Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Narrow-minded bigotry

Narrow-minded bigotry PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 19 November 2008 11:01

The ISA detainees have since relented though. They now no longer perform their Friday prayers. They realise that the more they defy the government the longer they shall remain in Kamunting.

The frequent mention of Caliph Umar ibn Abd al-Aziz and the phrase ‘amar ma’ruf nahi mungkar’ (enjoining good and avoiding wrongdoing) by Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng has been questioned by a Barisan Nasional backbencher. Lim frequently mentioned the caliph, a social reformist and one of the finest rulers in Muslim history, who ruled from 717 to 720.

Datuk Seri Dr Hilmi Yahaya (Teluk Bahang-BN), during his debate on the Supply Bill 2009, questioned if Lim was qualified to invoke the caliph’s name or the phrase. “You should not use these at your whim and fancy. Are you qualified to speak about the caliph? Even the phrase ‘amar ma’ruf nahi mungkar’ has been used in your posters all over the place.”

“It has not been ascertained if you or even Professor P Ramasamy is qualified to use them. The matter should be referred for clarification with the mufti who has to determine if you can use the caliph’s name and the phrase,” Hilmi added.

Permatang Berangan assemblyman and Penang Islamic Religious Affairs president Shahabudin Yahaya said Lim should not use the term ‘amar ma’ruf nahi mungkar’ as he is not a Muslim.

Debating the Supply Bill 2009 presented by Lim last Friday, Shahabudin said Lim and other non-Muslim assemblymen and MPs should stop using them on the banners put up in the state. “It means to avoid or shun wrongdoing, do good and to enhance one’s faith in Allah, and not to Jesus or to any ‘tokong’ (deity). You are not Muslim, so you should not use it,” he added. – The Edge

What utter rubbish! Dr Hilmi and Shahabudin don’t know what they are talking about. Since when can only Muslims talk about the Caliph Umar or amar ma’ruf nahi munkar? This is sheer nonsense. Anyone can talk about propagating good and avoiding wrongdoing. This is not the exclusive subject matter of only Muslims.

Are they now going to make a police report against John Esposito? In the first place, have Dr Hilmi and Shahabudin even heard of Esposito?

John Louis Esposito is a professor of International Affairs and Islamic Studies at Georgetown University. He is also the director of Prince Alwaleed Bin Talal Center for Muslim-Christian Understanding at Georgetown University.

Esposito was raised a Roman Catholic and spent a decade in a Catholic monastery. After taking his first degree he worked as a management consultant and high-school teacher. He then studied and received a Masters in Theology at St Johns University. He earned a PhD at Temple University in Pennsylvania plus studied Islam and held post doc appointments at Harvard and Oxford Universities. He is well-known as a promoter of strong ties between Muslims and Christians and has even challenged the Vatican to make greater efforts to encourage such ties.

Esposito founded the Center for Muslim-Christian Understanding at Georgetown University and is its current director. The center has received a US$20 million endowment from Saudi Arabian Prince Alwaleed Bin Talal to advance education in the fields of Islamic civilisation and Muslim-Christian understanding and strengthen its presence as a world leader in facilitating cross-cultural and inter-religious dialogue.

Esposito more than just talks about Caliph Umar and amar ma’ruf nahi munkar. His credentials can put both Dr Hilmi and Shahabudin to shame. Dr Hiimi and Shahabudin are novices by comparison. They should be ashamed to even talk about Islam considering they have achieved so little in the cause of Islamic propagation and understanding.

What Dr Hilmi and Shahabudin have failed to comprehend is that Islam is a message for all mankind. The Quran addresses mankind, not just Muslims. Muslims should, in fact, give the Quran to non-Muslims as gifts so that Islam can be better propagated and the message of Islam can reach all mankind, far and wide.

Malays have the impression that we should only preach to Muslims. If you just talk to Muslims sitting cross-legged on the mosque floor then what are you achieving? You are merely preaching to the already converted. It is the unconverted whom you should preach to even if only to make them understand Islam better and to eradicate the misconception about Islam and clean up the negative image that Islam has acquired over the last seven years or so.

We should be proud that non-Muslims find the message of Islam appropriate. When non-Muslims talk about Caliph Umar and amar ma’ruf nahi munkar we should hold our heads high. Instead of criticising Islam, non-Muslims are quoting Islam. This is something we should be elated about. Instead of condemning these non-Muslims we should be shouting far and wide that even non-Muslims are quoting Islam, even if it is just amar ma’ruf nahi munkar. So Islam can’t be all that bad as some people are trying to suggest.

Amar ma’ruf nahi munkar are not holy words. There is not even any magic in those words. It is merely Arabic for propagating good and avoiding wrongdoing. You can say it in Arabic. You can say it in English. You can even say it in Tamil or Mandarin. It does not matter what language you use. The meaning remains the same. And there is no taboo in saying it in Arabic as there is in saying it in any other language. It is just a language of choice and the choice of language is yours.

Dr Hilmi and Shahabudin are being very petty and silly. They should stop all this nonsense. People like these give Islam a bad name. They give an impression that Muslims are unreasonable and intolerant. And this invariably reflects on the religion and the religion is unfortunately faulted. And Muslims grumble when people criticise Islam whereas it is their actions that attract all this criticism.

What Dr Hilmi and Shahabudin should instead do is to take the government to task for not allowing the Muslim detainees to perform their Friday prayers. For a long time the Internal Security Act detainees have been fighting with the government to be allowed to perform their Friday prayers. But the government has persistently denied them permission.

On one occasion, the Kamunting detention camp authorities invited the Perak Mufti to talk to the detainees. The detainees demanded that they be allowed to perform their Friday prayers but the Perak Mufti scolded them. Cikgu Samad, one of the Kamunting warders, confirmed this and said that the detainees are very stubborn. They won’t even listen to the Perak Mufti, complained Cikgu Samad, and defied the ‘fatwah’ by still performing their Friday prayers amongst themselves.

The ISA detainees have since relented though. They now no longer perform their Friday prayers. They realise that the more they defy the government the longer they shall remain in Kamunting. Some have been under detention almost eight years now and it is not worth insisting you be allowed to perform your Friday prayers if it only means that you are going to spend the rest of your life in Kamunting and eventually die under detention.

Most of those under ISA detention are said to be Islamic extremists and are perceived as a danger to society. They are said to be intolerant of non-Muslims and that they wish to set up a regional Islamic empire that includes Malaysia, Indonesia, Southern Thailand, the Philippines, etc. And that is why they have been detained without trial in Kamunting.

