Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Where Should UM Be Headed To?

Where Should UM Be Headed To? PDF Print
Friday, 21 November 2008 11:44

Translated by DOMINIC LOH/Sin Chew Daily

Since Professor Datuk Dr Ghauth Jasmon took over as Universiti Malaya's vice chancellor this month, he has on several occasions stressed that he would lead the country's premier university into the league of the world's top 200.

It has been learned that the university authorities have in place a draft to enhance academic researches. We welcome the new vice chancellor's resolution to come up with solid development plans that will entail the university's future software engineering development.

Among the more substantial solutions outlined in the draft are:

1. Hire renowned scholars from within and without the country to conduct researches in UM;

2. Recruit international students for its Masters and PhD programmes;

3. Encourage first degree honours holders to return to alma mater for postgraduate studies.

4. Establish a dedicated committee to monitor the researches of academic staff.

From this we can observe a few major points: the percentage of UM teaching staff with PhD degrees will be increased from 48% to 60%; PhD holders from Malaysia and abroad are treated with equitable importance; as well as the enhancement of cross-border cooperation, among others.

From the four solutions above and the three major reform directions, we can see that the plan offered by UM has to a certain extent taken care of some of the academic issues the university is currently encountering, while the solutions offered have been equally pragmatic.

First and foremost, the government should play a pivotal role if the academic environment were to be really enhanced. Besides resolution and determination, the allocation of funds and drafting of long and short-term solutions, another indispensable factor that the government must not overlook is that the university authorities must genuinely respect knowledge and academic dignity, including the trust in the right of knowledge and intellectuals. They must come to the full recognition of the absolutely independent nature of academic researches as well as the dignity of intellectuals, and must not intervene or distort the creation and accumulation of knowledge based on political and administrative considerations, even to disrupt the independent thinking of intellectuals.

We must be aware that a vibrant and high quality academic environment can only be anticipated provided that it comes under a liberal and democratic socio-political system.

To be frank, the ministry of higher education is currently holding very fallacious definitions of academy and knowledge. Instant panacea has been sought. On the one hand, the vice chancellor has been replaced in order to save the day after UM has dropped out of the world's top 200 universities. On the other hand, academic research results have also been exploited to perpetuate sectionalism and exclude dissident viewpoints.

Such acts of distorting knowledge, whether long term or short term, will have a negative bearing on the promotion of a conducive academic environment. Once the academic environment and dignity of knowledge are trashed, the helplessness and indifference on the part of intellectuals will then become inevitable, while a liberal, proactive and lively academic environment will become out of reach.

Secondly, while talents and funds are prerequisites in the inculcation of excellent academic quality and conducive environment, the integrity and reformation of the system are perhaps even more crucial.

There are at least a few major serious systemic problems entailing the country's academic research environment:

1. Improper personnel promotion channel: inequality in the allocation of teaching contents and R&D opportunities between experienced teaching staff and the younger ones, which is unfavourable to the hiring of high-calibre academicians from overseas;

2. Inadequate academic evaluation system in which outsiders are often made to assess the insiders, or the evaluation of academic quality being swayed by personal preferences;

3. The lack of good administrative leaders. While there are many eyeing the administrative posts, few have the far-sight, innovation or determination to promote the academic environment. This, coupled with political intervention, has further hampered the progress of top brains while indirectly emboldening conservative and compromising acts.

Moreover, there seems to be only one fundamental reason for the discussion of the adjustments to university curricula by the government and society in recent years, that is to address the increasingly serious issue of educational joblessness, while producing that kind of people required by the society.

Many graduates today are either unable to find jobs at all or jobs that could put what they have learned into application. And adjustment of university currcicula has become a problem that the newly appointed vice chancellor will have to face.

In the past many would tend to see academic studies as the ivory tower and had little idea of the academic activities carried out in the institutions of higher learning.

With UM now making the ambitious move to offer some reform solutions, it is believed that the university would lead the country's academic development with the government's pledged financial allowances.

