Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malay group says immigrants must adapt to local culture

Malay group says immigrants must adapt to local culture PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 21 November 2008 00:04
By Shannon Teoh, The Malaysian Insider

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 20 - Perak Raja Muda Raja Nazrin Shah's speech on multiculturalism has sparked differing reactions from different groups.

Malay rights lobby group Pertubuhan Pribumi Perkasa Malaysia (Perkasa) has voiced its support for the Raja Muda's call for immigrant communities in Malaysia to respect and accept the culture, history and system of government already in place.

Speaking in the Parliament lobby today, its president, maverick independent MP Datuk Ibrahim Ali, however did not acknowledge the crown prince's message in the same speech yesterday that Malaysians must embrace multiculturalism.

"Immigrants across the world swear their allegiance to their new country and its leaders. They adapt to the culture, language and lifestyle in their new homeland," he said.

"In the case of the United States, Barack Obama shed his language, culture and the Islamic religion of his family in Kenya and Indonesia to assimilate. This was what qualified him to become President," he claimed.

Meanwhile, MCA spokesman and Central Committee member Lee Wei Kiat expressed his party's support for Raja Nazrin's statement that "the principles of equality and fairness suggest a preferred policy of integration rather than assimilation."

"Nations that do not uphold the above principles would find only a small privileged group benefiting or taking advantage from unfair policies, while most other people would suffer from an undesirable scenario," said Lee.

Lee added that "nations would face problems of disunity, such as disintegration and distrust among the peoples when country leaders opt for forced assimilation and not genuine integration."

"MCA welcomes the statement by YM Raja Dr Nazrin who represents the views of open-minded opinion leaders, who speak without fear and favour, and should be exemplary for all other small-minded leaders who adopt chauvinistic viewpoints in their power struggle and rhetoric."

Speaking in Parliament today, Ibrahim rejected the view that Obama's success was due to his ability in overcoming racial sentiments and insisted that in Malaysia, the rights of non-Bumiputeras were guaranteed and it has led to them moving ahead of the Bumiputera communities in terms of economic standing.

"The Malays have historically been very tolerant towards immigrant races and accepted them without them having to sacrifice their culture and language. Attempts to unite them with one language and one culture has seen fierce opposition," he claimed.

"In Malaysia, there are leaders who are not good in Malay but can still become elected representatives," he added.

He agreed that a Chinese or Indian could become Prime Minister according to the Constitution. But in the spirit of Islam being the official religion and the special position of Malays, then the PM would need to be a Malay.

- The Malaysian Insider

Comments (60)Add Comment
written by Stormquest, November 21, 2008 00:10:09
"Malay rights lobby group Pertubuhan Pribumi Perkasa Malaysia (Perkasa) has voiced its support for the Raja Muda's call for immigrant communities in Malaysia to respect and accept the culture, history and system of government already in place".

I guess that Perkasa members, being members of an immigrant group, must adapt to Orang Asli culture.

agree 191
written by ssathia, November 21, 2008 00:10:54
If all immigrants to Malaysia must adopt local culture, then we should all abandon the cities and kampungs and retreat into the jungle with the Orang Asli and the Orangutan.
agree 139
written by Proarte, November 21, 2008 00:15:08
I am all for learning about and adapting to Orang Asli culture.

They know how to live with the environment in a sustainable way. They have lived in such a manner for thousands of years.

We immigrants, including those who call themselves Malays, have not given them due respect and have abused their hospitality.
agree 138
written by michael chick, November 21, 2008 00:21:46
With all due respect then, all Malaysians should adapt to the Culture of The Orang Asli's and their Animistic ways. Theirs, should also be the official religion of Malaysia. The "Kulit Kayu Cawat" should then replace the Samping, and everyone should have frizzy Hair. Why?
The Orang Asli's were here 60,000yrs ago.

