Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow The real reason prestigious Egyptian university rejected local students

The real reason prestigious Egyptian university rejected local students PDF Print
Friday, 21 November 2008 11:43

PUTRAJAYA (nst): The decision by Egypt's Al Azhar University to cancel its memoranda of understanding with 18 local colleges was due to the consistently poor performance of their students.

Higher Education Minister Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin said the government was in no position to negotiate with the prestigious university.

"They have been unhappy with the quality of our students for some time now. This is not a political issue, as some parties are trying to portray.

"These colleges, which have had their MoU with Al Azhar cancelled, are not only from the opposition states but also from Johor and Malacca," he said when asked about a memorandum sent by the Pas Central Youth Council to the prime minister yesterday, urging the government to intervene in the issue of the cancelled MoUs.

Khaled said students currently studying at Al Azhar under the MoUs would be allowed to finish their courses. But, Al Azhar will not be accepting new intakes from these colleges.

It was reported that over 70 per cent of Malaysian students taking Islamic studies at the university had failed their exams.

This is the main reason behind the university's decision to cancel the MoUs.

The university was also unhappy with some Malaysian students' inability to grasp the Arabic language, which had caused them to be held back for 10 years, when they should be completing their course in four.

There are about 4,000 Malaysian students in Egypt. Most of them are at Al-Azhar.

Comments (48)Add Comment
written by san amin, November 21, 2008 11:54:39
whyyy?!!! we have the best brains,especially us the malays. we know n understand more about islamic religion than u arabs. nevermind,we dont need your prestigious al azhar cos we got the best here...UITM etc.
disagree 21
agree 233
written by mansel, November 21, 2008 11:55:26
70% is alot... now try nigeria university.. hey they are islamic university too!
agree 156
written by Proarte, November 21, 2008 11:55:28
Why should tax payers subsidise lazy low achievers in courses which bring no economic benefit to the nation?

agree 208
written by oct, November 21, 2008 11:59:27
It seems our best students is not the best after all. With a failure rate of over 70%, this is a shame on our education system. Soon other universities will follow and our students will be left with only our local universities to enroll. Bolehland has always said our students are the best. Kampung style!! Not world class. It is high time we take stock on our education system. No wonder we have plenty of local graduates but unemployed. Whether it is English or Arabic, it must taught by experienced teachers. No two way about it. Our teachers are all HP6 like the Govt ministers. Pity our students. Change the Govt and we will improve!!
agree 117
written by 1351, November 21, 2008 12:02:32
At an attrition rate of 70%, translates to 2800 students on perpetual extended summer vacation borne by taxpayers. Time for the enemies of Islam in M'sia to initiate 'projek' Universiti Islam Al UMNO, Putar Raya and graduate all 2800 plus all subsequent intakes to lord over Al Azhar.

written by densemy, November 21, 2008 12:02:44
Prestigious??? Where got Prestigious???
[edited by St Low for anti-religious statement]

Lesothans think the University of Lesotho is prestigious.

.. and now even the universities from Islam-land are rejecting Malaysian students

How tragic is that??
written by temenggong, November 21, 2008 12:05:15
hahahahahahha! I just don't know what to say, except that these people really give us a laugh! Even the Egyptians are laughing at us. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by arazak, November 21, 2008 12:05:41
Bring them back and put them in UiTM. . .,that is where their standards are!
agree 142
written by ylcc, November 21, 2008 12:08:21
Hush, everyone ... we are innocent now, because this time it is a foreign Muslim country questioning the quality of the students! So no comments .....
written by IbnAbdHalim, November 21, 2008 12:20:42
written by san amin, November 21, 2008 11:54:39

whyyy?!!! we have the best brains,especially us the malays. we know n understand more about islamic religion than u arabs. nevermind,we dont need your prestigious al azhar cos we got the best here...UITM etc.
======================================================= ==========================

For whatever is meant, it's actually what it meant. The Malays had a notion that they're better off than the Arabs coming to religious knowledge. And coming to Arabic, well, what actually happened back in Malaysia just happened in the U's in Egypt. They Malay are just to proud of their language.

