Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow NRD breaking the rules: Chong

NRD breaking the rules: Chong PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 21 November 2008 00:07

Kota Kinabalu (Daily Express, Sabah): The on-going issuance of green MyKads to some 30,000 so-called stateless people nationwide by the National Registration Department (NRD) goes against regulations, said veteran politician Dr Chong Eng Leong.

"Does this mean foreigners with valid work permits are candidates for the green MyKad? What is the validity period? What is the legality when the work permit expires and not extended within the validity of this green MyKad?" he asked Wednesday.

He said the green MyKad is not meant for those supposed to be citizens by operation of law and the NRD should be fully aware of this.

The National Registration Regulations 1990 regulations 3, 5 and 27 are relevant, he said, adding that Regulations 3 deals with the persons to be registered, Regulations 5 deals with the issue of identity cards and Regulations 27 deals with persons exempted from registration according to these regulations.

Regulation 3 (1), he said, reads that "all persons within Malaysia on the date of the coming into force these Regulations and all persons entering Malaysia (except those exempted under Regulation 27) shall É register in accordance with these Regulations".

Regulation 27 relates to those who are exempted are bona fide travellers in possession of a valid passport or other travel documents or official document of identity that has been stamped by an immigration officer of Malaysia to show they are permitted to remain in Malaysia for a period of 12 months or less, or that they is in transit, he said.

While, Regulation 5 (3), reads that "in the case of a person lawfully entering Malaysia under a valid immigration pass or permit otherwise than as a permanent resident or citizen and not being a person exempted under these regulations, a green stripe with the words "Penduduk Sementara" (Temporary Resident) printed on the identity card".

Hence, he said the green MyKad should not be issued to IMM13 holders, foreigners with passport and sponsored by someone entitled to do so.

It is strictly meant for birth certificate holders and stateless, because Regulation 3 (1) read together with Regulation 5 (3)(C) means that paperless or illegal immigrants or their children born in Malaysia are not meant to be issued any MyKad, even if alleged stateless because they did not enter Sabah lawfully.

"So why is NRD doing this against the regulations just because they are directed by Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar?" he asked.

Dr Chong said NRD Director-General Datuk Mohd Abdul Halim had said that the exercise was to register 30,000 stateless people nationwide but that in Sabah alone already thousands went to the NRD office in Kota Kinabalu and Tawau on the first day.

"How did NRD get this figure of 30,000 nationwide?" he asked.

Dr Chong also reminded the NRD that fraudulently acquired Birth Certificates are aplenty and that late registered birth certificates must be verified by First Class Magistrates before they could be received in evidence as per Sabah Birth and Death Ordinance Cap 123.

He said the central government must have a master plan on how to tackle Sabah's perennial problem of foreigners with the IMM13 and Project ICs and the paperless issue.

"Not just come out with an ad hoc exercise like this present one, if the Federal Government is serious in protecting Sabah's sovereignty within Malaysia," he said.

Meanwhile, Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) Vice President Datuk Dr Jeffrey Kitingan called for the green Mykad registration exercise to be stopped until all questions are satisfactorily answered.

"What is the real objective of this exercise? Is it to solve the Malaysian local citizenship problems or is it an exercise in granting permanent status and citizenship to aliens?," he asked in a statement.

The State Government, he said, should be satisfied that such exercise is transparent and is not an open licence to legalise aliens in the State.

Based on the numbers registering, it was unexpectedly high and unprecedented with an average 2,000 to 3,000 a day, he said, adding that most comprised illegal immigrants and foreigners.

Those who obtain the green cards, he said, are given permanent stay status (of five years) and are allowed to find employment without any restrictions and the applicant only had to provide a birth certificate and/or guarantee from an employer.

"This is ridiculous. How do we know that the birth certificates are genuine?

The guarantor could also be suspect. How do we know that the employees/employers are genuine?," he asked.

Jeffrey claimed that some of the applicants could have obtained birth certificates through dubious Statutory Declarations.

"The NRD (National Registration Department) said that this card is issued to stateless people with birth certificates. I presume the issuance of this green card is made pursuant to the provisions of the National Registration Regulations 1990 wherein the holder would be within the category of temporary resident.

The provisions of these regulations were, however, meant for persons who had lawfully entered Malaysia under a valid immigrant pass or permit. In this instance, the present exercise is outside the scope of the intended category of persons, he said.

"The NRD deems it necessary to issue green cards to those in possession of Malaysian birth certificates. Whatever is the rationale to issue these cards, the NRD must ensure that the issuance is within the law and that the birth certificates, which are the basis of such issuance, are not fraudulent and further where the birth certificates are marked "Late Registration" under the Sabah Births and Deaths Ordinance Cap 123, such certificates must not be received in evidence until the a First Class magistrate has verified the truth of the contents of the Late Registration extract.

