Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow In Malaysia not all men are created equal

In Malaysia not all men are created equal PDF Print
Thursday, 20 November 2008 10:52

Why are the non-Malays in a huff and puff about being ‘unfairly treated’ when it is the non-Malays who gave Umno the power to impose these ‘unfair’ policies? You voted on 8 March 2008. You made your choice. So now shut up and live with it. It serves you right.

The Pink Panther

MCA won 15 Parliament seats in the recent general election on 8 March 2008. MIC and Gerakan won another five giving the three main non-Malay component members in Barisan Nasional 20 seats in total.

Sabah and Sarawak contributed another 24 (13 of them Umno) and 30 seats respectively. DAP won one seat each in Sabah and Sarawak. Minus the 13 Umno seats in Sabah, the two East Malaysian non-Umno seats contributed another 41 seats to Umno’s 79.

Umno’s 66 seats in Peninsular Malaysia are not enough to form the federal government. But with the 20 seats from MCA, MIC and Gerakan and another 54 from Sabah and Sarawak, Umno is able to form the government with the combined total of Barisan Nasional’s 140 Parliament seats.

In short, MCA, MIC, Gerakan, Sabah and Sarawak provided Umno the 74 seats it needs to form the federal government. Umno, with its mere 66 seats in Peninsular Malaysia, could have not done it alone. Also, in short, MCA, MIC, Gerakan, Sabah and Sarawak supports Umno’s Apartheid policies and should therefore not grumble and complain about the New Economic Policy, the Social Contract, the Bumiputera housing quotas, and all those other issues.

Take a look at the circular on the housing policy below. Can the Selangor state government reverse these policies? Not if it does not want Umno to allege that the new Pakatan Rakyat government is a ‘traitor to the Malay race’. The Umno propaganda machinery is working at full-speed telling the Malays that a vote for Pakatan Rakyat is a vote for the Chinese. And this was the main election theme for Umno in the recent Permatang Pauh by-election.

Pakatan Rakyat is in a dilemma. If it maintains the national housing policy it would be accused of continuing the Barisan Nasional Apartheid policy. If it amends these policies then Pakatan Rakyat would be accused of ‘selling out the Malays’. Not easy is it when Apartheid has been so deeply entrenched and institutionalised?

For your easy reference, this housing policy circular contains the following:

a) Imposition of Bumi quota based on Lembaga Perumahan & Hartanah Selangor's Blue Print as per Lampiran A.

b) Imposition of penalty on developers for selling unsold Bumiputera quota units without the release approval.

c) Imposition of levy or contribution on developers for any reduction or release of unsold Bumiputera units.

d) Contributions for exemption from providing low cost houses.

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by PeacefulMalaysia, November 20, 2008 11:39:04
MCA - sold the Chinese like pigs in the barn

MIC sold the Indians like cattle on the range

UMNO are selling the Malays - they can't think anyway , the Malays ONLY know of freebeees and free handouts so what UMNO says must be a handout - lets follow them is the Malays motto.

Pakatan - We want to see change for the good. Forget about what people think. Just do what you promised us during your election campaigns.

We the Malaysians - all those that have being marginalized Malays, Chinese and Indians we are MALAYSIANS ( all of us are pendatang in one way or another) we WANT Fast changes NOT HOT TALK.
agree 245
written by DXB2008, November 20, 2008 11:42:04
even the malays who voted for ketuanan ameno were fooled to believe that malays are being protected..look at the bahasa melayu fiasco and how we treat the language http://1426.********.com/2008/...bagai.html
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 20, 2008 11:45:17
PeacefulMalaysia,

Same thoughts there bro!
written by temenggong, November 20, 2008 11:46:52
Let Ronnie Liew answer this.

Quotas and discounts adds cost to the whole development project. Selangor should just get rid of the quotas and discounts. This will bring the prices of houses down for everyone, including malays.

On the other hand malays are more than welcome to have the first choice on purchase of houses and shops. Heck, the developer could not care who buys the units, as long as it is sold quickly.
written by wartank, November 20, 2008 11:59:03
Why...
From the earth we came, so to shall we return. Whatever we had ammassed, shall eventually come to pass, Ashes to ashes, dust to dust.

Why then are we not brothers and sisters, children of the soil?

Remember, no one owns the land but God. He alone determines who 'belongs to the land' not 'to whom the land belongs to'.So you guys, tell me I'm wrong to put my mind at ease!
written by K W Waran, November 20, 2008 12:00:19

A Belated Welcome On-board to "The Corridors Of Power", Sdr. The Pink Panther.