I would imagine that, considering the so-called background of these detainees, the government would want to rehabilitate them by making them more tolerant of non-Muslims and less inclined to a regional Islamic empire. I was quite surprised when I attended my first lecture by an ustaz from JAKIM on 28 October 2008 and he condemned all other religions and their holy books. Isn’t this ustaz just spreading hate amongst Muslims and which will convince the ‘extremist’ ISA detainees that they are right in trying to set up a regional Islamic empire?

I, in fact, made a police report on this matter at the Sentul Police Station at 2.30pm yesterday to enable the government to investigate this matter. My police report also included the fact that the ISA detainees are being prevented from performing their Friday prayers. Over to you Dr Hilmi and Shahabudin! Let’s see how you handle this more important issue.

Comments (97)Add Comment
written by AngryTaxpayer, November 19, 2008 11:06:55
This Hilmi fella...how on earth did he earn his "Dr." !!??

Just like the word "Allah", UMNO has copyrighted everything that they deem to belong solely to them..........what idiots!!! smilies/angry.gif
agree 619
written by cheekymate, November 19, 2008 11:08:38
These two bozos are scratching their he*** now. They have been challenged by our champion of champions. Don't mess around with our RPK, get it?
agree 373
written by Daryl, November 19, 2008 11:11:27
I was quite surprised when I attended my first lecture by an ustaz from JAKIM on 28 October 2008 and he condemned all other religions and their holy books. Isn’t this ustaz just spreading hate amongst Muslims and which will convince the ‘extremist’ ISA detainees that they are right in trying to set up a regional Islamic empire?

If you think it is bad that these grown up and mature people are expose to these type of teaching. What do you think about 12 or 13 years old kids? They do not stand a chance at all against the UMNO propaganda.
agree 322
written by Newkidonblog, November 19, 2008 11:14:03
UMNO thought they know so much of their religion and race until RPK strip them naked and expose their little pea brain.

They know nuts about what they are trying to champion! Oh my, the ship is sinking and sinking fast.

agree 283
written by New Malaysian, November 19, 2008 11:14:21
Say it like it is, bro!!!! No fear or favour. We need more Muslims like RPK - for the good of Islam
agree 248
written by ahmadneil, November 19, 2008 11:18:27
A good muslim like RPK is rare.To deny him friday prayers in Kamunting is a sin Allah will never pardon,for good muslim never miss friday prayers.
agree 223
written by DreamLady, November 19, 2008 11:18:37
These two guys are playing God, some unseen hands are prompting them to behave thus, for a selfish agenda known only to them..
agree 160
written by arazak, November 19, 2008 11:22:57
I know Prof Dr. John Esposito. He visited Malaysia this summer and had a few round of lectures in some Universities.

Man. . ., this Prof could recite and interprate the Quraan than can put this Hilmi idiot to shame!

Gee. . ., why don't this Hilmi come to Iran, Iraq or Turki where some Christians could recite and understood the Qura'an better than him. . ., Bah, stupid bigot!
agree 317
written by RumahPanjai, November 19, 2008 11:25:30
RPK, you hit it right on the bud. These two so called "muslims" are monkey see, monkey do. Do they ever use whats left in their head to think before they utter garbage. They should tell muslims not to use or touch money previously touch by kafis.
agree 174
written by IbnAbdHalim, November 19, 2008 11:30:40
Salam Pete,

Well said and you should bash them to the hilt for their stupidity. And this is my ealier comment pertaining to the article:

Helmi and Shahabudin should go and tell the Arabs not to use the word "Allah" or invoke Allah's name because it's UMNO's privilege. And go tell the world that "ALLAH" is Malay rights. And tell the world that Prophet Muhammad is a Malay and only Malays are allowed to use the name. And only Malays are allowed to mention Muslim names and use any Islamic phrases.

Shame on you UMNO when non-muslims are getting nearer to Islam and you all are drifting away. May be you all should join Abdullah bin Ubay bin Salul.

I just can't decide whether to laugh or cry with what these morons uttered.
agree 275
written by trulyMalaysia, November 19, 2008 11:32:38
These are the people create racial conflicts!! They have little bit of education and they think they know everything! Perhaps they are the most knowledgeable in our biggest political party in malaysia because most all of them are idiots will very little education!
agree 135
written by Msian Idol3, November 19, 2008 11:48:19
Hilmi & the Saha guy are real bad examples of malay leadership. Shit stirrers & cannot tell the difference between evil & good. Both have attention deficit syndrome & need to stir attention to themselves. Nothing mysterious at all. Now RPK is different -- he has quality malay leadership but would want to be Msian first. Day in & day out, no changed in his leadership & would bark at any irrespective of colour/religion. A true Msian.
written by told u, November 19, 2008 11:48:30
Political mileage for Helmi n Shahabudin to become the leader of jungle. If only the Mighty Allah hears what this idiot preache he will spear a arrow to this gene for discouraging a non-muslim to understand Islam.How stupid can a mentality of this goons be if they become the leader of Islam.do the really know or understand Islam. Do they have Holybook Quran with them or are they following the book of devils "PONTIANAK GUIDE ME".
written by Caramel, November 19, 2008 11:55:23
Although I know nothing about Islam, I find that whatever that is written seem so logical and makes so much sense. If only our so called leaders and politicians are half as wise as RJP, our country will be so much better off for all to live harmoniously
written by bikerzon, November 19, 2008 12:03:21
When I was studying in Form Six, one of our mandatory requirement for certification is to take up Islamic Civilization and History classes and lessons. Does this means that I including all the teachers, my classmates and Education Minister/Ministry are in the wrong to propagate this islamic value to non-muslim?

Am I going to jail now? Because I scored quite good in those lessons.

So afraid now...

Anak Penanti in Beijing
written by Jit Dharma, November 19, 2008 12:05:09
En. Helmi, and En.Shahabudin are bigots. Pure and simple. And to try and deny
Lim Guan Eng the use of a phrase simply because it was used by an Arab first,
is the height of arrogance and stupidity.In that case universal ideals such as
'do unto others..' are forbidden to non-Christians.Really,Guan Eng should put
these fools in place by continuing to use the phrase whenever he wants and ask
the duo if this type of intolerance is part of Islam Hadari.The empty talk of these bigots speaks for itself... and to other bigots,they can shove it.
written by Midvalley, November 19, 2008 12:07:16
Most Malays believed that Islam belong to Malays. helmi n shahabudin should form a company and trade marked all islam phrases,words What a stupid askhole.
helmi n shahbudin you are just a small tortise inside a well. China muslim population is 16 times the size of the muslim in Malaysia (250,000,000)
I am at the same time very happy that the umnoputra is creating the Malays backward while we move forward. Remain in your well
written by miwaki, November 19, 2008 12:17:26
Helmi,what are you going to do now ? Hide behind your wife-ah ? Talk some more -lah !
written by renoir, November 19, 2008 12:17:52
Though the Tang dynasty was established a little earlier than Islam, there were considerable Chinese-Islamic interactions by about 700 ad. That's before the Malays here even get to know about Islam. As for the Indians, proximity to the Arabian region suggests that they too, would have known, and perhaps influenced greatly, the growth of the Islamic religion. As heirs to these two ancient civilizations, both Guan Eng and Dr Ramasamy are therefore AT LEAST, if not more, qualified to talk about Caliph Omar's teachings.

