Surviving the Altantuya murder trial PDF Print
Friday, 21 November 2008 10:26

I wouldn't say any blogger, or any particular blogger. I'm just saying that the whole idea that so-called opinion makers can form an opinion...and that becomes the truth. That worries me. If bloggers can become the source of truth, then we are in trouble, this society.

By Elizabeth Looi, The Nut Graph

Former political analyst Abdul Razak Baginda is certain that Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak and his wife Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor never met murdered Mongolian Altantuya Shaariibuu.

Abdul Razak, who was acquitted of abetting in Altantuya's murder by explosives, also said he believed Najib would make a good prime minister.

Razak Baginda
"Obviously I don't want to be prime minister," says Razak

Speaking to reporters for the first time since he was released on 31 Oct 2008, Abdul Razak described Najib as a "personal friend", adding he had never been Najib's official aide.

He also appealed to the public to stop spreading lies about and accusations against Najib and Rosmah, adding that Malaysians should be more critical for example of blogs.

"Bloggers in general do not base their writings on facts," he said.

Abdul Razak said his family and God gave him strength during his detention and trial.

"Obviously, I became closer to Allah. God gave me imprisonment and that was a better option than death simply because I had a chance to reflect on my life," he said.

"Until today, I'm still amazed that I could survive 22 months but I said, Alhamdullilah, I survived."

Abdul Razak, who was present with his parents, brother and sister, was friendly and jovial. He read out a two-paged statement before answering questions from the media in a 48-minute press conference.

Excerpts below:

Q: Have you been in contact with Najib after your release?

Abdul Razak: To be honest, I have not.

How would you describe your relationship with Najib?

The press, the media, bloggers and the man on the street have described my relationship with Najib in all forms — a close aide, a close friend, an associate, an advisor — my relationship with Datuk Seri Najib has evolved over the years.

Obviously, it was a professional relationship and this goes back as early as the 1990s. Having known him professionally, I also got to know him personally.

Are you saying that Balasubramaniam's statutory declarations were lies?

As you know, the whole issue of the two statutory declarations by Bala, (are) now under police investigation. I have given (my) full cooperation to the police. I have been interviewed by the police after my release. What I've said today to all of you is what I told the police, that Datuk Najib never met the deceased.

Razak Baginda consulting lawyer before answering a question
Lawyer Avtaran Singh advising Abdul Razak before he
answered a question from the floor.

How do you know?

How do I know? (Pause) I know, okay? I know!

How was (it like) working with Datuk Seri Najib?

I've never had a formal relationship with Najib. At one point, someone described me as his political secretary. I've never held any official position. So, I have my own plans and I will pursue my own plans.

Can you elaborate on your plans?

I'm going back to the United Kingdom for a simple reason. Many of you may not be aware that I was a student at Oxford. On 28 Sept 2006, about two weeks before I was arrested, I actually submitted my doctorate dissertation to University of Oxford, having studied at the Trinity College of Oxford for a number of years.

So when I was arrested, the university placed my dissertation on hold. So now that I'm released, I have informed the university that I can now be examined, so I'm going back to basically be examined. What entails is that my examiners will have to read the dissertation and subsequently interview me for my Viva. Insyallah, I should get my doctorate early next year.    

Why was there a change of lawyers (representing Abdul Razak)?

In the beginning? Well, I'm flanked by lawyers and the legal profession has their own ethics and I don't think I should reveal any reason why, whether I like a person's face or I don't like a person's face, so I don't think — I hope you can appreciate that.

The prosecution did not appeal against your release. Can you comment on it?

I can't comment on why they did not appeal but I certainly can comment on the reason why I cancelled (his first press conference that was scheduled on 6 Nov), it has nothing to do with my appeal or whatever.

I was quite confident when I was released that I could face the outside world, especially the press but after a few days, I found myself to be not ready. Really, not ready.

You have to be in prison for two years to find out what I'm saying. My mind is incoherent, it's jumping from one point to another point. I keep losing things because in prison you can't lose things because, one, you don't have many things to begin with. And two, the space is so limited that you really can't lose anything. So these days, I lose my glasses, I can't find them. And now that my daughter has gone back to the UK, I have one person less to look for things. So to be frank with you, (cancelling the first press conference) had nothing to do with the appeal.

How much do you know the deceased, and what do you make of the exchange of SMSes between Najib and lawyer (Datuk) Mohd Shafee (Abdullah)?

Let me just talk about the relationship with the deceased. To me, there is a court proceeding but I just want to make a statement that a person has died. And that has not been the basis of any court proceeding, so let the person rest in peace. There's no point for me to say this, that and the other and I know there's a lot of lies that are being spread about this and that.

