Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Sarawak heating up to be battleground state

Sarawak heating up to be battleground state PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 21 November 2008 11:33

On the surface, Sarawak may appear an impregnable Barisan Nasional fortress. In the March 8 general election, the state lost only one of its 30 parliamentary seats to the opposition and, thus, held the balance of national power.

By : John Teo, New Straits Times

Those who underestimate Chief Minister Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud do so at their own risk.

IF the US elections were all about turning battleground states "red" or "blue" by the Democrats and Republicans, Malaysia may be getting its own battleground state here in Sarawak.

The Land of the Hornbills remains the only state where state and general elections are not held simultaneously.

With his ambition to become prime minister by the last Malaysia Day thwarted, opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's next best shot at capturing the national government before the next general election may be the Sarawak state elections in 2010.

Sure enough, Anwar was opening new party branches and accepting new members over the weekend, in the process netting Ngemah state assemblyman Gabriel Adit Demong.

Gabriel was a vice-president of the now defunct Parti Bansa Dayak Sarawak.
This may signal interesting times for the state in the run-up to the next state elections.

On the surface, Sarawak may appear an impregnable Barisan Nasional fortress. In the March 8 general election, the state lost only one of its 30 parliamentary seats to the opposition and, thus, held the balance of national power.

Anwar's strategy must be to exploit a populace growing tired of a state government featuring practically the same line-up in every election.

If he succeeds in winning the state government, the parliamentary equation he has been seeking may be within his grasp.

He is good at exploiting the soft underbelly of the state BN: the volatile Dayak vote.

The Dayak electorate has not been able to harness its large population into putting one of its own in the chief minister's chair since the early years of Malaysia, mainly because its political strength has been dissipated by splits and infighting.

Into the breach comes Anwar, promising that the next chief minister will be a Dayak should the opposition succeed in unseating the state BN government.

That should prove a rallying cry for Dayak political contenders and voters.

But Sarawak BN will not give up without a fight, of course, and those who underestimate the political astuteness of Chief Minister Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud do so at their own risk.

All eyes will now turn to an expected state cabinet reshuffle early next year.

It may well be the only opportunity left for Taib to clarify his succession and provide political rejuvenation ahead of the next state polls.

However, the options for him look limited.

He must know that the strongest card the opposition will play is the theme of "change" it used to such devastating effect in the March polls, and which US President-elect Barack Obama used to capture not just America's mood but the entire world's.

If the state BN does not change, this may play into the opposition's hands.

At the same time, the global economic slowdown, the full force of which is expected to hit the state next year, may make short shrift of any claims of the benefits of continuing with the tried-and-tested state administration.

Sarawak's next state elections will be keenly watched. State politicians will find out what effects the March general election will have had on state voters. National politicians will want to divine how the national electorate will vote in the next general election. The stakes are high for the state and the country.

written by Rainbowseahorse, November 21, 2008 11:54:46
DSAI, if you want to capture Sarawak, do remember that though it’s good to promise a Dayak as CM, do remember that Christianity is the majority there; yah! Start carrying out small project works for the good of the natives community. For the main cities and towns (especially Kuching, Miri, & Sibu), leave the DAP to tackle the predominantly Chinese voters. Your PK cuts no ice with them due to your past political activities. It would help your cause tremendously if you manage to hold private talks with the powerful Sin Yang & Samling people and come to some sort of understanding. That’s just for starters, but you better get your arse moving as that Taib might just hold an early election to counter your activities before they take roots.
written by ahvoon, November 21, 2008 12:41:24
Uphold the Malaysia Agreement of 1963 or annul it if any party to it is in breach! Protect our rightful autonomy Protect our right to use English as the official language of communication as has been the way since the Kingdom of Sarawak, the protectorate and Crown Colony eras.

Protect our secular way of life as has been since time immemorial and remember, Sarawak is 1/3rd of the federation, not another state!
written by loosecannon, November 21, 2008 13:30:02
The time is ripe to take on the state BN under Taib. The success of the opposition in the last general election in Pen Malaysia has proven to people in East Malaysia that electing opposition is a good move, contrary to what the BN has been telling them using fear tactic. In Sarawak, the Dayaks are now slowly but surely waking up to the reality that the bunch of old and tired senile and greedy politicians led by Taib have been short changing them.

The Dayak parties within the ambit of the BN are very fragmented and disunited, which is what Taib wanted. With PKR as the better alternative, the swing away from the BN will gain momentum. The support of the Dayaks is very critical in tandem with their sheer numbers. They are the largest group in Sarawak. The first two CMs in Sarawak were Dayaks. One of them retired so poor that he had to apply for a junior clerical position in the government service. Compare this to the billions that Taib has suck from the state.

