Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Economic Crisis May Take 2-4 Years To Recover, Says Nor Mohamed

Economic Crisis May Take 2-4 Years To Recover, Says Nor Mohamed PDF Print
Thursday, 20 November 2008 09:57
(Bernama) -- While the current global economic crisis may continue two to four years, its negative effects will not be as bad as that of the Great Depression in the United States during the 1930s, said Second Finance Minister Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop.

During that period, the US government and its central bank took on a contractionary fiscal policy but now they are taking expansionary measures, he said during the talk show "60 Minit Bersama Menteri" aired by RTM1 this evening.

Compared with the 1997 regional financial crisis, the present situation however is bigger as in 1997 it was a banking and currency crisis involving countries in the region and therefore at the sideline of the world financial system.

This time around however, the crisis involves world financial centres in the US and Europe and it cannot be easily resolved as it involves the erosion of the world financial system.

It will take a long time to regain the confidence that has been lost, he said.

Referring to concerns raised by Malaysians, he said the rate of unemployment in the country was still low at three percent and even if goes up it will not exceed four percent.

Malaysia also has a high level of savings at 37 percent compared with the US which has between zero and one percent and the US government has to now borrow US$4 billion every working day to take care of its needs.

Nor Mohamed said Malaysia's banking system was also solid and that the government was proactive in taking measures to resolve the problems including taking measures that were unorthodox like what it did during the 1997 crisis.

Meanwhile, on concerns of a lower income from oil revenue, he said that in the 2009 Budget, the taxes from petroleum and the dividends were based on the price of oil during 2008, and given this, there was no issue actually.

Only from the 2010 Budget onwards there may be a need to relook at the oil revenue considering the fast falling oil price.

He also said that the country's high deficit of 4.8 percent was not a problem as the Malaysian government was highly disciplined in its financial management and was capable of paying back.

He also pointed out that in 1997, the budget deficit was 5.5 percent, adding that a high deficit for one or two years was not a problem.

On concerns regarding foreign banks in the country, he said it was mandatory for foreign owned banks in the country to establish their operations locally using their own capital equity and not as a branch to their holding banks in their respective countries.

Therefore, there is no risk whether the parent banking company is from the US or elsewhere, he said.

On the good that has come out of the financial crisis, he said the western leaders were now beginning to use the advice given by Malaysia 10 years ago on the weakness of the international financial system.

Now, they too are seeking for a more fair and stronger financial framework, he said.

The situation has also given the opportunity to economic experts to gather and put forward their views to strengthen the existing system and from this lesson, the country will come out stronger to face the challenges in the world based on knowledge and technology.

There are also many Malaysians working outside the country coming back either because they have lost their jobs or it has become difficult to work overseas, he said.

written by Bigjoe99, November 20, 2008 10:04:18
Wrong again, this guy proves that experience don't count for much. When you are no good, you are no good....

It will recover slightly in 2 years BUT it it will stall and take a decade to recover after that... Just perfect timing for kicking out BN..
written by Xerxes, November 20, 2008 10:08:48
"He also said that the country's high deficit of 4.8 percent was not a problem as the Malaysian government was highly disciplined in its financial management and was capable of paying back."

Yeah? Have you talked to the Auditor General of late?

The amount of corruption, leakages, financial abuses, contract kickbacks etc are legendary. Just look at the latest, Pempena and PKFTZ. And you think we have good financial discipline? In the private sector, the people in charge would either have been sacked or put in jail. But in Malaysia, those in charge would escape because in the words of Chew Mei Fun om Pempena, "we have no immediate plans to recover the lost investments". Disciplne thus goes out the window.
written by ibabonma, November 20, 2008 10:11:27
My late father told me: Other then not to trust the police and never befriend any policeman, I must also never trust a man with woman's voice, like our Tan Seri! Even a pondan voiced like a man!
written by miwaki, November 20, 2008 10:12:16
This chap is talking nonsense,is he our new fortune teller ?
written by kent chong, November 20, 2008 10:16:42
Hey, Our Najis and PM say Malaysia no recession, our economy still good!
written by gundohing, November 20, 2008 10:34:48
Mohd Nor Yackob is wrong! Pak Lah says Malaysia will not be unaffected! everything will be rosy...
written by batsman, November 20, 2008 10:35:34
That depends on how the govt tries to solve the problem. Applying the wrong solution is just like a doctor making the wrong diagnosis and applying the wrong medicines. From what I have heard so far, I fear for the patient.
written by murali, November 20, 2008 11:59:51
Hello pakcik Nor Mohamed Yakcop, I am a layman and i know of all these whatever you are saying long before you do lah BUT YOU still want to say Malaysia/you is better than USA Economically?
written by cheekhiaw, November 20, 2008 12:19:39
Come on idiots. Tell us something we do not already know...

written by hiro, November 20, 2008 12:33:00
4 years is a very long time - and the reason for this late-recovery will be due to the fact that Najib has got no plans to make Malaysia more competitive - which means NEP will still be in place - and with it direct negotiations, abuse of power and steep corruption. What this also means is the government is admitting that they WILL FAIL.

Sounds like they should just let someone who can do a better job to take over the federal government.
written by 2edgedsword, November 20, 2008 12:39:57
Arrest the rampant corruption and Malaysia will be richer by RM 10 billion a year. More than enough to help the poor through this financial crisis.
written by Tok Din, November 20, 2008 14:26:04
This only shows the Malaysia Boleh mentality. I wonder what the Minister will say in a few months when exports fell off. According to him, Malaysia has high savings, low deficit, strong reserves, strong banking system, low unemployment and so we can withstand the global slowdown in the next few years and will enjoy higher growth than the rest of the world. Government has plenty of money to spend in stimulating the economy.

Ha, if our Ministers are not living in a different country, they must be in la la land.

written by KuntaTobey, November 21, 2008 15:28:34
HEY, DON'T FORGET, THIS IS THE GUY WHO APPROACH TDM TO FIXED OUR CURRENCY BACK IN 1997 CRISIS. NOW US ADMIT, MALAYSIA HAS DONE WHAT IS PROPER AT THAT TIME. THEY ARE ANALYSING MALAYSIA'S MOVE NOW.

I RESPECT YOU MAN, TS NMY.

KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK TS NMY.
written by lynn, November 21, 2008 18:32:57
"""While the current global economic crisis may continue two to four years,............"

Firstly, this man is unqualified to hold this important post; hey, Nor Yakop, you are UNFIT for the job; you don't have what it takes to be a good 2nd Finance Minister! And to confirm what we think of you, you came out & uttered nonsense. How do you know this crisis will last 2 to 4 yrs? The msm is also irresponsible, publishing nonsense for the consumption of the gullible public!