Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Arch of silence

Arch of silence PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 19 November 2008 22:11

Malay Mail learned of the project from a notice issued by Syarikat Bekalan Air Selangor Sdn Bhd (Syabas) on Nov 13 announcing the water cut to facilitate pipe relocation works to accommodate the construction of a Rebana Ubi arch, apparently, for the Department of Islamic Development (Jakim).

By Pearl Lee and Darshini Kandasamy, Malay Mail

Believe it or not, an arch is to be built at the Federal Highway. It is going to cost lots of money. Thousands of households and, no doubt, road users will be affected, and get this: no one knows who is doing it. At least that’s how it seems.

This much we know: The arch will straddle the highway near the UEM and Malay College Old Boys’ Association (MCOBA) buildings at the Jalan Syed Putra stretch.

Everything else is shrouded in mystery, despite all our efforts to find out: Who is building it, who approved it and, more importantly, why it is being built now and how much it will cost in the midst of a global credit crunch and Malaysians being told to be prudent in their spending.

For eight hours, from 8pm today till 4am tomorrow, thousands of households in Taman Seputeh and the surrounding areas will face a water cut for preparatory work on the project.

Malay Mail learned of the project from a notice issued by Syarikat Bekalan Air Selangor Sdn Bhd (Syabas) on Nov 13 announcing the water cut to facilitate pipe relocation works to accommodate the construction of a Rebana Ubi arch, apparently, for the Department of Islamic Development (Jakim).

The statement, signed by Syabas corporate communications and public affairs department general manager Abdul Halem Mat Som, also stated that residents in Taman Seputeh (comprising Taman Seputeh, Desa Seputeh and Taman Bukit Seputeh), and Syed Putra areas (comprising Persiaran Syed Putra, Jalan Syed Putra, Lorong Putra Kiri and Robson Heights), as well as Sekolah Menengah (P) Cina Kuen Cheng, would be without water for eight hours.

What happened next proved to be a futile exercise in trying to get the facts, Checks with several agencies over the last three days yielded virtually nothing, Jakim being the first to deny any link to the project.

Jakim deputy director Mohd Noor Abd Hamid said last Friday afternoon: "I have checked with several departments and none of them know of this project". Finally, in the evening, he stated unequivocally: "This is not a project by Jakim."

Syabas, when informed, later told Malay Mail to remove the reference to Jakim from its statement as it was not a Jakim project after all. Syabas still did not identify who was behind the project.

On Sunday, Syabas said a private developer was involved. Syabas’ Abdul Halem said although the project was not under Jakim, approvals still had to be obtained by the developer who, in turn, had to get the greenlight from Jakim.

Baffled, Malay Mail later contacted City Hall and was told that the project was not its.

We were also told that it was the Federal Territories Ministry’s baby and that it was also partially private.

City Hall works department director Siti Saffur Mansor said that as it was the weekend, she would issue an official statement on Monday, but she did clarify that City Hall had only given the developer approval to use the road.

Unfortunately, Siti Saffur’s statement was not delivered yesterday as promised.

City Hall’s corporate communications and public affairs department officer Zurida Hashim said late yesterday evening that she could not release the information we requested.

She did not give an explanation for the media blackout.

Malay Mail then contacted secretary-general of the Federal Territories Ministry Datuk Ahmad Phesal Talib who said the issue of the rebana ubi arch had not come up in any discussion at the ministry.

written by san amin, November 19, 2008 22:30:39
we should be proud of this rebana ubi arch as it will be one of the wonders of the world. Only we the the malays can built this magnificant piece of shit as we are the most intelligent human beings,a bit higher than d arabs that we pretend to be.
written by smalluncle, November 19, 2008 22:34:02
Yes, the PEOPLE of Malaysia must be PRUDENT in this trying time, said our PM. Government servant will take pay cut, maybe sitch off air cond when goind to the loo, switch on again when back to work station bla bla bla.

That is for the civil servants. As for the RAKYAT, you (PM) don't have to tell us to be prudent,. As, after your 2.50 petrol price, every dame things gone up in prices, we don't have enough to spend, put aside being spent drift!

As for PM, DPM and the ultras, the advice do not concern them. For they are not RAKYAT, they are the LORDs. See how they travel to Peru, Ubezkhan, Commisionkhan, shoppingkhan, massagekhan, war-sin-turn bla bla bla. How much of it official, how much Private?

Back home, beside being squeeze by the bola, news of retrenchment are no consolations either. Do they CARES????
written by the saint, November 19, 2008 22:50:07
The saddest part is nobody is willing to accept responsibility ! Hence no transparency. Therefore, speculations will thrive. Typical Malaysian scenario.

If this project is above board, why all this secrecy ? Why are the reporters going in circles ? Something smells fishy ?
written by Midvalley, November 19, 2008 23:15:39
Maybe McDonald is building the golden arch. You rakyat are all stupid this arch will generate revenue because we can put up advertisment on it.
written by red door, November 19, 2008 23:28:35
Yah... Build it! Really significant symbol of Malaysia's future!!! Semua rakyat MAKAN UBI sahaje!!!

written by KC Chin, November 20, 2008 00:11:06
What is the point of having an Arch? I will bet on it, every vehicle passing by will be saying and cursing, "What a waste of my tax money"
written by Legion, November 20, 2008 00:17:57
http://www.dbkl.gov.my/pskl202.../index.htm

Read the link above, under the sector "Bukit Jalil - Seputeh". There are mentions of "zon gerbang masuk". Could this the mysterious arch? If it is, then it is DBKL's project.
written by SocratesI, November 20, 2008 00:58:25

The Arch of No Returns must be stopped dead in its tracks ! Otherwise, all the Rakyat will have to arch their backs to bear the burden of the next plaything of the rich, an Arch to Nowhere, that only produces aching backs on the Rakyat while they slave away to pay for this Stupidity !!

written by temanmu, November 20, 2008 02:45:39
The Arch is protected by the Official Secrets Act, so it seems!

Proves that this is a "no- responsibility" BN govt!
written by Tom n Jerry, November 20, 2008 05:52:26
Oh my God!dont you people know an arch is a gateway to *somewhere*;its UMNO*s final preparation for exit into the next world*neraka* with al their heavy baggage of unresolved sins!-corruption,nepotism,racism,extremism,-my crystal ball comes in very handy when it comes to extrapolation of Malaysian political scenario;LOL smilies/grin.gif
written by Ironside, November 20, 2008 07:53:53
The days of the UBI KAYU are just round the corner.Brace up.The ARCH is a reminder to the citizens of Bolehland.
written by murthy3372, November 20, 2008 09:12:52
If it's really a jakim project, I hope we don't make a fuss out of it...
Lest the umno-moron putras will twist the fact that those questioning
it are insulting a particular religion and ISA us like what they did to
YM RPK and the Malay Mail journalists,for their protection...

There goes the merry-go-around again...

Anything pun boleh...in BOLEHLAND !!!.
written by batsman, November 20, 2008 10:55:36
If we don't have a credit crunch now, we will surely have one in the near future. The UMNO govt is INVITING the global crisis to come visit Malaysia with incredible wastage and third class productivity.
written by densemy, November 20, 2008 11:15:16
Makes you wonder who's running this country,doesnt it??

The Economists from the mosque, or the muddle he*** from Jalan Parliament