Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow SPCA Selangor and DVS investigate dog-catching abuse allegations

SPCA Selangor and DVS investigate dog-catching abuse allegations PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 21 November 2008 12:57

The Society For The Prevention of Cruelty To Animals (SPCA) Selangor is working closely with the Department of Veterinary Services (DVS) to investigate recent reports alleging abuse by dog-catchers. “The reports have been pouring in, we are now investigating up to 4 local municipal councils for alleged cruelty to animals by municipal and contracted dog-catchers,” says SPCA Chairperson Christine Chin. Three out of the four incidents have been reported to the police.

Investigations probe dog-catchers jurisdiction and abusive methods

In the wake of the Turbo’s case in late September – the Jack-Russell Terrier abducted from his home by Majlis Perbandaran Sepang dog-catchers – three more reports were made to SPCA on the long-standing issue of unethical and inhumane dog-catchers in the Klang Valley.

Two weeks ago a case was reported where Majlis Perbandaran Subang Jaya (MPSJ) dog-catchers caught a stray dog and dragged it through a house gate. A witness states the dog had been beaten by the dog catchers, dragged through a 5-inch gap in the gate, and taken to the MPSJ Dog Pound in Puchong– where it was not treated for its injuries. Animal rescuers paid the compound, removed the dog and sent it to the vet for treatment the next day.

The vet report states that the dog was suffering from bleeding gums and lower lips, cut wounds and abrasions on forehead and right ear – and stated that the dog was 'clearly traumatised'. SPCA and DVS have since met with the MPSJ Health Department, and spot-checked the MPSJ Dog-Pound to survey the conditions.

A visit was also made to the vacant house  in Bandar Kinrara where the stray dog was removed from, where both the SPCA and DVS teams collected evidence - photographing the premises, taking measurements of the gate and speaking to the witness. Both the DVS and MPSJ Health Department confirmed that dog-catchers do not have the right to enter occupied private property and seize an unlicenced dog, merely because it does not have a licence. In this situation, they said that the correct course of action would be to compound the owner first.

Within days of this incident, another pet owner lodged a report with SPCA, alleging that Majlis Bandaraya Shah Alam (MBSA) dog-catchers had trespassed into her home and caught her dog, dragging it out from underneath the main gate. Attempts were made to locate the dog which was not taken to the PAWS Animal Shelter, but held by the MBSA and put to sleep three days later. The owner and an SPCA Inspector arrived during the destruction process, and were literally minutes too late to save the dog. The distraught owner made a police report immediately after leaving the pound.

Know Your Rights, Protect Your Dog

SPCA Selangor urges all dog owners and their neighbors to be vigilant, after an increasing number of reports of dog catchers breaking into homes and stealing their dogs - sometimes with force resulting to injuries to the dog. They also try and coax the dog to the fence and then snare the dog with poles and drag it outside the property. Quite often these dog catchers use the excuse that the dog is not licenced, in order to try and justify their actions. The monetary incentive is attractive, with many municipals paying them up to RM45 per dog.

The organisation reminds members of the public that in all 13 municipal councils in Wilayah Perseketuan and Selangor, dog-catchers do not have the legal authority to climb the fence and enter into your home compound, whether or not your dog has a licence. SPCA advises pet owners to challenge any dog-catcher that says they have the right to take your dog, and ask for names and a contact number of a supervisor.

“Please keep an eye on each others dogs especially when your neighbours are at work. If you see something suspicious take notes,” urges SPCA Inspectorate consultant Glyn  Roberts, formerly of RSPCA UK. “Take down the description and registration number of van, description/ uniform worn by people stealing dog, and how many of them are there. Note all actions and record details of the incident, take photos or videos of the van and people in action, and make a police report immediately,” he continues.

“Early this year, DVS had issued their Humane Management of Stray Animals Guidelines to all municipal councils in Malaysia. The basis of the guidelines are the Five Freedoms for Animals, and cover aspects like catching, transportation, housing, and euthanasia,” says Chin. “We hope that all municipals will adapt these guidelines, to ensure that all animals under their care will be treated with kindness and compassion,” she continues.

If you come across such cases of abusive dog-catchers, please notify SPCA Selangor immediately at 42565312/ 42535179 (8.30am-4.30pm) or at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it , so the organisation can compile evidence on the case and follow-up with the authorities.