Let me give you one example of a lie, and this actually came from a very reputable media, let's not mention who, I just want to illustrate my point. It stated that I met her in a party. I was wondering where [that came] from? Let's just leave it at that.

On the SMSes between Datuk Seri Najib and my former lawyer, I was in prison then.

Have you contacted Datuk Seri Najib?

Well, that was the first question asked. I've not met him, I've not seen him, I've not spoken to him, I've not SMSed him...anything else...I've not emailed him, I've not...that's it. I've not been in touch with him at all.

Are you planning to be in touch with him?

(Chuckles) Well, let me put it this way. I've got my immediate plans and that's my immediate concern.

What about your trip to the UK? There have been rumours that you might just go to the UK, settle and not come back.

Let me say this to you. Why the hell should I run away? I'm innocent! I've been acquitted by the court, I want to stay here, this is my home and I'll be back here. You'll see me in a couple of months. I just want to get my doctorate, that's it. Unless of course I get a cushy job, you know, like the Prime Minister of United Kingdom, for example. Of course I'll come back.

Razak Baginda
"If bloggers can become the source of truth, then we are
in trouble"

Your statement just now mentioned that the liars are out there scot-free. Can you elaborate on that?

I don't want to be specific. All I want to say is, for the last two years, I didn't realise the extent of the so-called borderless world or the internet world. Our bloggers have really taken almost centre-stage. In the last one or two weeks, I checked with some friends abroad, non-Malaysians in the United Kingdom. They said to me there was a period in British society where the bloggers were supreme. After a while, everyone realised that bloggers are bloggers. I can start a blog and I can say anything with impunity. So he said to me, the fleas will just go away. After a while, people will say "Bloggers, my God! I can be a blogger. My daughter or a taxi man can be a blogger if he can write well, and that's it. And he can manufacture facts."

Some people say that you will try to take action against certain media after you're released.

I never actually made any comment, whatsoever, until today. I've kept silent from the day I was arrested until today. I've never said a word. So I never actually said I was going to take any legal action. That's all I want to say for the time being.

On the doctored photograph...

When I was in Sungai Buloh, I was actually investigated by the Multimedia Commission and I was shown a photograph. And you must be a real idiot or moron to believe that the photograph is authentic. To begin with, the girl was not even the deceased. So if any of you believed the photograph, oh, you guys have been taken for a ride.

There were rumours about you being involved in a deal with Altantuya. Do you want to comment on that?

Let me put it this way, my press conference today is specially about what I've gone through the last two years. I'm aware of insinuations, all sorts of stories of the linkage and all that. Let me tell you that there's no linkage whatsoever.

I'd also like to tell you about the time frame. That's why in my statement I said I'm shocked and I'm appalled by the extent of lies. There were linkages made between the deceased and some deals, I'm sure all of you are aware about. But everyone's lazy these days because no one checked the facts.

The deal, the purported deal, was signed in June 2002. I first met the deceased November or December 2004. That's almost, almost a two-year lapse. So I just fail to see the connection but yet it still went on and on and on. These are the liars, these are the lies that I mentioned in my statement.

Would you know where Balasubramaniam is or would you assist your lawyers to look for him?

I can't comment on that because I don't know. I just cannot comment because it's under police investigation at the moment.

What lessons did you learn from this episode?

Do you have three hours with me today? (Laughs) Let me put it this way. I'll be very frank with all of you. When you are down, you are basically alone. I mean I had my family but basically when you're down, you're on your own. That's a shock to me. We all know that but when it happens to you, you'll realise it is true. There are many lessons but I can't really tell you the lessons.

Would you say you were betrayed by your friends?

It's not a question of betrayal. It's just that I think it's human nature. If I reflect back, I too may have shied away from someone who was in trouble. This is the way that God wants to remind me that "Hey, you did that to others, so now it's payback time." So I think it's quite natural for people to shy away but there's no sense of betrayal or whatever.

Why was there an outburst (in court), when you were first arrested, by your wife that you don't want to be the next prime minister?

To begin with, my wife was quite distressed. You tend to forget that, well you cannot forget because you would not have experienced this. But in prison, you only see your family once a week. Even that, there's no physical contact because there is a glass between me and my family, and we spoke through the phone.

When I first met them in June 2007, that was really the first time that I could physically touch them after almost six months. I can appreciate my wife's distressed state. Besides, obviously I don't want to be prime minister.

Razak Baginda
"Why the hell should I run away? I’m innocent!"

During the trial, there were times when you mentioned the prime minister's name. What is your comment about that?