Now go bite your tongue for saying what you just did.
agree 127
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 21, 2008 00:29:15
Does local culture mean changing and becoming a ORANG ASLI OR BECOME THE SAME AS THE MALAY WHO HAS HIJACKED THE ORANG ALSI'S POSITION??

it is interesting to see Malays running around without cawats...
the indians will be at home with the orang aslis with heri komunums!!!
which will make them orang aslis per se..

and the chinese what did they wear ah????

as long as we have bigots in UMNo like toyols and kasims ..and the Mother of Matamaks......sorry...lah..
written by allmenarebrothers, November 21, 2008 00:35:03
Venom & poison can only spew out from the mouths of Mad Racists.
They are still living in prehistoric times. They are uncivilised, uncultured & primordial.
Therefore can't blame them for their outbursts.

written by onnetline, November 21, 2008 00:37:06
Speaking in the Parliament lobby today, its president, maverick independent MP Datuk Ibrahim Ali, however did not acknowledge the crown prince's message in the same speech yesterday that Malaysians must embrace multiculturalism.

Ibrahim Ali,

How many of the PERKASA party members ancestors are truly ethnic Malays ??
The carTUN from Kedah claims to be one too ! Who is lying then ??
written by allmenarebrothers, November 21, 2008 00:42:28
Only venom & poison can spewed out from the mouths of Mad racists.
Can't blame them because they are still living in primordial times. Therefore they are still uncivilised & their brains have not been fully developed yet.
We are living in the age of enlightenment & a globalised flatter & more accountable & equitable world.
written by InEffective, November 21, 2008 00:53:50

I think its foolish for the chinese and indians to seek unity much less adapt to the malays.

No nation on earth has ever achieved unity based on a platform of race or religion - (target objectives scheme invented by politicians). Racial nationalism has never succeeded anywhere.

Whatever peace and civil and social cooperation and collaboration exists between peoples of different races and religion can only be underpinned by equal-rights, and equal-opportunities, and shared values (does not look like there is any sharing going on)

So since this is not possible by the discriminatory rules, laws, and policies (tiered-rights) in malaysia in the constitution, the chinese and indians should abandon speaking malay, abandon malay based education, and start anew based on english or whatever else enables them to participate in the global economy on an equal footing.

And prep their families and children to be segregated from malays - its already segregated in reality anyway. (going to each others house during festival time is of marginal value - only beneficiaries were the politicians who leveraged this occurrence to create a false perception and image of unity)

Each race can develop its own source of financing, its own sets of laws and rules and policies, its own educational structure, and its own governance - nothing wrong. Lets have 3 different ICs based on the different races/religions.

So malays will be happy, chinese will be happy, indians will be happy - a perfectly segregated society. No tension lah....real peace
disagree 40
written by MalaysianUnited, November 21, 2008 00:55:46
hahahhaa!!

Sudah la..saya tulis tentang kepentingan perubahan luar bandar sebelum pelaksanaan merit sahaja ditolak sebanyak 125 orang..

Ini nak cakap tentang orang asli..

Sudah la..

Banyak wayang la semua orang yang komen nieh..
disagree 42
written by Sinewy, November 21, 2008 01:04:22
Ibrahim Ali, I'm most happy to bring you to the orang asli village in my home state perak and allow you to adopt their culture. I think they will be proud of you as the real anak malaysia. For heaven sake will this block head comes to his senses that for any one to swear his allegiance to the country which he is a citizen would not mean that he has to adopt any body's culture. Just be a good and productive citizen and pay your taxes and don't corrupt the nation, that's all. You will be a 100% better citizen than those arrogant and corrupted politicians who are draining the wealth of the nation and bring the country to her death. For those self-serving and power hungry politicians, please keep your mouth shut. It smells rotten to hell.
written by Daryl, November 21, 2008 01:25:35
adapt sure.... I speak Malay language, my favorite food is nasi lemak, curry noodles, satay, roti canai, lots of Malaysian delicacies. So, how else you want us to adapt. UMNO need to stop all their negative propagandas and we will be okay and ready to take on the world.
written by Fat Zorro, November 21, 2008 01:27:39
What Malay Culture?????? Malays borrowed the language from Sanskrit and culture from Indians and Chinese. Eeven the Royal Yellow colour is copied from the colours of the Chinese Emperor!
written by sdcsrcc, November 21, 2008 04:40:54
Even the Prince does not get it right,,,,how do you expect the people (PERKASA) to get it into the thick and racist skull??

Immigrant communities....everyone in Malaysia besides the Orang Asli!
The so called immigrant communities(IC) had alot to do with raising the economic activities of the land....how can they forgot it...?Don t they know that IC are paying more taxes than the Malays. We are not free riders !!

Such statements is going to make more hatred in the hearts of IC and promote slowly but surely brain-drain.The Malay race is surely going to be "contaminated" with the Bangladeshis and Indonesians that will be brought to fill up the vacuum .......What can I say more?

Malaysian style of running the nations....throw away the inbreeds and bring in outbreed!Malaysia in 2100......??Worth Noting....would it still the name sake ...Truly Asia???
written by borneoman, November 21, 2008 05:10:35

Malay group says immigrants must adapt to local culture
Yes i totally agree with you .All those MALAY GROUPS WHO BELONG TO malay celup,malay palsu,malay ciplak,setengah melayu,mamak melayu,indo melayu,self proclaim melayu,melayu tiruan,melayu in sheep skin..who are immigrants in this beautiful land of the natives please respect and accept the natives culture and follow Raja Nazrin's advice otherwise your head would be considered fair game by the Original Natives,Melayu Asal and Orang Asli A.K.A ORANG ASAL OF THE MALAY PENINSULA,SARAWAK AND SABAH.
written by cheekymate, November 21, 2008 06:00:42
Ibrahim Ali,
Why don't you say in simple words what you want 'immigrants' to observe?
You want subservience, subjugation, relegation of all human rights, blind absorption of the propaganda in the media of your lies, no questions asked and at the very top, allow you umnoputras to rob, rape, plunder and murder our land at will.
I am NOT AN IMMIGRANT for if you classify me as one, then so are you. I am born a daughter of my Motherland, as so was my mother and her mother before her. We are all true blooded Bumiputeras as so are my chidren who were all born in our beloved country.
How many more of my future generations do you expect to be classified as 'immigrants'?
You umnoputras can rob us at will of our worldly riches but you cannot deny nor ever rob us of our rightful place in our Motherland which we have all loyally embraced with our hearts and soul.
written by Tompios, November 21, 2008 06:27:46
Nonsense! If all people adapt local custom then you must remove the slogan 'Malaysia Truly Asia' in Malaysia. Which customs? Mat Rempit? Show off in the coffee shop from 7 am to 7 pm busying talking about how make fun with girls and easy access money? Looking down on other races and religions? Which custom that the immigrant need to adopt? Wake up Malaysians! No more day dreaming. Please back to the reality!

written by Shimshon, November 21, 2008 06:34:59

Even if I become as Melayu as can be - you racist pigs would still impose your Ketuanan Melayu(the Master-Slave concept) and the NEP(stealing from nonMalay races to enrich the Malay-Muslims) over me ---
so I better be anything I wanna be.

This is after all an apartheid Malay-Muslim Malaysia.

Even if I'm really! really! really! patriotic, you'd still call me racial slurs, derogatory terms, "Bangsa Asing", "Kaum Pendatang", "Kaum Penumpang", Kafir, "Remember May 13 '69? We'll kill you!!" etc ----- so I don't really feel that patriotic & nationalistic anymore.

You don't tell me what to be or not to be - anymore. (51 years is good enough!)