"I believe many of the alleged stateless persons are in possession of late registration birth certificates and unless these have been verified by the magistrate, the green card must not be issued," he said.

Jeffrey urged the NRD to seriously consider these requirements as "any omission or the lack of it could be construed as another exercise to grant de facto citizenship to illegal aliens through the issuance of the green card."

written by michael chick, November 21, 2008 01:16:16
These are the TRUE BUMIPUTRAS of Sabah. Just because they look less like Javanese, you deny them of Citizenship !! You Blooming IDIOTS !!!

I say ALL SABAHANS take Back YOUR Country !!!
written by chanatak, November 21, 2008 01:22:32

Hello Ah Chong, what are you doing still staying on in BN and scratching the underparts of UMNO? You know UMNO is behind all the NRD tricks. Screaming at the NRD won't do you (or Sabah) any good. UMNO can do it because fools like you continue to support it, and scratch it where it likes. So UMNO thinks you are having fun with it and don't understand why you complain at the same time.

You dumb or what?

written by Tompios, November 21, 2008 06:14:22
You know what? This UMNO plans 'fix deposit' voters in the future. Rakyat pendatang terhutang budi kepada UMNO atas pemberian MyKad Hijau. Sure undi, UMNO punya. Well, this is no more strange happened in Sabah. The different is, now NRD people doing it in the naked day! Orang pedalaman di perbukitan negeri Sabah boleh difahami jika tidak mempunyai birth certificate. But, how this city people fail to get birth certificate? Hanya orang pendatang dan anak2 pendatang yang tinggal di Bandar tanpa Malaysian Idendity Card.

UMNO you are the real crook! Penderhaka kepada SABAH khususnya!
written by boonhong, November 21, 2008 07:27:30
I have a friend who has been living with her mum, a single parent (Malaysian) for as long as she can remember her childhood and can't even get a PR status. Why are aliens given more rights than us?

Sabah's biggest mistake is to form Malaysia. You have to see for yourself, the condition of illegal immigrants in Sabah to understand our pain.
written by OilMan, November 21, 2008 07:37:37
What has the KadazanDusun leaders (DOMPOK & PAIRIN) has to say about this? They are only concern about the Petronas Kimanis project because it can fatten their pockets.
written by temanmu, November 21, 2008 08:20:04
Corruption! ... you can get anything even getting away with drig trafficking or murder!
written by ahmadneil, November 21, 2008 09:12:42
Dear sabahan,
If you don't kick out all these people who collaborated with illegals by giving them MyKad,sabah will become Mecca of the east.This betrayers are accelerating the demise of sabah.If sabahan is not a coward,then show all malaysian that you can make sabah a better place by throwing all these shit out.A clean malaysia cannot have a 'black dot' on our country's map.Stand up and be counted.Show us that sabahan have the will to change.Enough is enough!
written by ahmadneil, November 21, 2008 09:15:20
Sabahan,

Have they finish registering the 3 boatload of those hardcore criminals that have been kick out from Indonesia and Philipines?Take them in guys and give them MyKad.
written by Davy McChester, November 21, 2008 09:23:21
They turned Kadazan Donald Stephen of Sabah into Mohd Stephen and tried the same on Iban Stephen Kalonigan of Sarawak, but it did not work. Instead ,they went on a smear campaign to discredit him with the tacit help of Temengong jugah and rest of back stabbers from his own community.Not forgetting the Chinese factor, more interested in their status quo: securing their business needs than the long survival of their commmunity. It worked,and that was the end of Stephen. The other local leaders could not resist money politics and offer of positions,thus heralding the demise of native dominance. Then came along the other acceptable locals ,Md Taib and flat face Tun Mustaffa ,all showered with blessing from across the sea. The rest is history.
written by rizzku, November 21, 2008 09:39:41
The theory is ...
Sabah is relatively overpopulated with non muslim bumiputra. So the GOP wants to dilute this 'undesireable' element by giving citizenship to as many as muslim immigrants. The immigrants will then be called Malay. So far, it works perfectly well ..
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 21, 2008 10:45:51
With this highly public “Project Green MyKad” going on in broad daylight, I see some West Malaysians STILL UNABLE to comprehend the futility and desperate situation of Sabah. These ignorant and no-brainer ARE STILL telling us Sabahans to vote out UMNO/BN to “save” our State.

Can you stupid ignorant West Malaysians ever get it into your thick fat skulls that we real Sabahans NO LONGER have the NUMBERS to make that change? And you think this is NOT going to affect you non Bumis in West Malaysia? Hey, we got news for you. Just look around your Parliament and you see quite a number of them migrant Parliamentarians sitting in the August house.