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by JohnQ, November 21, 2008 11:51:45
Into kentuckey phD scrolls factory! Oops!!!! Sorry, typo mistake
written by justice, November 21, 2008 11:53:02
I would like to propose one more substantial solution if UM is to improve its ranking: Sack the deadwood professors! Will UMNO allow this to happen?

Follow the link below to find out more juicy stories: smilies/wink.gif

http://educationmalaysia.*****...inted.html
written by san amin, November 21, 2008 11:59:35
common guys! enough already with this obsession on professor doctor dato watever titles.
written by densemy, November 21, 2008 12:10:36
"First and foremost, the government should play a pivotal role if the academic environment were to be really enhanced"

Excuse me??? But isnt this the prime reason Malaysian Universities have degraded to the level that exists now

written by densemy, November 21, 2008 12:17:07
I also think the author should go back to school.

The title should read: WHERE SHOULD UM BE HEADED
(Thank you. Error corrected - nk)

... and see if you can work out what the following passage means:

"Moreover, there seems to be only one fundamental reason for the discussion of the adjustments to university curricula by the government and society in recent years, that is to address the increasingly serious issue of educational joblessness, while producing that kind of people required by the society."
written by arazak, November 21, 2008 12:19:44
Whatever Plan or “blueprint” they have now as long as the admission are based on Ketuanan UMNO and not based on meritocracy than it will still be GIGO, Garbage in Garbage Out.
written by wood, November 21, 2008 12:21:23
Questions? Are we serious, honest,dedicated,..... and doing it right the first time? Encouraging first degree holders to return?? Example : Good and excellent students from Malaysia have already being given scholarships and loan to study elsewhere ( you know where?) and quickly given PR and what are we doing here?? You think people will want to come back? smilies/wink.gif Anyway let's hope and dream on ! No harm anyway.
written by JohnQ, November 21, 2008 12:26:02
Next year he will present another "longest" project !

Longest 'Spicey Hot sausages", long enougn to reach Mongolia, for his boss to close ranks and ties with the poor girl motherland !
written by A MI, November 21, 2008 12:33:45

written by densemy, November 21, 2008 12:17:07
I also think the author should go back to school.

BEHEADED indeed ..that is what local universities should be reminded..shape up or be axed smilies/grin.gif
The title should read "Where should UM be heading to now?"
written by temenggong, November 21, 2008 12:43:06
Please don't waste time with all these analysis on how to improve the local universities. It will all come to nothing.

Apart from freeing the universities from govt regulations, the end result is that non malay VCs have to be appointed to make the difference. Because a malay VC can never buckle the political pressure, just like the previous VC. A non malay would be committed to academic excellence but most malay would compromise to race and religious demands. It is as simple as that.

Now consider the private universities, their VCs, visiting professors and their twinning programes! Any problem of their graduates getting a job and moving on with their careers? See the rankings for Monash University and compare it with Malaysian universities.

Same thing in the schools. Race and religion stands between us and educational excellence. And this very thing keeps the vast majority of malays trapped in mediocrity.

Anyone can head a university and not necessarily a scholar. The head of Harvard is a corporate man, not an academic!
written by RumahPanjai, November 21, 2008 13:26:35
The VC's is a day dreamer. His remedies are so shallow and bordering on arificial insermination. UM might plunge to the bottom 500 when he's done. He's not solving the roots of the problem. Plugging the symptoms doesn't work. Stop race and gender polarisation should be his first step to stop this rot. Entry to UM based on quota will only obstruct academician from venturing into his feudalistic campus.
written by Msian Idol3, November 21, 2008 14:01:46
Aiya VC bodoh -- 35 yrs ago my parents refused to send me to the local varsity. He cited no standard & I got my butt kick to go overseas to be moulded in a competitive environment. I thank them for their foresightsand working their butts out to send me overseas. In my working career I progress very fast & I could note the differences in standards betweeen locally trained graduates & overseas ones like from Australia, NZ,Canada & UK or where meritocracies & freedom to express were emphasized. S'pore trained graduates don't usually come back to Msia. Right now, most non malays don't even want to be enrolled in local universities. Even my ex-classmate who is a malay professor tells me he is so fed up that local univ keeps on recruiting more low quality students & as such nothing else he can teach them(brain dead) but to award them a pass grade so that he don't get into "political" trouble. So Bodoh VC, your simple solutions would never make it big -- like where can U get high quality students & instructors where U are bound by Ketuhunan mindset of our stupid politicians in government.
written by krising1, November 21, 2008 14:02:20
No time frame to see results. Another project by the BN government to suck rakyat's money.
written by cheekhiaw, November 21, 2008 14:50:07
Malaysia should send its idiotic hare-brained education minister to go round the world (deleted)and tell everyone to rate them at the top by virtue of his special rights to be there. That would be a whole lot easier.
written by EYFF, November 21, 2008 14:56:13
Once upon a time University Malaya was among the top 50!
The University is afflicted with academia inbreeding besides dumbing down to cater for third rate students!
If they cannot see the problems then there is no solution.
Or perhaps they are not honest enough to admit the "faults" ?
written by Qcumber, November 21, 2008 15:03:39
Instead of