For more information, please contact SPCA PR & Marketing Officer Jacinta
 at 012-2881421 or via e-mail at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Note To Editors:

•    The Society For Prevention of Cruelty To Animals (SPCA) Selangor is an NGO which serves Selangor and The Federal Territory.
•    SPCA Selangor was established in 1958, with the aim of protecting defenseless animals and alleviating their suffering.
•    The SPCA does not receive any government funding, relying entirely on donations from the public to support its services & activities.
•    The SPCA Animal Shelter & Adoption Centre at Ampang Jaya temporarily homes 300-350 unwanted animals at any one time while seeking new homes for them. The animals are made up of surrendered pets, rescued cruelty case animals and stray or abandoned animals brought in by Good Samaritans.
•    The SPCA would like to work closely with the people of Malaysia to elevate the welfare standards for our Malaysian animals – ensuring they responsibly neuter their pets, provide adequate food, space, exercise, care and medical attention, as well as encouraging them to be responsible neighbors.

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, November 21, 2008 13:32:37
Yes ,I will be a witness if they need me becos my dog Leslie was been drag with a wire loop around its neck for a few miles ,on a Honda motor bike,causing it to lose one of its eye.She was save when my neighbour chased the dog catcher and argue with them.Finally after giving some 'ang pow' they released my dog.But unfortunately it didn't survive this attack and die a week later.My children cry their eyes out and I have spent a few hundred ringgit to give it a decent burial.
written by thegodfather, November 21, 2008 13:34:10
I curse the blasted bastards. May they and those who authorised them rot in hell forever. If I were to see them doing this to any dog I will attack them, never mind the consequences. I mean it.
written by ahmadneil, November 21, 2008 13:37:05
Now if they come to catch my new dog Najis,I will catch them.I bought this dog from Amy pet shop.This is a crossbred between a Mongolian terrier and a Malaysian bull dog.It's a fierce 151 days old dog and will bite anyone who comes near.Dog catcher,try it if you dare!
written by ahmadneil, November 21, 2008 13:41:35
Dear the godfather,
If you see them doing this ,tied them with the wire that they carry and give them to the dogs.Let see how they feel!

I don't mind they come for my dog Najis but make sure they kill it decently ,by C4 it.I meant do it out of my sight.Sorry guys.
written by ahmadneil, November 21, 2008 13:59:59
The best way is when you see a dog catcher,beat him up first.This is legal,becos you can accuse them of hurting you dog and also they are thieves.Hurt a few of this bastards ,then they will give up.
written by macanhitam, November 21, 2008 14:02:11
dog catchers hate dog like they are not god's creation, and they call themself the loving muslim. suck my toe.
written by humanist, November 21, 2008 14:15:54
Kudo to SPCA for protecting the animal from cruelty. SPCA should go after dog owners as well.Not just MPSJ alone.

Let me share my story,,

Though I do not agree with the way the majlis Perbandaran treating the dog in cruel manner. But the dog owners should shoulder some responsibility as well. In particular, letting their dogs running loose around the neighborhood unguarded.

I have a very different view on this one, why let the dog running loose around the neighborhood and ended up letting the Majlis Perbandaran come and catch them ? I have a few of such Dog lovers around my neighborhood. Dog is the victim, the culprit of such abused should be pointed to the owners.

Those dogs are like gangsters , thanks to the owners for letting them running free , they brought back garbages, bags of them, all over the place.18-SX act is also a common sight, talk about doggy style as public education, having sex right outside my gate. Because they let the dog running around, my kids also not safe to be outside. Worst still, after the dog brought back garbage, the road sweeper dare not come near our area because it was just so threatening as whole group of them would just chase after poor guy, the poor postman was not spared also.

The very reason why they let the dog run around is also letting the dog do the poo-poo in other people's gate, car wheels. Yes, the the very reason of letting them out their own is because some of those dog loving owners are too lazy to clean their own dog'a poo-poo. Now, I can hardly take a decent walk without the risk of stepping onto something.

So try not to be like a saint animal lover, the dogs suffered because of your poor moral quality without considering the responsibility of being good dog owner. We used to keep dog, we had to sweep their poo-poo and make sure they are free from flea and all sort of diseases, we kept them on leash all the time inside the gate and absolutely no running around neighborhood.