Just like the Pakatan Rakyat, many of those who voted for Umno and its component parties are today caught between A Rock and A Hard Place(read with their pants down)

In the case of the Pakatan Rakyat's case, you have aptly described the Damned If You Do and Damned If You Don't situation. But those who, especially, voted for BN thinking they would have a better life are the ones now being the Cry Babies.

They are the ones who have always been hoodwinked time and time again by the silky talk of the campaigning BN politicians who wouldn't hesitate to stoop to kiss their respective hands for good measure. Finally, those politicians are the ones who are laughing all the way to the banks , both here and abroad, and that too, at our expense.

To call all those who have today caused the entire Rakyat to suffer the consequence of their choice, in the words of the Late Tan Sri P Ramlee, as Bodoh, Bangang, Bagal or even Bahlol, may be deemed to be too harsh. But, pray tell, how else to describe them for being that and doing it for 50 long years.

written by krising1, November 20, 2008 12:01:11
The solution is simple. The Malays should be able to buy their first house at the discounted price. But only one house per individual. So between a wife and husband, they should be able to own two homes at discounted price. That should be enough. Second, third and subsequent homes are purchased market rates. No one can accuse the government of selling away Malay rights if they adopt this policy.

I will not even take issue with the Kedah government's policy to give 50% quota to the Malays. After all the Malays form more than 50% of the population. But the policy of one discounted price home for one individual can be adopted.

If the developer thinks he cannot make money with this policy, then don't develop in Kedah!
disagree 25
written by Stormquest, November 20, 2008 12:08:01
I suspect that this article may be misleading, as we do not have the exact statistics of which race voted for which party in March 2008.

Bear in mind that a non-Chinese may be voting for MCA or Gerakan, who are both on the BN ticket. Likewise a non-Indian may be voting for MIC, who are also on the BN ticket. All this depends on the racial make-up of the constituency.

If I were to venture a guess, the overwhelming number (90%?) of Indians would have voted against BN in the last election . Likewise, a majority of Chinese (60%?) would have voted against BN in March 2008. If someone has the exact statistics, please provide them.

The unfortunate thing about our balloting system is that it does not have any section for voters to state why voters are voting for and against what. Given this, it is really a guess as to why people vote. And my guess is that the last election was also pretty much a vote against race-based politics, amongst many other things. I am sure many Malays are also tired of this politicking based on race, and want everyone to be referred to as Malaysians once and for all.

written by hiro, November 20, 2008 12:11:57
Given the statistics of UMNO vs other BN MPs, Ali Rustam should shut up instead of suggesting that UMNO drives national policy. At the end, it is like this - the electorate will punish minority parties for continuing to be aligned with UMNO's seriously misguided policies. Once they are out of the picture, UMNO will be the only party in Parliament, as a minority. The best thing for those minority parties to do now is to get BN to reform for real - and be prepared to walk out if necessary.

If UMNO thinks they can continue to hoodwink the masses with superficial reforms, they better think twice because there's a really credible alternative standing out there waiting to take over come next elections. And 4 years is not very far away.

The rakyat on the other hand must not wait for Pakatan takeover. They must demand for change now, but don't be so easily taken in by UMNO con-job of superficial changes. Do not elate, do not cheer, just because a policy has a "reformist" label on it. Question the meat- get to the bone.

For instance, just because there's a judicial appointments commission bill does not mean that the commissioners of great repute will be appointed. Does not mean the bill will compel the PM to give justification over his pick. Does not mean there won't be interference from the executive.

In another instance, just because the PM claims that the anti-corruption commission model is adopted from ICAC Hong Kong does not mean that it will be truly independent. What is the consequence of reporting to Parliament? does Parliament get to sack the chief? Will the commission be paid out of independent fund guaranteed with no interference by the Executive? Will they have prosecutorial powers independent of AG?

If there remains no clear answers, then Najib's reform is superficial and should be outright rejected by the rakyat. We cannot afford to, nor allow ourselves to go through another 5 decades thinking all is well in Malaysia because one leader can be better than another - no matter how skeptical the public is towards politics- as Obama has demonstrated.
written by cheekhiaw, November 20, 2008 12:15:58
In Malaysia, idiots and thieves sit on top with crooked knives and special rights...

written by arazak, November 20, 2008 12:24:05
If God says all men are equal, and the UMNO Regime says all men are not equal, than UMNO must be more supreme than God!

