|
By Pat Lu, Co-Founder, Pahlawan Volunteers The fear is now replaced by conviction. A conviction to stand by and support fellow-Malaysians who walk the talk. With the hope the government and the authorities will do the same.
Was I glad to see more than 200 fearless Malaysians turned up at the Anti-ISA Vigil held on 16 November 2008 at the MBPJ Civic Centre, Petaling Jaya.
Of all the Anti-ISA Vigils, I chose last Sunday’s event to face the fear. Simply to be counted as one more fearless Malaysian to face the riot police if needed be. For the sake of our country, our children and future generations.
Exactly a week ago, Sunday 9 November 2008, riot police charged into the crowd with batons and shields, man-handled citizens and arrested 24 people just as they were singing the national anthem and getting ready to leave. It was frightening to watch the video at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kAJik3wYAVw and other videos where you can hear the riot police shouting and banging their batons on their shields outside the Amcorp Mall.
The riot police didn't care if you were young, old, man, woman or child. They mindlessly and heartlessly followed orders similar to robots. They charged in to disperse the peaceful crowd singing the national anthem.
The fear was very real. What if they charged at the crowd again? What if I'm one of those unlucky ones to get beaten up or arrested this time? Hey, I can’t sprint as I used to 30 years ago! I’m a single parent. What if I were injured or arrested, what will happen to my children? Would my aged mother get a heart-attack because of me? These were merely two of the fears or consequences I may have to face. Should I risk it?
Let others do it. I contribute in other ways. Better to be safe than sorry. Then I recalled what I wrote that same Sunday, published in Malaysia Today the same evening before the fracas took place: …"little drops of water make the mighty ocean" and "ordinary people can do extraordinary things"… Together, we either sink or swim in the mighty ocean we create. By our own doing.
So clever to write but if most of the “little drops of water” stay home, where is the mighty ocean for the next tsunami lah?
I decided to throw caution to the wind. I decided to participate. Though the images and sounds of the previous Sunday’s fracas were still fresh in my head. I chose to confront the fears especially last Sunday. Simply to stand by my fearless fellow Malaysians, “Hey, you are not alone. Thank you for caring.” And to show the government aka UMNO, “Hey, look! I’m out too! I'm no longer afraid! Especially so tonight!”
So there, I faced the fear. And experienced first-hand at the vigil, “There is nothing to fear but fear itself.” – Theodore Roosevelt.
The fear is now replaced by conviction. A conviction to stand by and support fellow-Malaysians who dare to walk the talk – who put themselves on the frontline for us. With the hope the government and the authorities will do the same sooner than later. Walk the talk. Do the right thing for the sake of your country, your children and future generations.
Negara Kita, Tanggungjawab Kita. “It is better to light one candle than to curse the darkness.” Like many old sayings, there is a great deal of wisdom and truth in these words, but much that also goes unspoken. Those of you who lit many candles and chose to do so rather than only to curse the darkness, I salute you – the real police and defenders of this nation.
It is better to light a candle than to curse the darkness. See you at the next vigil.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Watch these inspiring videos: Anti-ISA Vigil on 16 November 2008 at the PJ Civic Centre
They say a picture speaks a thousand words. Below are the videos of the entire vigil where you can hear every word. J Erm, I got carried away meeting old and new friends, so missed recording the first couple of minutes of RPK’s speech. Sorry about that. Feel free to share. Absolutely no copyright…
Part 1: Raja Petra Kamarudin, Bernard Khoo and a couple of senior citizens http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AGNU3sWKCGI Part 2: L Chuah, KJ John, YB Teresa Kok < color="#0000ff">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uyI7o6Y2sLI Part 3:YB Teresa Kok (continuation) < color="#0000ff">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ORQJA17KCm0 Part 4: Din Merican; PJ Councillor Richard Yeoh on the 12 conditions in the police permit for gatherings; and Pastor Sivin Kit < color="#0000ff">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MVsxFwJCz1k Part 5: YB Hannah Yeoh and Haris Ibrahim on dos and don'ts at vigils – must watch < color="#0000ff">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rtq5hB9Cqzw Part 6: Edward Ling (future politician?) and end of vigil http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JTCXALx0mLg
By this contribution, I hope more people will be encouraged to organize and participate in candlelight vigils nationwide or at least help to spread the word. Simply because... First they came for the socialists, and I did not speak out because I was not a socialist. Then they came for the trade unionists, and I did not speak out because I was not a trade unionist. Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out because I was not a Jew. Then they came for me, and there was no one left to speak for me.
– Pastor Martin Niemöller (victim of the Nazis) ______________________________________________ PAT LU, Co-Founder, Pahlawan Volunteers, a Malaysian Voluntary and Advocacy Group. Join Pahlawan Volunteers at http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=33559455073 
|
If our police and political leaders are that well behave as the dogs above, our country wouldn't be in the mess we are in.
So please, for those who inserts comments, labeling our police and politicians as dog, think twice, you are insulting the dogs....