But let's see where the idea of having to be under a belief system before one could talk about people or words belonging to that system takes us. It would mean that religious people cannot talk about Bertrand Russell or his ideas, for he was an agnostic. Unless you're also an agnostic, you've no right to talk about what he says. Don't talk about special relativity as well, if you're neither a Jew nor a physicist, as Einstein was. Neither should anyone quote Confucius, unless he or she is a Confucian.

Incidentally, talking about Confucius, there was something he mentioned way before Lincoln thought of it, and which would be salutary for the BN MP: "IF you're an idiot, it's best to keep quiet. That way, some might still doubt that you are one."

agree 144
written by Tompios, November 19, 2008 12:25:11
Bigot Bin Bigot Ibni Bigot always Bigot! Hello! Why this UMNO-BN backbencher cannot see the point of this issue. You guys want to expand this issue to other planets? Well, if we always stick on Caliph words is too worth for Non-Moslem to use then be fair for not using any English in our daily conversations.

'Unity in diversity' is not coming from Caliph, so you guys from UMNO backbenchers should avoid to use it. Bigots are always Bigots.
written by densemy, November 19, 2008 12:28:19
Lets scrap the catch cry "Malaysia Boleh"... because its quite clear Malaysia cant

Instead replace it with "Narrow Minded Bigotry Boleh", because its quite clear that that one works... all the time

BTW... RPK... "You are merely preaching to the already converted" I'd prefer that you replace 'converted' with 'indoctrinated' because Muslims were never anything else to have been converted
written by mahkota, November 19, 2008 12:31:38
To me this is not something new. Here we bash the two politicians, as though only they have such view. I have experienced this since my days in school back in the 70s'. I have had my Malay friends telling me that I can't utter the world "Allah" since I'm not a muslim. What does that tell you. smilies/sad.gif
written by teo siew chin, November 19, 2008 12:33:10
ok nons, all together now - AMAR MA'RUF NAHI MUNGKAR !

YM RPK does a good job imparting Islam to us don't he?

Dear Renoir - you quoted "If you're an idiot, it's best to keep quiet."
err, i dont quite agree with that cos how's we gonna identify them if they just keep quiet? smilies/wink.gif
written by ciahcra, November 19, 2008 12:35:45
With these kind of peoples running our country, no wonder non-muslims have negative perception towards Islam. Islam's image are not being tarnished by non-muslims, but by those muslims themselves. I'm a muslim, and as far as my knowledge concerns, I don't recalled anything that say non-muslim cannot quote caliphs' name, nor quote anything from the Quran. There are many out there who quote phrases from Quran, and try to use it (with their own explanation) against Muslims, so why not condemning them? Instead, these leaders are condemning the people who actually try to get people to do what Quran and the caliphs asked us to do. This is sheer arrogance of our leaders. If the Muslims themselves cannot remind each other what the Quran asked them to do, they should be thankful because there are non-muslims willing to remind them.
written by sueteh, November 19, 2008 12:54:36
when i was in standard one in convent school way back in 1970s kan, i learnt jawi. so, how come jawi can be taught in a missionary school yah?? habis tu, if you go to bookstore Kinokuniya (Japanese bookstore) in KLCC Quran is sold there. Aiyoh..Kinokuniya itu kafir punya bookstore right?? why these sudah habis modal kah?? Pea sized brains.
written by carribeanking7, November 19, 2008 12:54:56
Former deputy Chief Minister Dr Hilmi Yahaya, now Teluk Bahang assemblyman, took the blame for a land blunder that would cost the state government some RM40 million following an out of court settlement..after being cornered.

He also won the Teluk Bahang seat by less than 500 votes in GE12.
had he contested in his former constituency of Balik Pulau where he has a clinic, he would have lost to YB Yusmadi of PKR.

So to retain his supreme council seat in UMNO he has to make big noises to bodek party members.
After all it seems to be UMNO tradition to reward insolence and rhetoric.
After ahMad Ismail was welcomed as a hero, it sent a clear message that it pays to be bigoted.

agree 119
written by FFT, November 19, 2008 12:58:29
“It has not been ascertained if you or even Professor P Ramasamy is qualified to use them. The matter should be referred for clarification with the mufti who has to determine if you can use the caliph’s name and the phrase,” Hilmi added.

Going by that same logic, all UMNO members should remove the "Mohammad" from their name as they are an insult to their own prophet.
written by FFT, November 19, 2008 13:03:26
Instead of condemning these non-Muslims we should be shouting far and wide that even non-Muslims are quoting Islam, even if it is just amar ma’ruf nahi munkar.

Tsk, tsk...now you're just committing the cardinal sin of applying logic and common sense when dealing with UMNO.

The fact is, Islam as preached by UMNO is driven by:

"nahi ma’ruf, amar munkar"

written by leeum, November 19, 2008 13:18:45
This is all so typical UMNO and BN behaviour, I wouldn't even raise an eyebrow at the sort of comment anymore.

They're so in love with the sounds of their own voices that they'll make issues out of non-issues simply to distract people from the fact that they are out of ideas and inspiration to rule the nation or form an effective opposition (as they will soon be).
written by Malaysiaputra, November 19, 2008 13:31:54
I was quite surprised when I attended my first lecture by an ustaz from JAKIM on 28 October 2008 and he condemned all other religions and their holy books.

====

With such intorelant scumbag, how are Malaysian going to be united ?.This is one of the reasons why non Malays, if possible do not want to send their children to National schools as they are full of such scumbags.
written by MinahManja, November 19, 2008 13:40:59
Abang Pete, I hope we have many Muslim brothers and sisters like you in our midst. Your opinion and views are so refreshing and make Muslims much more admired and respected. It is regrettable that we have people like Dr Hilmi and Shahabudin who are so constipated in their views and are of no help in improving the image of Islam and Muslims.
written by Taikohtai, November 19, 2008 13:49:27
CRIKEY! Now we are all going to HELL............

http://www.smh.com.au/news/national/baptist-raises-hell-in-jewish-dialogue/2008/11/18/1226770451056.html

written by cubi76, November 19, 2008 13:52:58
Bigots: Mos zeep pi... sha'mut!
written by Motherchell, November 19, 2008 13:54:01
The courage that you , Marina , your children posses , is GOD's expression of the singular courage that you endow into us . We will all prevail soon !

