Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Honey, I shrunk the Indians

Honey, I shrunk the Indians PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 21 November 2008 14:21

By Helen Ang

Two weeks ago on Nov 4, the New Straits Times carried the headline ‘Zaid lucky to be born a Malay, says Syed Hamid’.

Former law minister Zaid Ibrahim had said in his LawAsia 2008 conference speech on Oct 31: "The obsession with the Ketuanan Melayu doctrine has in fact destroyed something precious in us.

"It makes us lose our sense of balance and fairness."

The statement unsurprisingly caused Umno warlords to go berserk.

written by Colomboloner, November 21, 2008 14:36:20
"Soyod Termite AlBubur lucky to be born as UMnoputra, or else he would be a terrorist carrying AK7 in Algerian desert"
written by Steven Tan, November 21, 2008 14:37:37
Brothers and Sisters,

There is one Malay Proverb suits this situation "Siapa Makan Cili Dia Terasa Pedas". I think this proverb will give a good explanation to the mentioned situation smilies/wink.gif
written by cheekymate, November 21, 2008 14:44:26
'Zaid lucky to be born a Malay' says syed hamid.
Racism is written all over in this one sentence, you damned racist!
written by malaysianohope, November 21, 2008 14:55:24
acts like an out of control missile! Always speaking like a suicide bomber with his mouth.
Must be thinking about his 7 virgins!
written by ylcc, November 21, 2008 14:55:33
Hmmmmm ... it sounds like "You ungrateful vermin, onsider yourself lucky to be born a Malay!" So I am unlucky to be born Chinese. Question: Does Syed Hamid Albar consider himself lucky/unlucky that his father is orginally from Indonesia, but of Arab descent? So to be "lucky" he denies his roots and calls himself 'Malay' for the special privileges?
written by kkselvam, November 21, 2008 14:57:49
Al Shit Al Blur anak haram jadah boleh cakap apa2 saja pasal dia kan Melayu tulen!! Anak pariah!! Dia sendiri klon melayu macam orang India Muslim yang lagak macam Melayu tulen! Poorah Yemeni arse*ole!!
written by rizzku, November 21, 2008 15:02:32
The theory is ...

Change you religion to Islam. You will automatically become Malay with all the previleges.

With the Ketuanan Melayu rights, one wonders why Malaysians do not change their religions in mass.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 21, 2008 15:12:30
"Zaid lucky to be born a Malay, says Syed Hamid".

Shouldn't someone be saying to that Fat Head (and arse) Ex-Yemenis:

"Syed is very, very lucky to be born in Malaysia".
written by ohuat, November 21, 2008 16:17:27
My advise to this BN gomen. If you press harder, the harder is the repel. Action and re-action. The Day will come..
written by allmenarebrothers, November 21, 2008 16:48:40
Dear Shiit Hameed Al-blurr aka Al-Indon Al-Yemen
Your brains can't understand that all of us are God's Children & that we are born as a Negro, Caucausian, Semite, Chinese, Indian, Malay, Orang Asli, Iban, Kadazan etc not by our choice but by accident of birth. It is God's choice.
So it is wrong for you to say "Zaid is lucky to be born a Malay".
Please don't play the role of the Al-Mighty.
You live on Earth by HIS Grace, Mercy & Favour. And HIM alone.
Does this get into your thick numbskull?
Maybe the MOAB (Mother of All Bombs) can't penetrate your thick numbskull but try you must for God's sake!
written by Democrats, November 21, 2008 16:51:20
Rizzku, your theory is wrong.

If you change /convert to Islam, you remain a chinese and not a bumiputra. But your children born after convertion is considered bumiputera.

I sincerely hope you did not convert base on your theory! Hahaha....
written by zandi, November 21, 2008 17:04:07
Hey Shithead Botak Albar, You are lucky you are born in Malaysia! You are lucky you are born in this bolehland where even without much of a brain cell, one can become an UMNO politician and an UMNO Minister. Heck...this should come as no surprise..we haven't had the opportunity to see a single UMNO politician in Msia who has half the brains of Zaid.
written by Motherchell, November 21, 2008 17:21:22
""Ketuanan Melayu doctrine has in fact destroyed something precious in us.
Very true The not so true Malays holding the True Malays at ransom!!......

http://sjsandteam.wordpress.com
written by rizzku, November 21, 2008 18:03:08
Thanks Democrats,

Yes, you remain as chinese, india etc after conversion. Previleges wise, you are now a Malay. And if you change your name, the magic will work even better.

ps, I have not converted.
written by lynn, November 21, 2008 18:19:01
That statement uttered by syed hamid smacks of arrogance & cockiness; if a non-malay had said that, umno would shout, scream, insist the maker of that sentence be charged for sedition or some nonsense. every dog will have its day, and syed hamid, your day will come soon enough.
written by Sudahlah tu, November 21, 2008 19:08:12
anjing menyalak tanpa bertujuan ... itu umno.
yang penting yalakan mereka menakutkan orang melayu supaya mereka tetap memberi sokongan kepada umno ....
umno ..kalau tak berbau wang ... tak jalan projek ..
menyalak pun kena bayar ..baru ada uumph..
written by Samanyan, November 21, 2008 19:20:55
When one thinks serioulsy about the state of affairs of the malays, one tend to actually pity them as a people.

Out there, the whole world is falling over each other to run the global rat race. Population everywhere is increasing, people everywhere are becoming more enlightened, more competitive, more knowledgeable .... yet here precious resources are wasted in providing crutches from cradle to grave to a whole race.

The provision of help is fine, if it truly serves the purpose of uplifting the malays. No, that is not what seem to be happening..... after 38 years of affirmative action and billions and billions being spend on them, the malays are now where near the competitive levels they should be in.

They still require one crutch or another from cradle to grave. They would never be able to achieve the 30 percent corporate wealth earmarked under the NEP. WHY? Becaue every few years once the economy will go through some form of upheaval.... and every thing they had acomplished will be washed away... WHY? because they never really learned how to do business..... they always have big brother (the government) looking out for them.... shielding them from true competition.

The same goes for education. One can not say Matriculation and STPM are the same. If they are both of equal standards, why the need for a different system for the malays. How can anyone talk about "pertahankan maruah bangsa" when there is such a blatant abuse of the system, which shouts out to the whole world "we can not cut it in STPM ... we need an easier system".

What the malay leaders must realise is the situation they have had since 1970 is nothing more than a "window of opportunity" to uplift their race. If they misuse or squander the percious window that is available to them, history would lable them as mere PETTY POLITICIANS. Look at what LKY has to done to tiny singapore.... now that is MARUAH.

Transforming a tiny fishing island into a world class metropolis looked upon with awe and respect by the whole world .... now that is statemenship.

The period from 1970 to now may appear to be a long time by our human calcualtions, but believe me 38 years is a blink of an eye in the evolution of a race. And the surest way for any race to progress is to be thrown stark naked to the elements.... it is only through grit, determination, sweat and a sense of purpose anything of substance can be achieved by a person or a race.

If the malays wish to run the global rat race without being looked down upon, they must be prepared to throw away the 'tongkat'. No one can swing their arms and run their hearts out with a 'tongkat' in the hand. And the malays can only hold their he*** high in the company of people of other faiths and race, if they are prepared to run their hearts out. That is what MARUAH is all about.
written by DontPlayGod, November 21, 2008 19:37:51
Yes, Zaid was lucky to be born a Malay, and you Syed, Arab and Malay wannabe, you are lucky to be born in Malaysia, otherwise if you were born in West Asia, you would be amongst the terrorists bombing and killing each other.

That statement at once brings out the racist culture of UMNO. Yes, I am unlucky not to be born a Malay, or even an Arab Muslim, or not even a M_ma_k. But still the non-Malays have learned to stand firmly on their own two feet and surmounted all the discriminations, apartheid, and bias of UMNO. Together with great efforts and sacrifice from both my wife and I, we have managed to send our 3 children to twinning local colleges, and a short stint to prestigious universities abroad even up to Master's level. They will be able to cari makan in any part of the world, unlike the earthprince graduates who can only find employment in Government service, or remain jobless as nobody wants them.
written by kingelvis, November 21, 2008 20:40:25
And you YEMENI are more lucky to be classified as a malay!
Shouldn't you be fighting for Yemeni rights!
written by Old Man, November 21, 2008 21:44:12
Hamid, "Oh yes Zaid is lucky to be born a Malay"
Zaid is an educated and fair minded Malay who deserves due respect from racists like you.
Zaid is unlike those political extremists who like to intimidate others in the name of Race and Religion!
Go into the rural areas and see the number of unlucky Malays who are denied the basic needs and proper education to face the impending globalized world!smilies/shocked.gif
written by Eskay Lim, November 21, 2008 22:26:22
"Lucky to be born a Malay",.... says Bald Hamid.

How about taking some "melawat sambil belajar" trips to really visit those lucky Malays, those tilling their sawah-padi, those living in small coastal fishing villages and not to forget those real Bumiputas living in the orang asli communes.
Only then can we really know, how lucky to be born a Malay.
written by malsia1206, November 21, 2008 22:36:54
This statement coming from Syed Hamid must drive another nail to the Menteri's political career. Nothing but absolutely racialistic. A foolhardy Menteri however way you look at it and no more. It does not take any decent Malaysian to have remarked instead that Zaid was lucky to have been borned a Malaysian. It does not take you to be a genious to deduce from Syed Hamid's statement that any other Malaysian who is not a Malay must be very unlucky indeed in this screwed-up Nation. What absolute shame coming out form a Cabinet Menteri in Putrajaya. Shame on the PM too for having appointed this scum. Shame on the Barisan Government. Ver sickening indeed. I'd say it and say it again. Syed HAMID is aN INCOMPETENT person to be any Menteri at all and there is no place in Malaysian politics for him.
written by amoker, November 21, 2008 23:27:38
so, all other race other than malays are not lucky eh? maybe that is why we work hard.

yamah, so many people convert to become 'malay'. did malay not realise that their cake is being eaten from inside out? hehe
written by DontPlayGod, November 22, 2008 00:34:41
Zaid is a Kelantanese, and there is evidence that the Kelantanese are different from the other Malays in other states. And the evidence points to the fact that the Kelantanese migrated from South Vietnam many centuries ago and settled in Kelantan to escape harrassment from their northern(Vietnam) invaders. There are some historical structures built similarly to the Chams of Vietnam in Kelantan. So the Kelantanese are from a completely stock compared to the Malays in other states.
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 22, 2008 01:33:57
The statement unsurprisingly caused Umno warlords to go berserk...

typical of some Malays in UMNO to AMOK...because the tribal and primitive mentality still dates back to the 6th century...

after all the Malays got nothing..to boast about..as I said earlier they did not even invent a bidet to wash their backsides..all the while runnning to the jungle and then to a river..and they do not even have an original written language..but are borrowing the roman alphabets????

Even the Japanese who are considered the sharpest of the Asians do not claim to be Ketuanan Jepun.....cis..you dress a monkey up like a king and say Ketuanan Monyet ke?????
written by Bigjoe99, November 22, 2008 09:39:03
If Zaid Ibrahim was lucky to be born Malay, Syed Hamid literally struck the BIG lottery his father was a horny Arab in Malaya!!
written by educationist, November 22, 2008 09:42:07
"Honey, I shrunk the Indians ".. well you can add Chinese and other non-bumiputeras to the list if we go with the thrust of the article,
The OSA and the fact that the whole top hierachy consists of one race will ensure that actual statistics will not be released.
What's released are those doctored or innocent enough to serve the rulling elites' agendas.
I'm no fan of that Syed fella but he has a point when he said Zaid lucky to be born a Malay. But Zaid has shown he has transcended his race to think in terms of all Malaysians. Perhaps that Syed fella has not come to realise the fate of all Malaysians are intertwined. If no movement towards a Bangsa Malaysia is initiated, not many years down the road we may be another Lebanon in the making,
written by Jit Dharma, November 22, 2008 22:43:58
Albozo is lucky a moron like him can find work. Yes, he is a moron.
He is a lawyer and also a moron.He proves that it can be done.
That a lawyer can inhabit the same body as a moron.Have I made my
point, bloody moron!!!