I've got no comment. It's difficult for anyone to feel how I felt when the case was postponed and frustration built up. I think it's different when one is innocent and I am innocent. So I felt things were dragging, so...just frustrated, that's all.

Will you write a book about this episode of your life?

The problem is if I say yes, you guys will be hounding me, "When is it coming out? When is it coming out?" (Laughs) My first plan is to get my doctorate and that's it. That's my first priority because it's been on hold. My supervisor just wants me to get it.

Throughout  the trial, you were smiling away when you were escorted by the police. Were you confident that you would be released?

Let me put it this way, I'm innocent! At some point, I said, God willing, Insyallah, I will be released because I'm innocent. So at some point, I knew I was going to be released because I cannot imagine an innocent man can be found guilty. I was of course worried because (of the weight of public opinion and media scrutiny) ...then I realised that there are two different things. I went through the justice system. Don't forget that, people tend to forget that I spent 22 months in jail. So to me, I'm innocent, so I will at some point be released.

You said that you're innocent, so would you try to contact the deceased's family to apologise?

I've said my piece. I never knew the family of the deceased. I've already expressed publicly in my statement that I expressed my sympathy to the family, so be it. That's all I want to say now.

Was Datuk Seri Najib aware of your problem with the victim?

No, none whatsoever.

Why do you think that Datuk Seri Najib has not contacted you..?

(Laughs)

...since you were his aide?

(Laughs) There you go again, official aide. People tend to mix up official and unofficial. I'm just a friend, that's all. I've personal contact with him, that's all. An aide is someone who holds a position, very reminiscent of the US presidential system. President Barrack Obama today is selecting his so-called team and he would have his special assistants. And Datuk Seri Najib as Deputy Prime Minister and Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi as Prime Minister, they have their own way of assistance. I'm never an aide.

Then as a close friend?

I think that's something very personal. Can we leave it at the personal level rather than why he didn't contact me, and why have I not contacted him. That's a very personal thing.

What have you been doing in the past three weeks since your release?

Let me put it this way. I've been eating hell of a lot. It's revenge time so I think I've put on a lot of weight. For nearly two years, I have not done anything really but suddenly for three weeks, I have so many things to do.

And in prison, everything is regimented, this time is meant for this, this is the time to eat, to sleep. So when I'm out, I was sort of thinking that I don't have much time. Then I realised that I do have time. So I'm adjusting myself, not too well. Still eating a lot.

Did you read a lot when you were in prison?

A lot, a lot. There was a period in prison when I started reading biographies. Then, for the past one year, I focused on the Middle East and also on the books on Islam because I wanted to know more on the Prophet, so I actually read a whole lot of biographies of the Prophet and also the Caliphs. I just wanted to know a bit on the evolution of Islam, at least in the early days. I read a lot about political Islam as well because I know that's contemporary. I basically read things that I did not have time to read when I was outside.

Where did you meet Altantuya?

I don't really want to go there. I've already said that there was a death. It doesn't make a difference where I met her. All I wanted to say in my statement is that Datuk Seri Najib never met the woman. So I think you can say that from there, whoever said whatever, they're all lies.

Do you think you're a victim of a political game?

I know there is a lot of speculation about that. I went through the system and I'm glad to say that I survived the system. As my wife always tells me, she said the system put you in, the system will get you out. So I went through the system.

If you were in Altantuya's father's shoes, what would you do?

I can't be someone else. I am my own. I can't think what she thinks, I can't even think what you are thinking. So I can't comment on that. It's unfair for me to comment on that.

Do you think whatever that happened has tarnished your reputation?

(Chuckles) Thank you very much, I didn't realise I had a reputation to begin with before I entered prison. I constantly remind myself that I'd just like to close one chapter of my life and open a new chapter. So the sooner I get on with my life, the better it is. So I just want to move forward, I don't want to look back.

When you were in court, there was a lot of public opinion...

When you say public opinion, I really wonder who you have in mind. So many people, when you talk about people's power. Just look at Thailand, the people is against the government or in the Philippines, you see people are in the streets, 100,000, 500,000. The media blow it out of proportion but hang on, is that democracy? If you're talking about 500 people going out in the streets as opposed to a population of 100 million, is that reflective of democracy?

If I have money and I pay everyone RM10 and get 100,000 people out in the streets and protest against the government, is that people power? Is that public opinion? That's not public opinion, that's just manipulation. So if you say public opinion, you talk about it as if it is a coherent consensus. I don't think it's a consensus. So I don't want to pander to the so-called public opinion and I'd like to ask you, who is the public opinion? Can a blogger reflect a public opinion? I mean if that's the case, I can have a public opinion. I can run you down and I'll say this is a public opinion.

So I think I'm being very sceptical and as Malaysian society develops, we should question rather than accept. If we descend to a level where, a taxi driver for instance, someone who doesn't know the facts, writes and that becomes public opinion, then I feel sorry for society because the society has descended to such a low level. Let's not talk about Malaysia, let's talk about the knowledge society, the thinking public but what's missing at the moment is, just one individual or two individuals can form an opinion and that becomes public. Come on, give me a break.

Are you blaming the bloggers for what has happened to you? Like (Malaysia Today blogger) Raja Petra (Kamarudin)?

I wouldn't say any blogger, or any particular blogger. I'm just saying that the whole idea that so-called opinion makers can form an opinion...and that becomes the truth. That worries me. If bloggers can become the source of truth, then we are in trouble, this society.

Let's not forget there's a global economy at the moment. Can you imagine if enemies of the state use blogs to erode confidence, for example. You're talking about something that's far more sinister. What happened to me is just me, really, but just imagine if a concerted effort is made towards the state, the government, the country, and the people, then we are in trouble.

But Malaysia's not alone. A lot of countries are facing the same problem. But in more developed societies, they have gone through that phase, which we are going through. After a while, they'll say "Ah, these bloggers, let's not worry about them."

Do you expect all the speculations to stop after today?

Even my press statement today, there'll be twists and turns. So to me, I've said so many times...if I hold this up (raised a voice recorder) and I said this is a tape recorder, and then it is reported that Razak held a gun, I can't really be responsible for that. I'm telling you this is a recorder and if someone says Razak held a gun, held a bottle of water or whiskey or whatever, what can I do? I just want to tell the truth and that's the truth. If anybody wants to twist and turn, I can't be responsible. At least, I've come out and said my piece.

What do you have to say about Datuk Seri Najib who will be the next prime minister?

I've known him for quite a while. I'd just like to say that he'd make a good prime minister. He's a well-read person. We have had countless (conversations about) books, we would exchange books, I would give him books, he would sometimes recommend books.

So, I think he's well tuned-in with what's going on in the world. So I think intellectually, in terms of experience, I think he's got all that. And I say, I think he'll make a good prime minister.

Would you consider working for Datuk Seri Najib?

I'm quite happy with my freedom at the moment. I don't want to be tied up with any appointment whatsoever, not that it's coming. I'd like to do something more intellectual. That has always been my interest but I'll probably be more global in nature rather than specific in Malaysia.

Datuk Seri Najib had said the exchange of SMS (with lawyer Mohd Shafee) was true but it was something personal. What is your comment on that?

That's his statement. But let me say something, why don't you be more critical of what you're told and not just take it as face value? When someone says "intervention", you say "Oh! Intervention." Everyone jumped on the bandwagon without questioning the validity (of what was said).

For instance, let me remind you that I actually was charged, went to prison, waited for a trial (which) went on for nearly a year, 151 days, I did not see my family, I did not touch them until the (trial) started and even that, it was for a very short period. I went through all that. How can there be any interference if I went through that? God Almighty! Come on!

Do you blame the two special force personnel?

I [have] no comment. I can't comment on that.

What kind of reaction do you get when you walk on the streets? Do people congratulate you or greet you?

That's a very interesting question because actually to my surprise, a lot of people came up to me and actually wished me all the best. Some actually said congratulations, some total strangers actually said, "We are happy that you're out."

In fact, I was pleasantly surprised. I actually thought I was going to be a leper, you know, everyone's going to shy away from me. Of course, when I walk around, there are people whispering and all that, that's quite obvious.
Comments (53)Add Comment
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 21, 2008 10:35:29
For a person who is imprisoned for 151 days, you seem remarkably well fed and healthy. Must be five stars prison for you and your two hatchet men!
agree 118
written by kislean, November 21, 2008 10:36:38
If bloggers can become the source of truth, then we are in trouble ...

Well, it never ever occurred to you that the 'source of truth' from all the main stream medias (newspapers & tv's) aren't questionable ?
Why is it that people need to defend Najib and say that he is not involved in the Altantuya such as Bala, Badawi and this Razak Baginda ? Are they truthful. How do they know. All they the all-knowing that if somebody farted, they'll know if it's Najib or not ? Good grief !
written by myke, November 21, 2008 10:36:41
How many who were charged in court will say they are guilty.??? And here we have one who claims he knows someone implicated is not involved by saying he knows.
written by lobster, November 21, 2008 10:38:06
I tried, but I am not convinced. Razak baginea, I have a feeling you have made a grave mistake.
written by technoboy, November 21, 2008 10:44:02
Which criminal in this world would admit their guilt, if they do then there is no need to have lawyers, judges and any legislated law to protect the victims? What kock is Baginda trying to talk, with changes made to judges, prosecution team and selective choice of evidence, etc he is definitely confident he will be released, 22 months in jail is just wayang lah! Baginda, please answer the following questions: -