I have not seen one Jakim Leader at a world Forum arguing what they believe in here ---- they all think we are embroys that they are !! God Bless you Pete! Jack has been highlighted worldwide!!

http://sjsandteam.wordpress.com
written by cruzeiro, November 19, 2008 13:54:40
Day by day, Umno and their minions only make a show of their ignorance.
Many of them have "politically motivated" paper qualifications - local and foreign. Even if they have it from "reputable" institutions, the terms for their qualifications are different from the regular students. Some are forbidden from practising in the host nation - and hence have to return to a cushy job in our administrative or "institutions of kangkung learning".
Many parade their "doctorates" from shadowy diploma/degree mills for nonsensical theses, when they cannot string a simple english sentence.

Is it any wonder that every time their open their mouth, they only reinforce the general perception of their intellectual bankruptcy, and their "kangkung-ness".
These are what Umno calls "leaders" and "leadership".
written by Davy McChester, November 19, 2008 14:48:26
They are so afraid that their community would acknowledge the years of their deceptions. They are simply fearful that real prosperity and future NEP achievement/targets for their community may very well come from non UMNOputras leadership.
written by nafis, November 19, 2008 14:54:47
uh-huh

so this hilmi could also make a police report and try to
ISA a former nun who wrote a book about Prophet Muhammad [pbuh] - Karen Armstrong
written by Loh, November 19, 2008 15:00:41
///Amar ma’ruf nahi munkar are not holy words. There is not even any magic in those words. It is merely Arabic for propagating good and avoiding wrongdoing. You can say it in Arabic. You can say it in English. You can even say it in Tamil or Mandarin. It does not matter what language you use. The meaning remains the same. And there is no taboo in saying it in Arabic as there is in saying it in any other language. It is just a language of choice and the choice of language is yours.///-- Pete

That is the truth that Dr Hilmi and Shahabudin are afraid that Malays and Muslims will come to know. That is how they like to monopolize not only the words of wisdom, but words in Arabic so that Muslims can only look up to them, as Muslim to spread the words of wisdom. They are concerned only about votes, and when religion is a good tool to be politicized, they will be the first to use them.
written by DanielYKL, November 19, 2008 15:10:49
These idiots just don't know what to do in the State Assembly. They have no real issues to bring up. But as an opposition they have to bring up something. They want to earn their keeps. So they brought this issue about Caliph Umar ibn Abd al-Aziz and the phrase ‘amar ma’ruf nahi mungkar’ (enjoining good and avoiding wrongdoing). In fact this was not even an issue. they made it sound like Islam is so exclusive.
written by PangurBan, November 19, 2008 15:24:14
I've found myself in this rather surreal situation more than once:

The phone rings. I pick it up.
- "Hello."
- "Assalaam aleykum."
- "Aleykum salaam."
- [*****] SILENCE

This has happened at least once face to face, and I found my interlocutor looking somewhat sheepish when she realised I was a china apek, as if she'd committed some unspeakable faux pas.

So it seems ANYTHING in ANYWAY however tenuously connected with Islam, even an innocent everyday greeting which I learnt in my Arabic classes, is for exclusive use by Muslims only in this country. Never mind that the said phrase is used all over the Arab world by EVERYONE whatever their religious persuasion.

So how should I response the next time someone gives me the peace in this country? Should I say hello and then explain that I was not Muslim? Should I stop using words of Arabic origin like algebra, alkali, coffee, cotton, sofa and tamarind?

C'mon, let's have a fatwa on this.
written by Susanna, November 19, 2008 15:49:24
These are the type of people who instead of bringing light... chase the lights out of non muslims by all the man made rules of dos and donts
written by truthbespoken, November 19, 2008 15:53:11
Dr Hilmi and Shahabudin are sheer bi-products of tunnel-thinking. People like them live their lives with their brains under cast and are unable to think out of the box. It's hopeless to deal with these inordinate mudhe***. They choose not to understand there is an outside world beyond the one they live in but what is worse, most of the time, they won't even want to to accept there is one.
written by malgal, November 19, 2008 15:53:26
Phew, your article is indeed timely. I was debating how to explain the same text to my kids but in hokkien and english, and to draw some parallels to scriptures i more familiar with.
I had no clue that some phrases are within precincts not allowed to me before I read about Dr Hilmi and his compatriot's complaint. Had you, dear Pet, not clarified the issue, I would be teetering on eggshells and very probably taking a vow of silence lest I incurred the wrath of those tongue-watchers. Terima kasih.
written by quietguy, November 19, 2008 16:08:24
How dare they prevent Muslims from performing Friday prayers! This is clearly against Islam. I am a Malay and a Muslim, and I don't have any Islamic studies qualification. But if it's true that the Perak Mufti told the Muslim detainees to stop performing Friday prayers, then I condemn him and declare that he is unqualified to hold that esteemed position.
written by Nunudada, November 19, 2008 16:40:49
Religious matters are very personal to each individual.No religion should dictate the rituals to the extent of using force to attain this.Force will always be met with force,and endless fighting.Many religions have failed to propagate the true spirit of the religion in the masses.Self-proclaimed messengers that are aided by the governments whip, to steer a religion as they see fit is surely a joke in itself.See below some salient facts on islam.This is not meant to belittle the religion or insult it.To me all religions are great but their propagation has definately deviated from its original purpose.
Read This:............
Among Muslims, Shia and Sunni kill each other in all the Muslim countries.

The religious riot in Muslim countries is always between these two.

The Shia will not go to Sunni mosque, these two will not go to Ahamadiya mosque,

these three will not go to Sufi mosque,

these four will not go to Mujahiddin mosque?

Like this it appears there are 13 castes in among Muslims,

Killing / bombing/conquering/ massacring each other !

The American attack to the Muslim land of Iraq is fully supported by all the Muslim countries surrounding Iraq !

One Allah, One Quran, One Nabi? Great unity !

written by A MI, November 19, 2008 16:51:40
smilies/grin.gif What ignoramus clowns Bukit_mi and Shahfella.
Go tell the 30-40 % Egyptians and Jordanians who are Christians that they cannot speak Arabic.