PKR has to work very hard to win their trust. And the time to start is now. The promise of a Dayak CM is the right thing to do as this will restore their pride. The other matter close to their heart is native customary land which is being taken away from under their feet.
written by ahmadneil, November 21, 2008 14:09:06
There will be more defections in the coming weeks.Names like Aron Dagang,Richard Riot,Daniel Tajem,Jimmy Donald are all ready .
With the dayaks all jumping into PKR ship ,the only few dayaks left in the cold will be William Mawan,Afred Jabu and James Masing.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 21, 2008 14:17:30
Loosecannon,

Yes, the Dayak political parties are rather fragmented and the problem is further compounded with difficulty in accessibility to these grassroots people. Sarawak (and Sabah too) is no place for lazy or faint hearted Politicians.
Traditional natives land have been vastly depleted by big powerful corporations with the blessing of that Taib, and DSAI will do well with promise to rectify the situation when he is in power.

Your suggestion on DSAI touching on how well an opposition held State can become, like Penang, will go down well with the Dayaks who are sick & tired with years of corruptions & mismanagement under Taib.

Everyone that I spoke with, without exception, share this feeling and so Sarawak is indeed ripe for the taking. But as pointed out, DSAI will have to work extremely hard and under very trying conditions as he cannot expect the BN to let him have an easy task.
written by ahmadneil, November 21, 2008 14:18:13
Sarawakian,show sabahan that we mean what we say.Bring PKR in and we will have 20% royalty.With this oil royalty,we will have super highways,high speed trains,new international airports etc.Let not this window of opportunity slip by.
written by asguard, November 21, 2008 14:44:55
Do put everything a right place, always remember what you promises to delivery.. and the victory is yours...
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 21, 2008 15:00:48
For someone who…
..claimed to be a “Chemical Engineer” working in Singapore, have a Singaporean wife, owns & drives BMW Mercedes & Ferarri, but who buys a rm3.08 batik shirt from Pasar Malam (because that’s all he can afford, he admits), and yet take fellow bloggers and making fools out of them (under several pseudonym) on fantasy trips to Paris, Cambodia, Vietnam, etc…
…sure talk big in telling Sarawak to show us Sabahans to being in the opposition.

Why don’t that very loud mouth and ignorant stupid sucker clean up his own backyard in tiny Johor, which is just the size of one of our State’s Division? How come Johor didn’t fall to the opposition during the March 2008 GE? Perhaps there are too many Loud Mouths who Talk and NO Action type of people there who are shit scared of big brother UMNO?

To West Malaysians who are ignorant of us East Malaysians, don’t simply shoot off what you don’t know. In your ignorance, you are further alienating us against you and dividing our support for the PKR.

Don’t forget we East Malaysians collectively represent 25% of the Malaysian Parliamentary seats. You need us to bring down your UMNO who has been your yoke for 51 years.
written by macanhitam, November 21, 2008 15:44:37
i long to see how cool it is sarawak to have north-south highway from kuching to kota kinabalu and to tawau. not to mention high speed train, tarmac and widened trunk ro*** with alot of low cost housing with tip top amenities for all. i walk with you fellow sarawakians. so do please make this change happen.
written by beijing, November 21, 2008 17:12:10
Bring in PKR wont make any difference. Don’t you see the leader is big DSAI? Of course Taib is UMNO puppet. Just compare yourself between 5 PR states which 1 is the most organized. Then choose that party to be a leader of the state. Dayak has no gut to try and run they own state since independent. I don’t think they are ready to lead even they are. The fact is this people are bumiputra where waiting durian jatuh whole day long.
written by borneoman, November 21, 2008 20:05:34
beijing, you know nuts about us sarawakian.please go and read your old history book and find out for yourself a little bit about the history of sarawak eversince the formation of the federation of malaysia.would you prefer us to use our law of the jungle to reclaim our ancestral land? we might mistook you for an umno and by then it would be too late because your head would be fair game.no we are not going to do that because we have the brain and a very civilized one too so pls dont underestimate sarawakian intelligence.BTW.,WE THE NATIVES OF SARAWAK NEVER CLAIMS WE ARE BUMIPUTRA..bumiputra is a malay word which is being abused and hijacked by your fellow malayan umno of the malay peninsula.
written by lynn, November 21, 2008 21:32:28
borneoman, rainbowseahorse,

we all have a common goal - to rid this country of BN (hope i am right on this score).

pls don't bicker or threaten others here; it's self-defeating.

for the life of me, i still cannot fathom this: many parts of rural sarawak are so dirt poor while the MB of Sarawak is so rich, his wealth can last 20 generations.

so "pray tell", what does it really take to wake up the sarawakians???
if it is not poverty, what works?

my aged mum is illiterate, but she's smart enough to realise, something is not right with this country.... she can't write, can't read, but she looks around her & figures, the govt sucks. can u sarawakians please wake up? time is running out!
written by rizzku, November 21, 2008 22:09:02
The fictional future.