written by Dongra Dude, November 21, 2008 06:43:51
This Moron from Pasir Mas Kelantan does not understand Oxford Educated Raja Nazrin' speech. He dont understand English. Suruh belajra Bahasa Inggeris tak mahu! Dah besar pun masih tak faham lagi. Kecik-kecik tak mampus!. He is another Bas@#$%d replica of Ahmad Ismail of Penang. This Katak should put in ISA. His mouth fouls like the Budu (Fermented Fish) in the Jar. We, especially the Pasir Mas people are really unfortunate to have this caliber MP to represent them. Babi Bangsat punya Ibrahim Ali! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by evaangel, November 21, 2008 07:18:30
I am a 5th generation Nonya born in Penang. I was educated in Penang until Form 5 in a Sekolah Kebangsaan and I speak and read better Malay than I do Chinese. On that basis I guess I have been assimilated or intergrated - So why am I still considered a immigrant?
Always been proud that my culture has embraced Malay elements yet kept its Chinese roots - So why am I still considered an immigrant?
Malaysia clothed me, fed me, educated me, raised me... So why am I still considered an immigrant?
I don't dispute the immigrant status of my ancestors - but if we all look back that far - aren't we all immigrants?
I understand being considered an immigrant overseas where I work - but in the country where I was born...?!!!
The other day someone at work asked me - So where do you call home?
And I couldn't really answer.
If home is where my family is - then it is Malaysia. If home is where I can exist with acceptance and without discrimination then ... I have none.
(Ok maybe Penang cos the food is awesome) smilies/tongue.gif
written by msiaman, November 21, 2008 07:18:49
Kumpulan Tonkat Ibrahim Ali seem to think they are better than Raja Nazrin. They can qualify or extend the statement made by Raja Nazrin.... Talk about adapt to local culture? Mana adat "Kesetiaan kepada Raja dan Negara?"
On the other hand, we are talking about "Malaysia Truly Asia". Now what does that mean? Only one single culture in Malaysia? The biggest idiot in the country that want to cling on to his tongkat which everyone knows why! You think it is for the country?
written by Kotadamansara73, November 21, 2008 07:37:14
Dear Ibrahim Ali,

Your words and language will not bring any development to the Malay race. Only the hardworking people of Malaysia will bring progress to the development of the Malay race. Ibrahim Ali and Fuad Hassan, you guys can scream and shout all you want, but your words are nothing but hollow voice.
written by rockli, November 21, 2008 08:19:54
Again this PKR maverick stirring up religious sentiment.
In the USA even though the official religion is Christianity, schools are not ALLOWED TO teach and indoctrinate the Christian religion.
So why compare the US and us.
In fact the Christian religion is not promoted by the govt except by the private citizens there.
Try that here, Ibrahim Ali.
written by temanmu, November 21, 2008 08:24:48
Stupid racist supremacist!
written by chiongguo, November 21, 2008 08:25:19
Raja Nazrin said :

Raja Muda's call for immigrant communities in Malaysia to respect and accept the culture, history and system of government already in place.

Ibrahim Ali said :

"Immigrants across the world swear their allegiance to their new country and its leaders. They adapt to the culture, language and lifestyle in their new homeland,"

If one adapts to the culture,language and lifestyle of the new homeland then what is multi-culturalism that Raja nazrin was talking about. Accept and respect means basically not been critical of the culture , language and lifestyle of the community. adapting means giving up one's culture, language and lifestyle and EMBRACE the new community culture. This is mono-culture and not multiculture. Many new immigrant, due to specific advantages accorded to their new status, had embrace the malay culture. So what we have today is a pseudo-malay culture within the malay culture. Many of these mamak may speak the language or even wear malay clothings but much of their indian culture remain very much a part of their psyche. In this regard those pseudo-malays must accept the local culture of cooperation and acceptance built up over the centuries since the time of hang li poh, hang tuah (yes hang tuah was chinese) etc and not destroy it by their strident and blatant attempt at destroying the peace and harmony just so that they could gain some political power to sustain their greed.

For multi-culturalism to truly exists in malaysia the malays must also be open-minded to accept and respect what these cultures and languages bring to the nation and benefit from it. There is much in common amongst the various cultures. The wisdom tradition of every culture never fail to amaze me by their similarity more than their differences.

Ibrahim Ali need to take english lessons and Raja Nazrin should give it to him - royally

