WTF is the Opposition PDF Print
Monday, 21 January 2008 14:59
It must be over  six  weeks since I wrote pleading with the Opposition Parties to get their act together and come up with an election platform which would be appealing  to Malaysians {mosgoogle right} And what  have we got so far??.... Almost nothing!

DAP have come up with some wonderfully imaginative scheme to dump the mega projects and use the money to subsidise the cost of fuel.  Buying votes in the manner of BN is what  I called that.  Cant you get it into your heads that the the subsidies are paid for by the people... so you have a situation where the rubber tapper in his kampong riding his small motorbike is subsidising the fat cat in his fuel guzzling Mercedes as he  sits in the traffic jam of KL with his aircon going full blast.  The fact that most progressive governments have dumped the idea of subsidies should be a hint as to where you should be heading.
Basically you are playing the BN game under rules dictated by them

Then today I got a  circular in the mail from Tony Pua bemoaning the Islamisation of Malaysia.  Once again you are playing BN's game.... this time its the  game of divide and conquer.   Do you really think that you will sway any Malay voters away from BN using those sorts of tactics?  Anyway religion has no place in the governance any country and you would be doing Malaysia a great service by staying well away from that topic

To put it mildly you are showing the same lack of  forward thinking, lack of  imagination and lack of motivation that is the hallmark of the present government

PKN is doing slightly better with high sounding phrases like "stimulating the economy" bla bla bla.  But how???.  To my mind you talk to Malaysians as though they were a lot of kampong dwellers waiting for the next crop of durians to fall.  Do you really think the voters are so naive as to vote for your warm and fuzzy... and vague promises?

It seems to me, in Opposition, you have the easiest job on earth... Just about everything the present  government has touched is rotten to the core.  I'm sure there are plenty of 'experts' out there who can tell you how the improve the situation.  All you have to do is choose the best option.

And then let the electorate know.

At the moment if you gather any extra votes they will be votes AGAINST the Government, not votes FOR the Opposition.  Because from where I sit you provide nothing to vote FOR

Dennis Madden
written by ghondoruwo, January 21, 2008 15:32:09
"It seems to me, in Opposition, you have the easiest job on earth... Just about everything the present government has touched is rotten to the core."

Agree with you on this. It's easy to downplay any of those BN's acts (hey, even my maid made a bad comment about BN's policies). Where is the concrete plan for a better government? The Opposition have to SHOW us (the voters)this, not just TELLING what the current government does wrong(almost everyone knows this already). Until this is done, I guess there will be just more votes AGAINST BN rather than FOR the Opposition.
written by Spear Bing, January 21, 2008 15:46:26
Dear Dennis,

You have to understand these Opposition politicians have not taken up a political science course,neither have they read Tsun Zu's Art of War to be armed with political acumen and strategy to deal with this coming GE. Their ignorance of the 'Big Picture' or the 'helicopter view' of the political landscape and the 'push and pull' factors will have adverse impact on their performances during the coming election.

Just hope they will come to their senses and come out with a plan of action.
written by Wisdom above, January 21, 2008 15:59:44
' Malaysia For Malaysians '

This should be the manifesto.

Remember, events happened yesterday and today were all illogical.

' Malaysia For Malaysians '
written by Taikohtai, January 21, 2008 17:08:42
Walao! This Madden fella sure can 'taroh' the opposition but he has not even come up with any idea of his own on how to beat BN himself. Go to any kopitiam in Malaysia and everybody's an expert.
So before you go on berating others, please list down your own 10 points and let us bloggers see if you have any solid ideas to offer. Otherwise, you are Mr ArmchairCritic at best, to be found in all kedai mamak.
written by FFT, January 21, 2008 17:09:19
The fact that most progressive governments have dumped the idea of subsidies should be a hint as to where you should be heading.

DAP is cursed to play the tune that the majority of voters will respond to. Having elements of socialism within the party certainly doesn't help them at all either.

Subsidies result in creating the perfect condition for overconsumption and overbreeding. Too much breeding then results in ever more consumption by those afflicted with the subsidy mentality, which then requires the subsidies to increase exponentially to cover the habit of these new "druggies".