Allah says ;

1. "O Mankind! Most certainly, it is We( God almighty) who have created you all From a single (pair) Of a male and a female, And it is we who Have made you into Nations and tribes, That ye may recognize each other (Not that ye may despise each other. . .” (The Quran 49:13).

2. "And among His Signs is the creation of the heavens And the earth, and the variations In your languages And your colors; verily In that are Signs For those who know." The Quran 30:22

The Prophet Muhammad (SAW) said; "Indeed there is no excellence for an Arab over a non-Arab, nor a non-Arab over an Arab, nor a White person over a Black one, nor a Black person over a White one, except through piety".

Under the UMNO regime, their “fatwa” stated that, “all men are born un-equal”. The Malays (especially if they are UMNOs), even if they are robbers, thieves or murderers they are a race above all other races, regardless of if all other races are law abiding citizens! And no law, either God’s law or their own regime’s man–made law could touch them.

They, UMNO are the supreme. . ., or so they thought!

written by NSTPravda, November 20, 2008 12:30:49
In Malaysia all men ARE created & treated equal
The rakyats are as equally downtrodden as usual
If you are Kak Fidah and her equally large family
That you have equal beneficial access to all APs

We have the best PM/DPM that money can buy
Money can make police, judges “blind in the eye”
All without money can only equally hope and pray
Those with most money are equally semua-nya OK!
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by 2edgedsword, November 20, 2008 12:53:11
Non-Malays buy properties 5-10% more expensive that Malays. This is to subsidize the Malay purchasers' discount of 5-10%. How strange. Shouldn't the majority take care of the minority? Moreover the majority is ruling and screaming Ketuanan Melayu. If Malays are true Muslims, they will reject the 5-10% discount as haram.
written by arazak, November 20, 2008 13:47:44
Talk2shop,

Not all people are like minded as the UMNO regime and YOU! I was born a Malay and, I am still a Malay. . .but I abhor and despise racism.

If you were born as Malay, I believe you will fit very well with the UMNO apartheid regime. . ., no doubt about that!

See my comments above, on what Islam has to say about equality of mankind. . ., all races, regardless of skin colour are equal. . .GOT THAT!
written by carribeanking7, November 20, 2008 14:32:54
Why are the non-Malays in a huff and puff about being ‘unfairly treated’ when it is the non-Malays who gave Umno the power to impose these ‘unfair’ policies? You voted on 8 March 2008. You made your choice. So now shut up and live with it. It serves you right.

This is the painful truth, with only 79 seats it is impossible for UMNO to form the Federal Government without the support of component parties.
In GE12 many voted BN although they were unhappy, because they were fearful that the opposition was not a viable alternative, after BN lost 2/3rds majority this group -older folk who saw may 13th 1969 first hand started calling their grandkids and in hushed tones whispered the possibility of "trouble", when nothing happened they realized that all these years UMNO kept them in line by brandishing the threat of May 13th.

I have spoken to many who regret voting for BN.

Mark my words, come GE13, its sayonara BN.

written by Hakim Joe, November 20, 2008 15:11:29
Conclusion? The MCA, Gerakan and MIC sold us out. It does not matter if we voted for them or not. The primary reason for their formulation in the 1st place was as a safeguard against total control by a singular racial political party. They were supposed to be there to protect the minorities' rights. And what did they do? They sold their souls for prestige and money.

For all you sorry asses who voted for these scums, stop complaining. You are directly responsible for all our woes. If you fellas have voted for the opposition, we would not have to face this shit.
written by Sinewy, November 20, 2008 15:25:07
UMNO always claims they have the support of the "majority" to man-handle this country and her citizens. The non UMNO BN component parties are just too happy to play along for their own stupid and selfish objectives in the name of harmony and gamble away the future of this nation. Now UMNO is still the racist and arrogant party which is in the hand of a group of self-serving warlords where the more open minded politicians like ZI cannot survive. There is little hope that the rule of the game will change in malaysia unless those similar self-serviving non UMNO BN politicians have the balls to do something different. As for the rakyat, especially the non malays, there is nothing much too look forward to except to work hard and preserve well for the sake of your families because the hard times from the current financial tsunami will be coming to our shore very soon. The non malays are not obstructing the malays in this country to progress. But as a taxpayer, they just want to be treated equally and fairly for the sake of their children and future generations. Anu one in this country can be born in a disadvantaged situation. The majority of the people do not born with a silver spoon. I personally come from a low income family. So the so-called disadvantaged malays are just pawns for the UMNO politicians to garner support in the name of protecting their rights. Do they mean that the disadvantaged and politically non connected non malays can easily go about taking away these so-called rights out of no where? Can someone tell me how to do it? All that I have now is through my own hard work and what I have is not like those richness enjoyed by the cronies of UMNO, but I'm proud that under the discriminating nature in this country, I survive. No matter what the constitution says, my stand is that all human beings must be treated fairly and equally as well as the poorer citizens must be assisted to find their means to create sustainable resources and enterpirses to move on in life. Malaysia boleh.
written by asguard, November 20, 2008 15:28:41
Totally screw-up game played by UMNO!
written by macanhitam, November 20, 2008 15:34:08
This article reminds me of the PKNS fiasco. And for this I loathe Selangor PAS wing who demonstrated their ketuanan bullsheet just the likes of Toyo's minion above. Oh holy bollocks.
written by ricardo, November 20, 2008 16:47:56
The words 'Penetapan Kuota Bumiputera' should be changed to 'Penetapan Kuota Rakyat Miskin'. I'm sure even the bumiputeras will agree that those who can afford BMWs & Mercedes should not be given the privileges!
written by Tok Din, November 20, 2008 17:03:09
Yes. There is no justice and fairness but only discrimination. It is our national policy to promote racial discrimination, gender discrimination, religious discrimination and you name it we have it. Every mother's child know that this sort of country cannot last. So, we have millions of Malaysia floating around the world looking for homes. Some are being kicked around and badly treated like nobody's child. Still these Malaysians preferred to stay away and run away rather than staying at home. Do you know why are they running away? No difference from adolescents running away from home. They hate their parents. They want to disown their parents. So, we have Malaysians who are so shameful of their country that they want to run as far away as possible. What a waste of valuable human resources. Pity us.
written by cheekhiaw, November 20, 2008 18:28:50
Tok Din,

To the thieves, the more children run away from home the better. Lesser of ones with better eyesight to catch them stealing...

written by Sabahfan, November 20, 2008 18:56:48
MIC and MCA , gerakan members must stop complaining about these issues and discrimination IF they have NO guts to pull out of Barisan Najis....
written by ylcc, November 20, 2008 20:05:02
We have to be objective here. Chinese businessmen are the main supporters of MCA. Poor Chinese are given RM300 a month if they become MCA members. With so much money going around (likewise for MIC and UMNO), a win is so obvious. Postal votes plus other dubious means overwhelm poor innocent us too. So please don't scold us.
written by InEffective, November 20, 2008 21:04:31
Policies, Rules, Practices (declared or undeclared) - all configured to coerce, exclude, discriminate....

The message is right - we voted in an administration that governs-by-coercion in reality

Aided and abetted by our mainstream media which strategically influences us to chase the ever-elusive purposely misguided destination of unity and harmony.

Well done publishing such documents - it will help Malaysians to be more aware and enlightened.

Rescue Malaysia - from filth and evil
written by Old Man, November 20, 2008 21:47:20
The Govt of the day can continue to with whatever policies they deem fit and/or to their advantage and so on. Just look at Zimbawe and use your imagination. Are we moving that direction? smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by tenang, November 20, 2008 22:50:15
Dear Pink Panther,

Pakatan Rakyat can stick to its principle of affirmation action with reference to hard-core poor and then at the same time abandon the "affirmation action" with reference to ethnicity. If Pakatan Rakyat takes away the NEP, it must replace it with an alternative that serve to beat UMNO propaganda. Of course, the Selangor state goverment needs to test the water by providing the detail on how it implement the affirmation action by needs; Once the Malays who happen to be poor know that they are protected under the new scheme, then the objection to new policy will be drastically reduced. With that, I think Pakatan Rakyat is not in a situation of "if you do it you are damned, and if you don't do it you are also damned".

As to the non-Malays parties not able to speak up for better Malaysia, I think you got your points.
written by tenang, November 20, 2008 23:01:18
Continue...

Some of the detail of Affirmative Action By Need could be expressed as "In Urban Areas in Selangor, those family income less than RM1400 could be eligible for 10% discount", where the numbers are here for example only. Such a detail will sooth many unease. And also provide a concrete way to rebut UMNO propaganda.
written by Ken Wong, November 21, 2008 09:40:10
Why all the fuss? The Government be very clear on this policy matter. Every developer who develops on Native Land must provide 30% for Bumi housing with a set discount. The important thing is that whatever leftovers after 12 months will be automatically released. This way, every BUMI knows they are previledged to buy at a discount within 12 months. Hell its like a Parkson Grand Sale for 12 months! What more can one ask for?