Who voted these demented in? Disgraceful. Kick yourselves now please!
written by educationist, November 19, 2008 16:52:50
This is another eye-opener from you, RPK!
Muslim detainees under ISA at Kamunting not allowed to perform their Friday prayers?
What are those UMNOputras up to?
Well, those narrow-minded bigots probably think the word Allah can be used by Muslims only as well. So, for those bigots let's hope we see the end of them soon.
written by A MI, November 19, 2008 17:03:44
Perak Mufti Datuk Seri Harussani Zakaria: is this the guy associated with the rumour started via sms that malays were being converted into christianity in Ipoh?

The last I heard this guy is banned from a few states in Malaysia.

Narrow Minded bigot is the best label for people like this. Who gave him the right to say who can or cannot perform Friday payers?
written by ChrisNg, November 19, 2008 17:18:43
Oh!..RPK had already made the police reports!!..LET's send them forms regarding the status of the police report made....
written by born2reign, November 19, 2008 17:22:51
So...Muslims cannot talk about Mother Teresa and Mahatma Gandhi now coz only Catholics and Hindus can talk of these legendary figures?

HAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAH UMNO you are a really funny pig lar!!!
written by apa jadi, November 19, 2008 17:32:34
OH! NO, not again.

We just had some idiot Prof. Kangkung trying to fakwa on Yoga. Now we have another Dr. Kangkung trying to prohibit non-Muslims from reciting Arabic.

Are these idiots thinking they are Arab or they are more Arab than the Arabs? I think the Arab will too frown at these bigots at the way they pronounce the phrase.

I challenge Dr. Hilmi and Shahbudin to bar the Christian Arabs from speaking the phrase. See who get the bashing. Will you two bigots take the challenge? Or Chicken?
written by born2reign, November 19, 2008 17:35:25
But I bet the Muslims are not angry enough to storm into Syed Hamid's office to demand freedom for ISA detainees to practice Islam right?

Sigh, Muslims are so tolerant of their Muslim UMNO leaders.
written by JUST, November 19, 2008 18:19:43
http://www.themalaysianinsider...ulturalism
written by renoir, November 19, 2008 18:27:47
Teo Siew Chin wrote:
> - you quoted "If you're an idiot, it's best to keep quiet."
err, i dont quite agree with that cos how's we gonna identify them if they just keep quiet?]]

Ah, but Teo, as a Christian I've to love him, and advise him only for his own good. It's vital for an MP not to be seen as idiotic, at least until the next elections.smilies/smiley.gif

During the early 50s, I was a young kid with a love of tales such as Robin Hood and characters like Ivanhoe, Richard the Lionhearted, etc. One Muslim that stood out in my memory was the mighty Saladin, the main opponent of Richard the Lionhearted during the Third Crusade(?). I could never forget Saladin's great chivalry when he sent his physician to look after Richard, after that English warrior-king fell sick. In addition, Saladin was also thoughtful enough to send Richard ice to cool down his fever and fruits for proper nourishment.

But what was most memorable was a quotation follwing Richard's fall from his horse during a battle. Saladin saw what happened and sent Richard a horse, meanwhile ordering his men not to attack Richard during the latter's moment of disadvantage. Saladin's message, along with the horse, was: "It's not right that a great warrior should've to fight on foot" (during those days, footsoldiers were considered lower ranked).

I suppose that for some people, I should never repeat that quote as I'm not a Muslim.

written by citizenmy, November 19, 2008 19:07:11
"Datuk Seri Dr."..fullamak! Hebat title dia. Mesti intelligent giler. Apa dia kata mesti betul punya.
written by AsamLaksa, November 19, 2008 19:21:44
Alaaa... ini namanya tak ada kerja lain nak cari pasal. Ajaran baik haruslah disebar bukan nak simpan sendiri. Ini macam punya adUN bazirkan masa tak guna punya. Lain kali tau dah bagi dia hilang deposit.
written by bakas, November 19, 2008 19:25:43
What utter rubbish! Do these people even understand the basic tenets of Islam? It sounds as if they are ignorant about what is important, and put emphasis on petty things. What does it matter if the word is Arabic, Malay, or Hebrew? The message is for all. Do good, oppose evil. Does it make a Christian less Christian if he utters this ‘magic words’? No, because Christians are also called to do the same. Buddhism, Hinduism and other religions propagate the same message. Let everyone be judged according to their deeds and actions, not on mere flattery and empty words only. What good is it, for a man to preach the words of the angels, but act like the devil? And what I can see coming out from these people are words of arrogant, prideful and condescending nature. Don’t they realize that they are acting as if eternal salvation is already assured for them, just because they are Muslims? And this is, as it always will be the case, a prelude to eternal damnation, for let no one deceive themselves that they are already safe. Hiding behind the name of Islam won’t save you when the final judgment come, so stop acting as if you are God and know the final outcome of everything.

God created all of humanity. Languages, cultures and religion therefore are gifts from God to humanity. So let no one say that God is biased, for even Islam believes that God is just and impartial. Let no one forget, that God is also merciful.

Pity. This people should know better. But then, ignorance as they say is bliss.

Peace to all smilies/grin.gif
written by azlanm03, November 19, 2008 19:31:03
Yang Mulia RPK,

EEEEIIIIIIII.... GERAMNYAAAAAA!!!!!!!! KENAPA JD MELAYU YANG TOLOL SANGAT NI!!!!!! TOLONG JANGAN LAAA TOLOL SANGAT>>> MALUNYAAAAAAAA
written by aeromaverick, November 19, 2008 19:47:49
This is an ideal example intellectual brinkmanship exhibited by the two Assemblyman in question here. All of a sudden they are probably feeling that their main political plank has been "hijacked", and hence the immature and juvenile reaction.
As mentioned a countless number of times in these columns, these chaps seems to be on the last lap now. Even if the ruling coalition survives by some stroke of genius and underhand dealings, cleaning up the mess (if they feel its a mess) is going to take atleast a couple of generations.
The question then is, will Malaysia survive that long under these incapable characters?
I sincerely hope we get DSAI in soon, then eventually we get into a two party mode in the future.
That will put the entire political class on notice, with regards to the actual power in the country, which is the people of the country itself.
Thank you Pete for a wonderful, though provoking article. I sincerely hope your ongoing ordeal with this bankrupt system is over soon.
Cheers
written by razzwill, November 19, 2008 22:33:45
"There's nothing wrong with a fifth-grade understanding of God [or religion] -- as long as you're in the fifth grade." as quoted by The Rev. Dr. Laurence C. Keene
written by AhLiew, November 19, 2008 23:02:55
Like to share something :

"Not to do any evil, To cultivate good,
To purify one's mind, This is the advice of the Buddhas."
(Chinese : 諸惡莫作,眾善奉行,自淨其意,是諸佛 教)

Above sentence is considered the shortest DEFINITION of Buddhism.

Not trying to influence anyone.
But it's obvious different religions share the common value.

Too bad some politicians continue trying to divide rakyat for their own interest.
written by johntyc, November 19, 2008 23:14:05
Those in Umno Pulau Pinang started to concern that their voters might eventually came to accept PR government. They hate the fact that PR government continue to treat Umno's voters nicely.
written by temenggong, November 19, 2008 23:25:25
It is dangerous to say good things about islam.

Okay, I'll stick to bashing. Seems less dangerous.
written by rocky, November 19, 2008 23:30:07
these UMNO guys are bigots!!! and they are making a great religion look bad. and seem they know better than the state mufti. BTW where are these guys when there is corruption etc and what do they do aboutmoney politics in UMNO who so call defends race and religion. tak tahu malu ka!!! UMNO equates to corruption..care to comment Dr.Hilmi? smilies/tongue.gif
written by yellowkingdom, November 19, 2008 23:37:52
Extracted from http://www.ifna.net/sturec/studrecmain.htm

Allah has encouraged us to learn as much as we can and as a good Muslim it is a requirement to always learn. Allah asked the question in the Holy Qur'an: "Are those who know and those who don't know equal?"

Of course the answer is that those who know things are better! Prophet Ibrahim, may he be blessed, said a very beautiful prayer that we should all say often ourselves. He prayed to Allah: "My Lord! advance me in knowledge." In Arabic you can say the Du'a this way: "Rabbi zidnee 'ilma"

Prophet Muhammad, peace be upon him, said that "Learning is a duty of every Muslim male and Muslim female." On another occasion he said, "Seek knowledge even if you have to go to China." In those days, China was so far away that it was impossible for most people to go there, so by saying this, the Prophet (p) was hinting that the search for learning and knowledge may take you to the ends of the Earth, but that it was worth it.

In this spirit we have established the ever-growing and expanding resource section for students so your search for knowledge can be made easier.

May your learning benefit you both in this life as well as in the next! Ameen. Let it be so.

Websites such as the above were set up for those who seek knowledge as espoused by the great Prophet, yet we have bigots like these hilmi and shabuddin. Poor misguided souls like these, who discourage others from seeking true Islam. They are stumbling blocks and deviants of the faith they claim to represent.
Learn this, "Better to remain silent and thought stupid, then to speak and remove all doubt!"

written by yellowkingdom, November 19, 2008 23:54:26
Luke 11:33 "No one, when he has lit a lamp, puts it in a cellar or under a basket, but on a stand, that those who come in may see the light. (WEB WEY ASV DBY YLT NAS RSV NIV)

Luke 11:34 The lamp of the body is the eye. Therefore when your eye is good, your whole body is also full of light; but when it is evil, your body also is full of darkness. (WEB WEY ASV DBY YLT NAS RSV NIV)

Luke 11:36 If therefore your whole body is full of light, having no part dark, it will be wholly full of light, as when the lamp with its bright shining gives you light."

Likewise, the phrase ‘amar ma’ruf nahi mungkar’ is enlightening and ought to be preached and practised by everyone. Only bigots like hilmi and shahabudin would want to put "the lamp under a container" instead of "on a lamp-stand".

"What is a rose, that by any other name still smell just as sweet."

written by alarcarte, November 19, 2008 23:58:08
Any word or phrase that is written in Holy Koran apeears to already franchise to those Umnoputras in Malaysia and non Muslim in this country has not got the rights to use them. As those Malaysians who work in middle East will testify, all those arabic phrases that appears in Koran are used by all Arabs irrespective of religion, with the exception of Saudi most middle east countries has got a sizable population of Christians. What is Hilmi talking about? Cheap political point I think.

Hilmi dare to say this is because a regrettably, a large section of Malay Muslims are still not up to the mark in terms of religious knowledge and also very confused about who can or cannot read the Holy Koran and quote from it.

I am not a Muslim but I kept a copy of the translated version of Holy Koran (a present from a Malay PAS member) and read it from time to time just to try to understand what is all about, Mr Hilmi, please don't tell us that we can't read the Holy Koran just because we are not Muslims, please go and get lost! You are traitor to the Muslims Worldwide.

written by confuseus, November 20, 2008 00:30:59
Dear Pet, take it easy will you!
I am afraid I have to agree with UMNOputra this time.

It is very easy for anybody to mention any Caliph's name and the phrase ‘amar ma’ruf nahi mungkar’ but the bigger question is whether the person really believe in the Caliph and the phrase and what is his real intention or 'niat'.

Based on my observation, politicians are also human and once they tasted power they eventually will loose their sense of direction. Politicians are also known to be very good in achieving "the end justifies the means".

Please do not be too taken up with these "multi religion" scholars. Do study "Melayu Islam Beraja" which explain indepth about this kind of scholar.

BTW, What happen to the Ombudsman initiatives ?
written by RFernandez, November 20, 2008 00:41:04
If those words are the exclusive domain of the Muslims, just like the word "Allah" is too, apparently, then how come they using many things, sayings and mannerisms in their daily lives which were invented, propagated by the Christian and the Jews? Can we tell all our Muslim brothers and sisters that you can't sing that Happy Birthday song or watch TV or listen to radio or drive your car, because it's an exclusive invention made by the Christians and Jews? Certainly not.

I wonder sometimes how such ignorant people ever get elected to these public positions?
written by kawaafi, November 20, 2008 01:01:47
Salam,
just wonder how come these two guys never use the word amal maaruf nahi mungkar all these while if they think they are the rightful owner of such phrase. Just like Allah swt and Islam, it does not belongs to anybody but Allah swt HIMSELF.
We can never know what is the 'niat'intention of the people who use such phrase. As long as it is not use as a joke and ridicule Islam like nunudada, it is ok.

On the Friday prayers by the ISA detainees. Am not sure why the mufti does not allow them to perform friday prayers. He may come up with a fatwa that friday prayers is not a must for them. then they can be excused from performing the prayers. But certainly can not be haram for them to perform the prayers anyway. puzzling..
written by mick_err_stan, November 20, 2008 01:17:32
to sum it up.....adopting a kafir lifestyle but justifying with skewed reasoning to legalize racism!
written by TaiLow, November 20, 2008 01:32:15
Now everybody knows the criteria to make it big in umno is stupidity and those who can talk through their arse, datuk seri from telur banggang and president who??? my god!!!
written by Kopi37, November 20, 2008 02:14:51
Those who claimed piety to their religion, willingly became the stooges of the political master have in fact, defied to be the faithful and honest servants of God, since they prefer to be officials of the impious politicians! They are truly the greater insults to their religion and a disgrace to the Muslim community!