1. why no investigation carried out on erased immigration records?
2. why no investigation on how c4 was obtained?
3. why would 2 police officers with totally no previous relationship with the victim would want to murder her in such a cruel manner? what was the motive of killing, there must be a motive for the killing and it must come from someone for some reasons? only you know the victim and there had been contacts between you, the victim and the police officers just prior to the brutal murder, you mean the victim c4 herself?
4. how do you explain bala's statutory declaration?
5. how do you explain disappearance of bala's entire family?
6. how do you explain najis sms?

Outright liar, wonder what allah will do to those who committed this crime.
written by teo siew chin, November 21, 2008 10:45:05
Dear Abdul Razak Baginda

I have one question for you : Do YOU know who ordered the killing?
written by ohuat, November 21, 2008 10:46:17
Comment removed for repeat posting
written by justice, November 21, 2008 10:49:33
written by JohnQ, November 21, 2008 10:50:05
The more he speaks, the more severe jeopardies his boss will be in!, Such a lousy strategist!

Ask him to get lost to uk or hell at a speed of light, najis!
written by antiilluminati, November 21, 2008 10:50:42
"If we descend to a level where, a taxi driver for instance, someone who doesn't know the facts, writes and that becomes public opinion, then I feel sorry for society because the society has descended to such a low level. Let's not talk about Malaysia, let's talk about the knowledge society, the thinking public but what's missing at the moment is, just one individual or two individuals can form an opinion and that becomes public. Come on, give me a break."

Baginda,
You are talking cock. Most Taxi drivers are very responsible human being then species like you moron especially your personal friend Najis Rosak.
written by Zapper, November 21, 2008 10:52:48
Razak......why the silence in the past and made so much noise when you are acquitted?? A deal had been done?? Why the blame game now?? Your answers to the press conference a a lot of bull. THIS IS THE JOKE OF THE YEAR.
written by ahmadneil, November 21, 2008 10:56:00
Baginda,
Whenever you open your mouth,worms started falling out.Liar!
After 151 days,now you notice how the world have changed.Read MT and it will give you a better insight to what we bloggers think your are up to.
written by ahmadneil, November 21, 2008 11:01:42
Baginda,
You say Najib don't know Altantuya.
Let me ask you,were you not with Najib and Altantuya in HongKong together having dinner in a restaurant.During court case when Altantuya cousin wanted to show the photo ,she was thrown out,and the court refuse to accept the photo, saying it might be fake.
What about in Paris,the 3 in one love trip to purchase submarine!
written by dlmz, November 21, 2008 11:01:42
He sounds scared..He sounds like he is haunted day and night for his murderous act. He dares not mention her name, or even how they met but only know how to say she has nvr met najis..wonder how much money he got for saying that. probably one of the watches bought by the wife as well.
written by Tom Cruise, November 21, 2008 11:06:17
Dissertation: THE PERFECT CRIME.
written by mamak, November 21, 2008 11:09:09
Rojak baginda, don't be a joker man, we already know who is the real killer.
written by NSTPravda, November 21, 2008 11:10:50
God is great, I escape from the hangman’s noose
If not for Najib, justice would have cooked my goose
When I say Najib and Rosmah never met the deceased
I am just grateful to them for getting me realeased

We are all innocent just take my word for it
I am so innocent that I didn’t even lie a little bit
Of course, Bala's statutory declarations were lies
His perjury is clear although we cannot explain why

On the Qu’ran Najib has already piously sworn
That he is as innocent as the day he was born
Rosmah was nowhere near the killing site
She was then performing her holy Hindu rites

I thank Allah that we have the best judges that money can buy
With enough money all allegation of murder, corruption we can deny
Too bad the unfortunate underlings accused can get away
They are dispensable as long as I am "Semua-nya OK:
written by SamSan, November 21, 2008 11:11:34
After hearing Razak Baginda's testimony I believe he is innocent just as I believe VK Lingam is innocent. I don't believe that there has been any tampering of official Migration records by the powers to be in Altantuyas and her relatives visits to Malaysia. I don't believe the judgement made by the Judicial Commission that seriously discredited VK Lingam, Che Det and the rest of eminent persons to have done judge fixing, etc. I also believe Che Det's statement that Anwar punched himself to pulp and again discredit the Federal Court judgment that implicated the former IGP for the crime. I believe in Malaysia Boleh. I believe Najib's statement that Malaysia is thorougly insulated from the Global Financial Crisis given Najib's immaculate financial wizardry in handling Malaysia's Finacial affairs, among others. Malaysia Gilang Gemilang.
written by ahmadneil, November 21, 2008 11:13:38
Quote...'How do you know?'