Al
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 21, 2008 14:27:52
Hoi MPSJ and MPPJ!

I would like to report some dangerous pariah MCA and MIC dogs lurking around my area. These un-licensed pariah UMNO lap-dogs had been threatening the community! Please catch them and put them to sleep!
written by Steven Tan, November 21, 2008 15:02:48
Dear Brothers and Sisters,

Besides the size there's nothing much different between a DOG and a CAT. But most of the cats received a VVIP treatment from "certain people" wherelse most of the DOGS been punished by the "certain people" asthough the DOG is the enemy of the state smilies/sad.gif And the interesting part is that this "certain people" are so good whenever talk about GOD, peace, fairness and many other god behaviour...
written by Aizad 234, November 21, 2008 15:28:28
Mmm, ini saya ingin bercerita,dari penceritaan bapa saya.

Terdapat seekor anjing terbiar di luar pejabat bapa saya, di Manjung Perak. Dari mana datangnya anjing ini, tuhan saja yg tahu. Ia selalu berada di bawah ofis bapa saya(ofis kedai dua tingkat).Hampir setiap hari.

Melihat keadaan itu, bapa saya memberi ia akan makan dan secara tidak langsung ia menjaga ofis bapa saya ketika waktu malam. Kata bapa saya, anjing ini baik dan dengar kata.Memandangkan sebagai seorang Islam,bapa saya tidak menyentuhnya,mungkin sekali sekala kalau bapa saya yakin ia dalam keadaan kering.

Tiba-tiba satu hari, di waktu senja,apabila bapa saya mula beredar dari ofisnya, kedengaran bunyi 'BOOM' di belakang. Dia patah balik dan mendapati anjing itu telah mati ditembak oleh Majlis Perbandaran Manjung(saya rasalah). bapa saya bertanya , apa salah anjing ini, orang itu berkata, ini adalah tugas menghapus anjing-anjing liar. Bapa saya kata ,ini bukan anjing liar.Anjing ini dengar kata. Orang itu berkata ,anjing ini terbiar.Bapa saya kata, dia bagi makan pada anjing ini. Orang itu berkata " Tuan kena dapatkan lesen membela binatang,saya hanya menjalankan tugas".. lalu beredar dari situ.

Lalu. menjadi satu hari yg sedih utk bapa saya. Kejam betul katanya.

lalu saya tertanya, kenapa orang Islam tidak boleh membela anjing?.kenapa?. Bukankah anjing itu makhluk tuhan? Dan menurut sejarah, pengharaman berlaku apabila berlaku wabak anjing gila tika dahulu. Tapi jika anjing yang baik kesihatannya?.
written by wildflow3r, November 21, 2008 15:29:57
ahmadneil,

hahahaha thats a good one on najis yo new pet from amy pet shop..lolz
written by kkselvam, November 21, 2008 15:38:21
Cruelty to any animal cannot be tolerated. Mahathma Gandhi once said for any country's people if were to measure if they have develop, one should look at how they treat their animals.These despicable act by some town council people will sure show how far we still are in term of civilization!
written by wood, November 21, 2008 15:41:33
I pray next time these inhumane dog catchers will be born again as a stray dog !
written by unomalaysia, November 21, 2008 15:53:57
If a dogcatcher tresspass into my house to catch my dog even if he is unlicensed, he will get a taste of my steel baseball bat. I am only defending my house from unauthorised tresspasser or burglar. After that if they identify themselves as dogcatcher, I will get my lawyer to sue the shit out of them together with the Majlis.
written by macanhitam, November 21, 2008 15:57:48
Kpd Aizad,
Terharu saya mendengar cerita saudara. Kalau org muslim di malaysia bersifat seperti bapa saudara, saya yakin anjing tidak akan dilayan sedemikian. Anjing juga makhluk ciptaan tuhan dan ia tidak layak diperlakukan sebegitu. Betul anjing terbiar boleh menyebabkan penyakit anjing gila, akan tetapi kalau persepsi sebegitu menjadi fobia dikalangan orang islam, saya rasa amat salah berbuat demikian kerana semua binatang mempunyai wabak bawaannya sendiri. Manusia pun berpenyakit, apatah lagi binatang? Kalau pun umat islam was-was untuk membela anjing, membenci binatang tsb kerana ianya 'haram' sememangnya tidak perlu. Yang orang muslim patut 'fobia' sebenarnya ialah kemungkaran, ketidakadilan, rasuah dan semua kejahatan yg sewaktu denganya.
written by ahmadneil, November 21, 2008 15:58:24
What has happened to the so called human race that God had placed on this earth and blessed with intelligence and heart.How can they be so brutal on this poor harmless creatures.
There is no greatness in a nation when one treats it's animals inhumanly.
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 21, 2008 15:59:30
Aizad 234,
Eh kawan siapa kata orang Islam tidak boleh membela anjing? Hang tengok gerombolan si UMNO tu kan banyak membela anjing-anjing bergelar MCA dan MIC? Anjing-anjing ini cukup baik dan dengar kata tuan UMNO. Justeru itu, anjing-anjing ini diberi makanan baik, rumah anjing yang sangat besar dan kereta Mercedes S-Class S500 bersama pemandu sekali untuk membawa mereka mencari anjing-anjing betina di hotel mewah. smilies/grin.gif
written by thegodfather, November 21, 2008 15:59:44
If I had my way I'll string up these mfing dog-catchers naked and let the dogs go for their balls.
written by AngryTaxpayer, November 21, 2008 16:22:11
"Humanist" mentioned about dogs being allowed to roam free outside the homes by their owners.......the thing is, the few cases highlighted in the above article is about dogs being dragged thru closed gates from inside the house compound!!!! Hence the poor animals were not even being of any nuisance other than being dogs!!!

Anyway, even if the dogs that were allowed out of the houses were making a nuisance of themselves, shouldn't their owner be made reponsible first, instead of torturing the poor dogs? smilies/angry.gif
written by IbnAbdHalim, November 21, 2008 16:22:26
Want to know the stark reality regarding dogs and Malays (not all)? From the very young, Malays (of course raised up as inherited Muslims)have poor relationship with dogs. It is believed religious background but it isn't so by religious teachings.

Incident 1: A teacher (now retired) beat and killed a dog just because the dog made a mistake of entering his opened house gate in a housing garden.

Incident 2: Also a now retired teacher, poisoned a dog because it had a habit of incessant barking. The distance between the teacher's house and that of the dog is quite far. It was in another housing garden.

With the two examples above one can assume that Malays with their brought are strongly against dogs because certain scholars forbid Muslims even to touch dogs. If you see Muslims touching dogs then that person is not from the Shafiite sect (not the Imam himself). So, in Malaysia dogs are not welcomed at all to these people.

In this case perhaps those people (dog catchers) responsible for the mistreatment of dogs from the municipal councils are Malays. Can't help it?
written by Democrats, November 21, 2008 17:02:25
No surprise there, if they can treat protesters, ISA detainees and Vigil candle holders like a pariah, so i guess they treat the pariahs on the road like their parents.... Sorry to sound crude and apologies to all parents, but to treat another life form in such a manner is beyond logic, other than that person being abused or raped by their parent who is now carrying a permenant scar.
written by batsman, November 21, 2008 17:24:36
We have Doggie Rights now, when we haven't even solved the Human Rights thingy - what next?
written by nanakassim, November 21, 2008 18:06:30
With the current frenzy of renaming road names, maybe Dewan Bahasa might want to consider renaming "polis" to "anjing" so these council workers can go around nabbing unlicensed police
written by Debbie, November 21, 2008 18:13:31
I have an eight mth old foxy terrier.which I willl say is much smarter than some of the ministers in malaysia. I would rather die for a dog than to save an imbecile of a minister.