smilies/tongue.gif
written by Toyolbuster, November 21, 2008 08:30:46
"In the case of the United States, Barack Obama shed his language, culture and the Islamic religion of his family in Kenya and Indonesia to assimilate. This was what qualified him to become President," he claimed.
Ibrahim Ali, don't be more of an idiot than you already are. Obama had no choice, he was dumped by his muslim father and raised by his white american mother and grandparents and therefore being brought up as one white american though he is still widely considered a black. Bottom line is, american governments are not racists like you umno bigots. No matter how you pretend to be a PR member, you are still flesh and blood umno cos you can never hide your stink. Malaysia is for Malaysian regardless of our origin or culture for this is our accepted Motherland. If you still can't respect this fact, go fly a kite in your PCB, and you can call it Pantai Cahaya Bulan for all I care.
written by ksauyong, November 21, 2008 09:07:19
"In the case of the United States, Barack Obama shed his language, culture and the Islamic religion of his family in Kenya and Indonesia to assimilate. This was what qualified him to become President," STUPID Ibrahim Ali claimed.
Did Obama assimilate the Red Indian culture and thus got qualified to become President or did he assimilate the IMMIGRANT ENGLISH culture to become President?
written by Bigjoe99, November 21, 2008 09:27:49
Empire ends, they always do. And this guy's idea, its really hegemonistic empire building within our borders will end. They always do...
written by batsman, November 21, 2008 09:28:30
BO had African father but adapted to white culture. Similarly a lot of Malaysian immigrants to US easily adapted to white culture, in spite of the fact that they ran away from local Malaysian culture. Logically this can only mean that they consider white man's culture superior while the brown man's culture is inferior. (Part of the reason I consider immigrants as prostitutes)

If the Malays are racist, aren't the Chinese (and Malay)immigrants and hopefuls chauvinistic? Is this the real reason for Malaysia's intractable problems? Can it be that only one side who is at fault? Remember - it takes 2 to quarrel.
disagree 17
written by batsman, November 21, 2008 09:34:48
BTW, I think all this talk about Orang Asli as counter points to Malay talk about immigrants as red herrings. This is similar to Malay talk about Malay poverty being countered by Chinese talk that there are plenty of poor Chinese as well. I think both are using the poor cynically as points to win arguments. Both have no real sympathy with the poor. UMNO uses Malay poor cynically to win support while Chinese chauvinists cynically use Chinese poor to win chauvinistic support.

Isn't this the problem with Malaysia? It becomes intractable when people of all sides become hypocrites. I trying to delude others they delude themselves as well. Nobody wants to face up to the truth - we all stink.
written by Arubin, November 21, 2008 09:44:55
"Immigrants across the world swear their allegiance to their new country and its leaders. They adapt to the culture, language and lifestyle in their new homeland," he said.

This is a ridiculously stupid claim.

It is well known that the African-Americans have their very own subculture in the country which is quite different from the majority 'Whites'.

Are you telling me that these people are not truly Americans?

Cakap sebelum fikir...bodoh punya orang.
written by Zapper, November 21, 2008 09:52:30
Can Perkasa tell all non-malays what is the malay culture??
written by Tan Tan, November 21, 2008 09:55:26
"In the case of the United States, Barack Obama shed his language, culture and the Islamic religion of his family in Kenya and Indonesia to assimilate. This was what qualified him to become President," he claimed

Tan Tan - The reason is because Obama is not an immigrant as he is born in USA.

"Immigrants across the world swear their allegiance to their new country and its leaders. They adapt to the culture, language and lifestyle in their new homeland," he said

Tan Tan - I already studying BM, eat nasi lemak, watch wayang kulit, celebrate Hari Raya and be friend with Malays and Indian friends. So what talking u? I am not immigrant ok! I am born here! Tell that to my grand grand father la!!!

"In Malaysia, there are leaders who are not good in Malay but can still become elected representatives," he added

Tan Tan - OK this I need to agreed on. If u wanna be MP, please speak good BM.

He agreed that a Chinese or Indian could become Prime Minister according to the Constitution. But in the spirit of Islam being the official religion and the special position of Malays, then the PM would need to be a Malay.

Tan Tan - Think out of the box ppls! Who said there isn't any Chinese or Indian who is not from Muslim faith and having a Abdullah name somewhere???? So race is not a problem. If require a Muslim leader, then do u want to be the leader of that faith, if yes, convert!

We can be discriminate for our race as we are born to that and no choice ok. So stop this bullishing race issue and think of how to strengthen the nation as a whole. Look at Thailand!

written by 98PercentPrimate, November 21, 2008 10:21:17
Pertubuhan Pribumi Perkasa Malaysia (Perkasa) must first define their usage of the term 'immigrant'.
The correct usage of 'immigrant' should be for a person who had legally migrated from another country in their current lifetime.