In our schools, the Malays are adamant about their language. They refuse to speak English in an English class. So the poor teacher had to use the translation method to get to the students as opposed to the non-Malays. Their refusal is simply because they are afraid that they might make mistakes and that's a great shame to them.
written by Taikohtai, November 21, 2008 12:36:07
Q: Where do these failed students end up?
A: JAKIM
agree 128
written by miwaki, November 21, 2008 12:45:00
Its about time the prestigeous university learns from Malaysia how to churn out mediocre graduates just to satisfy certain political party.Malaysia each year produces tons of students with ridiculous numbers of straight A in SPM and STPM but cannot construct a proper sentence in English.
written by jshing2158, November 21, 2008 13:05:11
My My My. Guess Najis and gang now has to reinvent their recent rhetoric and proud pronouncement of Malaysia as a center of education. What a joke. Malaysia Bolek ?
written by rocky, November 21, 2008 13:12:53
70%!!! wow!! What was the major criteria for student intake? this I think is where the problem lies. It is garbage in, garbage out. Lets face the fact, nothing to do with being Malay or non Malays etc. The acceptance standard is too low...it is a Malaysian thing...Quantity above Quality!!! Malaysia Boleh! smilies/tongue.gif
written by Mr Smith, November 21, 2008 13:13:02
This is called 'educational wastage' of tax payers money.
written by RumahPanjai, November 21, 2008 13:14:48
Its goes to show the level of their understanding of ISLAM before they went to that prestigious Egyptian university. Their turors and lecturers here in Malaysia I doubt have any qualifications at all. UMNO and Hadhari have turn these 70% "malay scholars" into further failures. Local universities will never make it to the top 200 rankings. After all, its not through merits that gives you a place but instead ketuanan malayu.
written by Dongra Dude, November 21, 2008 13:26:00
How to pass Exam at AlAzhar! Suppose to learn Arabic but students keen to watch Belly Dancing at the expense of Tax Payers money! Waste of Money and Effort. Lebih baik balik Malaysia jaga Kerbau kat Bendang.Tengkok punggung Kerbau pun nanti berahi! smilies/grin.gif
written by krising1, November 21, 2008 14:04:56
Sorry-lah. Bukan political. Ta'ada standard sahaja. Failure of 51 years of BN government's education policy. Dont blame the non-Malays for this.
written by Sam W, November 21, 2008 14:07:32
I can think of only one truly World Class Malay: Datuk Misbun Sidek. He was a world class badminton player. When he retired he produced world class players. He has a truly world class attitude: he gives his best for his players regardless of their race or religion. If more Malays are like Datuk Misbun, we have no problem accepting the concept of Ketuanan Melayu.
written by MinahManja, November 21, 2008 14:10:28
I respect this university. They are honest enough to reject due to poor quality unlike other universities that just take money and let these morons graduate. That's the spirit. A university with integrity.
written by Msian Idol3, November 21, 2008 14:14:12
Good political mileage for the govt to fool the general malay population that they have so many smarties. The govt have the attitude that as long as they can fool the mass malays with islam & race, they can happily fatten their bank accounts. I am very happy that we got booted out by fellow muslims that we need to buck up. I wonder how Utusan will report this truth. Bravo Al Azhar.
written by humanist, November 21, 2008 14:22:43
Last year, one Al Azhar scholars put out this fatwa

http://www.news.com.au/heralds...63,00.html

Al
written by renoir, November 21, 2008 14:41:17
I thought Negri Sembilan is building an Al-Azhar branch campus????
written by alan cheong, November 21, 2008 14:52:18
of course it IS political.

if the so-called malays (majority who are in fact chinese loser wanna-bes) want to blame anyone, they should blame razak and the mahahypocrite for this mess they're in.

NOT the chinese.
NOT the indians.
NOT anyone else but THEMSELVES for allowing and perpetuating a LIE.

Yes, blame themselves for allowing themselves AND the nation to be shot in both feet, hands and cutting off the nation's ears and nose to spite itself.

Yes, the cowardly munafeequn should blame themselves for not speaking up and making a stand even as they cringe and gripe within - isn't this always the case?

And yes, blame themselves for their herd mentality.

padan muka kalian bodoh sombong.
pathetic ...
written by Qcumber, November 21, 2008 15:26:31
The university was also unhappy with some Malaysian students' inability to grasp the Arabic language, which had ....

and they dare to make noise when the non-Muslims uses the language.