'How do I know? (Pause) I know, okay? I know! '
Dear malaysian,
Do you all smell fish? I do and I smell rotten fish.Look at his face!
written by krising1, November 21, 2008 11:15:25
"For instance, let me remind you that I actually was charged, went to prison, waited for a trial (which) went on for nearly a year, 151 days, I did not see my family, I did not touch them until the (trial) started and even that, it was for a very short period. I went through all that. How can there be any interference if I went through that? God Almighty! Come on!"
Razak if there was no interference, you would not have been released on bail in the first instance. It is just that Judge Singam did not go along with the script that you landed in jail for 22 months. If not for the interference, you will still be the dock today, waiting to give you defence, be convicted with the two others. Then there will several years waiting in death row for all the judicial processes to take place. Then finally swinging at the end of the rope. All these did not happen because of the interference. Otherwise you will not be laughing at all!

written by Birdbrain, November 21, 2008 11:21:45
Former political analyst Abdul Razak Baginda is certain that Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak and his wife Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor never met murdered Mongolian Altantuya Shaariibuu.

Abdul Razak, who was acquitted of abetting in Altantuya's murder by explosives, also said he believed Najib would make a good prime minister.

Najibs cheap publicity stunt! Getting Razak to endorse his Premiership?

Cuckoo!
written by JohnQ, November 21, 2008 11:23:01
Dear AlL, in a nut shell

We shell pay tribute to Altantuya for succeed in making the whole world laugh at our "bolehland" systems !
written by RumahPanjai, November 21, 2008 11:24:40
What has Altantuya done to the two forces personnel that they hate her guts to shot and blow her up? What would they have gain from this evil deed? Conclusion is, someone ordered them to do it otherwise the consequences out weights their inaction. So what is the syariah court doing about this adulterer before he takes off overseas to the UK.Where is JAWI hiding now? It won't be long before we hear more from him aagist when karma catches up. Its a disgrace.
written by BOB007, November 21, 2008 11:30:47
U thing with Ur media statement malaysian people will trust u.hw cn without u n najib involment alantuya cn die. some more hw cn some documen like alantuya travaling document in imicration cn miss. hw cn police cn bring out bom without defence ministery permision. hw cn 1st SD by Bala cn missing 4rm police.so u thing we as rakyat malaysia stupid ha and trust wht u n najib say. u can ascap 4rm malaysian law
written by Ken Liew, November 21, 2008 11:32:14
so another pices i would ask..... WHAT HAVE OXFORD DONE? So called profession yet have no time to shave.he more looked like a crock then any advicer i know.So, i wont believe what a criminal said a criminal tat runs free ofcos) i wont specific any criminal tat runs free.for the criminal or any "so called criminal" tat live in jail we might listen to them as RPK did I would rather listen to a lie from a good person, then listen to truth that a bad person said
written by 1351, November 21, 2008 11:36:38
With UMNO's rule of law, this "friend" of Najib got away from a murder most gruesome. With UMNO's rule, anything is possible - even the highest court of law is/was an UMNO lawyer.

From the off, the hidden hand went to work with amazing alarcrity and much that was scripted and reported in msm played out exactly. Cynics and skeptics can only applaud with amazement while those working to deliver justice were cajoled, sidelined and one prime candidate, thrown in detention for just under 2 months !

The powers of arrest is a powerful tool tweaked to suit ALL vested interest. Defendant may be guilty as charged while in High Court but once kicked up to appeal and higher, verdict can often be set aside as seen recently in one DG of Ministry discharged from all that played out in the High Court. And just to recap on Razak Baginda - police and Prosecutors' Office didn't frame charges of kidnapping to go with all that intrigued and blood that was lost. Kidnapping is a lesser charge with hindsight but why didn't DPP frame in this last miniscule charge that surely Razak Baginda was GUILTY of - in was his phone call to Azilah/Sirul, in the presence of Bala, that triggered the chain of events leading up to Altantuya being lost to the world. Razak Baginda was the catalyst to this event but remain coy subsequent days(as reported) to claim no knowledge and didn't inquire about her person !

