Thousands register for green MyKad PDF Print
Wednesday, 19 November 2008 11:15

(Daily Express) - Thousands of "stateless" people thronged the National Registration Department (NRD) offices at the Federal administration building here and in Tawau, Monday, after the Department announced it will start re-issuing the green MyKad.

In Tawau, the number was estimated at several thousand. Police also had to be called in for crowd control.

Applicants started lining up as early as 8am, forcing the NRD to set up desks, acting as temporary centres, outside its office to handle the large crowd showing up.

Its Public Relations Officer, Jainisah Mohd Noor, said the exercise which started last Saturday nationwide, is strictly for those with Malaysian birth certificates and existing green MyKad holders.

"They must be born in Malaysia. (Usually) in their birth certificates, there is no information about the parents or details about the parents' nationality or documentation status.

"But that does not mean green MyKad holders (or those obtaining it) have been granted citizenship statusÉthey are only temporary residents, not Malaysians," she said, in a telephone interview from Kuala Lumpur.

Like other NRD offices nationwide, she pointed out the office here only receives applications but whether they are granted was up to their headquarters in Kuala Lumpur.

"The approval process is done on-line and centralised," Jainisah said to a question on foreigners or illegal immigrants trying to pull a fast one on NRD.

"We will not issue such documents to just anyone or foreigners."

She said the card is a form of documentation to the holders to show they are stateless but registered with the NRD and to make it easier for these people to carry out personal transactions involving money and such.

Meanwhile, NRD staff had to block access to the applicants into their main office, allowing only customers with other registration transactions in, to avoid congestion while at one point the police had to be called in.

Several green MyKad applicants insisted on entering the office despite being told the counters were already fixed outside.

An applicant, Jaratilluah Abrudasis said she had been waiting since 8am for her number, adding she had also come last Saturday but there were too many people.

"I've tried applying for citizenship status before but failed," said the 35-year-old whose parents were from the Philippines.

She claimed she was born in Sabah when her parents arrived in Kudat in 1972 and has been in the district ever since.

"I don't have any information about my parents but I have this Malaysian birth certificate with me so hopefully I can get the green IC," she said.

Filipino labourer, Siti bin Pirisini, 46, was one of those trying to obtain the card for his sons, aged 15 and 14, who were detained by police previously, claiming they were also born in Sabah.

"My sons were born in the Queen Elizabeth Hospital," he claimed, before adding, "but the authorities suspected my sons' birth certificates as being dubious."

"They said they had never seen such documents because they are different from the normal (local) ones. So I hope to get the green ICs so they will not run into trouble in future," he said.

In TAWAU, more than a thousand people gathered as early as 6am to be first in line to apply for the green MyKad at the National Registration Department (NRD) office here, Monday.

A NRD officer, who declined to be named, said they could not process any application because the people who gathered refused to follow their turns despite the staff warning no one would be entertained if the matter persists.

In light of this, the NRD has set this coming Saturday and Sunday to issue turn numbers to the applicants, the officer said, adding about 5,000 numbers would be given out.

written by ahmadneil, November 19, 2008 11:20:21
My dog Leslie is on the way to the registration centre.I hope there will be no administrative error.
written by cheekymate, November 19, 2008 11:21:07
The signs of desperation are showing in the Umno government. Soon their cracks will turn to craters. You will be voted out real soon.
written by ahmadneil, November 19, 2008 11:27:48
There are 3 more boatload waiting of the coast of Tawau.Keep the counters open 24 hours.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 19, 2008 11:29:47
Hummmm..looks like UMNO is increasing their “Fixed Deposit” in Sabah!

80% of the East coast of Sabah are economic migrants and UMNO is welcoming them with wide open arms to become Permanent Residence and Citizens of Sabah.

Where the hell are the non UMNO MPs and Assemblymen of Sabah? Are they all so busy looking for ways to secure government contracts that they do not know what the Federal government is up to?
written by ahmadneil, November 19, 2008 11:32:58
Arroyo and Sislo Bambang is applying also.
written by IbnAbdHalim, November 19, 2008 11:35:18
Why issue green cards? Give them blue straight away. You all have done it before so why not just continue it? After all it will help UMNO/BN maintain power, won't it?
written by Beezee_Beezee, November 19, 2008 11:59:05
Ini adalah Kerja Bodoh Kerajaan. Kerajaan patut membetulkan dulu Surat Kelahiran seseorang sebelum memikirkan kedudukan keahlian MYKAD bagi rakyat Sabah. Kerana kebanyakan rakyat pendatang tidak tahu dimana kah alamat kelahiran mereka. Seperti dikampung mana atau Hospital mana. Sepatutny NRD membuat yang terbetul sebelum MYKAD registeration.
written by Beezee_Beezee, November 19, 2008 12:01:29
Jika NRD dapat membuat analysis seperti membedazakan tempat kelahiran dengan dimana pengeluarannya dan Dimana alamat MYKAD mereka ini anak menentukan kesahihan maklumat didalam Surat Kelahiran...
written by Tompios, November 19, 2008 12:41:10
UMNO sedang memperkukuhkan kedudukannya di negara bahagian Malaysia, Sabah. Orang Melayu celup disarankan melahirkan anak seberapa banyak yang boleh. Laki2 Melayu celup diajak untuk memperbanyakkan isteri agar mempunyai anak yang ramai. Jika seorang laki2 Melayu celup di Sabah mempunyai 4 isteri dan setiap cawangan mempunyai 5 anak, hasilnya 4x5=20 anak akan mengundi bagi UMNO Bin BN.

Just imagine! No chancelah orang Kadazan, Dusun, Cina dan lain2 lagi yang hanya mempunyai 3 anak maksimum trend masakini. Dalam jarak waktu 20 tahun dari sekarang, kaum KadazanDusun akan jadi kaum minority di negeri Sabah.
written by Melly, November 19, 2008 13:46:59
To all those menteris and YBs, What have you done to your own people?
written by asguard, November 19, 2008 14:49:06
Rejected those whom born in Sabah by the illegals...because these ones will create an imbalance of upsetting the whole composition of sabah landscape in years to come soon.
written by cheekhiaw, November 19, 2008 15:21:03
Sabahans of not-their-type,

Soon they will be issuing crooked knives to be used to tell you people to squat at one corner and keep quiet while they loot...