The title should instead read: WHY SHOULD UM BE HEADED ?

written by EYFF, November 21, 2008 15:24:54
Where Should UM Be Headed To?
-----------------------------------------------------

Maybe consigned to the dustbin?
written by renoir, November 21, 2008 15:28:10
densemy wrote:
>I also think the author should go back to school]]

Densemy, read carefully. It's a translation. Also, for a Chinese-language daily, it isn't doing too badly. Carefully scan the "English" dailies and you'll see howlers as well.

written by densemy, November 21, 2008 16:46:12
renoir... I did take into account the fact that it was a translation. Is that an excuse for the gibberish and poor grammar that I quoted??

Malaysians of all persuasions are forever ready with excuses to tolerate mediocrity
written by PeacefulMalaysia, November 21, 2008 17:11:23
Hello new VC

The university needs more Indians and Chinese so that the standard can be raised No need for foreigners - We "PENDATANG" malaysians will do it for you
written by mikewang, November 21, 2008 17:14:17
Confucius says ...

"If you want to do well in exams, do remember to study and understand the syllabus."
written by batsman, November 21, 2008 17:43:58
Temenggong - I agree - academics make the lousiest VCs. Unfortunately Malaysian academics enjoy a good power struggle to the detriment academic activities. heehee
written by Debbie, November 21, 2008 18:02:59
I like the question.
written by MalaysianFirst, November 21, 2008 19:39:45
Let’s look at Professor GH’s grandiose plan to lead MU back into the Top 200.

He says that, in order to achieve that, he proposes the following:
1. Hire renowned scholars from within and without to conduct research in MU
2. Recruit international students for the Masters and PhD programs
3. Encourage first degree (honors) Malaysians to return to do postgraduate studies
4. Establish a dedicated committee to monitor the researches of academic staff

Before we even begin to shoot him in the head, let’s accept the fact that MU is not even a second-class university. We are third-class, at best.

Hire renowned scholars
You cannot expect to achieve this because world-class scholars, by their own achievements, will not want to be associated with a third-class university while our own scholars of world-class quality have already left the country to join prestigious universities outside of Malaysia long since the government’s “Malays first, no matter what” education policy began thirty years ago.

Recruit International Students
By the same token, without world-class academic staff, do not expect any serious interest among international students to do their Masters and/or PhD here.

Encourage Malaysians to return
Let’s not kid ourselves. Malaysians, particularly the non-Malays who had obtained their “honors” first degree, in Malaysia or elsewhere, are unlikely to return to do their postgraduate studies here. It’s all about recognition. Why would anyone want to do their postgraduate studies at a university that is not in the 200 ranking when they already have an “honors” first degree?

Establish a dedicated committee
Who is this so-called “dedicated committee”? Made up of UMNO politicians? To monitor the standard of research work of “renowned” academic staff? You must be joking.

Let’s be honest. All these rhetoric about doing this and that is plain bullshit. All these years MU had never reformed. It had deformed. To arrest the declining standard of MU you must bring back meritocracy. Nothing else will work. For a start we need to show the world that MU has INTEGRITY. Mirror what the Top 100 is doing and take it from there. If the weak students cannot cope, so be it. If they happen to be Malays, so be it. Only students with brains (not race or skin color) should graduate. Period.

If we do that, in time the global education fraternity will see that MU only recognizes quality and not quantity. Then Points 1, 2 and 3 will slowly evolve. International scholars will come, foreign students will come and Malaysians will return. You will not need Point 4 as our academics’ research WILL be recognized.

But of course I know you will not do it because Malay is still everything.
written by raven1958, November 21, 2008 19:51:01
Does Jasmon have the (deleted) to get rid of the UM's deadwood.The biggest piece of deadwood UM has currently is Rafiah's bag carrier, Prof Datok, etc etc Amin Jalaludin. This fella can’t string a sentence in proper English and is yet the University's Deputy Vice Chancellor for Academics! How in God's name is UM going to improve.The medical faculty he used to head is dead and gone he made certain of it and just to make sure he doesn’t loose his power base he has appointed his half baked cronies to run the show including some Islamic radicals.The medic faculty with it's haphazard development and ghost buildings looks like is firmly going to be buried 6 feet under. It used to be UM's crown jewel but now with it's unwritten policy that all staff right from attendant till Matron must be Malay has destroyed the University's once prestigious name. The hospital itself has become a playground for UMNO’s cronies to make money from some really idiotic development projects.The Minister of Education must be praised for wanting to do something to raise the standards of UM but it is crucially important at this time that he must support and not abandon Jasmon. The real battle in improving UM's standard's lie in getting rid of it's deadwood The Minister must help Jasmon in getting rid of these jokers who are just hanging on to UM and dragging it to the grave.perhaps the Minister should have buckled the trend and taken a cue from Selangor MB, Khalid and appointed a non Malay.but still Jasmon may be a good compromise.
written by renoir, November 21, 2008 22:08:42
written by densemy:
> I did take into account the fact that it was a translation.]]

No, you didn't. Here's what you said:
>I also think the author should go back to school]]

You said the AUTHOR, not the translator. A slip in close reading that even a college freshman ought not make.

written by citizenmy, November 21, 2008 23:30:31
"written by MalaysianFirst, November 21, 2008 19:39:45

Let’s be honest. All these rhetoric about doing this and that is plain bullshit. All these years MU had never reformed. It had deformed. To arrest the declining standard of MU you must bring back meritocracy. Nothing else will work. For a start we need to show the world that MU has INTEGRITY. Mirror what the Top 100 is doing and take it from there. If the weak students cannot cope, so be it. If they happen to be Malays, so be it. Only students with brains (not race or skin color) should graduate. Period."

Those are the kind of approach must be taken, if we are sincerely want MU to move further in this globalised world. Else, the results will be worthless paper factory.

Even u guys can offer a seat with full scholarship in this MU, i will make sure my kids dont enter this worthless paper factory.
written by goman2k3, November 22, 2008 00:11:58
MU is a excellent example of NEP by Umno, Malay first for everything. Double standard for entrance and exam producing poor quality graduates who later become professor in 10 years. In overseas universities even in the lower range, lecturers are only awarded associate professor not earlier than 20 years of research and lecturing. Our friend is already full professor in last than 15 years and now a VC in less than 30 years. Clearly there is a lack of a pool of qualified Malay educationist a by product of UMNO boleh. Maybe I am wrong he is an outstanding one. Eevn if he is the one it will take another 50 years to get MU back to the good old days.
written by HamChak, November 22, 2008 00:19:37
No need to bring MU back to top 200.
If you do that mana boleh? Then BUMiputera may not
be admitted lor. Not fair to them, mah
Just let it be, let MU and Malaysia rot away.
Jatoh standard, OK. As long as we have 90% of Bodoh there.
That's what Mahathir wanted, mah.
written by Aizad 234, November 22, 2008 02:31:53
PhD stands for Permanent Head Damage, not Philosophy Doctor