It was reported that over 70 per cent of Malaysian students taking Islamic studies at the university had failed their exams.

Something is definitely not right with our education system. I think the same happened to those we sent to other countries too.

And for heaven sake, why do we need Al-Azhar when we have our UIA, an international Islamic U which cater for students from all over the world ?

written by EYFF, November 21, 2008 15:38:21
How can this be? We are more Islamic than the Saudis. More Arab than the Arabs. And many of us are more Malay than the Malays! How can this be?
written by ohuat, November 21, 2008 16:11:01
Malay? What malay? We don't have anymore malay. We only have muslim & arab here. Malay race & cultures extints long time ago.
written by Celestial, November 21, 2008 16:33:03
Egypt's Al Azhar University is a prestigious university and not a hospital. They don't provide crutches and every student compete on merits. What else can one say? Send second rate student, expect second rate results.
written by citizenmy, November 21, 2008 17:05:46
We should open Universiti Al Azhar Malaysia. This way, we can guarantee any students will come out from this uviversity with some qualification recognised only by Government of Malaysia.
We can always be proud tobe Jaguh Kampong. Bravo Malaysian Education!
written by Malaysiaputra, November 21, 2008 17:06:50
t was reported that over 70 per cent of Malaysian students taking Islamic studies at the university had failed their exams.

=====

This means 30% pass rate and out of this 99% borderline passes ?. So this is the quality of the Ustaz and Ustazah we have in Malaysia ?. Harussani must be within the borderline pass cases too I believe.

I have always wondered why the Malaysian Tok Gurus have never been invited to give lectures at Al Azhar or any other Islamic Unis. whilst they have been touted as Ulama no. 1.
written by Sinewy, November 21, 2008 17:19:07
I know someone who used to give lectures to the matriculation classes in UM. He was instructed to give extra lectures so that the students understand the exam questions better. But still quite a number failed his subjects. He was summoned to the dean's office and being asked to explain the failure rate. When he mentioned that there were many students not up to the standard to undertake the course, he was warned not to mention that again and instead he should do something which could allow these students to pass his exam. In disgust he resigned from the U. In trying to get the quantity of bumi graduates to show to their supporters, the UMNO government forgoes quality to the peril of these poor misguided students when they venture into the real world.
written by Toyolbuster, November 21, 2008 17:22:39
We have to send our hero Zulkifli Nordin to negotiate. How can the egyptian Uni reject our Malaysian students. Are they trying to tell us we are stupid or what.Who are they trying to bluff, that our students can't even learn in 10years. Our Malaysians have never spend more than 9 years to complete a degree program ok. They can only build triangular blocks of stones all stacked up, at least we have our twin towers.
written by talk2stop, November 21, 2008 18:40:09
The problem with the Malays is that most of them think the Arabs are God while most Arabs think the Malays nothing more than their old and useless camels. What is good for the Arabs is good for the Malays.
written by Bloodhound, November 21, 2008 20:53:08
written by humanist, November 21, 2008 14:22:43

Last year, one Al Azhar scholars put out this fatwa

Hi humanist,

A very interresting article indeed. From what I can gather amongst the public announcements in Malaysia, a Fatwa cannot be challenged and must be accepted and abided without question.
written by lynn, November 21, 2008 21:01:35
Let's face the fact: our talented smart students are all in Singapore or elsewhere! And most are not coming back here to serve!
written by Eskay Lim, November 21, 2008 22:00:22
What's the big problem if Al Azhar refuses to take in our Malaysian students? We still have our UITM, don't we? Have all those rejected students recalled home to have them enrolled at our prestigious UITM campus. And with just a stroke of the pen, we can up-grade the course-work especially those on Islamic studies to be on-par or even over-par that of Al Azhar University. Look into the financial aspects, the amount of ringgit that can be retained.
written by amoker, November 21, 2008 22:58:05
hahaha, and the higher education minister still brags about it. after rafiah, this is another slap for him. if they spend 10 yrs in egypt, does that mean that they pay for the extension? nope, the government pays for the incompetence.

