Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Sisters in Islam hits out at ‘tomboy’ fatwa

Sisters in Islam hits out at ‘tomboy’ fatwa PDF Print
Friday, 21 November 2008 19:36
(The Malaysian Insider) Sisters in Islam today took the religious authorities to task for its fatwa on “tomboys”, saying that it could lead to arbitrary arrests and undue harassment of Muslim women and girls.

In a statement, it questioned the authorities’ definition of “tomboys”.

“A woman with short hair? Wearing pants? Wearing shirts? No make-up? Many Malaysian women sport short hair, wear pants, shirts and don't wear make-up. It is culturally normal for Malaysian women to be body comfortable with each other — many women hold hands, hug their friends or kiss their friends on the cheek,” it said.

“And how do the authorities define 'manly' behaviour? Not gentle and demure enough? Talking too loud? Who would and how could one define and determine whether a woman is a tomboy or a lesbian?”

SIS said the government, political and religious leaders, including the National Fatwa Council, should give more focus to the effort of upholding justice, equality, civil liberty and democracy in Malaysia, which are intrinsic values in Islam.

The movement said it was concerned with the continuous sexist and discriminatory approach towards Malaysian women, especially Muslim women.

“Sexist remarks issued by our parliamentarians, instructions by political leaders for women not to wear high heels and lipstick, giving preference to non-beautiful women to occupy job positions, prohibiting women to sing in public, and now the fatwa on 'tomboys' are all alarming regressive trends.”

SIS said women who do not dress or behave as what certain quarters perceive not as feminine are not a menace to society. “In fact, many of these women hold respectable positions and actively contribute to our society.”

It wondered why the fatwa was only imposed on women, saying that this was yet another example of selective prosecution.

“SIS believes it is not Islam's obsession to police people's morality, find people's fault or to spy on its followers. Islam is also totally against defaming one's character. In fact Islam regards privacy and preserving one's dignity as one of human's intrinsic basic right. Thus any man-made law cannot violate these basic rights enshrined in Islam.”

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by Motherchell, November 21, 2008 19:48:29
There is no fatwa on men like Baginda who roam the streets of the Country free to do what they like !! The Laws in the Country is demented!

"Oxford virgins--beware of Razak the Ripper

http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by Tompios, November 21, 2008 19:55:08
smilies/grin.gif opps! what? Dear SIS, are you trying to guide this fatwa to Datuk Azalina direction? Man...need specific explanation over this matter. How about manly inside girly outside?
written by ahmadneil, November 21, 2008 19:55:25
I wonder how the girls in Oxford will treat RB when he goes for his doctorate.I bet the girls there will spit on him if they see him in the campus.BBC have full story on this murder.
written by sydput, November 21, 2008 19:55:49
Shames me to see muslim women taking on the dictators at JAKIM. Even Anwar dare not confront them, as can be seen from the MP from kulim episode. I am therefore not surprise to see muslim malay women outumber their male counterparts in various institution of higher learning, because they are more inteligent. Only muslim woemn understand what suppresion and oppression really means within the bumiputra community and are not afraid to voice their concerns, based on justice and righteousnes.
written by ahmadneil, November 21, 2008 19:57:59
The next fatwa will be on muslims ladies who goes to see football and don't wear bra.
written by rizzku, November 21, 2008 20:00:39
"SIS said the government, political and religious leaders, including the National Fatwa Council, should give more focus to the effort of upholding justice, equality, civil liberty and democracy in Malaysia, which are intrinsic values in Islam"

Will the FATWA people ever learn?
written by alarcarte, November 21, 2008 20:04:34
Just wonder will there be a fatwa against Malay Muslim girls wearing jeans?

My heart went pumping when I see these girls wearing buttock hugging and low cut Jeans, its un-healthy for the my heart you know.
written by Mik, November 21, 2008 20:16:41
may be there will be one soon, banning all women from public. women must stay home. LOL.
written by sydput, November 21, 2008 20:17:06
sisters-in-islam should also demand for the definition of bumiputra.
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 21, 2008 20:33:12

Sisters in Islam, please hit out at the sadistic behaviour of dog-catchers from the city council too!
written by san amin, November 21, 2008 21:04:06
why dont u dogs start with arresting that tourism minister
written by san amin, November 21, 2008 21:08:08
u know what? if one of these religious shit fancy one of these girls whether or nt shes underage,the shithead will take this girl as his wife as to prove to god that he will heal her of her sins
written by Alice, November 21, 2008 21:29:06
smilies/grin.gifThe comments above are so funny and entertaining.

