Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow The hidden and marginalised Malay

The hidden and marginalised Malay PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 20 November 2008 10:08

They’re the kind of Malays the rest of Malaysia wishes to ignore. They are the Injecting Drug Users (IDUs), sex workers and transsexuals, the dregs of society at the lowest rung of the economic ladder.

A Writer's Life
By DINA ZAMAN, The Star

I PRESENTED a paper at a roundtable conference organised by the Centre of Media and Information Warfare Studies, UITM about a week back on the Hidden and Marginalised Malays based on the communities I had met and worked with in Chow Kit. They’re the kind of Malays the rest of Malaysia wishes to ignore.

Unfortunately, there are very few Malaysians who are willing to stick their necks out to help Injecting Drug Users (IDUs), sex workers and transsexuals. These are the dregs of society, at the lowest rung ofthe economic ladder.

I had written the paper to find answers, the solutions to these dilemmas and all I could come up with was this: drugs and the sex trade, the marginalised community will not go away, whoever governs the country.

An excerpt from the paper:

“This dis-engagement with these marginalised communities – that happen to be predominantly Malay – impact the nation as a whole. If Malay(sian)s remain in denial about drug abuse, HIV/AIDS, child trafficking and the sex trade (just to name a few), the socio-economic crisis we all fear is unavoidable .

“The nation may just well witness a decline in economic productivity, and less confidence in themselves as a race.

“The failure to acknowledge this will mean that although a part of the solution, a revision of the NEP and the implementation of new affirmative action policies will not be enough to stem a socio-economic crisis.”

“It has been said that poverty and lack of education are the reasons behind the Malay marginalised communities. It is important to note that the two factors also affect the Chinese, Indian and other non-Malay communities.

“However many of the issues are dominated by ethnic Malays. The assumption is that as the majority race, the composition of Malays involved in social issues are bigger in number.”

Hence, it’s not a numbers game or the fact that the marginalised Malays are heathen Muslims. It would be too simplistic to say that because there are more Malays in the country, ergo more are involved in social problems.

The Government has social development policies and support programmes to help the poor and socially fractured. Still it is an uphill task to gain the confidence and support from potential funders and political activists because they “… do not want to bersubahat with sinners.”

There has been too much emphasis on the economic and intellectual decline of the Malays. This is an important point, but what is more urgently needed is a response to marginalised communities.

This is a problem which is not confined within the geographical reach of Kuala Lumpur; it is also experienced in many households outside of the city.

A quick foray into books examining the Malay state discovers a trend of concentrating only on the history, make-up and economic status of the Malays. Tun Dr Mahathir’s The Malay Dilemma, Bakri Musa’s The Malay Dilemma Revisited and the recent Suflan Shamlan’s Reset, as well as Syed Husin Ali’s The Malays: Their Problems and Their Future reason
and conclude on, if not provide solutions to, the advancement of the Malay intellect and economic progress. Are these books the solution to our woes?

There have been many heated debates on how religion and the re-embracement of the Malay culture will eradicate social problems. Granted, there have been very open-hearted ulama who have come forth to work with rehabilitated sex workers, street-children, but they are few and far in-between.

Corporate donors have been very helpful, but sometimes their CSR goals are not aligned with what these communities need.

A number of public initiatives to help marginalised Malays who live in rural areas have been initiated. The results have been mixed: there have been stellar Malays who have succeeded against all odds, but reports of rampant drug abuse, promiscuity and school drop-outs are rife.

The reader may argue that the problems (we) face are not Malay problems. “The Indians may be fewer than the Malays, but the percentage of Indians involved in substance abuse and alcoholism, for example, is high,” as was once observed by a sociologist.

Truth is, this is not a Malay issue; it is about a human being’s right to live a productive and healthy life. You can have a Malay or non-Malay Prime Minister, but if left unchecked this will always be a Malay problem.

written by batsman, November 20, 2008 10:24:42
UMNO policies have created this situation. If UMNO goes all out to create Malay millionaires, the inevitable consequence is that more and more Malays at the bottom will be marginalised. The forced creation of millionaires will result in its opposite.
written by Arubin, November 20, 2008 10:30:14
Funny. What happened to all those people who were so eager to help Sufiah Yusof?
written by Flex65, November 20, 2008 10:35:36
If you ask me, I would say the problem lies in the family and the mentality of the head of the family. I do believe that all races will have the same problem but over time the Malays will be more affected. Why I said so?

How many children does a Chinese family have nowadays? I would say less than three on the average. Why? The Chinese will find it very competitive to give their children the necessary education. Personally I am spending 25% of my take home pay just for the tuition fee for my two children. (One in primary and another in secondary school) In order to ensure that our children are not left behind in education, we have no choice but to limit the number of children we have.