They should be charged in court instead! Why RPK?!
written by alfchuah, November 20, 2008 04:49:36
Well, very simply, if everything were to be upheld to the standards of the Prophet thousands of years ago, why use English? Instead of riding a camel, why BMW? Instead of wearing a long hijab, why the suit and tie? More importantly, I am puzzled as to why they haven't taken a 9yo girl as a wife?

Agreed with FFT and leeum. Why bother with these people who uphold no consistency and principle? Furthermore, they are blind. As per the shit coming out of Mahathir these days, pay no attention to these people and give them no publicity.
written by macanhitam, November 20, 2008 07:39:08
haiya...this two idiots also havent khatam al-quran and cannot write jawi. still wanna act like arab more than the arabs. siasui bebenor.
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 20, 2008 08:12:55
Datuk Seri Dr Hilmi Yahaya (Teluk Bahang-BN), during his debate on the Supply Bill 2009, questioned if Lim was qualified to invoke the caliph’s name or the phrase. “You should not use these at your whim and fancy. Are you qualified to speak about the caliph? Even the phrase ‘amar ma’ruf nahi mungkar’ has been used in your posters all over the place.”

WORDS OF WISDOM HV UNIVERSAL VALUES. WORDS OF WISDOM ARE UNIVERSALLY ACCEPTED.
THE HEART OR INTENT OF THE PERSON OF WISDOM IS CERTAINLY NOT TO BE NARROW MINDED LIKE THESE TWO BIGOTS BUT SPANS TIME AND EXTENDS BEYOND BOUNDARIES, WHAT MORE ACROSS CULTURES.
written by mick_err_stan, November 20, 2008 08:26:52
Sickening!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Ptuiiiiiii!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by azree, November 20, 2008 08:46:14
HAHAHA, UMNO GOONS DISPLAYING NEW UTTER LOW LEVEL OF STUPIDITY...HAHAHAHAHAH

“It has not been ascertained if you or even Professor P Ramasamy is qualified to use them. The matter should be referred for clarification with the mufti who has to determine if you can use the caliph’s name and the phrase,” Hilmi added. HHAHAHAHHAH STUPID! STUPID! HAHAHAHA

FOR YOUR INFO 'DR.', CALIPH UMAR WAS A LEadER OF STATE WHICH CONSIST OF MUSLIMS AND NON-MUSLIMS (ISLAM AND JEWS). ANY LEadER (MUSLIM 0R NON-MUSLIM) SHOULD MAKE AN EXAMPLE OF CALIPH UMAR..

written by Vince, November 20, 2008 09:34:33
You are so right RPK, it these bigot's and it's kind that give Muslim a really bad name!
They are the obstacle to a unified Malaysia because they are so afraid of changes, a change for the betterment of Malaysia.
If doing good and ridding of bad requires race and religion base then where is the point? It defeat the purpose of all teachings and rule of law.
Where does all these bigots come from? They seem to be coming out in herds now.....
written by Siapabohong, November 20, 2008 10:58:22
This is the classic example that I use to say that in Malaysia, Islam only belongs to the Malay espeially the 'Ameno' people not others even if they are Muslims. In their mind, others have no right to talk about Islam. That's one main reason why Islam is being looked upon negatively and in wrong perspective. One of my Malay friend, of course a Muslim, told me when she was in China, the Chinese Muslim in China refer others beside them as mu'alaf, so Malay Muslims from Malaysia who went over there were called mu'alaf. Hahaha.... who is who...
To the Chinese Muslims in China they think of themselves as the erlier people who embraced Islam than others, so they thought the Malay Muslims from Malaysia are very much later than them, so been called mu'alaf... So you are right dear RPK, typical narrow-mimded bigotry and worse is it set up narrow perception by others.
written by mick_err_stan, November 20, 2008 11:22:14
UMNO = Racist

Racism, by its simplest definition, is the belief that race is the primary determinant of human traits and capacities and that racial differences produce an inherent superiority of a particular race. People with racist beliefs might hate certain groups of people according to their racial groups. In the case of institutional racism, certain racial groups may be denied rights or benefits, or get preferential treatment. Racial discrimination typically points out taxonomic differences between different groups of people, even though anybody can be racialised, independently of their somatic differences. According to the United Nations conventions, there is no distinction between the term racial discrimination and ethnic discrimination. -

Racial Discrimination
The term "racial discrimination" shall mean any distinction, exclusion, restriction or preference based on race, colour, descent, or national or ethnic origin which has the purpose or effect of nullifying or impairing the recognition, enjoyment or exercise, on an equal footing, of human rights and fundamental freedoms in the political, economic, social, cultural or any other field of public life. - From Wikipedia

written by Taiping60, November 20, 2008 11:42:58
RPT,
Good for your to set things straight.

As for the other two mentioned in your article, not worth discussing about them.
written by Century Patriot, November 20, 2008 13:25:56
As a non Muslim , I remembered my professor in answering one of my questions in Islamic Study ‘ the trouble with many Muslims is that they are Muslims ONLY by birth and those with little knowledge have a penchant to create a negative perception of Islam!! Especially pertaining to areas where they are ignorant, the answer would be ‘don’t question, it’s haram!’!!

These two Helmi and Saha fit the description and it is through guys like them that Islam and its true teachings are avoided by non Muslims throughout the world.

I wonder why in Malaysia, Islamic propagations have always been in emphasis in its FORM but not its SUBSTANCE. Perhaps this fits the Umno agenda ie corruption, cronyism and likes of it would not be questioned!!
written by Heaven8402, November 20, 2008 16:33:02
Sah mereka berdua tu memang berotak udang dan boleh dipercayai ramai lagi pemimpin2 um-no mempunyai otak yang sejenis! smilies/tongue.gif
written by sueteh, November 20, 2008 16:55:36
Eh...you all Malays Muslim yang kaya raya (all you wealthy Muslims Malays of Malaysia). A lot of things are THE VERY KAFIR below I append the list:

1. TODS 2. BURBERRY 3.ESTEE LAUDER 4.DUNHILL 5.SALVATORE FERRAGAMO 6.TIFFANY - THE WHOLE LOT OF THINGS AT THE SO CALLED PRESTIGE FLOOR AT KLCC, THE GARDENS MID VALLEY, THE PAVILLION KL, ONE UTAMA, IKEA, IKANO, THE CURVE, TESCO.