All subsidies should be removed cold turkey, and the population should be allowed to reach equilibrium naturally. You will also solve many other issues this way...for starters your Mat Rempit problem will be a thing of the past.
written by cruzeiro, January 21, 2008 17:45:43
A lot of the dramatics that go on are planned by the "trojans", who will be "rewarded" accordingly. Almost None of them, (save a few who get kicked out), are passionate about nation-building. For them, national Politics is an avenue for bread and butter. Period.
(The rest, are more interested in religious psycho-babble and the afterlife, while they ignore modern economics, philosophy and political science, to cater to those weirdos who admire the life in the barbaric middle-ages - to these guys the solutions all point towards going back in time. There isn't much you can say about/ to these guys ....)

The Malaysian opposition is infested with "Kampung footballers" in the "level playing field and rules" provided for by their "masters".

They just wannabe "able to kick the ball as hard and as far" as they can - they really don't even care where the ball goes, nor do they care if they can even score to win.

All that matters is that the "kampung" crowd can cheer, when they give their opponent a black eye once in a while - they have settled for the "fact" that they are just destined to be opposition, and that is the only role that they wish to fulfill.

For that matter, the ruling party is filled with a bunch of millionaire "geniuses", with amazing thinking skills as well ....
written by hiro, January 21, 2008 18:00:06
The opposition did have a manifesto back in 1999. But DAP got burnt by voters because of BN propaganda that DAP supports Islamic State. I find criticism against DAP rather surprising, considering that they have come up with an alternative budget, which conceptualises Malaysian economy going forward by concentrating on education, public safety and ethical values - far better than the spending orgy of BN.

And it's funny. Just because you posted something in Malaysia Today does not mean all opposition parties have to respond to you. Why don't you write straight to LKS, DSAI and Haji Awang? Some DAP and Keadilan leaders are also accessible through facebook - give it a try and one of them will surely reply as to why your idea may work, won't work or now is not the time yet.

By the way, the opposition can't give away too much can they? Opppositions are never required to give away too much details. They are not in government. They may not have all the facts. But you can choose to trust them on the principles that they will employ when they lead.

Some of them have been around long enough you know they have never been swayed by the winds of change. These are principled people, that I would respect more than those currently in power, to have been proven to say one thing and do another. In a contest of credibility, I'd rather trust parties like DAP compared with UMNO or MCA.
written by non-supporter-of-opposition, January 21, 2008 18:01:21

Just cut the crap.

The objective next GE is not to elect an alternative government. Anyone who fear to vote for opposition or independent for fear of those jokers becoming givernment - don't fear, it'll never happen, so just vote for the most promising non-BN candidate.

The objective is to reduce BN unnecessarily big majority which result in the arrogance that we see today.

When the BN politicians ask you to go eat shit, you can choose to vote for someone else. or just eat it, just keep in mind that you'll be asked to do something wrose next time!

written by navascope, January 21, 2008 18:31:37
The message is clear and sound and loud. Opposition parties get to work instead of whining, whining, whining ............... and whining. PLS give the RAKYAT solution, solution, solution,............and SOLUTION. As Dennis just said, they have the easiest job in the world, PLS get some work done for us to be confident just to begin with. In fact, Dennis is absolutely right on this .... "At the moment if you gather any extra votes they will be votes AGAINST the Government, not votes FOR the Opposition. Because from where I sit you provide nothing to vote FOR." At least and of all people, PAS is trying to get their act right despite the fact many are saying they face a deadly situation in their fottress Kelantan. Well as Raja Petra had wrote earlier...this is the opposition's best chance. the time has come for them to show us they are worth....WE ARE WAITING>>>>>>>>>>
written by Dogboy, January 21, 2008 18:53:44
The whole idea of voting for the opposition is to wipe the arrogant smug of the BN face. Understandably, the opposition have a lack of experience in govt and do not have sufficient govt data to make informed pre-election policies but the idea is to let all politicians know that our vote cannot be taken for granted.

If BN is voted back in office, then they will be saying to themselves, in the face of Bersih, Hindraf and the ferocious opposition from communities like Malaysia Today and Malaysiakini, they are still given a mandate to run the country, then nothing from here on in can stop them and as Mahathir implied "I am corrupt, so you vote for me I assume you want me to be more corrupt lah"
written by RichPoon, January 21, 2008 19:16:41
the role of the opposition in any country is to oppose....here they are unlike to win governmemt...their sole aim is to reduce the government's 2/3 majority in parliment...their main role is to keep those bn goons honest.
written by densemy, January 21, 2008 21:05:37
Taikohtai and hiro

I have been involved in ongoing correspondence with DAP regarding my thoughts on their approach.
I would dearly love you make some suggestions as to what should be done, but as a non Malaysian I think that job should be left to you guys, and I'll stick to my armchair

But since you asked smilies/wink.gif
My suggestion is for the Opposition to develop a Shadow Ministry where each "Minister" would have a good working knowledge of his portfolio and the changes he would make if elected. Those changes should be combined to make up the Opposition Manifesto. A manifesto that will show the voters that you have your finger on the pulse of government and you know where you are going

At this stage never promise anything that you aren't 200% sure that you can deliver. For example you would be cutting your own throat to promise to bring down the crime rate when poverty and the police force are in their present state

But there are many many things you can promise and on which you can deliver which wont cost a cent but will liberate the Malaysian people ... abolish the ISA and all other draconian legislation. Abolish the Universities Act and any other acts designed to repress the people. Lift the restrictions on Press Freedom... and I could go on and on and on
written by aiyomanaboleh, January 22, 2008 03:19:41
The opposition must hit middle ground, emphasize the common grounds and consolidate from there. What we are always hearing is, with the help of the MSM, the differences of the opposition and how they are so fragmented in their approach.

For a fence sitter like me, it is sometimes quite difficult to understand the message behind the opposition's story. Are they trying to tell me that it can still work without compromising?.

There will be differences, even husbands and wives have them but at least work on the pluses rather than the minuses. Election is round the corner and there is not much time.
written by cancan, January 22, 2008 21:29:23
I have felt the same for quite sometime,ie.wtf have the opposition parties being doing when knowing very well election is around the corner ?

Whatever is in their plans,I would like to suggest(not to teach)some ideas for the the election campaign.

1) The Medias
The opposition parties can never beat the BN in this area.
I have suggested before and would like to suggest again.Please compile all the wrongdoings of the BN government into a VCD and distribute it to the people to judge for themselves.It is an effective and cheap means to channel info to the voters.
Please ensure the compilations are stimulating enough to create a demand for the VCD,akin to Chua Soi Lek style.

2) Looks good formula
As usual,the BN has created a look good feeling for the people.
We can see the goodies coming one by one from them-money for Chinese and Indian schools,5.8% dividend for EPF,public holiday for Thaipusam.
It is the duty of all true Malaysians to educate the people not to fall into this trap of the BN.
Goodies and money can blind a person.

3) Manipulation
Beware of this dirty tactic of the BN !
Najib has mentioned that BN will not rig the election.
However,there is high possibility that it can cheat the election.It can also bluff in the election.And not forgetting it can also tipu in the election.So you see,as the saying goes,there are many ways to skin a cat.
So be forewarn !
If possible,maybe you can invite some international observers to deter rigging.Maybe cheating is a better word.

4) Solidarity
The country is in shambles.From the police to the judiciary and from the immigration to education,all are going dysfunctional.
There are high crime rates,full of corruptions in the police force and judiciary,immigrants are swamping the country and our education system is going backward.
All opposition parties must show solidarity to fight a common cause for the people,regardless of race.
And the fight is to displace the BN and 'rebuilt' the country social and economic structure to defend against globalization.

5) Lastly but not the least.
Please use this tag line for the election campaign:

The BN has destroyed the future one generation,please vote to safeguard the future of our next generation.

To all bloggers,please make a pledge together.

"We,the true rakyat of Malaysia who are frustrated of this sickening BN government,pledge to educate as many fellow Malaysians as possible to displace this sickening government and vote the opposition parties to safeguard our future in our belove country."

written by Wisdom above, January 23, 2008 22:39:53
'Malaysian Love Malaysian '..

....written by Spear Bing, January 21, 2008 | 15:46:26
Dear Dennis,

You have to understand these Opposition politicians have not taken up a political science course,neither have they read Tsun Zu's Art of War to be armed with political acumen and strategy to deal with this coming GE. Their ignorance of the 'Big Picture' or the 'helicopter view' of the political landscape and the 'push and pull' factors will have adverse impact on their performances during the coming election.

Just hope they will come to their senses and come out with a plan of action....

A simple exposition , well explained in few words .
The new era politicians must be awakened to acknowledged the negative effect.
Hence , should be proactive and to adopt all positive approach and strategies.

Remember, all events happened yesterday and today were all illogical.

' Malaysian Love Malaysian '.