70% failure should give dire warnings about our quality on islamic education. no wonder the ulamaks spend more time on tomboys than real issues like graft.
written by humanist, November 21, 2008 23:55:18
Bloodhound,

Perhaps is a blessing in disguise.. not many readers read the news link I posted. If the scholars from the said University are capable of putting out such fatwa.

written by lovemalaysiarakyat, November 22, 2008 00:04:37
smilies/cool.gifSometimes we wear blinkers like horses do. The problem here is we have fed and pampered a certain race and it has not become an improvement for them but dismally contributed to their downfall. Permit me to reveal how:-
1. Mara Malay students fail their exams again and again as compared to other counterparts such as East Malaysians and certain orang aslis who take their courses - I had a report that the attitude was it is ok to fail as they will never be kicked out and therefore it is not so wise to mug and burn midnite candles ( advice given to the hard working ones ) but to enjoy and relax - no big deal to fail. ANd some have a record breaking three times failure till the lecturers must give tips and exam questions to them so that they will pass. smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif

2. A major local university had advised their lecturers never to fail the Malays because it is important for the quota and therefore marks are readjusted etc. with different bell curves for certain races and "boleh curves" for the privileged. One friend was so disgusted, this person also resigned and is now overseas doing a good job and having PR in another country. He had too much of the "manipulations" of marks and marking system.

3. Just recently another private but local university college has practiced this formula for a large percentage of the bumiputras as well as foreign students.

So it is no wonder we have a lot of unemployed youth. No wonder we are not competitive. It is not the fault of the race but that of the perpetrators of the ketuanan and protectionist policies. I am not a believer of Charles Darwinist theories but here there is some truth about the survival of the fittest. But many "katak di bawah tempurung" still think they can survive; I guess by ISA and political hand-cuffing, they will.

I wonder why all of them are sending their kids overseas - by the way, are they studying or are they playing and learning how to have double standards?
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 22, 2008 01:07:15
They found out that after they came back to Malaysia...they make all kinds of ridiculous fatwas!!!!! and they are afraid that one day a fatwa will be made which will put the Al-Azahr university as haram..making UIITM as the world's top bestest Islamic University....the Egyptians are jealous lah..

written by RumahPanjai, November 22, 2008 01:26:35
I recollect a few years back the government sent some "highly qualified scholars" to the Uk and the states to do their Phd. They can't even write their so called thesis in elementary English and had to be shipped back empty handed and at the expense of the taxpayers. The only thing they got out of it was a public finded holiday there. Looks like history is repeating itself here.
written by raven1958, November 22, 2008 01:57:03
Can Khalid tell us how many of these 70% failures had 10As in their SPM.....that would be a good gauge of our education and marking standards wouldnt it....come on ....let's have it.....
written by KotaDamansara73, November 22, 2008 05:50:15
Goverment is spending money on symbols and unproductive learning. The only thing that these students can contribute after the education is that they enclose themselves in a shell and nothing productive to the society.
written by legallybotak, November 22, 2008 06:58:07
Suggestion for BN Government:
1. Detain Al Azhar under ISA
2. Buy Al Azhar University
3. Mobilize mainstream media to blacken the name of Al Azhar
4. Start Al Azhar University College next to Al Azhar

..... please feel free to make more suggestions
written by legallybotak, November 22, 2008 07:00:23
Fart Fart Wah, suggestion:

Issue a fatwa that Al-Azahr university as haram
written by onnetline, November 22, 2008 09:59:00
Mohd Khalid Nordin,

Am sure that the warning from Egypt was not given yesterday, right ?

And did you not warn or tell them your superiority or ' Ketuanan Melayu " status ????

Plainly, you are hopeless !
written by pixieface, November 23, 2008 00:51:21
See that's the result of the NEP. Malaysia boleh. tew...
when will these dimwits learn. to survive in this global world you have to
compete on equal ground.
'ketuanan melayu' maybe we should tell the egyptians that.
look who's laughing now!!! umnoputras. sheesh... no speeky inglish...korek korek!
written by Areyaar, November 26, 2008 11:31:52
Well, can't blame the university for calling a spade a spade. They are in Egypt and not in Malaysia. No Malaysian university will have the guts to say the same thing about the most pampered of students.

This should be taken as a serious sign of deterioration. It is time they levelled the playing field so that strong competition will spur these laidback students to be forced to work hard. As it is, they are too used to being spoonfed.