And in time, hell, our migrant MPs might just get to become the PM of Malaysia as they are “Malays”.
written by ahmadneil, November 21, 2008 11:05:45
Sarawak is not like sabah and even the sarawakians are different from sabahan.Sarawakians are more friendly and intelligent.Most of the people I met from Sarawak,including my sarawakians friends are very forgiving.They are very open to any criticism and will accept whatever is constructive or not.
But Sabahan are less so,as I travel often to these states,which my job needed me to.Most of the sabahan talk with grinding teeth and easily angered with peculiar temper.May be after years of mixing with illegals,they have a sense that their homeland is beyond their reach and is losing grip.
In MT you seldom see anyone who will counter any true or false allegations regarding sarawak.We are all here to read people's comments and ideals.Whether you want to believe or not is your problem as mahathir says MT is full of nonsenses.I do believe alot of comments are true.
But sabahan are different when you say anything about sabah.Outburst and stupid accusations are flung at all those who show no respect or write anything regarding sabah.CAN'T they follow sarawakian style.Say what you want to say style!Keep them coming,for only through criticism ,whether constructive or not,will make any states or person a better one.Look at racist mahathir,when he open his blog,he is fully prepared to accept criticism,be it good or bad.Called him what ever you like.THIS'S IS WHAT BLOGGING IS ALL ABOUT.
I don't have to mention names but there is one who already said not too long ago that he won't mind us saying anything regarding sabah,but now he is back to his old stupid habits,cursing us bloggers if we write anything about sabah,not to his liking.Peculiar behaviour.This will be my last reply to that sabahan ,if not all,but nothing will stop me from writing ,including sabah, the land of the illegals .
written by beijing, November 21, 2008 11:20:03
Sabah Sarawah not belong to malaysia. Fcuk off the Malaysia government.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 21, 2008 11:39:33
A fool will always be a fool and NEVER argue with one because people will not know the difference.

No point in educating a lowly underpaid worker masquerading as a seasoned traveler, and posting under MANY PSEUDONYMS in this blog, seeking trills and adventures through cyberspace and dreaming of the day when he can live out his dreams.
written by Bloodhound, November 21, 2008 21:26:34
This can cost the opposition party a hugh number of votes if not sorted out before any snap elections are called!

This is just another tactic to delay or not to allow the legal citizens their rightful entitlement to exercise their right to vote at elections.

Be aware, this tactic COULD COST the opposition parties a HUGH NUMBER OF VOTES if the issue cannot be resolved before any snap elections are called.

This is a delaying tactic because if they do not possess the MyKad, they will not be allowed to vote. The NRD will argue and then, acknowledge error in judgement or mistakes by lower echelon supervisors/managers of the department and then will choose to slowly replace the green cards with the real MyK*** and meanwhile a snap election will be called before any real significant number of legal voters are issued with the proper MyK***.....which by that time, the snap elections would be over!

Get a professionally experienced group together IMMEDIATELY to monitor and scrutinise the whole issue. Speed is of essence here if PKR wants to reap the rewards of these voters which the NRD is trying very hard not to register correctly!

Constant public announcements over all sorts of media on the tactics and progress of the activities of the NRD regarding our long lost voters of Sabah would hold them to own up to their efficiency and honesty and exposes any inability, dishonesty, inefficiency and corrupt practices of the department.

Only solid publicity will place the spotlight on them and when the spotlights are on them, they would then have no choice but to act appropriately and honesty to fulfill their obligations as required under their employment.

Otherwise, the rakyat will cane them thoroughly!
written by Old Man, November 21, 2008 22:05:18
Political leaders of KDM are a joke. Why bother to make so much money when in the end your great grandchildren do even know your names?
Possible scenario is that the descendants of the legalized illegals will end up as political masters of Sabah!
If you continue to encourage your KDM people to dance and drink Tuak, there come a day their lives will be worse off than those legalized illegals. Now it's already happening otherwise your people need not go to Singapore to look for jobs and end up as toilet cleaners!
smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by dassky2000, November 22, 2008 00:57:34
It is said that only four (4) states gave BN UMNO the win in election 2008. Well Pakatan Rakyat must do something immediately because BN has started their dirty trick three (3) days ago in SABAH.

The NRD is issueing green cards to illegal immigrants with or without proper travel documents and there are proves.

This guy who just started working for me is a filipino and has been staying in Labuan and Kota Kinabalu the past two years with a fake IMM13.

Today he showed me some goverment letterhe*** with his picture on it and with a different name. I asked him why his name is now different, and he said to me that since his name is not registered in the list of names, and the name Karim is without a reciepent he could have it. And to prove he is islam, recite the quranic verses.

Tradaaaaaa, he is now officially given a piece of paper that allows him to live in SABAH.

Through this scheme, BN is now recruiting their voters for the next election. SABAHANS , PLEASE DON'T GIVE UP YOUR STATE TO SOME FORIEGNER TOO EASILY.