Why can't this be a straight forward national policy. Instead each State has a different approach? Eventhough land matters come under the State but this can be one where a National Policy be agreed upon and practiced by all States. This will make everything so much more easier.

If BN cannot even get their own State Government to agree on this then PR should do this when it takes over. After 50 years of rule and BN cannot even do one simple thing right! State or Federal Policies are all Man Made!!! Nothing is impossible!
written by lynn, November 21, 2008 21:49:54
Vijay,

when i speak to ppl who voted bn in GE12, usually i lose my temper.

the audacity of these fcuking idiots, selling out this country with their stupidity & their choice of govt. you don't need to have a high IQ to figure out your votes shld go to the opposition.

the corrupt govt works for us, the rakyat. we are not simpletons, peasants to be kicked abt by this corrupt govt. we must make our stand clear. we must keep repeating this: corruption by these men in seats of power is UNACCEPTABLE. there is no two ways abt this.

if you are a bossman, would you keep those staff on your payroll when you know they keep stealing from you? it is not as if you don't pay them well, you give them a lot of leeway, you let them slack a lot on the job, and they have the fcuking audacity to steal from you. if you threaten to take action against them, they threaten you with ISA, May 13 or sedition... or even fear of the threat of physical disappearance.

so the choice is very clear. yet i get to meet these non-Malays, they make me angry. I can understand some Malays, they want to vote bn to "secure ketuanan Melayu" - but for non-Malays, what the fcuk is wrong with them??? Brain dead morons.
written by lynn, November 21, 2008 21:58:10
It's so depressing to think, we have to wait FOUR years for a change of govt.

How to tahan while the corrupt continue their old ways of doing things?

All I can hope is, by the time we retire, those of us ahead will still have money in our EPF accounts for full withdrawal.

We will have a revolution if the govt dares to tell us to take our money out in instalments after we turn 55.

My EPF savings is my fcuking personal money, mine. Stay the fcuk out of my hard-earned money!
written by educationist, November 22, 2008 20:45:09
"..when it is the non-Malays who gave Umno the power to impose these ‘unfair’ policies? ... You made your choice. So now shut up and live with it."
Pink Panther's claims are too simplistic and an over-generalisation of the political equation. If one analyses the seats won by MCA, MIC and Gerakan we will see a large percentage of Malay votes - those running dog parties have not won their seats on their own merits!!
So, no , all Malaysians who have a stake in the development of our nation can, as yet voice their opinions about the 'unfair treatment' until a better system is in place.
written by Loh, November 25, 2008 10:49:23
///For your easy reference, this housing policy circular contains the following:

a) Imposition of Bumi quota based on Lembaga Perumahan & Hartanah Selangor's Blue Print as per Lampiran A.

b) Imposition of penalty on developers for selling unsold Bumiputera quota units without the release approval.

c) Imposition of levy or contribution on developers for any reduction or release of unsold Bumiputera units.

d) Contributions for exemption from providing low cost houses.///

The issue is whether the regulations by the department referred to above are not in conflict of the constitution. That part that are in conflicts are void. It is a legal issue, not a political one.
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, November 30, 2008 18:50:55
The solution is simple. The Malays should be able to buy their first house at the discounted price. But only one house per individual. So between a wife and husband, they should be able to own two homes at discounted price. That should be enough. Second, third and subsequent homes are purchased market rates. No one can accuse the government of selling away Malay rights if they adopt this policy.

I will not even take issue with the Kedah government's policy to give 50% quota to the Malays. After all the Malays form more than 50% of the population. But the policy of one discounted price home for one individual can be adopted.

If the developer thinks he cannot make money with this policy, then don't develop in Kedah!

Krising 1. You hit the nail on the head.
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, November 30, 2008 18:57:40
Look we are for quotas etc for the poor whether they are Malays, Chinese or Indians or whoever. But who has gone round rumah rakyat and seen the BMWs and Harriers and goodness knows what else parked there and driven by whatever the race? I have seen this as I sometimes hang around some of the areas ...of course there are the poor too, okay? They need all the protection they can get.

The government should have a quick and thorough look at who really needs the houses etc.
written by cheekhiaw, December 03, 2008 12:00:21
It gotta be a fool that thinkx that a couple that can buy 2 houses are poor...