Since they are referring to Obama, it would appear they are referring to born-in-this-country-citizens whose parents and ancestors had migrated from another country as immigrant.

I thought such reference would be seditious as it is a sensitive issue and degrading. This is the same reference Ahmad Ismail had used. I readily accept my ancestors were once immigrants but why should I be referred as an immigrant which is not in conformance to my legal and human rights.

For that Perkasa should apologised for insulting Malaysians, making a sensitive and false assertions.
written by Arubin, November 21, 2008 10:25:19
BO had African father but adapted to white culture. Similarly a lot of Malaysian immigrants to US easily adapted to white culture, in spite of the fact that they ran away from local Malaysian culture. Logically this can only mean that they consider white man's culture superior while the brown man's culture is inferior. (Part of the reason I consider immigrants as prostitutes)

Exactly WHAT is white culture? Dancing around burning crosses while wearing white robes? What is American culture, really? Fact here is that you can do WHATEVER you like in the US and its more or less 'American' culture. The country is a cultural melting pot. Its a nation of immigrants. Everything is imported.

In fact, the Americans have even adapted parts of Chinese culture to become their very own. You think fortune cookies are truly Chinese? And what the heck is Chop Suey anyway?

The only real culture in America is MULTICULTURISM. Period.
written by krising1, November 21, 2008 10:30:16
Here is another argument to consider all you racist dogs out there. The original inhabitants of of Canada, USA and South America are "Indians" - red, black or brown. All the rest - the majority today - are migrants, Tell me which migrant has adopted their culture. Or what would say if the Westerners say that all present day migrants must become Christians because this is an original Christian county. Will Ibrahim Ali and the likes of him tell me that it is then alright for the muslims in these countries to convert to Christianity and they will be up in arms. If that is allowed, I will adopt local culture, religion and language and become another maa.mak.
written by batsman, November 21, 2008 10:35:04
Arubin - if BO behaved like a creature from the Bronx, would he have been elected? Moot question I guess - just like the many of the arguments here - based on silly emotion.
written by batsman, November 21, 2008 10:37:03
Well said Krising 1
written by Arubin, November 21, 2008 10:44:33
written by batsman, November 21, 2008 10:35:04
Arubin - if BO behaved like a creature from the Bronx, would he have been elected? Moot question I guess - just like the many of the arguments here - based on silly emotion.

Excuse me. Did you just say creature from the Bronx? Creature?!? And you come on here acting all morally superior.

I know full well that Obama might not be elected, but let's recognize the cause for what it is. A good number of Americans did not, and will not consider voting for Obama simply because he's not White. This is what we call RACISM. No other word for it.
written by Anak_Asia, November 21, 2008 10:52:01
Raja Nazrin holds a PhD.

Ibrahim Ali holds a LCE i guess smilies/smiley.gif
written by carribeanking7, November 21, 2008 11:08:22
Trust Ibrahim Ali to spin things out of context, I always refer to him as all the 3 stoodges rolled into one, and if one were to peruse the parliaments hansard, it will become evident the drivel this so called independent parlimentarian spouts.

Ok Ibrahim in keeping with local culture, while promoting multilingualism I dedicate this pantun to you :-

Ibrahim Ali cukup pandai meluat
Tiu na sing, si beh cia lat

velai illathu porriky (Tamil for-good for nothing)
oh what a tragedy

There you have it a quadrulingual pantun that rhymes.

written by renoir, November 21, 2008 11:15:10
98percentprimate wrote:
>I readily accept my ancestors were once immigrants but why should I be referred as an immigrant which is not in conformance to my legal and human rights.]]

Yeah, in the US no citizens are officially termed as immigrants, and of course their America-born children could not be called immigrants, officially or otherwise.

Stormquest wrote:
>"Malay rights lobby group Pertubuhan Pribumi Perkasa Malaysia (Perkasa) has voiced its support for the Raja Muda's call for immigrant communities in Malaysia to respect and accept the culture, history and system of government already in place"<
>I guess that Perkasa members, being members of an immigrant group, must adapt to Orang Asli culture.]]
-----------------------------------------------------

In the US, English-origin Americans don't call other citizens "immigrant communities" because they remember their own immigrant past. This not merely a testimony of their reasonableness, but also of their intelligence.

