Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Anwar to attend Sabah PKR convention

Anwar to attend Sabah PKR convention PDF Print
Thursday, 20 November 2008 12:22

(Daily Express) - Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim will be visiting Sabah to attend the party's 2008 State Convention which would be held from Nov 21-22 at Tuaran Beach Resort, near here.

Anwar who is expected to arrive at the Kota Kinabalu International Airport at 11.45am on Nov 21 is scheduled to hold a press conference at 3pm, after launching the party's new service centre in Damai, Luyang.

He would be meeting the press again in the morning of Nov 22, at KKIA before departing for Kuala Lumpur.

This was announced by the Party's State Liaison Chief Hj Ansari Abdullah, at its headquarters here, Wednesday.

Meanwhile, Ansari expressed bitter disappointment in the BN state government, accusing them as of practising stone-age politics.

He said PKR had on various occasions encountered difficulty in getting a venue to hold its convention.

According to him, PKR had originally booked a different venue to hold its convention but was disappointed when the businesses that initially accepted their booking, cancelled at the last minute.

"This has happened many times to PKR. Cultural centres, hotels and government facilities have accepted our bookings before but they all cancelled at the last minute, even after we have paid for the booking," said Ansari.

"It is sad that the BN government is still practising stone-age politics, I guess this is the peril of being the opposition."

Ansari said that it was disappointing that business establishments are employing such unethical practises.

"They are conducting a business, they should not display politically bias," he said.

written by Rainbowseahorse, November 20, 2008 12:39:05
Yes Proarte,
And it's still a fact that DSAI was the DPM of Malaysia when Mamathir carried out "Project IC/MyKad" in Sabah and reduced us to being the minority voters.
So, how can we Sabahans trust DSAI?

However, we'll still support him if he can bring about changes in the Federal government.
written by clarity, November 20, 2008 12:42:04
Proarte , what do you expect? Do you prefer the current state of affairs in E. Malaysia. Do you prefer ICs given to immmigrants in Sabah? Do you prefer a CM in Sarawak for 27 years and robbing the shit out of the people?
Times change lah. Don't talk about 3o years ago during the TDM era might have been good during that period but certainly you cannot apply it for now. The Dayaks are certainly more educated now than 30 years ago. They will know what to do!
written by PASOK, November 20, 2008 12:45:06
Proarte

To a certain degree your points have some validity. I think there is still something of a trust issue in Sabah when it comes to DSAI. However I think most Sabahans realise that while he was in UMNO he was following orders from the dictator Mahathir and that since then and since his time in prison his ideological position has changed 180%.
DSAI's problem in Sabah is that he spends not enough time in the State and so people still only remember his UMNO history. He ought to make more effort in Sabah to get to know the people and not just fly in and out on 24 hour trips.
Nevertheless despite all this there is a groundswell of support in Sabah - not so much strong support for DSAI but strong support to change the BN. Hopefully the PKR leaders - especially the national ones - will make more sincere efforts to engage with the Sabah rakyat so that this latent support can be maintained and increased.

written by SeriousLy, November 20, 2008 13:01:29
I'm disappointed with Sabah and Sarawak MP's! So please tell me more! Will this visit spark the MP's jump to PR!
written by Beezee_Beezee, November 20, 2008 13:19:41
Proarte & the rest.....I am glad that this feelings is written in this MT column especially wrt to DSAI. He might not be the right person but the one man we should look upon is our former De Factor Law Minister who projected him seld being a man with principle without fear. I think to benchmark them all we do have more than one man out there who are capable to be the leader of the country regardless or Races.
written by ahmadneil, November 20, 2008 13:32:09
Today we have only Anwar and he is the first to use 'Refomasi' .So when you are desperate for change ,any leader who champion your cause and speak your language are eligible.So folks,if there is someone who is better than Anwar,then show him or her to us.We don't mind to vote for him,anyone please.We are indeed desperate.

If there is no one then shut up and follow the crowd.Today Anwar is the best choice but I don't know in the future.
written by TheMessenger, November 20, 2008 13:53:05
Well ahmadneil,

You've spoken on my behalf. thanks bro. who else better than anwar, kan? at least for now.

you know bro.. I found myself always agree to all of your though in this MT world. so i guest we happen to be in the same ship.
written by Rashid, November 20, 2008 13:54:18
Proarte,

And since when did you turn Sabahan knowing that we have "detected" your drivel before here? Or is it bcoz knowing that you will be mowned in this case, you switch to cheap concoctions like "Islamisation" and Umno vs Anwar? Hypocrites like you pretend to be part of PR supporters and then you engage in childish mantra. And who on earth doesn't have baggage? I'm a Sabahan and I tell you that PKR and PR will sweep the next election: the necessary awareness has been created. You can vote for Bung Mukhtar
written by yteo2, November 20, 2008 14:26:29
Anwar may have been an UMNO man before, but don't forget that he was also the only one during mahatir's time to go against the status quo set by mahatir, which ultimately caused his political fall... he was in prison, defamed with a politically charged sodomy case (which we all know was fake), suffered a bruise on his eye... i am damn sure at this point he knows what UMNO is about and he is trying his best to overturn the status quo and reform and rebuild our society... it is true that every person irregardless of where they stand in society has temptations, but we as good citizens which so strongly desire for change would give DSAI a chance to prove his worth... i for one would bet everything on him to start a chain of reformation in Malaysian politics and society... I would give him my vote 100% in hopes of seeing a good change and a better society governed by a transparent government.
written by Mark C, November 20, 2008 14:29:39
change doesn't come overnight especially with a juvenile democracy like ours. I reckon any person is better than najis and umno.
written by clarity, November 20, 2008 14:39:56
Proarte, stopping harping on the past. We are going into 2009 soon. Those days Anwar was even labelled an extemist. Obviosly now thousands of people do not think so except you. And as far as we are concerned, PKR is also DAP and PAS.
Together we will overcome the scourge that has befallen the country ans whether you like it or not, change is coming.
written by macanhitam, November 20, 2008 15:27:41
No matter what i still favor DSAI to be our next PM, oh puhleez not najeeb a/l razak. I dowan his administration later haunted by the spirit of Altantuya and affect all innoncent malaysians like me and you.
written by SuperShyteStirrer, November 20, 2008 17:30:05
All said and done, I do not trust DSAI 100% either. However, in the current scenario PKR does not have a majority in Parliament on its own (assuming PR will form the government). Therefore, his room to manoeuvre is limited. He will have to rely on PAS, DAP and other MPs(assuming they cross over) for support. In fact, I think this is the best possible scenario for us, the Rakyat to be in. Perhaps, Ku Li and even maybe Zaid Ibrahim could be in the upper echelons of a PR governmant. We should afterall be looking to form a broad coalition.
written by DreamLady, November 20, 2008 18:04:10
yteo2, thank you for saying the same thing on my behalf. Anwar has come a long way from Hell. He is quite immune to the trials and challenges of life.

Please, everyone, give him a break, it is not that he isn't trying, infact very very hard to fight for justice for all of the Malaysians.

Instead of moaning and groaning with the impending uncertainty, we should by right showeer our moral support unwaveringly. Imagine the responsibility he is shouldering at this very moment-

1.the setting up of a coalition party is no child play, it takes alot of brain-storming to gather all the contradicting characters to agree over even a trivial matter, what more when the issue concerning political wrestling with the UMNO goons??

2. the sodomy case is still pending..
3. the most pressing obstacle he has to overcome is the transition of power from paklah to Najib..

Please, dear all, stay strong and provide the necessary moral support to Anwar. Due credit should be accorded to him for bringing three adopted orphans to form a family under the great Umbrella of PR. He is responsible for coaxing the stuborn ones to be part of the family.

Without the formation of PR, the five states cannot be won by any individual party, let it be Pas, Keadilan, or DAP.

In the divine name of UNITY, pakatan rakyat triumph against all odds!!!!
written by kkselvam, November 20, 2008 18:05:23
Proarte.
People like you are the one we the MT family despise!! Next time use your brain to write any comments. We are sick of people with such an shortsighted mindset!
written by Ironside, November 20, 2008 19:41:44
Proarte ,you deserved all that.You deserve all the more shit heading your way. Change is knocking at your door. Don't cry about what happened 15 years ago.
written by remielfl, November 20, 2008 21:33:05
Anwar is the current leader of a coalition of 3 parties. His party is not majority in the group. There are also several other potential leaders in the wings like the Kelantan Prince and the Kelantan Lawyer, who have not decided their move.

So, for now, let us give Anwar a chance to make good as Government. Better than to have the no hope BN. You'll know what you'll get.

I agree with another writer, PKR MUST decide on their terrorist MP, once and for all. His seat is easily replaced. By delaying the inevitable, Anwar's pronouncements are hollow and difficult to trust, specially among the fence sitters.

Besides, who says Sabahans need to join PKR? DAP has a strong presence and KDMs should flock to it, instead. They are the only true "Ketuanan Rakyat" party among the 3 parties. Or is there a some baggage that LGE carry that is suspicious, too?

I would say "KDMs rise up around your own leaders!". Except there are none among the notables who are of any substance. Each have failed you or continue to fail you. So, you will have to make a decision and place your trust in another fellow Malaysian NOT from Sabah.

By continuing to remain insular and "Sabah first", you have failed your future generations.
written by Proarte, November 21, 2008 00:42:37
Politicians usually promise the earth when they are not in power. Even when he is not on power, Anwar has not convinced Malaysians crying out for change that he will fight for religious and racial equality.

His position over the Lina Joy ruling was shocking to say the least. Asking Lina a Christian to go illegally to go to the Shariah Courts to get her status clarified when such courts have said a Muslim is a Muslim forever is simply wicked!

PKR's pusillanimous treatment of Zulkifli and Anwars continuing confidence in a man who violently stormed the Bar Council Forum on the impact of religious conversion in the lives of families and stopped free speech is a shocking testimony of what will be in store for us if PKR comes to power.

The call by ABIM an organisation founded by Anwar to stop the building of the Ma Zu statue in Kudat because it would 'desecrate' a mosque half a mile a way is reflective of the mindset of Malay Muslims who have no respect or regard for other cultures or religions. Anwar's silence on this issue is simply disgusting.

'Ketuanan Islam and Ketuanan Melayu' is alive and kicking in PKR.

All I am asking is to prove his detractors wrong.

No need for tantrums and abuse from MT so called 'Reformists'. We just want specific answers on the issues raised above. Otherwise we may as well stick with BN and help reform it by providing a healthy check and balance.

Pakatan is simply not ready to form a stable government.

written by KUMON, November 21, 2008 11:16:58
In this world we live in, we will have to make do with what we have and try to make things better. Between BN and PR, I would give PR a chance. No one party is perfect and no one is perfect too.

Therefore, the best of the worst sometimes will just do until something better comes along.

http://kuchaispace.********.com