Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Courts sets Feb 27 on case about the use of 'Allah'

Courts sets Feb 27 on case about the use of 'Allah' PDF Print
Friday, 21 November 2008 15:49

(The Star) - The High Court has set Feb 27 for mention of the case to hear the use of the word ‘Allah’ in the Herald - The Catholic Weekly, a Christian publication.

Judge Lau Bee Lan of the special appellate and powers division of the High Court said that the date was set to allow all parties time to file their affidavits.

The Archbishop of Kuala Lumpur as the plaintiff had applied for a judicial review of a Home Ministry directive forbidding the Herald publisher from using the word ‘Allah’ instead of ‘God’.

The plaintiff’s counsel Porres Royal said his client argued that the directive was unlawful under the Federal Constitution and that the word was not exclusive to Islam.

On Dec 5, the publisher filed a writ of summons in the Kuala Lumpur High Court to seek a declaration on the use of the word.

In the statement of claim, the archbishop as the plaintiff stated that the word ‘Allah’ had been used since the inception of the publication to refer to ‘God’.

Earlier this year, the court decided that the publisher had the right to challenge the Home Minister’s decision to ban it from using the word as a Malay translation of ‘God’ in its publication and practice.

The mention date was also set to allow the other respondents to file their affidavits in the suit filed by the publisher.

The respondents were the Home Ministry, the Government and the state Islamic Councils of Federal Territory, Terengganu, Penang, Selangor, Kedah, Johor, Malacca and the Malaysia Chinese Muslim Association (Macma).

The Malaysian Gurdwara Association had also applied to file for intervention in the case by Feb 27 to seek to be given the right to use ‘Allah’ in its publications and practices.

Mubashir Mansor, counsel for the Terengganu, Penang and Malacca Islamic councils said on Friday that they would file an affidavit in two weeks to the Federal Court to argue that no court of law could hear this case though he declined to give further details on the contents of the affidavit.

“Basically, the question of whether this issue can be debated in a court of law is non-justiciable based on provisions given in the Federal Constitution,” he said, adding that the alternative was not in a Syariah court and that the other state religious councils and Macma would file similar applications.

Porres also said that the publisher had earlier objected to the councils applying to be included in the suit by the publisher against the Minister and the Government but had now changed its mind.

However, he said his team did not know what they had in mind to be included in the defence.

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by Democrats, November 21, 2008 16:14:58
A waste of tax payers money to decide whether a word can be used or not.

Freaking morons with low self esteemed with an inferiority complex issues....
written by ylcc, November 21, 2008 16:19:43
2 very sensitive subjects, one politics, the other religion. Before I begin, I state first that I respect all religions.
Imagine the priest preaching in Malay, and his words keep being punctuated by an English word "God". There are many Indonesian Christians here, and the word 'Allah' seems normal to them. If the word 'Allah' is only exclusive to Muslims, then please may I ask what word in Malay is permitted? Is Malaysia the only country to come out with such a decree?
written by ahmadneil, November 21, 2008 16:31:30
Why can't we use Allah?Islam says there is no God but Allah.So We all can use Allah .
written by Qcumber, November 21, 2008 16:47:30
When I love a girl, I will call her by all the sweet and beautiful names like "darling", "sweetheart", "my sweetie"... etc, If I hate someone, surely I will call him "@#$%", "&&^@#" or X*^&@". Same goes when I respect Islam, thats why i use the word "Allah", if not, I could have used those disrespectful words instead. How do you like that?

I once heard a Muslim telling me that Islam is not only for the Muslim, it is for the world, it is relevant for the past, present and the future. How can it be for everybody and to be relevant when such intolerance shown by the Muslims?

Come one la, don't make Islam such a restrictive, uncompromising and non progressive religion. You insult your own religion yourself.
written by JJFoo, November 21, 2008 16:48:17
Making a mountain out of a molehill.

As if “GOD” or “ALLAH” belongs exclusively to one group of people. Waste of public fund involving the court, for a judgment over nothing, by a bunch of sallow and narrow minded fagots.

