someone's wife or wives has something to hide
6. The AG and his Prosecuting team have something to conceal
7. Baginda is withholding material facts
8. The 2 co-accused have yet to disclose their full knowledge
9. The Judiciary is a pawn in the trial
10.The truth is out there somewher yet to be revealed
11.The present trial is all but perceived to be window dressing
12.This is what Malaysia is all about.
written by kkselvam, November 22, 2008 12:19:58
The truth will prevail. We MT family will see to it.You bet RB!
written by Pato, November 22, 2008 12:20:03
Read what Magick River has to say:

http://magickriver.blogspot.co...akini.html
written by eloofk, November 22, 2008 13:03:52
Thank you so much Kim Quek. What i wanted to comment have been thoroughly spelt out. The whole system really stinks.
written by Chimera, November 22, 2008 13:04:05
desprado's action = press conference...ufffffffffff
written by Sembahyanglahkamu, November 22, 2008 13:40:33

MAY THE GHOST OF ALTANTUYA HAUNTS(MENGHANTUI) YOU ALL YOUR FAMILY MEMBERS!!!!!!
I M SURE AL-LAH WILL SEE THAT YOU DIE A HORRIBLE DEATH!!!!!

written by Vincent, November 22, 2008 15:04:16
LIAR ! LIAR ! LIAR !
written by notsosmart, November 22, 2008 15:24:51
This inhumane murder case must be heard under an international independent court. A lot of stone still unturned. A lot of doubt still not clarified. Is the Malaysian gomen and its juridical house going to shows their integrity and moral responsibility into this case? Unless they are innocent, they have a lot of answers to the rakyat.

Baginda is not totally freed yet if the rakyat could ousted the BN ruling gomen. Even he is not directly involved in the murder. He could be equally charged for abetting in the murder. For he may have a lot of information which he refused to reveal and even possibility of falsifying declaration.
written by Kuda Belang, November 22, 2008 17:11:55
The bast**d is lying through all his holes and damaged the little credibility Najib had. "I know, I just know ...". If he knows Rosmah and her husband were not involved then he knows who committed the murder. Why then did the `system' freed him? Thanks to his master who also got the immigration records of the murdered Razak's girlfriend purged from the `system'.
written by rpremkumar2u, November 22, 2008 21:02:29
He was charged for abetting. His defense is not called. The Principle offenders have their defense called. We have to be patient to acknowledge what the principle offenders have to say under oath.
written by rpremkumar2u, November 22, 2008 22:30:12
A wiser guy would have kept his mouth shut than to open it to remove all doubts of his guilt.
written by Wudan, November 23, 2008 00:43:36
Finally, with regards to Razak’s claim that allegation of Altantuya’s involvement with the submarine deal was a lie because the contract was signed in June 2002 while he first met the deceased at end 2004,
Dear Abdul Razak Baginda,
Surely your relationship with Najib is very good that Mindef allowed Perimekar to submit a comprehensive proposal to the Malaysian Government to enter into a contract as primary contractor and project integrator for the supply of submarines to the Royal Malaysian Navy.
To be fair to you, KS Ombak did not owned Perimekar fully. KS Ombak sold 20% of Perimekar to Boustead Holdings Bhd in 2001 for RM3.5 million (Re: BHD’s 2001 annual report) and later 40% to LTAT.
On June 2002, The Government signed a Memorandum of Understanding with DCN International, Izar and Perimekar. MOUs is not definitive. One will be fully aware that more negotiations will be carried out that will result in the increase or decrease in the final contract sum depending on all the specifications required and agreed upon. I wonder what was the final contract sum?
Reference:
1.Although selectively divesting businesses that are deemed no longer profitable, we remain alert to new business opportunities coming our way. In the latter part of 2001, we signed a Sale and Purchase Agreement with KS Ombak Laut Sdn Bhd to acquire a 20% equity interest in Perimekar Sdn Bhd. The business has submitted a comprehensive proposal to the Malaysian Government to enter into a contract as primary contractor and project integrator for the supply of submarines to the Royal Malaysian Navy.
(Source: Boustead Holdings 2001 Chairman’s Statement.)
2. “We (the Government) have approved the acquisition of the Scorpene SSKs as they are designed for missions ranging from anti-submarine and anti-surface warfare, to special operations and intelligence gathering,’’Najib told reporters after witnessing the ministry’s Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with DCN International, Izar and Perimekar at Mandarin Oriental Hotel yesterday.
The ministry’s deputy secretary-general Datuk Hashim Meon signed on behalf of the government while DCN International was represented by its president and chief executive officer Phillipe Japiot and Izar by its chairman and chief executive officer Jose Antonion Casanova.
Najib said the Government had also considered the deal favourably as it offered an offset arrangement, where 35% of the cost would be in the form of counter trade of palm oil and other Malaysian-made products and 15% in the form of training and communication technology transfer.
written by devious17, November 23, 2008 11:17:36
I have a suspicion that Razak's press conference intention is to cleverly implicate najib and penguin like wife to the murder of the mongolian without actually saying it out loud, after all, 22 months and his reputation was lost.