Sabah and Sarawak will unite under Brunei Sultan to form a new state. The newly formed and rich state will eventually conquer Kalimantan.

Borneo become a sovereign state an continent.
written by amoker, November 21, 2008 23:12:05
sarawak for sarawakians. for too long has the state been raped by the CM and his business kakis.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 22, 2008 11:31:54
lynn,

The problem for most Semanjung people is that you have very little knowledge of Sabah & Sarawak. Look at the map and you see the size and the enormous task of reaching each and every populace in these two states. You cannot compare your nicely paced access ro*** in Semanjung because most of our Districts (which are the size or bigger than your States) have poor ro*** and the interior is accessible by timber camp dirt ro*** and rivers.
Another challenge is the complexity and variety of ethnicity in both Sabah & Sarawak. You in Semanjung even find it difficult to cooperate with 4 or 5 ethnic races, how about our over 28 in Sabah and over 40 in Sarawak? This is further compounded by the wide & sparsely distribution of these natives and, again, accessibility is another major problem.

Sabah problem is even more complex as there is the humongous problem in wooing these more than 2 million migrant voters whose allegiances lies with UMNO. It is UMNO (under Mamathir’s Project IC in the mid 1980s) who gave them Sabah citizenship and absorbed them as members of UMNO Sabah. The population of original Sabahans was just a little over 1 million but swell to almost 2.5 million in year 2000, and jumped further to 3.4 million in 2007. Where the hell did the additional population did came from? All this was carried out in Putra Jaya without the real Sabahans’ approval nor knowledge. Real Sabahan Elected leaders are all self serving and they got elected with promises of everything under the sun for the people.

The real state of affairs in both Sabah & Sarawak are very complex and it takes a seasoned political analyst to fully explain the situation.

It raise my heckles whenever you West Malaysians use the word “wake up” as though our people are sleeping or something like that. Let me tell you that in using such word and other similar condescending words to imply that we are idiots and do not know the political situation in Malaysia, you Semanjung people are alienating those of us Sabahans & Sarawakians here in this blog who are supportive of the PKR.

On the serious side, what you Semanjung also failed to be knowledgeable is that we Sabahans & Sarawakians have been under this situations for quite a long time now. Yes, we have our rural poverty, but we are not as modernize as you Semanjung and our people can survive with bare necessity. We support the PKR because there is a chance for real changes, not only in our two States, but for the whole of Malaysia too. But if we do not get the change now, we are patient people and we can wait. It’s you Semanjung people who are impatient for change and want it now after 51 years of UMNO’s yoke. Your politicians have to make that extra efforts to effect real political changes in West Malaysia before you can convince us that we will be better off under the new government. To us, West Malaysians are West Malaysians who bought our leaders with money and power so that they (West Malaysian Politicians) can do what they like in our States.

In the foreseeable future, Sabah’s political fortune can only change with a new government in Malaysia who is able and, most important, willing to sort out these over 2 million migrant voters and restore the voting power to real Sabahans.

As I’ve said, Sabah & Sarawak are very complex issues and DSAI will have a lot more than making nice speeches filled with promises. Our people have seen and heard them all and are rather immune to such politicking.

It’ll take a long time to explain our situations to ignorant West Malaysians, but the bottom line is, you, or rather the PKR, need our collective 25% Parliamentary Seats to effect a change in government. If you West Malaysians bloggers here perpetually insult us Sabahans & Sarawakians and treat us like we don’t know any better, then DSAI himself will find us as his adversaries when he comes courting in our two States.

And believe me, DSAI’s arse will be kicked out of here because his supporters in this blog have turn us against him even before he has began his election campaign.
written by sang0kancil, November 22, 2008 18:12:41
Rainbowseahorse.... You rock!

Hopefuly your explanation will at least opens our impatient Semenanjung brethren whom keeps calling Sabahan and Sarawakian as an pathetic peoples only because we late in ushering new political tsunami!!!