Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Will former Pampena Chairman Chor step forward to explain the RM50 million Pempena scandals?

Will former Pampena Chairman Chor step forward to explain the RM50 million Pempena scandals? PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 20 November 2008 11:55

The new Executive Chairman of troubled Tourism Ministry subsidiary, Pempena Sdn. Bhd, Datin Paduka Chew Mei Fun called a press conference yesterday but refused to answer questions about the RM50 million Pempena scandals of bad investments, criminal breach of trust and financial improprieties declaring:

“I will not answer on things that happened before my time. Now I just want to focus on revamping the company.”

Is nobody to be responsible for the scandalous RM54.4 million Pempena investments in 24 investee companies as at June 2008, where Pricewaterhouse Cooper audit has recommended the immediate closure of five companies resulting in instant loss of some RM20 million!

If Chew does not want to assume responsibility for what happened before her time, why didn’t she get the former Pampena Chairman, Datuk Chor Chee Heong, to appear together with her at the media conference yesterday so that questions about the propriety, accountability and integrity of the RM50 million Pampena scandals could be answered?

Or is the RM50 million Pampena scandals a MCA mess? If Chor is not prepared to answer and account for the RM50 million Pampena scandals, is he prepared to resign as Deputy Home Minister as Chew has pushed the whole buck of the RM50 million Pampena scandals to him?

The whole purpose of Chew’s press conference yesterday was to declare that she is not responsible for the RM50 million Pampena scandals as they happened before her time.

She was also very offended that I had mentioned that she was paid RM10,000 a month and provided with a car and driver, declaring that she was actually embarrassed that she was getting such a small remuneration as compared to Executive Chairman of other corporations.

Chew may think that she is entitled to be paid RM100,000 a month but she must realize that Pempena Sdn. Bhd, as a subsidiary of Tourism Ministry, is a government company and she is dealing not with MCA funds but with taxpayers’ money.

Read more at: http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2008/11/20/will-former-pampena-chairman-chor-chee-heong-step-forward-to-explain-the-rm50-million-pempena-scandals/#more-1951

written by techgeek, November 20, 2008 12:01:34
Aiya, all these MCA dogs are just helping UMNO rip off the people. I won't be surprised if their fingers were also in the pie. This is why BN must not be returned to power in the next GE!!!

Enough is enough...!
written by malsia1206, November 20, 2008 12:04:21
RM50 million? No big deal. That's Government's money. Let's spend the whole lot and ask questions later. Who cares? That's essentially the mindset of these Barisan-led scrupulous people in many Ministries. If you do not spend the allocation, someone would do it anyway. So let's go and have a big bang for the bucks. It's the rakyat's problem. Not those culprits who wasted it all.
written by POTH, November 20, 2008 12:07:18
It is those who voted these morons to take care of the Rakyats welfares fault. All these incompetent people has been around for so long screwing the Rakyat upside down yet you all still vote them in. One scandal after another and they still get scott free. Down with the BeNd rules!!!!
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 20, 2008 12:10:38
How to rat on your own kind without some form of retribution?

Of course Chew only want to clear her own name with that press conference to say: "Look, I am not responsible for that corruption case!".
written by cheekhiaw, November 20, 2008 12:14:27
If you mean business and want some thieves to explain some thievery, you don't just ask them to step forward to explain. You send them a writ and charge them in court!
written by InEffective, November 20, 2008 12:33:50
time to bring all these unscrupulous people to account. Malaysia has all sorts of vermin implementing the massive financial rape of the rakyat.
written by densemy, November 20, 2008 12:54:57
“I will not answer on things that happened before my time."

How ethical is that? Just wash your hands of all that was rotten and forget it. The Malaysian Way She was hopeless as an MP... is this her reward??
written by ahmadneil, November 20, 2008 12:56:09
So all those who are associated with umno are jointly ripping this country bare.Sent all these corrupted to the deepest hell.
written by loosecannon, November 20, 2008 13:37:19
Message from MCA goons: "50 million is only kacang putih. Look at how much Umno is sucking you stupid rakyat. After all the money we have to dish out to get elected, we must get something back. You rakyat are supposed to slave for special breed of people like us in MCA and our Umno masters. That's what slaves are for so shut up and go work so we can live like kings."
written by Lembing, November 20, 2008 13:39:35
Former Pampena Chairman, Chor Chee Heong Remember this MCA, UMNO's lapdog who make a statement supporting Syed Yemeni. Now this is a very clear cut case why this Chor is lapping up his UMNO master. he is licking up the gravy from UMNO's gravy train via this Pempena Sdn. Bhd fiasco.

MCA leaders have NOT changed, they are just a bunch of SELFISH GREEDY lapdogs.
written by Msian Idol3, November 20, 2008 13:49:21
To the crooks $50 million losses is just a little cost of doing business. No big deal kind of attitude. I wonder where adnan is hiding. Surely the Minister got to be responsible for not having kept tabs on what is going on. Maybe the Minister is involved like it is so common in AP cases etc.
written by Hakim Joe, November 20, 2008 15:22:49
Hey! I thought it was RM225 Million? How come the figure is only RM50 Million?
Where did the RM175 Million go???

written by ROBERTNGTG, November 20, 2008 16:15:37
Shouting comment removed
written by macaufan, November 20, 2008 18:39:00
Chor was in OTK new MCA line up? OTK, y huh?
Chor has justify & supported:
- polis brutality in resident BMC-Grand Saga fracas & anti-ISA in PJ
- Makan gaji putih $10K/month & hilangkan $50mil Pampena
- he has lost in MCA election
written by macaufan, November 20, 2008 18:42:44
last, Chor has justify our PDRM inaction in reducing crime rate !
written by PeacefulMalaysia, November 20, 2008 21:38:11
Yeah all are DOGS

ALLAH HELP THESE MUSLIM DOGS TOOO
written by wongsen, November 20, 2008 22:27:11
ALl this political appointee in Government funded company is a total waste of public fund. I had not seen too many honest politician with integrity not to abuse their political position for monetary gain.

It's a systemic problem and greed of human being. we need a strong Anti-corruption agency in the country and full meritocary in all appointment and promotion of every government agency. Otherwise you will not be able to attract any talent. Finally, government need to paid decent money to attarct those talent.
written by allmenarebrothers, November 21, 2008 10:46:03
Aiyah! This RM50 million which had gone down the drain is just "sap sap sui" in Cantonese compared to the millions of Ringgit squandered by MCA's Big Bully, Malaysia's Den of Racists.
RM50 million is crumbs meant for castrated slaves in MCA for their obedience & loyalty.
To goons like Botak Chor & Chow Mai Fun (Fried Vermicelli)these Tax-payers moneys are manna from the heavens or Rezeki in Malay or wealth or goodness your receive from God.
Hopeless spineless people have infested MCA!
Worse than termites, jackals, hyenas, biawaks or vultures