Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow BN/Gerakan Profligacy versus DAP Thriftiness

BN/Gerakan Profligacy versus DAP Thriftiness PDF Print
Thursday, 20 November 2008 20:14

A Case of How Things CAN Change for the Better

BN, the Opposition party in Penang, particularly the Gerakan, has been pressing for a disclosure of the total expenses spent in the trade delegation led by Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng to South Korea recently (October 28 - November 1). Read details here.

Well, their wish has been granted. 

Today, my colleague Dato' Lee Kah Choon, the Executive Committee Chairperson of InvestPenang, which organised and coordinated the trade mission to Korea, revealed the trade delegation's expenses INCLUDING a comparison with BN/Gerakan's trade mission led by Koh Tsu Koon to India in 2007. 

Have a good look:

Koh Tsu Koon Era

Lim Guan Eng Era

Date of trade delegation

March 5-7 2007

Oct 28-Nov 1 2008

Duration

3 days

5 days

Destination

India

South Korea

Delegation numbers

55 comprising 12 government officials and 43 private sector delegates

52 comprising 10 government officials and 42 private sector delegates

Total airfare incurred

RM 41,600.00

RM 22,882.00

Accommodation expenses

RM 42,073.32

RM   9,500.00

Total incurred

RM 83,673.32

RM  32,382.00

Variance

RM 51,291.32

(wasted)

RM 51,291.32

(SAVED)

Let's look at these numbers from a few different perspectives: 

1.     DELEGATION SIZE: The delegation size was almost similar -- each on the young side of the 50's (government officials plus private sector delegates)

2.     INTINERARY DAYS: Guan Eng's delegation actually spent LESS but stayed more days, while Tsu Koon's paid out MORE to stay for a lesser number of days -- and you know that I know, that the cost of living in Seoul is significantly higher than in Chennai/Bangalore.

3.     ROUND-TRIP DISTANCE: The air travel distances are almost the same -- Koh Tsu Koon's was Penang-to-Chennai/Bangalore-Penang while Guan Eng's was to Penang-Seoul-Penang.

4.     AIR FARE: The fuel price increases in 2008 had escalated and greately impacted the price of total airfares inclusive of fuel surcharge. Comparatively Tsu Koon's 2007 trade delegation to India should have been cheaper and yet the former's total airfare cost was about 46% lower.. The key differentiator here was that we did not travel via First or Business Class!

5.     ACCOMMODATION: Again inflation is much higher in 2008 compared to even a year ago and still the Guan Eng Delegation's total hotel bills came out to about 78% lower than Tsu Koon's – without a doubt, we saved the taxpayers' money by staying in a budget-class hotel with no shampoo and shower gel supplied! 

In the final analysis, what Koh Tsu Koon's trade delegation spent in just one trip could have effortlessly funded the Guan Eng Delegation's trade mission to Korea THREE times over.

While we're on this subject, why not you Google the Internet yourself to see if Tsu Koon's 2007 trip to Chennai/Bangalore has so far returned any investments from India!

Go figure!

Source: http://www.jeffooi.com/

written by hiro, November 20, 2008 20:20:50
For those out there who's faith have been shaken by recent manufactured events, this is affirmation that you have made the right choice. Compared to the hick-ups and ridiculous police reports being made, they are nothing compared with the kind of wastage, pillage and plunder that's going on under BN government.

So please separate the trees from the woods and don't be so easily dubbed by the superficial changes currently being implemented at a cozy pace by Najib.
written by cheekymate, November 20, 2008 20:27:39
Koh Tsu Koon,
You think you are so smart and was hoping to 'trap' YAB Lim Guan Eng by asking for figures. Well, the figures speak for themselves. You have got yourself into a nice fix now. Congratulations.
written by SiHangChai, November 20, 2008 20:39:40
Can someone tell that BN state assemblyman to hang himself for his brainless substance? Looking at the cost, the then BN govt is the worst monkey of all time. Going to India compares to Korea is far cheaper logically since India is super cheap. But look at what the BN did, far expensive and zero return in investment. Friends of BN, the current chief minister went to Korea during the high fuel prices while you guys went during the low time. I am wondering what you all BN nuts doing in India seriously. BN especially those brainless UMNO Penang is seriously like sampah masyarakat! Instead of contributing to Penang welfare, they only know how to kutuk without substance.
written by ahmadneil, November 20, 2008 20:40:32
Ya lah,They went to India for holiday whereas LGE entourage went to Korea to look for business.And in India,they visited Taj Mahal,went to Bollywood to look for stars,learn Yoga,stayed in 6 stars hotels and still come back with some money in their pockets.You know what crooks look like,like this lah!
written by ahmadneil, November 20, 2008 20:47:02
What about Najib and his entourage going to London ,Peru and Washington!
2 to 3 millions becos that fatty MAMA have to go shopping.
written by Motherchell, November 20, 2008 20:48:07
All UMNO officials graduate in money laundering processes from the time their fathers stood for positions ;

UMNO means : Cheat , rob , pilfer ,heist,filch,pinch,snitch, swipe etc . They own Porsches, Lamborghini s,Maseratis.Benzs etc ( majority of the owners can never pronounce one word here with proficiency) plus their voter banks sit on stilts on flood ravaged terrain and eat morsels .
God turns a blind eye to them as HE has kept them for the final leash! UMNO does not know this !!!

http://sjsandteam.*********.com

written by rajaphillips, November 20, 2008 20:54:43
MORAL OF THE STORY; THOSE LIVING IN GLASS HOUSES SHOULD NOT THROW STONES AT OTHERS
written by lamakawan, November 20, 2008 20:59:03
All the figures speak for themselves. No need to argue. Gerakan, you are wasting the DAP gomen's time by stirring these petty issues for them to reply. After all you are not even in the state assembly, why are you speaking so loud now? Have we seen you in the news when you were in the gomen last time? Very rare. And now when you are out of gomen, you are shouting like a mad dog to get attention from the public!
written by Sudahlah tu, November 20, 2008 21:02:59
kita tahu ....umno dapat komisyen daripada para peniaga yang pergi bersama sebagai rombongan .... wang rakyat tetap pakai , komisyen pula sebagai ganjaran sendiri .... tamak tidak sehingga ....
baguslah ... biar orang melayu lihat sendiri kebodohan mereka 'dipermainkan' oleh umno selama 51 tahun dan masih 'dipermainkan lagi hingga PRU13...
siapa yang lebih bodoh di sini ?
" jangan beritahu mereka apa yang mereka tidak tahu ".
written by allmenarebrothers, November 20, 2008 21:12:26
Previously under Gerakan/BN it was daylight robbery of the Rakyat by scoundrels, rogues, crooks & blackguards!
It was 24 by 7 by 28/29/30/31 by 365/366.
Uptime was 100%. What an achievement!
World record not just in Bolehland!
written by Jit Dharma, November 20, 2008 22:21:21
Thanks for the breakdown. Keep up the good work Jeff, was there any doubt?
Give em hell, Guan Eng!!!
written by macaufan, November 20, 2008 22:35:58
In order to divert rakyat attention, KTK said "aiyo..... i've only wasted rakyat money RM51K only but Chor has wasted Pampena $51million & he also got gaji putih $10k/month!
written by ManOnTheStreet, November 20, 2008 22:54:15
We have faith in you giuys. Keep up the good work, LGE and Jeff. The ball is now back in Gerakan's court.
written by Mee Udang, November 20, 2008 22:57:58
Ah Koon ar!

Why you insert ants into your own arse??? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif