Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Guan Eng loses cool over phrase

Guan Eng loses cool over phrase PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 21 November 2008 11:33

Opalyn Mok in (The Sun): A dispute over the use of the phrase 'amal makruf, nahi mungkar' led to Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng losing his temper and challenging an Opposition assemblyman today to prove he practises 'nahi mungkar' by supporting the call for abolishment of the Internal Security Act.

"If you want to talk about 'nahi mungkar' (forbidding evil), then what about the ISA? ISA is against all religions including Islam so why isn't it abolished?" Lim asked.

"I hope you as a Muslim who said 'nahi mungkar' meaning forbidding all evils, could prove to me, a non-Muslim, that you practise it by supporting our cause in wanting the ISA to be abolished," he challenged Shahbudin Yahya (BN – Permatang Berangan) at the State Legislative Assembly sitting today.

To this, Shahbudin said ISA was legislated to bring good and not evil.

"It was used to control undesirable things and the Barisan Nasional government had never taken the 'amal makruf, nahi mungkar' phrase as a slogan but uses other methods to achieve the values of this phrase," he said.

Lim retorted that it was not right for Shahbudin to say that ISA is good and is allowed under Islam.

Speaker Abd Halim Hussain then intervened and said since Shahbudin disputed the use of the phrase even though the Mufti Department had said that it was not wrong for the state government to use it, other opinions should be sought.

"I suggest that the issue be referred to the Department of Islamic Development Malaysia (Jakim) and the Fatwa council so the issue will not be dragged on further here," he said.

Lim's outburst occurred after Shahbudin said the state government should ban all 'evil' activities, from gambling to alcohol, if it really wants to follow the full meaning of the phrase.

"There is no other option. Gambling is haram (illegal) so it must be wiped out completely if you use this phrase, otherwise it is an insult to the phrase," Shahbudin said.

He added that he is not objecting to the state government's intention to 'forbid evil' but the phrase should not be simply used.

Prior to that, Lim in his winding up speech, said the Mufti Department's view had been sought and it encouraged the use of the phrase.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by tanwi, November 21, 2008 11:51:54
oh yes, go ahead and get a mufti or fatwa ruling on this. Its very productive. Whilst other issues like unemployment, crime, public transport, taxes etc etc. are LESS productive right? IDIOTS.

Most religions already prohibits the consumption of alcohol, gambling, smoking etc. If a religious person wants to take it, let him face the consequences spiritually. Why bother banning it and involve those who dont believe in god (or atheists) and actually do it by choice? Its not productive.IDIOTS.
written by Old Man, November 21, 2008 11:55:35
Yes, Shahbudin said that GAMBLING is haram. How come the Federal Govt continue to tax cigarettes, alcohol and GAMBLING. Isnt revenue from such taxes HARAM?
written by IbnAbdHalim, November 21, 2008 12:05:09
The moment a muslim scholar joins UMNO, he lost his dignity totally. He upholds UMNO's constitution and abandon all his knowledge about Islam except those that benefited him worldly. In another word, Islam is secondary. All is about survival.
written by SimpleSoul, November 21, 2008 12:11:42
Department of Islamic Development Malaysia (Jakim) and the Fatwa, please make use of this weekend to set up an 'operasi' at all Nombor ekor shops. As you can see... we all know for a fact who are the main partonisers of such places. Instead of having a skodeng operasi and as well ponder such things as yoga. It would bring alot of kemajuan to muslim on these issues. Non muslims will also respect should be educated with their efforts.
written by jdoe, November 21, 2008 12:25:42
Go shut down Genting. Don't forget your salary is also sin money.
written by zanie, November 21, 2008 12:32:08
Say it in Malay then- mengamalkan kebaikan,menjauhkan kejahatan. Apa yang susah?
written by DezMalaysia, November 21, 2008 12:51:14
Which party approved 4D & Casino gambling licenses ar ? Shahbudin the total IDIOT ! Look into the mirror before you talk about those underground activities of gambling that has no proof !

"Gajah di depan tak nampak, Kuman di jauh NAMPAK !"

Babi is the label for such idiot !
written by supplier, November 21, 2008 13:14:20
Corruption is haram and why does UNMO mafia keep doing it?
written by penangboi, November 21, 2008 13:40:45
This is typical UMNO/BN talk: when it suits them then the statement is relevant but if it goes against their grain of greed, corruption, murder, etc etc then whatever religious statements become non-relevant.

By UMNO/BN, it also covers all government institutions, especially the PDRM !!!!!
written by thegodfather, November 21, 2008 14:04:53
All this talk abnout abolishing alcohol and gambling is easy to say. Why no talk about abolishing corruption? Is it because it has become a way of life for you and your cronies?
written by Heaven8402, November 21, 2008 14:17:51
Whatever um-no does, everything for good, nothing is evil. For the opposition, then its everything evil, nothing is good. GO TO HELL !!!!
written by beijing, November 21, 2008 15:50:40
Kepala babi Bodoh Shahbudin Yahya (BN – Permatang Berangan). Pi la tengok kat Jln Sultan Ismail, KL pada waktu malam. 90% of the customer is muslim and all of them drink alcohol (beer). Some more this road name is jalan “SULTAN ISMAIL”. It’s this insult Muslim or the late sultan Ismail?
written by Nunudada, November 21, 2008 15:57:39
Yes,the state government should ban all evil activities-start with the greatest evil in penang Shahbuddin.
written by Democrats, November 21, 2008 16:32:41
"........Barisan Nasional government had never taken the 'amal makruf, nahi mungkar' phrase as a slogan but uses other methods to achieve the values of this phrase," he said.

The day BN government uses that phrase, lightning will strike upon them.

BN slogan is more like "Amal Mungkar, Nahi Makruf".

I don't mean to generalize, but it seem these so called Muslim leaders in BN, really dont put much faith and confidences in their followers will power to resist temptation of the things forbidden by the Quran.

If gambling is not allowed by Muslim, why shut down the 4D joint, can't you teach your people not to buy or enter the shop? Nobody is putting a gun their head to go into the pubs at heritage row or Bangsar and open bottles of whiskey and drinking beer by the jugs.....

written by mikewang, November 21, 2008 17:16:43
Ban gambling and alcohol but permit corruption.
Let's do it the UMNO way. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by JJFoo, November 21, 2008 17:17:07
Ears of evil doer can’t tolerate words that advocate righteousness. That is why Shahbudin Yahya is going crazy upon hearing it.
written by Sudahlah tu, November 21, 2008 19:05:26
apa yang melayu umno tahu mengenai dengan kesucian agama sendiri ?
mereka cuma mempergunakan agama sebagai peralatan mengawal bangsa melayu daripada menyokong parti lain ....
written by lynn, November 21, 2008 19:56:21
Shahbudin,

Presumably you ARE a Muslim, right?
Presumably your religion forbids murder, stealing, snatching handbags, khalwat, consuming pork, alcohol, gambling, corruption, cronyism?
Yes or No????
Presumably you are also a man aware of your surroundings and what is happening in this country in the last few decades.

So why are YOU as a Muslim, not speak out against Corruption???
Or wud you say, there has rampant corruption committed by almost all cabinet ministers, including past & present?

Don't be a fcuking hypocrite.....

Don't assume we the rakyat are retarded, morons, don't think we are brain-dead.

We know what the hell is going on in this Bodohland.

You hypocrites keep attacking the non-Muslims but when it comes to speaking out against corruption, where the **** are you hypocrites???

Ptui! I spit on you, you lowdown, useless scumball, hypocrite.

Corruption is more serious, most widespread crime committed in this country by these men in power. Corruption is akin to stealing the rakyat's money.

The country's wealth does not belong to one particular race or religion. It belongs to the people, and our wealth does not belong to any major political party, neither does it belong to the government. The wealth of this country has been systematically drained by corrupt politicians and people like you want to utter "nahi mungkar" - you are a damn hypocrite!

Just so you know, in China, the chicom govt solve the problem by one bullet in the head for those found guilty of corruption......
written by Darth Vader, November 21, 2008 22:13:13
Shahbudin Yahya (BN – Permatang Berangan)

No wonder this moron is in the middle of BERANGAN.

Woi, wake up lah. smilies/angry.gif
written by amoker, November 21, 2008 23:23:16
as Madonna sings, the road to evil is paved with good intentions. this UMNO chap is too stupid to know that his assertion that original intent is good defense. it is not.
written by Man In Black, November 22, 2008 05:59:05
Just one word for this guy...BODOH!!