Pissed off smilies/angry.gif
written by chebella, November 21, 2008 18:35:34
i say we beat the hell out of them the dog catcher i mean and generate some big news we have to defend our four legged friends lets not take this lying down anymore
written by Mee Udang, November 21, 2008 19:09:36
Ya, dog catcher use wire loop to tie up those dogs & shot them with gun right in front of me & there's some kids around too!
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 21, 2008 20:14:53

Let's protect our little furry friends. The next time you see anyone catching or abusing animals, please don't just report to SPCA or wait until you meet the owner. Confront those cruel sadists at once and if they ignore you, take some pictures with your mobile phone and threaten these sadists with legal action. That should stop them!
written by fairnessforall, November 21, 2008 20:21:45
Dogs are better than human beings. At least they are faithful and dont bite the hand that feeds them. Instead they protect them. Those bastards who use the wire loop on the dogs should have the wire loops put around their neck and be dragged for miles. Lets see how they like a taste of their own medicine. Such bastards should also be put to sleep by injection just as how they do it to the dogs. God reading this makes me so angry, I can almost feel the pain the dog goes through.
written by lynn, November 21, 2008 20:36:52
It's the quality of the people in this country. They are worse than animals themselves.
These people are the dregs of society; they are so lowly, like trash.

I have seen how cruel they treat stray dogs, it's unbearable to look. They use a wire loop-like hook & forcibly dragged the howling dog. And then they beat the shit out of the defenceless dog.

Why is this so happening in this pathetic country?
These people, they are so pathetic: they beat the dogs which they caught.

They derive pleasure, fun and laughter from seeing their efforts resulted in serious injuries to these stray dogs. If you witness this, ask yourself - are these people humans?

It's our education system and religious teachings play a role.

When I was in school, the dog shooters shot a lovely stray dog we adopted as hundreds of pupils looked on. We cried, buried the dog in our garden. The govt allowed this cruelty to flourish. To this day, NOTHING has been done to stop this cruelty.. we are indeed a third world country.

Someone shld record all these cruelty on videocam & show it to the world!!! Make sure you tell the world this is happening in Malaysia.
Up

written by Gargamel, November 21, 2008 21:16:51
Aizad, touching story. Your father is a good man.
written by dassky2000, November 21, 2008 22:09:45
This happned in 1996. While the Petronas Twin Towers was under construction. A spanish staff brought his dog, a young coolie from Spain. They were staying along jalan Ampang. He was at work and the maid left the gate unlocked the dog wondered out. The SPCA workers caught the dog and took it to their station and later the same day within hours gave it to some chinese strangers who was following the SPCA vehicle all the way.

My friend was so heart broken and was very very furious with the actions of SPCA staff whoo did not bother at all to give it some time , like a day or two for the real owner to come claiming for the dog.

The dog had a micro chip in it's body at that time.

It was a sad experiance for him in Malaysia.
written by peter, November 21, 2008 23:30:21
A picture tells a thousand words.. what about three pictures?

So why are they so mean to dogs, man's best friend?
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 22, 2008 00:40:22
Peter,

Thatz because some of us wanna look more Muslim than Muslims. These Bolehsians portray their religious piety outwardly but inside, they are rotten to the core and stinks like Najis!
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 22, 2008 01:44:40
This picture is Arabia..the Holy Land..the land of the prophet.so the prophet did not condemn dogs? I hear some of them have pedigrees too and not one at least a dozen? that is why I say again.Here some Malays still have primitive mentality and the sad part is they are leaders for the Malays in politics and religion. It is a good thing that the dogs cannot talk. they just might ask "adA OTAK KE????
written by Aizad 234, November 22, 2008 02:02:29
To MalaysiaBaru;

jgn lupa sebut 'anjing with badges'. ha ha smilies/cool.gif
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 22, 2008 03:49:45
Dear Aizad 234,

My apologies for leaving those loyal anjing out. Owe u a beer (non-alcoholic) Heehe smilies/wink.gif
written by rpremkumar2u, November 22, 2008 22:49:07
Dog catchers do not have any right to enter anyone's house to catch the canine. Just as a car re-possessor doesnt have any right to forcibly retrieve a car that has defaulted on its loan repayments, by entering the premises of the residence where the car is located.
written by DreamLady, November 23, 2008 06:35:30
without reading further, I am able to single out the culprit instantly, the Hantu Toyol's hands are at work again. This time he comes up with doggy-trick to incite the public further , and he thinks as long as he keeps trying hard, eventually he could regain his throne as Selangor's menteri besar again...

Hey, Si Toyol, dream on.........there is no place under the sun for pengkhianat bangsa, and pengkhianat negara. YOu have sucked more than enough blood from Rakyat of Selangor, the best place for you is eternal Hell !!!