A Malay family I know has seven children and the father is only earning barely half of what I earn. Can he really give the quality of education the children needs? As far as I know none of the children ever had any tuition and are not doing well in school. I am not saying that all Malay families have the same problem but from what I can see (area around me) the trend is quite the same.

The Chinese is striving to give their children the best they can by reducing the number of children. We go for quality instead of quantity and we have the ruling government to thanks for making live difficult for us. As we live a more challenging live we strive to improve ourselves.

Live is easier (or at least it seems to be) under the protective government policies for the Malays, so they face less challenges to improve the quality of their lives.
written by ahmadneil, November 20, 2008 10:45:14
I say it's the genes.If you have good genes,definitely you are a few steps ahead .Man's thinking and judgement matters.
disagree 37
written by antiilluminati, November 20, 2008 11:02:48
Garbage in garbage out. Dun forget about the Mat Rempits as well. This is the result of UMNOs policy in getting the numbers / vote. They dun care about their welfare. Even as such, they cannot get the numbers, they have to import the foreign, hence come the social problems we face today.
As long as they have the numbers, ths UMNO goons will continue to rob the country. They are not interested in Quality as well. They do not want right thinking citizens especially the Malays so that in the event they are losing their power grip they can go for Racist unrest as the people are stupid to follow their instructions blindly.
In the land of the Blind, one eye Jack rules !.. this is their logic of their evil doing.
We should help our Malay brothers to wake up from this deep Spell imposed to them by the UMNO goons. Anyway, nature has it that Good will triumph over evil soon. That is why GOD sent us the RPK, Bakri Musa, and the likes of such TOWERING MALAYSIAN.
itis not in the genes, it is EVIL at work.

written by densemy, November 20, 2008 11:05:53
Well done guys... so far you have managed to blame UMNO and genes for these social problems. Only one of you can face up to reality... and only then partly

But why stop at the drug users and transvestites... why not include the gay men and lesbians and of course the single mothers. That in total should amount to somewhere like 12 to 15% of your population

... and they are all ostrasized by you because your totally intolerant religion has no sympathy for anyone who is not "perfect"... Like all the rest of you perfect followers of the perfect religion

No wonder you think of yourselves as 'the superior race'
written by Midvalley, November 20, 2008 11:20:50
umnoputra policy of creating the Malays to outnumbered and become the majority race in Malaysia even go to the extent to import Indonesian and Filipino to stay in power now it is paying back time because the educated Malays are against the umnoputra the mat rempit Malays are also against BN.
We Chinese believed in QUALITY the unmoputra believed in Quantity.
written by taishan, November 20, 2008 11:39:02
Densemy,
That would be the superior race which needs a perpetual tongkat.
Hilter's Aryan could probably sustain but this superior tongkat race is insecure and ever needing the tongkat
or more like corrupt means to life.

written by truthbespoken, November 20, 2008 11:51:29
Dear Dina,

Besides the above comments offered by my fellow readers on your posting, ask UMNO for more answers to the saddening social situation you mentioned. Ask UMNO what their open agenda of Ketuanan Melayu has brought forth for Malaysian people.

UMNO will probably deny, deny and deny again that their inept policies on population growth, education, religion and many others are the cause of it all. Dina, they probably won't even want to answer you if you ask..
written by riversnail, November 20, 2008 13:23:06
Flex65,you do have a very good point there.Even for Indians especially in the rural areas or estates,they dont really think about their income level vs the children that they can afford to have.i have seen this with my own eyes.how to educate the uneducated newly married couples not to make babies everytime they have sex!!! smilies/cry.gif
written by LACOBRA, November 20, 2008 13:46:31
Mahathir's vision of achieving 80 million in population. Perhaps specifically for the Aryan race.
written by JohnQ, November 20, 2008 16:59:49
Dear Dina, you knew the answers, just that their are to sentitive to reveal in the papers and medias!!!!!! smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif

Do some live CNN reports may helps in some ways ?
written by Gargamel, November 20, 2008 23:31:04
Dina, I totally disagree that this is a Malay problem. These are social problems. They exist in every country in the world.

I also disagree that it will not go away regardless of who governs the country. Problems are created by people, they can only be solved by people. It cannot be solved by the bunch of monkeys that we are currently stuck with. We need leaders who make it their priority to serve the people, not to serve themselves. Money needs to be channeled into research, social workers, shelters and recovery programs, not into their own pockets.

I suggest you talk to some social scientists. This problem and its solutions have been studied for decades. I take it that you are not a social scientist by training and are not aware of the solutions available, hence the need to reinvent the wheel, and not a very good wheel at that.