National Fatwa Council- JOKERS
written by Qcumber, November 21, 2008 21:35:50
Flat chested females may also be considered as tomboy by the authority because they don't portray the feminine look.

Females who have body size bigger than a normal man will also be considered tomboy also.

Any fatwa abt sissy? smilies/grin.gif
written by The Hammer, November 21, 2008 22:04:23
SIS should enquire FartWA boys about the status of "tomgirl". You will be surprise how many them in these so called religious body! Why they even have "peeping tom" among their associates - RELA! Also check out on homosexual, gender crossing etc. etc with them! As usual these FartWa boys have nothing to do but talk, think about woman!
written by PRman, November 21, 2008 22:30:39
Thank you for speaking out against the stupid ignorant proposal!
written by Kopi37, November 21, 2008 22:36:36
WE are born to be equal, regardless of race, creed and gender! And I believe all religious tenets have also promulgated so! As the Muslim SIS have also said this -- "In fact Islam regards privacy and preserving one's dignity as one of human's intrinsic basic right. Thus any man-made law cannot violate these basic rights enshrined in Islam.”!....That's right, God is ultra wisdom, not those bigots with turban likened Osama! Those are demented! Demented men made mad laws and definitely have violated and even renegaded God's willing! All the SIS must rectify them!....Tell them tomboys look more handsome than old goats!
written by cheekhiaw, November 21, 2008 23:48:05
This country is going nuts with cuckoos in man bodies attired in long dresses and skull caps and reading cheap old books from the dark ages telling others what to do...

written by varvoom, November 22, 2008 00:37:27
National Fatwa Council members please go and get a proper job to contribute to society, you are perceive as a nosey parker, lay about, perverts and a parasites to society. Get that into your thick skull!
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 22, 2008 00:39:40
They have nothing to do. wasting government money paying them salaries. Living in the 6th century Women in Islam never will be equal to men. They will always be considered lower than men. that is because the tribal mentality of seeing women as weaker and only for sex and reproduction has been included into their beliefs.And so some women still pretend that they are happy the way they are because they supposedly follow Islam of the true path. When you challenge the truth of the Koran you get kafired. When you ask about the prophet or make some remark you get killed. The prophet takes precendence in importance to Allah and the Koran. They kill those who insult the prophet but they do not kill the millions of believers who insult Allah whom they do not follow.some books become more important than the Koran and it is followed more strictly than the Koran itself.

It is a state of sowing confusion and so the only way is to follow blindly and leave it to Allah to resolve -fatalism. In Malaysia they got nothing to do so they preach this caged mentality of "you cannot question any issue in Islam" it is sensitive. Whether it is the truth or not never mind just follow. we are right we are your leaders and therefore we are always right. just follow.the rule is for you women we are men and we do not have to listen to you.you are here to serve us not we to serve you.the same tribal mentality continued in the 6th century.Why do men in Islam blame the women for their sexual sins??Are they so weak as not to be able to resist or fight inspite of a 5 time pray a day??

Man has been given the faculty to reason and the faculty to control his thoughts and his actions that is why we are called superior animals or human beings.
written by tenang, November 22, 2008 01:02:49
Thank you for speaking up, SIS!

I urge you to make a step further by rejecting nationalized religion institution in interventing to your personal life and morality. Your morality is between you and god, and if you choose, between you and your immediate religion teacher. When you are kids, the guardian of your morality is also between you and your parents.

National laws, in secular or religion sides, should never be used as tools for guiding things as subtle as morality because your parents, your immediate religion teacher, and you yourselves can do the function much better than any organized religion institutions.
written by RumahPanjai, November 22, 2008 01:17:19
The ultimate goal of the fatwa council is to see that all muslim women dress up up in BURQA. Why follow others dress code? Dress in a bed sheet with a slit for the eyes. The problem is, the council which is make up of the male gender have no respect for women. The set rules at their own whims and others pay the price. Why is there no fatwa for that infamous man who commits adultery? The simple answer as always is, they treat women like chattels and sadly is permitted bcause SIS is gutless. Any reason why it took just too long for SIS to response to this fatwa?
written by OilMan, November 22, 2008 01:31:35
With all this fatwa thing, are we heading towards a Taliban style of control towards women? I hope not for the sake of Malaysians and my daughters. smilies/sad.gif
written by needchg, November 22, 2008 03:13:05
getting more ridiculous by the day...BolehLand
written by Man In Black, November 22, 2008 05:30:38
ahmadneil...u forgot the panties...hahahaha.....have a good one
written by Proarte, November 22, 2008 05:44:34
Such righteous indignation from MT commentators! How fantastic!

Well, the 'spiritual guru' of PAS, the redoubtable Tok Aziz has come out all guns blazing in support of the Fatwa Council and says we should not question them. Can all the negative comments here then be applied to Tok Aziz as well, or will there be a schizophrenic response?

Yes, Sisters in Islam have bravely and righteoulsy spoken out but what is the position of Pied Piper of Permatang Pauh?

Notice when it comes to difficult issues which ultimately are to do with religious equality, respect for human diversity and personal free choice, the Pied Piper is consistently dumbstruck.

And this character wants to be a contender to lead this plural nation of ours. What a sick joke!
written by humanist, November 22, 2008 08:38:49
arbitrary arrests and undue harassment of Muslim women and girls.

Right on the nail. Yes.

Just like the Yoga fatwa, I think once it is passed. I do not know about you, if I am enforcement people, I sure will have an eyeful of action . Those fella are going to march into gym,aerobics,fitness clubs, get all the girls in skimpy exercise outfit to line up against wall, taking their sweet time ogling on the ladies while checking their IC for "Muslim" to arrest . Without such justification, when you march into those private health center, you are going to branded as pervert, now give them free way to walk in any time.
written by educationist, November 22, 2008 09:10:30
Ah! Good ! SIS has come out in opposition to that ridiculous fatwa.
Now , that IGP cannot claim that non-Muslims should not interfere with Islamic fatwas.
Will the NFC respond to the points raised?
Over to you, religous police?
written by maverick, November 22, 2008 09:32:37
so where is the fatwa on 'pondan'? shouldn't it be fair to all genders?
written by batsman, November 22, 2008 09:36:10
Guess the sight of a "tomboy" scares the daylights out of some people.
written by joeawk, November 22, 2008 10:22:33
Sister in islam, Malaysians love u la. We support you. There should be fatwa against the ISA, OSA, police brutality, racial discrimination, etc.........and not about yoga and tomboyism.
written by JUST, November 22, 2008 10:27:48
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...re=related
written by godknows, November 22, 2008 10:30:50
All those who are against this Fatwa should wrap a bedsheet over their body with eye slits(as suggested by Rumah Pinja) and roam the streets of KL on a fixed day to send a strong message.
written by JUST, November 22, 2008 10:35:40
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...re=related
written by JUST, November 22, 2008 10:37:10
"It may be long before the law of love will be recognized in
this beautiful country. The machinery of evil administration
stands in-between and hides the loving hearts of the Nation!"

< Mahatma Gandhi >
written by Joe, November 23, 2008 11:07:16
Looking at it from a political standpoint, this fatwa (probably engineered by BN) will put PAS against the PKR and DAP. Further tearing the alliance. Anyone agree?
written by Dogboy, November 23, 2008 11:17:50
This is about the insecurity and immaturity of those at the Fatwa council. They have too much time on their hands and instead of looking at the bigger social ills plaguing our muslim brothers they look at the 'sexual' social aspects of Muslim society as they are too fixated with sex and women.

Firstly, I can't see why taxpayers should foot the bill to keep the NFC in existence since they are as useless as they come and these issues have nothing to do with the rest of our liberal society. If this is a muslim organization, then why are non-muslim tax payers paying their salaries to keep their useless ass around, especially if all they can come up with is nothing more than a disruption to muslim women and to give Malaysia a bad name all over the world.

Now, what the hell do they classify as 'tomboy'? Previously they said you cannot have too long a skirt, high heels, sexy clothing etc etc etc. Now, contrary to earlier rulings, you can't be a 'tomboy' which I take to be no short hair, no pants, tie, etc etc whatever the hell they have in mind who knows???? And notice how these only apply to women? What next. Women cannot go to universities? Can only stay home and cook for men? If all muslim women wear the burkha and they would be happy? If it weren't so serious I would be happy to have these clowns around to have my daily dose of laughter.