All barang kafir..you sembur sembur minyak wangi berjenama, pakai berjenaman, kasut berjenama (what you spray-spray, your clothing, your shoes..).
written by batsman, November 20, 2008 16:57:11
Some people are just members of a narrow evil sectarian cult called Hadhari who would even deny the faithful their prayers. Abolish the ISA! Free all prisoners of conscience.
written by sueteh, November 20, 2008 16:59:54
Why Datuk Farah Khan through her co. Melium Group bring in KAFIR things? Why you color your hair? Why you drive a HONDA, MERCEDES, BMW, TOYOTA..all kafir yang buat
written by rainmanpj, November 20, 2008 17:27:48
When I was in primary and going to muslim friends' house during raya I always wish "asailamualaicom" and then I get 10cents(no green pack then,earlier 60s)
from friends' father

So now it is wrong to say that for a non-muslim ????

written by Darth Vader, November 20, 2008 21:32:43
stupid politicians

there are many words that derives from sanskrit or other languages.

so, when you adopt these words, does mean that you are unislamic? Answer this you moron. i am really ashame that we have politician of such mentality. Ptui!

By the way, you UMNO goons, i am a "pendatang" and during my Form Six days, i studied Sejarah Islam lah.

Umno goons, i am sure that you dont know this fact as you people dont know the school curriculum.

Bigots!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by DontPlayGod, November 20, 2008 21:50:34
The UMNO Muslim Malays seems to think that only a Muslim(who has gone through the rituals of conversion) is automatically endowed by Allah to know all about Islam, never mind if this convert has not read a word in the Koran! Being a Muslim automatically qualifies you to talk about Islam! This is why you often hear of our Muslim politicians saying that non-Muslims are not qualified to say this or that about Islam. As for me, anyone can make any comments about any religion, whether he is a Muslim, Christian, Buddhist, Taoist, Hindu, or Bahai. After all, aren't there various sects in Islam, each with their own peculiar rituals(who created these rituals!), and interpretations. But, just make sure the criticisms/comments are constructive and meaningful, and not uttered in a hateful manner. I have all along criticized the Muslims, not Islam, just like RPK is doing.

Yes, we often hear of Muslims saying that Prophet Mohammad(pbuh) is the only prophet of God. The Mullahs and religious teachers have purposely twisted the Koran on this. Islam also believes that God has sent many prophets at different times to tell the people of the good tidings. But the Muslim religious teachers omitted this on purpose and tells the Muslims that Mohammad(pbuh) is the only prophet, and all other religions are false. If Mohammad(pbuh) says that there have been many prophets throughout history, then isn't it logical that these prophets have also spawned various religions? It is only the religious teachers/leaders who have twisted the scriptures for their own evil purpose, and you have all fallen for it.
written by Qcumber, November 20, 2008 22:07:16
This is how it goes...

UMNO = Malay = Muslim = Islam

When you belittle UMNO, it means you belittle Islam, so becareful. smilies/tongue.gif
written by Concerned Malaysian, November 21, 2008 01:25:00
DR.hilmi...do you remember Datuk Sukhi? will open a lot of worms.....stop prying on Islam when u do not know what u r talking about
written by sueteh, November 21, 2008 14:15:35
who is belittle Islam?? Do you honestly think and believe that every SINGLE Malay really practices their faith?? Does Islam teaches the following:

1. Mat Rempit 2. Bohsia 3. High Rate Divorces 4. Drugs 5. Murder 6. Merompak/Stealing 5. Colour your hair 6. Be a supermodel 7. Be a actress/actor 8. Mat Rock 9. Lepak/Loitering 10. Buang Anak/Discard unwantted baby chuck anywhere you like 11.Smoking 12. Visit pubs/discos 13. Curi curi/openly drink arak/beer 14. Malaysian Tatler/Prestige Magazine..all the wannabees..semuanya KUAT PERASAAN inside that magazine ataupun syok sendiri.. 15. the newest..apa itu..Debutante..Viena dance..ha! ha! 16. Celebrating St. Patrick Day?? 17. F-One ...go on lah..
i worked with Americans before...many years ago..i never try to copy them nor mimic them at all. i get more respect. Mind you..my ex-bosses are the very typical WHITE AMERICANS from the land of Texas state. Never i ever try to perasaan Mat Salleh ..ha..ha..Asians love to copy, mimic, like the Banana Chinese the Mat Sallehs/whites...you know..they laugh behind your backs!
written by amoker, November 21, 2008 23:44:35
i am sure that both idiots practice money politics and stll claimed to be good muslims
written by Futurist, November 22, 2008 16:20:12
People will be put off by such idiots' comments. What makes them qualified to comment whether the words can be uttered by non-muslims or not? Just because they are muslims, does not give them to comment on it.
written by LFLee, November 23, 2008 01:26:11
UMNO should copyright The Quran, and TM every sentence in it
so that they are the only one can speak of Quran.

The PR run state should really start look into ways to publish
a news paper that tell the truth and start posting MT articles!

As for the Dr. title, it is easy to purchase one nowadays as
you can see many MCA leaders did it and make a huge advertisement
in the news paper when they bought one... smilies/grin.gif
written by nikko, November 23, 2008 18:47:44
RIDICULOUSLY SILLY
It's absolutely ridiculous for Hilmi and Shahabudin to claim that Islam is exclusive for Muslims. The problem with these two guys and many others like them is that these people think that glossary such as 'Allah, Alhamdullilah' and other islamic phrases are exclusive for the Muslims. How are they going to propagate the religion and get non-muslims to respect them if they act as if they are the prophets sent from above?

I've heard of mosque officials who preach that Islam is the only way to heaven (Fine to preach it this way) but some go to the extent of condemning other religions as false. On the other hand, I haven't come across religious officials of other faith who say that their religious beliefs are the only true ones.
In fact, we all believe in God (unless of course, you are a free thinker)and the only difference is the way we 'communicate' with God. It's like all of us trying to get to the same destination but using different means of transport.

I also believe that one of the root causes of people who think like Hilmi and Shahabudin is caused at the school level where they have been 'indoctrinated' by certain teachers and ustazs. I remember vividly one student who came up to me to ask whether soap is made from pork lard. On questioning her, she told me that the ustazah had told her so. This is ridiculous as it's not practical to use lard as it's very expensive. Reminds me also of someone mentioning not too long ago about students in certain schools and JPA scholars of a certain race being 'brain-washed' with ideologies. We too have many leaders in and outside the government who had studied at mission schools such as SJI and the convents and yet they are still muslims. I would like to quote from Muhammad Hj Salleh's 'si tenggang's homecoming':
the journey was a loyal teacher
who was never tardy
in explaining cultures or variousness
look, i am just like you
still malay
sensitive to what
i believe is good ...