Many have tried get that day of justice for the deceased but have hit that incentious wall built by PDRM, Prosecutors'Office and the heavy weights of UMNO. Anyone believe otherwise might care to say Najib is an angel but let me offer to say, the court of public opinion will keep silent, powerless to inquire any further BUT come that one day when that authority is vested in the hands of every voter, we will be silent no more.

written by IbnAbdHalim, November 21, 2008 11:55:00
My dear Razak, let me put this question to you. You are innocent and I've no problem accepting that. You mentioned that Najib and Rosmah have never met Altantuya, and you are certain about that. Just tell me where's the linkage between Altantuya and the two accused? Do they know her personally or they just carried out orders from someone? Or are they insane because out of the blues they killed and blew her up? Wasn't there a motive? There sure be someone behind and who could that someone be? Not you (acquitted) and neither Najib and Rosmah. Hey! That's ridiculous.Don't tell me that Altantuya herself instructed the two accused to finish her off.
written by Badrol, November 21, 2008 12:01:55
Razak Baginda,

Yes, the Shah Alam high court has set you free ... so say what you want to say. You may be free for now, here in Bolehland Malaysia. But remember this, when you move house from your Damansara bungalow to the one six feet underground that's when you'll be handed the real verdict.
written by rizzku, November 21, 2008 12:02:34
Repeat posting removed
written by Counterpointer, November 21, 2008 12:09:45
What lessons did you learn from this episode?

There are many lessons but I can't really tell you the lessons.

Let me guess at one:

How to step on a stinking load of najis but let the Najis protect you from getting any najis stuck on you and in turn you protect the Najis from getting any najis stuck on the Najis.

A stinking shitty symbiosis lesson there.

written by arazak, November 21, 2008 12:11:26
Baginda said,"If bloggers can become the source of truth, then we are in trouble, this society."
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Before the era of "blogging", we were fed with lies from the UMNO regime's MSM spin media which also said they are the source of truth. . ., since than we are in a whole lot of more troubles!

At least with bolggers, we can see the other side of the coin!
written by archie, November 21, 2008 12:19:29
If SUSPECTS can become the source of truth, then we are doomed......
written by thor, November 21, 2008 12:24:30
If u were to read d article above, he seems to be very "proud" that he had suffered the worst life had to offer. He mentioned his "jail" time of 22 months. Others have suffered and are still sufferring MORE for lesser crimes than his under the I Suka Action courtesy of ugly botak with Bull in his mouth. So he gets to fly to UK for doing his "watever", so much money eh? Those commission sure comes in handy.

When he was asked abt the lady who unfortunately got tangled in the web these people weaved, he didn't hve the decency to at least show some remorse, instead he say the following which to me does not make any cow sense at all. Isn't this a MURDER and wat do u mean when u said " just want to make a statement that a person has died. And that has not been the basis of any court proceeding". Come on lah, she also have a family.

"Let me just talk about the relationship with the deceased. To me, there is a court proceeding but I just want to make a statement that a person has died. And that has not been the basis of any court proceeding, so let the person rest in peace."

The whole point here is that she can't rest in peace unless the real murderers are being caught and justice is done.

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by CL Lee, November 21, 2008 12:36:52
I agree with you ARB, the truth remains the truth no matter what you said and what the court decided.
And it will come back to haunt you when the time is right.
What ges around , comes around.
written by ahmadneil, November 21, 2008 12:58:16
GUILTY until proven innocent.

Where is Najis,in Machu Picchu,Peru,sightseeing after your release.His job is done.
Your press conference was timed after Najis left so that reporter won't be after Najis when you release your statement.clever!
Say what you want to say becos we never believe you.Only the kangaroo believes you.
written by 1351, November 21, 2008 13:10:29
The material question is not the truth or half truth on all respective SD’s or but the horse play behind the curtains that ultimately got Razak Baginda off the hook. Anyone believes due process worked and that Najib had nothing to do with getting RB off, all I can say is that Najib is every bit the pious worm he claims to be.

Bala’s SD revealed RB showing him a sms reply from Najib (purportedly) that “All will be OK”, but UMNO’s rule of law deems this not relevant for further inquiry. The rest of Bala’s SD1 is also a headache for PDRM as nobody can disprove the content, no matter how incredulous the declaration - Bala must surely claim info was derived from his conversation with deceased - but SD2 throws the whole mass of equation into the stratosphere for the speed of the about turn and subsequent falling off the face of the earth of Bala and family.

Here lies the crux and g'weekend all.
written by A MI, November 21, 2008 13:33:06
Obviously there will be no justice. RB is lying through his teeth. Must have been taken care of very well for him to give this press conference.

Wonder if anyone can peepk into his dad's/wife's/daughter's bank accounts?

There will be justice only if the Mongolian government takes the case to ICJ.
We mght as welll stop talking about this and concentrate on changing the government.
written by Fuminari, November 21, 2008 13:39:02
""How do you know?""