Proven that Malaysia still consist of groups with Stone Age mentality.
written by mikefonz, November 21, 2008 16:56:30
Alamak .... Oops. did i use the word?
Stupid people wasting Rakyats money.
Nothing else better to do.
written by tanwi, November 21, 2008 17:25:22
This will go down in history as stupidity at the highest order and biggest waste of tax payers money on an issue which is not even an issue.

Whichever Islamic council who brings this as an issue is just too free or probably doing it for publicity purposees (i cant fathom any other reason why). Try to focus on your own religion and not disturb others. How is it does another religion using that word (if in the first place they are proprietary to that word, if there is such a thing) insult Islam in any way?

They should be thrown in ISA because this may cause unrest to the narrow minded few who would actually take offense. To general people on the street, irrespective of their religion, jaws will just drop wide open on this non-issue. IDIOTS.
written by ylcc, November 21, 2008 17:26:05
Quietguy,
If 'Allah' is an Arabic word, why does a Malay use it since it is not the Malay language. I also find it sad in this country that when some Malay-Muslims are not happy about something, it is perceived that others are trying to piss them off.
written by tanwi, November 21, 2008 17:28:41
quietguy, u r not getting the point. Im not sure if you are Muslim, but even if another religion uses that word for THEIR faith, are you insulted? if yes, WHY? They are praising (or praying) to their God. They are not even coming close to saying anything negative about Islam. Doesnt substance matter?
written by Hockchew, November 21, 2008 17:46:18
RPK said that the Utaz preach there is only one true God/religion and the rest is all fake. Therefore all of you cannot use the word "Allah". The Arab will be laughing at us till they die. I remember how the Melayu think all Arab are muslim and all Arab are to be imitated and "disanjung tinggi". They will believed every word from a Arab's mouth.

I begin to wonder if "Allah" is a Malay word. Some muslim claimed that it is an arabic word and not a malay word. I cannot comprehend what they meant. Do they mean that all malay word have malay origin except for the word "Allah"? If the word is accepted by all Malaysian and used as "Malay", how come it is not a malay word?

The Government promote "Bahasa Malaysia" or have they revert back to Bahasa Melayu and claimed that it is no longer Bahasa Kebangsaan? "Bahasa Jiwa Bangsa" How to promote a bangsa Malaysia when there are words with restricted use? We have Bahasa Istana and bahasa rakyat. NOw I think there will be Bahasa Istana, Bahasa Rakyat Melayu and bahasa rakyat bukan melayu. Syabas! Malaysia Boleh!

I really wish I am not a Malaysian. Should have taken up Australian PR when I was younger. It doesnt pay to think Malaysian, I should think Chinese and be loyal to China despite the fact that I love my fellow Malay and Indian Malaysian more than the Chinese from PRC. I think I better learn to read and write Chinese and stop praying that we have a United Malaysia.

All the "Ketuanan Melayu" talks will soon make Malaysia into a pariah nation. Wake up, all you, melayu, with brain and love for this tanah air of ours before the road to destruction become irreversible.

If the Melayu cannot differentiate between words and religion then they should be educated and learn it. If Malaysian are not fluent in the English Language, have more hours on the teaching of the language. Not teach Maths & Science in English.

I give Up.
written by maverick, November 21, 2008 17:52:35
so they will not be allowed to use 'allah' when refering to god, so which word should be used? Pak Lah??
written by ylcc, November 21, 2008 18:20:27
Quietguy, since we are ignorant, would you educate us by translating these two words into malay - "religious tolerance"
written by alarcarte, November 21, 2008 18:30:25
Quiet Guy,
I wonder how the Arab Christians call GOD in their Arabic versions of the Bible, I know that Indonesian Chritians Bible do refer to GOD as Allah, I also knew that my Arab Christian friends from Egypt and Lebanon answering each other “Inshah ALLAH” when I was working there.

No offend intended, just that I am wondering what the fuss is all about. Why can’t ALLAH descend to our beloved Malaysia and call for meeting between all Religious leaders and decide who can or cannot use the word Allah.

YA ALLAH, too much confusion LAH.

written by gorshan, November 21, 2008 18:41:33
The word Allah is written in the Sikh Holy Scripture The Granth Sahib and in the Shabad kirtan "Awal Allah Noor Upaya, Kudrat kae sab bandey ek noor tae sabh jag upjaya, kaun bhaley kaun mandey?"

First, Allah created the Light; then, by His Creative Power, He made all mortal beings. From the One Light, the entire universe welled up. So who is good, and who is bad?

The Fatwa Council should first take the Sikh scriptures into consideration before coming out with any fatwa banning the use of the term 'Allah' by non-muslim.
written by kkselvam, November 21, 2008 19:02:27
Aiya!! These moron UMNO holes got nothing better to do la.Jakim officials only good in finding problems with non muslims.You give them a 'chick' or 'kopi money' and you will witness how strong they are religiously!
written by cruzeiro, November 21, 2008 19:11:07
I'm not much for this idea of the use of Allah in translated christian scripture. However, I don't care if people want to call their God "Jack". It is within their right to do so. Same goes here.

As such, I'd say that common sense & basic decency dictates that Sikhs and Christians can use it, within the context of their worship. This has been going on for ages, with no problems whatsoever. Muslims cannot be so weak in their faith after fifty years of NEP-education, that a common word/name can cause confusion.
Just how many conversions to Sikhism or Christianity can be attributed to this word "Allah"! None! So why infringe on their right to practice their religion as they deem fit?

The argument that there are "other words for God in Malay" does not hold in this case - DBP isn't the guardian of all versions of Malay. Should the publishers not subscribe to DBP, it's the choice of their faithful if they want to accept it. DBP definitely doesn't have rights to the use of Punjabi anyways.

There are "agent provocatuers" at work to propagate the "siege mindset" that's required to create conflict among peaceful citizens. They want a confrontation in which they hope to triumph so that they can thump their chest in pride. They want to impress upon Muslims and Malays that they are "under attack", and as such need to "rise to the occasion". Who are these "defenders of God" to dictate that someone cannot use a word in accepted in their vocabulary? It's just that certain quarters want to split hairs to claim something for themselves, when even Arabs have no problems with the word being used by other religions. Next they will attempt to prevent all non-Muslim religious literature publication and worship in Malay.
written by alarcarte, November 21, 2008 19:57:29
written by cruzeiro, November 21, 2008 19:11:07
…Next they will attempt to prevent all non-Muslim religious literature publication and worship in Malay.

==========================================

AiYah, Like that also can meh? They want us all go Malay school what. If read Bible in Malay also cannot, then bring back English School-lah.

In this way, the Christians can go to English School so that they can read the Bible in English-mah, like this then “tak ada kacau dengan Melayu.

written by Mik, November 21, 2008 20:19:09
written by ahmadneil, November 21, 2008 16:31:30
Why can't we use Allah?Islam says there is no God but Allah.So We all can use Allah .

--now, dats a good one!
written by rizzku, November 21, 2008 20:46:20
The theory is ...

The Jews worship Adam's God which is Abraham's God which is Moses' God.
The Christian worship Adam's God which is Abraham's God which is Moses' God.
The Moslem worship Adam's God which is Abraham's God which is Moses' God.
All the Jews, Christian and Moslem are referring the same Adam, Abraham and Moses.
So the Moslem's God ie ALLAH must be the same God for Jews and Christian.
Therefore Christian have no other choice but to call their God as ALLAH in Malaysia.
To call the Christian's God with something else may be construed as insulting the Moslem's God.
written by Old Man, November 21, 2008 21:13:06
Oh my Allah! Those extremist fanatics even worry that others will take away their Allah. Allah is supreme and is for everybody regardless of race or religion.
Beware, that Quiet Guy might end up as the first Suicide Bomber of Malaysia! 72 virgins waiting for him in heaven because currently all he's doing is to masturbate day and night hoping to get a taste of his imagined first virgin in heaven!smilies/grin.gif
written by Rozlan, November 21, 2008 22:14:50
As a muslim I dont see any wrong for the Christians to use the word Allah instead of GOD..
written by amoker, November 21, 2008 23:21:46
Allah comes from the root word, El-illah or The God. Hebrew and Arabic words were from these. any language experts will know that the government's position is indefensible because they will be claiming rights to Hebrew and Arab texts. Of course, Jakim and others are just too free.
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 22, 2008 01:16:03
Shouting comment removed
written by Tompios, November 22, 2008 04:26:14
The word Allah is prehistoric name. The Hindu religion was using Allah 1000 years before Islam and can be traced through HISTORY of the beginning of human HINDUS' civilization in Africa.

In East Malaysia particularly Sabah, English supposed to be the official language until today. Unfortunately, the Federal and the pro-Islamic Sabahan leaders have changed this '1st of contracts' by Malay language to implant Islamic thinking in Malay to all education materials that been taught in government schools. Erasing English materials, is the best ways to erase the Christianity entities. So, the Sabahan non-Muslim will more open to the Islamic terms such 'fatwa, solat,astaga, asalamulaikum, ustaz, ustazah, insan khamil,jihad, haram, kafir, firdaus, arasy and many more.

Through the history, the real Sabahan can see how UMNO party has used USNO and BERJAYA to kill and erase Sabahan's 20 perkara.

written by Proarte, November 22, 2008 05:25:03
What is Anwar's position on the use of Allah by non-Muslims? What is Anwar's position on the Fatwa against 'Tomboys'? What is his position on the Ma Zu statue in Kudat? What is his position on the Syariah Courts ruling that a Muslim is a Muslim forever and cannot change faith? What was Anwar's position on the UM's cancellation of the speech by Nobel Prize winner Shirin Ebadi slated to give a talk on 'Islam and Cultural Diversity' What is Anwar's position on open interfaith dialogues where religion is discussed in a civilised way? Wicked and cowardly silence so far. I have come to the conclusion that Anwar is a man of low integrity who has capitalised on Islam and Malay insecurity for political power. When will Malaysians wake up and realise they are being deceived and exploited by this man who has perverted the interpretation and practice of Islam and uses it as a political bargaining chip?
written by mrbean, November 22, 2008 14:15:11
for FCK sake.. .the word Allah is arabic for God..
Why are we wasting the tax payer's money on such a trial...
The government is so scared that the people's faith will be eroded with such matters...
The more the gormen does this, the faster it will be removed....
Dont you stupid fellas now that a faithful muslim will not be influenced by such matters... it's only the gormen who is abusing the power that wants to enforce religion onto its people....

Why do we have such a stupid gormen ?
written by mrbean, November 22, 2008 14:15:56
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allah
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 23, 2008 14:27:31
Can someone send a fax to Yahweh, Jesus ,Allah, Siva, Buddah, Bhawan, Eli, Al Shaddai, and all the other minor Gods or Gods to come to come to the Courts of Malaysia to prove to the world who is the ONE GOD that the human race is supposed to worship and acknowledge??

There are also people in Malaysia worshipping Money in UMNO and in the world of MONEy MONEy MONeY , Worshipping Power in UMNO and in the power crazed world of ours, , and Worshipping Women too ( they will do anything for the women and then blow them up)By the way some also worship SA TAN as God...should he be included..for blowing up women???

Until their testimony is obtained it is dangerous to make a decision..because if you happen to lift one above the other..the others might fight and cause trouble and bring bad luck. In the world of Gods it is best to leave it as it is if we do not want another TSunami...

the world is progressing...the world in Malaysia is regressing to the 6th century..
Malaysia Boleh..we want be the Median of the EAst????

I like th t see the Malaysian Government burn Bibles and other mterials carrying the word Allah, close churches and temples and arrest hundreds of thousands of people for using the word Allah..

and now we have met the first neanderthal man people in Malaysia..who are confused too...