One interesting phenomenon is the existence of some American extremists who'd called for an English-only America. This movement was up and running even BEFORE American independence. The years following 1776 saw continuous struggles against acceptance of the German language, but by the late 20th century attention shifted largely to Hispanic and Asian languages. A few years ago, promoters of English only amendment "won" somewhat - they managed to make English a "national language" but NOT the official language. This is to ensure continued use of minority languages by the government for purposes of communication. Thus it's very common to see government leaflets printed in several languages so that every American, including recent and older immigrants, could understand. Further, signs in Hispanic could be seen at bus stations all the way from Kansas down to Texas and the Southwest.

As for culture, except for the KKK and it's likeminded buddies, no educated American would want to be caught saying that the "existing culture" ought to be accepted. This is partly because culture is an evolving thing - one reason why the original European culture is now meshed with black culture, as witnessed by the popularity of jazz, blues and soul, hip-hop, rap, and other kinds of music. Americans also prize the native people's heritage, as many Western states and cities are named after the first Americans. As for history, that's always a contested arena - today's college history texts contain a lot of revisionist elements, meaning the unflattering events that most countries would prefer to hide from their citizens. And so far as system of government is concerned, the overall trend has been towards more inclusiveness, more respect for differences, and more attention towards minority rights. Occasionally some administration - such as the present one - might act to the contrary, but ultimately they would pay the price as Americans vote to take back their country and their democracy. Lastly, no American would tolerate their country being governed by one party for over 50 years.

written by lab76820, November 21, 2008 11:16:45
Greetings,

I have orang asli friend and I respect their ways of live as well as their culture. Sorry to say........but she never told me I'm pendatang. In fact, she welcome me with open arms and treat me as a friend....as fellow Malaysian. Period!
written by alpha100, November 21, 2008 11:34:18
I don't think we have any problem with a Malay being a PM forever. But what we want is a PM for all Malaysian not for Malay or Muslim only!
written by BOB007, November 21, 2008 11:41:56
**** u La ibrahim ALI saitan.....gd bye next turm u no more be cm MB.....bcz people no more vote 4r u......
written by megahyper, November 21, 2008 12:01:25
You guys are really losing the plot and playing right into their hands.

It doesn't change anything.

They want all of you to concentrate "race race race", and they can keep their reign and grab your money la!

Project a sense of insecurities and you will get the effect.

I have been hearing stupid remarks on a daily basis, its getting f*Rking boring.

can you guys quit playing into their hand?
written by truthbespoken, November 21, 2008 12:35:24
Ibrahim Ali can run roughshot in Parliment. But he cannot run roughshot over public opinion! And my opinion is that he is behaving like a rottweiler ever ready to maim and kill anyone in sight, including his former master, UMNO!

We are all dealing with an animal of a man! This monster ought to be caged or shot! It can destroy societies. Serving it dog food won't do!
written by SimpleSoul, November 21, 2008 12:44:39

Then what about the Caucasions who went to America but did not practise the TRUE American Indian ways.
written by denkoh, November 21, 2008 14:17:25
i am going to quit my job to go hunting full time. Can someone show me how to make a sumpit?
written by aimmsia, November 21, 2008 14:31:58
What is the local culture? I live in Malaysia for over 50 years, all I know is Malays eat Tau Fu (Chinese dish), Chinese eat curry (Indian dish) and Indian eat satay (may be Malay dish). This is beautiful until some BASTARDS come and spoil the party.
written by cheekhiaw, November 21, 2008 14:38:51
aimmsia,

But do you steal, rob or kill with crooked knives?

If not, you have not totally adapted to their culture.

written by Tok Din, November 21, 2008 15:06:36
To my dear Malaysian brothers and sisters who are non-bumi and non-Malays:

I am compelled to share with you a well kept secret for your own benefits and for the peace and harmony of this nation.

For you to be regarded as a respected citizen of this land, there are only two things you can do. First, go for a skin grafting, genetic engineering and brain surgery so that you can look like one of us - real kampung Malay. Second, you can also consciously mimic (assimilate into our culture) a native Malay. How do you do that? Go to acting school to learn how to speak, swear and curse in authentic Malay dialects; cook, eat, dress, shit and behave in every way like a Malay. Unless you do that you certainly dont belong here.

Please be reminded that that unless you give out everything that remind you of a non-Malay characteritic you do not belong and you will not be allowed to live and function like a citizen. This country is a Malay land.

Since diversity is definitely a curse in this Malay Land, no other cultures or languages will be tolerated. Usage of foreign land is a hint of being disloyal and it is definitely out of place.

We should soon abolish other languages in schools and government including English becasue they are jarring to the Malay ears.

We vow to only use Bahasa Melayu exclusively as the language of instruction and official commmunication. This will ensure that we do not need to learn another language.

Please forget about the Federal Constituion and all its provisions. Who care about written words and promises made long time ago? Those words were written by people who are long dead and they are no longer occupying important positions in UMNO. We have decided to do what we please. Forget about public opinions, decency and persuasion as we throughly control the media, police and the courts.

Being just Malay is not enough for you to be citizen. To enjoy a good life you must learn how to lay your claim to the largess of the country. To qualify as a real Malay, you must quickly join UMNO to become an UMNOputra. Even that is not enough, you should strive to become top dogs in UMNO. Be a minister, a deputy minister, a menteri besar or whatever government agencies. How to achieve that goal? Buy it of course with money and funds you can find and get into the UMNO Supreme Council.

What is the the true mission of being a Malay? It is of course to jointly milk the country dry and to live off the huge public funds left behind by generations of hardworking ancestors.

Enjoy a carefree life as you can no other heaven like ours.
written by joeawk, November 21, 2008 16:51:39
Orang Asli culture is the ori culture. Not a bad idea to follow the orang asli, starting with Ibrahim ali, the joker who would not go away but stay to be a nuisance.
written by batsman, November 21, 2008 17:34:20
Arubin - Heehee! You sound like a very politically correct person, but not very bright. Your argument sounds as if you are talking of integration rather than multiculturalism. If you say US is multicultural, then you must also admit that there is a white culture and a black culture as well as other cultures within that multiculturalism. In fact there may also be several white cultures - there is the white culture of the WASPS and the white creatures from the Bronx. Of course there is the black culture from Haarlem as well, not to mention that of New Orleans. heehee
written by Qcumber, November 21, 2008 18:38:30
"In Malaysia, there are leaders who are not good in Malay but can still become elected representatives," he (Ibrahim Ali) added.

He himself the spoken BM is full of Kelantanese dialect.
"Mu tok soh dok sohor sangaklah, bau budu por kawe jugok."

written by Qcumber, November 21, 2008 18:50:20
Behing Ali..

Cino2 kelate tu kalu dengar dio kecek, tengok cagho dio make, cagho dio paka pakaye, cagho dio bergaul dgn ohge2 Melayu, ghaso mu pung tok ce dio tu Cino. Pah tu por mu ngoyak nok "adapt to the culture, language and lifestyle in their new homeland." lagu mano lagi? Demo tu "masyarakat pendatang" lagi koh kawe nok tanyior.

written by Jit Dharma, November 21, 2008 22:28:12
Jangan minta yang bukan-bukan, ia cuma mengalih perhatian Rakyat dari isu-isu
yang penting.Pak Ibrahim kena bagi syor yang boleh dipakai di dunia yang nyata bukan dialam mimpi.
written by Old Man, November 21, 2008 22:36:03
Raja Nazrin Shah is learned scholar and a Prince .
Comparing Ibrahim Ali himself with Raja Nazrin Shah is like comparing garbage and Gold!
May we suggest that his Datukship be revoked and be given a new title GARBAGE Ibrahim Ali! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Old Man, November 21, 2008 22:43:19
Raja Nazrin is a learned scholar and a Prince.
Ibrahim Ali is like a Joker in a circus! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by kkselvam, November 21, 2008 23:02:11
Anak haram ka si Ibrahim Ali ni? Bodoh bangang betul la dia ni.Apa nak kata? Orang UMNO cakap mana nak pakai otak.Dah lah tara otak, cakap pulak pakai lubang dubur!! Busuk la!!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif