Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Document revealed by Anwar shows Pakatan no different than BN?

Document revealed by Anwar shows Pakatan no different than BN? PDF Print
Wednesday, 19 November 2008 13:58

I’m a little ashamed to admit it, but you know how some people just rub you the wrong way? Something like the Cantonese term yong sui?

Wong Chun Wai kinda does that to me.

This morning’s dose came in a post entitled “The realities of Malaysian politics“:

Anwar Ibrahim has revealed a signed document between himself, DAP’s Lim Kit Siang and PAS’ Hadi Awang that none of us have heard of until now - an agreement to uphold the rights enshrined in the Federal Constitution. The Sept 8 agreement pledged to uphold Malay rights and the status of Islam as the official religion.

Anwar also said that the social contract between the races were already agreed upon by all members of the coalition. He also revealed that the four-paragraph agreement could not be changed by any party, according to The Star.

Despite the criticism against the social contract and even questions about its existence, the three opposition parties realises the reality of politics in this country. This is no different from positions taken by the Alliance and the Barisan Nasional component parties.

No different? I love how Mr. Wong ignores content from his own paper:

READ MORE HERE: http://jelas.info/

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, November 19, 2008 14:12:45
What to do! The people of Permatang Pauh have voted for him and we have accepted him to be our leader.May be he will change it later .
written by ylcc, November 19, 2008 14:18:19
Lim Kit Siang posted a reply in his blog.
"The imputation that I had signed on behalf of DAP a “secret” compact with the other Pakatan Rakyat leaders to uphold Malay rights and the status of Islam as the official religion as provided in the Federal Constitution is baseless, mischievous and unworthy of a professional journalist."
Please read full text in Malaysiakini!

written by ctchoolaw, November 19, 2008 14:21:12
Wong Chun Wai is part of the mainstream media. No matter how he tries in his blog, he cannot avoid being who he is...and apologist for Pak Lah who now desperately seeks relevance under the coming Najib regime. http://ctchoolaw.********.com/
written by ahmadneil, November 19, 2008 14:24:35
This is a clearly a lie to tarnish the good name of PR.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 19, 2008 14:29:03
If we are to believe that the government under DSAI is going to be one without racial & religious differences, then we are fools!

Of course religion and racial differences will still be there given the diversity of the PKR. The thing is, we are walking into this new form of government with wide open eyes and fully aware of these two sticking issues which is part and parcel of Malaysian politics.

We are tired of UMNO form of government and change we must have or else our country will be in limbo economically and socially. It is for the promises of change & reforms that DSAI and the PKR got our support.
written by vineeth menon, November 19, 2008 14:30:44
Nice Spin by spin Masters.. Malay Rights to be Uphold? why not? Am not threatened by that? why should I? Does anybody think that everything can be changed overnight? Change has to be gradual , or there will be a drastic turbulence which our society is not yet ready to take.

Most of my countrymen are still talking about Malay PM, Chinese PM & Indian PM; Tamil School, Chinese School, Malay school, But not a national school with all the Languages in there. Isn't it racist to even mention about PM & schools based on race?

yeah, things has to change but we have to start the change now and get it done fast. But it do not mean that NEP, Ketuan Melayu, Chinese School, Tamil school and all these so called diversity will go off in one day. It is the slow change which will take time and the opposition is willing to do.The willingness is the key.

I don't care who my PM is as long as he does good for my country & countrymen irrespective of race & religion. Quality is what counts..
written by Democrats, November 19, 2008 14:35:36
Regardless how you see it, BN and PR MIGHT be no different.

But does that justify the people to accept things as it is? If i drive a beat up proton with one thousand and one problems and was offered a switch to a new hyundai, but reviews and critics have said its performance and characteristic are quite similar, does it mean i should stick to the protons that is burning my wallet in repairs and maintenance?

BTW, The people doesn't really care about upholding the constituional rights of malay in this country, nor accepting Islam as its national religion. I doubt the constitutions mentions about given 7% discounts to bumiputras, or awarding contracts to bumi contractors at inflated prices, or body snatching or enriching selected individuals....

PR promises more freedom, and transperancy and on surface, better qualified and more charismatic leaders to lead us on this gloomy economic conditions, so we are willing to take our chances.

So WCW, if you are more of a apologist for rather show "they are as bad as us", rather than "we are better then them" mentality, good luck.

And thanks!.... but no thanks.
written by Rundukon, November 19, 2008 14:36:58
Notwithstanding the facts that some of our current and past leaders are pendatang, Malaya is still the land of the Malays.
written by Tom n Jerry, November 19, 2008 15:00:03
There is a saying*The grass is always greener on the other side of the fence*;since PR is the opposition now,we expect them to be more proactive & reslient compared to our BN;whatever it is we still have our cherished hopes & dreams!
written by Blackgiring, November 19, 2008 15:26:39
....whatever... whatever... just go on lick his balls....moron...
written by wartank, November 19, 2008 15:34:32
This is after all, politics. We should expect any politician to ensure the continued support of the masses.
On the other hand, we should at least be glad in knowing that they are sensitive to the opinions of the people. Changes cannot be too drastic and sudden as not to incurr a backlash.
It will be fine if measures are taken to provide for the less priviledged and poor and not continue to support the filthy(dirty)rich UMNO MPs and cronies.
The current scenario is 'The people decides' and decide we shall even if the new govt do not keep their promises come the next election.
Let democracy run its course and we shall have a 'people sensitive govt'.
written by tommycol, November 19, 2008 15:38:37
there's no wrong in upholding malay/bumi rights. its's in the constitution .
it's just the present govt. which is stirring racial disharmony for political milage!!the objective of PR is to get rid of this corrupted and hypocritic govt and to give hope to the Rakyat that they can govern with fair play to all Rakyat without discrimination or oppression and to fight CORRUPTION; which i think is what the RAKYAT is asking for.
written by Gargamel, November 19, 2008 15:50:36
I'm not ashamed to admit it - Wong Chun Wai rubs me the wrong way ALL the time!!! He pretends to kutuk but is in effect licking BN's arses. If I lived in the jungle, I would use his column for toilet paper.
written by A MI, November 19, 2008 16:21:32
Remember there are people like Toyol, Tajol and othes working round the clock to discredit pakatan.
"researchers" are revealing statistics to show that 60% of malays voted BN whereas it was the nons who voted PR.

We need a government to put an end to this corruption and get the house in order. All poor and needy MUST be given aid.
written by alpha100, November 19, 2008 16:22:22
PR leaders must be careful! I believe that this is a ploy to get some response to put components of PR into difficult situation.
Just be careful in your response!
written by carribeanking7, November 19, 2008 16:43:49
Is Wong Chun Wai suggesting that the PR government run foul of the provisions within the Federal Constitution ?

The PR has the task of dismantling 51 years of institutionalized bigotry propogated by an UMNO led BN.
So don't try to deliver a premature report card of PR who have yet to take over the reigns of the Federal Government.
If you want to do a comparison look into areas of Competence, Accountability and Transparency, this is where the BN government falls far short of expectations.

As for political spin , it seems that Wong Chun Wai is not very good at it, ditto his counterpart in NST Kalimullah Hassan.
I am still snickering at the piece by Syed Nadzri (NST) that talked about the 5 reasons Anwar could lose the Permatang Pauh by-elections, well we all know how that went.

Lame political spin seems to be the hallmark of BN.

written by born2reign, November 19, 2008 16:53:58
I believe there is continued confusion between NEP and Malay rights. PR, please lay out the rights of bumiputeras and non-bumiputeras, and don't use the term Malay rights, because there is no such thing, Malays are not a special race.

1) Define bumiputeras as the orang asli and aborigines, and those who were born before 1957. All those born from immigrant parents after 1957 are considered non-bumiputeras (this include the Indons, Indians, Filipinos and Arabs who migrated to Malaysia after 1957). Eventually by the next 40-50 years all bumis would be dead and there will only be non-bumis left in Malaysia, except the orang asli remain as bumiputera of Malaysia.
2) Bumis have rights to education and higher learning. Non-bumi also have rights to same, and to be graded with the same grades as bumis. Unis should not lower the standards just to cater to "pass" the bumi students. Abolish the quotas because this is NEP not the same as bumi rights.
3) Bumis have the same rights to housing as non-bumis. Again, the developers can quote a price and the buyer who agrees get to buy. No quotas to housing because this is NEP and not bumi right.
4) Non-bumis have the same access to govt contracts as bumis because govt must allocate tenders to the best quality and value-added vendors/contractors, without considering whether bumis or not. If bumis want to get the contract they must improve their effectiveness and efficiency - we don't want so many like Amin Shah, the multi-billionaire bankrupt enjoying life in Dubai and Indonesia.
5) Welfare, low cost housing and scholarships must be given to all those who are poor, regardless of bumi status, because the poor Chinese earning RM500 suffers as much as the Malay earning the same, living in Jinjang and need to feed 4 mouths.
6) Non-muslims have the right to freedom in religion, as much as muslims have freedom to practise Islam. Every year the federal and state budget must allocate equal funds to other religion's places of worship and administration. It should not be that only the Islamic bodies get funding and the temples and churches are privately run. This is called discrimination by the muslims (bumi and non-bumi).
7) No such thing as bumi land. It is either state land or federal land, sold to the highest bidder at market rate.
smilies/cool.gif Senior citizens and students, bumis and non-bumis, must enjoy discounted rates for public facilities and transport as part of govt incentive to help these with less economic abilities.

We recognise the bumiputeras as those who originated from this land before the immigrants like Parameswaran and the Sultans came along. We are quite clear on bumi rights, but PR please SPELL OUT THE RIGHTS OF NON-BUMIPUTERAS (Malay and non-Malay race).

And quit quoting the NEP as the standard, because the NEP is supposed to end ages ago. NEP is not part of constitution, just a temporary loan by the non-bumiputeras to the bumiputeras because the bumis do not possess any skills to equip them with industrialisation and business after independence.
written by samesamemam, November 19, 2008 17:34:31
Agence France-Presse - 11/18/2008 8:10 AM GMT
Malaysian activists threaten naked protest over rent hikes
Malaysian activists have threatened to stage a naked protest over a sudden hike in rental rates for government housing, drawing criticism from Muslim leaders and police Tuesday.

Ramlan Abu Bakar of the Malaysian People's Reform Movement said its members were prepared to strip off outside the offices of the chief minister of Selangor state, after it more than doubled the cost of low-income housing.

"Protesting naked is our final act of desperation as the state government is literally stealing the clothes off our backs with this price increase," Ramlan told AFP.

"They are not helping the poor people here who barely make enough to afford the present rental of 124 ringgit (34 dollars per month) so how can we afford to pay 250 ringgit?" he said.

The hardline Islamic party PAS, which is part of the opposition alliance, criticised the plans, with its spiritual leader Nik Abdul Aziz Nik Mat saying only "uncivilised" people would resort to such an act.

"Even an animal like a cow which is stark naked, God created a tail to hide its genitals and here we are talking about human beings who have been given a mind," he told state news agency Bernama.

Ramlan said his group would submit a memorandum to opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim, whose alliance runs Selangor state, and that if it failed to bring about any change they will push ahead with the nude protest.

State police chief Khalid Abu Bakar said action will be taken against anyone staging an illegal assembly.

"We will take firm action against any NGO (non-governmental organisation) that holds a gathering without a permit, and even more so if they are nude," he told Bernama.
written by alan cheong, November 19, 2008 18:47:49
chun wai .... ptui!
a disgrace in more ways than one.

Proverbs 25:26 A righteous man falling down before the wicked is as a troubled fountain, and a corrupt spring.
written by SuperShyteStirrer, November 19, 2008 19:20:01
Wong Chun Wai aka Wong Chun TOI aka Wong Chun HAI is but a mouth piece of his masters the MCA. He should permanently hang a roll of toilet paper round his neck so that he can conveniently wipe his mouth every time je speaks or write!!!! I know this is not very intellectual nor adding to the debate but I thought the readers of MT need to have a little laugh!!!!!! Cheers.