""How do I know? (Pause) I know, okay? I know!""
who does he think he is ??jack the ripper or God??
he is a MOQI by all means!he has been cheating n lying to his wife n family in the first place,but shamelessly he is branding others as liars!so,can we believe in what this proven liar said??

written by Alice, November 21, 2008 14:31:07
Hmmm he seems to portray that he is mighty confident of himself and his innocence. The truth is he is very fragile inside but portraying that he is strong and sure of himself.Anyway he is trying to run away and hoping that he could pay back Najib by promoting his intelligence . Hehehehe

The simple Q is : Why did the guys kill Altantuya??
You are innocent. Najib is totally innocent.

DO YOU THINK WE ARE STUPID??
written by magickriver, November 21, 2008 14:53:19
Razak Baginda's arrogance remains undiminished now that he's been acquitted by that spineless nonentity of a judge named Zaki Yasin. I don't believe Baginda was in control of the situation at all. He was in a panic and ran to his buddies N&R for help... you can take it from there! For a detailed analysis of Baginda's press conference, go here:

http://magickriver.********.com/2008/11/abdul-razak-baginda-on-malaysiakini.html
written by eloofk, November 21, 2008 15:18:28
One thing that baffled me. Why must the 2 cops be masked each time they appear in court? Is this a normal precedent whenever an accused is charged in court for murder? I can only deduce that they would be eventually be set free just like ARB and 2 other scape-goats to take their places when the trial ends. Verdict - Guilty. They must be hanged. I'm very disturbed who this two innocent men would be picked to take the place of the two cops. smilies/sad.gif
written by Nunudada, November 21, 2008 15:47:22
Dear Baginda,

Don't talk about bloggers and facts.Let me tell you of more than 30 years experience with the scenerio in politics in this country-
written by Apache3, November 21, 2008 16:17:50
Now another question...

Why was this DSP Musa Safri (ADC to Najis) NOT called to testify?

Para 37 of Bala's SD reads...

37. I called Abdul Razak Baginda who was at home to inform him of the events taking place at his front gate. He then called DSP Musa Safri and called me back informing me that Musa Safri would be calling handphone and I was to pass the phone to the Inspector from Dang Wangi Police Station.

This clearly shows the DSP's involvement.

Slip Shod investigations.
written by Sudahlah tu, November 21, 2008 19:20:10
mana perginya nilai murni Malaysia ini ....
sampai bila baru kita bangun dan bersatu demi negara ini.
written by Franky, November 21, 2008 19:31:20
This Baginda fella is a " LIAR ".
written by OrdinaryMan, November 21, 2008 20:19:19
Hello Abdul Razak Baginda, you want to go to UK?
There are more Mongolians in UK than here in Malaysia. Better watch out!
written by Joe, November 22, 2008 00:55:32
If a man can swear in a mosque and have it be televised on national television, bloggers can speak volumes on truth.
written by Man In Black, November 22, 2008 05:55:11
Baginda murderor....you are simply fantastic man!!!! What a LIE!!!Great stuff...Hopefully one day somebody close to you won't be blown away.....
written by fdqn, November 22, 2008 14:31:46
God is fair, the world goes round,Razak Baginda,you also have a dughter,what you did to Dr.Shaaribu,will haunts you forever,dont be too happy, man can plan but only god will know what your future beholds.Maybe you can get away in this life time,dont be too sure with your generations to come,they might not be so lucky.May "Aminah" make sure that justice pprevails. smilies/angry.gif
written by fdqn, November 22, 2008 14:33:54
Sorry for the wrong spelling;Razak Baginda you also have a daughter which I am sure you love her very much,may 'Aminah" makes sure that justice will prevail.
written by dassky2000, November 22, 2008 23:27:05
This guy is lying through his teeth. See his facial expression pun tau sudah. He thinks he runs away to UK selamat. Mr. Sharribu has his men there too, they will come visiting you Razak.
written by user1001, November 22, 2008 23:51:00
Definately he is a liar! Bullshiting in this media interview! Damm phukcing shucking sluts! It is damm easy to tell a person lying or not. Damm easy as all the answers this slut given were indirect! He was giving twisted answers! Come on, when you try to lie or hide, you try to give some indirect / twisted answers. Why not just straight forward answers? He is definately telling lies! He will be flying off to UK and never comes back. Dont let him go! Almighty God know the truth, you slut better bear in mind of this ... God know the TRUTH! You swear to GOD right, Rasak!?
written by needchg, November 23, 2008 08:13:50
Having spent traumatic times behind bars, still can have the sense of mind to further studies?
something not right.