To write comment, please LOGIN at content-page.

• RPK's defamation trial - 2 July, Jln Duta Sessions Court
  • RPK's sedition trial - 17 July, PJ Sessions Court

Special treat for bloggers PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 19 November 2008 09:24

(The Star) - FORMER Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohammad will be the guest of honour at the bloggers conference called Bloggers Buff 2008 on Saturday at Putra World Trade Centre.

Mahathir, who is also a blogger, will be delivering the keynote address entitled Unity and Accountability in Blogging.

The event will be a conference-cum-networking event where established speakers will share their experiences.

“It is a stepping stone to get Malaysian bloggers from various genres to come together to open up their minds towards different aspects of blogging and to comment on issues that affect bloggers in the country,’’ Putera MIC national coordinator P. Kamala-nathan said.

Ready for it: (From left) Novinthen, Fernandez, Lim, Kamalanathan, Wong and Amutha unfurling the banner for the event.

GoMobile is sponsoring the conference, which is being organised by MI Fest Management. Traxx FM is the official radio station for the event.

The one-day event is endorsed by Empower Lives, All Blogs and Malaysian Indian Bloggers (MIB) and supported by Putera MIC.

The conference will be held from 9am to 7pm.

The first session will be themed Blogging Realities and deals with current issues like ethics, law, money-making and technology.

The second session, on the other hand, is targeted at young bloggers.

Kamalanathan said bloggers could choose to attend both sessions at RM60 while the morning session was priced at RM50 and the afternoon session was at RM20.

The registration form is available at the official blog for the event – www.bloggersbuff.blogspot.com.

This event is opened to about 100 Malaysian bloggers for each session on a first-come, first-served basis.

Call Tim Fernandez (012-601 1126), Felicia Wong (012-530 2682), K. Novinthen (016-557 4227) or R. Amutha (017-639 3631) for further details.

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by cheekymate, November 19, 2008 09:44:45
Tun Dr. Mahathir will be the guest of honour at the bloggers event.
I have a basket of rotten eggs in my pantry. Any takers, please?
written by Newkidonblog, November 19, 2008 09:47:11
http://sloone.wordpress.com/20...ir-please/

Mahathir again? smilies/cry.gif
written by DreamLady, November 19, 2008 09:47:42
Mahathir the invited guest of honour? I do hope he sincerely means well to give moral support to all bloggers.

The day is still young, we need more time to scrutinize him further before we pass our judgment on his motive to get involve with the bloggers.

As good Malaysians, benefit of the doubt should be accorded to him based on humanity..
disagree 21
written by biggun129, November 19, 2008 09:48:59
Mahathir can sponsored the events by just paying RM7,000 for the forum, and he can be 'The King blogger for UMNO', and Syed Amid should be invited to know something like ethics and 'Laws of the Blogger' also invited will be Rais the anak Yatim!!!
written by cheekymate, November 19, 2008 09:57:12
Mahathir had 22 years to prove his innocence. I think that is a LONG time for one to repent if one is truly repentant, don't you think? Till today, he remains self centred, conceited, arrogant and vengeful of his opponents. I am a good Malaysian but I think I have a right to judge him guilty of all the above traits not to mention the monies in the Swiss accounts...
written by krising1, November 19, 2008 09:58:13
Dear bloggers who attend, please remember to crown the maa..mak as King Blogger because he is most successful blogger in this country. He has the most number of butt and feet kissers giving him the most number of hits. It is no mean feet and make sure he is crowned. King Blogger Ma..mak Mahathir. Ha!
written by lamakawan, November 19, 2008 10:02:10
ALL BLOGGERS BEWARE! A bloggers get together is what Mahathir claims. A get together to know who you are so that in future if you happen to say something not to their liking, they already know you are the one to catch. This cunning old fox is gathering info on all Malaysian bloggers for future references of the BN goons.
written by ENCIK NASIR, November 19, 2008 10:02:14
Let me check my eyes again... didn't i read something about hantu raya who wouldn't die yesterday.... and now the ghost is becoming king of the blog city..... oh... come on people....
written by disgruntled, November 19, 2008 10:04:41
You are dead right. What better source for info gathering than a casual get-together.
written by SimpleSoul, November 19, 2008 10:13:50
Supported by Putera MIC? Their website also not updated by supporting this event?
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 19, 2008 10:18:48
I think it’s good strategy to get Tun involvement to encourage him to support a more liberated bloggersphere in Malaysia. His influence and exertion to curb UMNO’s desire to restrict bloggers harpers well for the community at large.
written by ilovepakatan, November 19, 2008 10:19:13
Keep yourself anonymous at all cost, bloggers!

Read: http://bolehjokes.blogspot.com
written by densemy, November 19, 2008 10:23:59
That should make sure that all the open-minded-forward-thinking-non racist bloggers stay at home

Why do you Malaysians keep on revering that senile old walking disaster??
written by Mark C, November 19, 2008 10:29:20
err, what is this www.bloggersbuff.blogspot.com.? new NGO? never heard before one?

why aren't the "prominent" bloggers attending? all small fry neh... smilies/grin.gif
written by kingelvis, November 19, 2008 10:29:22
If Hitler was a blogger you would have invited him too?? smilies/angry.gif
written by HamChak, November 19, 2008 10:30:19
Don't waste your time with this Evil guy la.
We don't need this Mahathir fellow.
Looks like he needs us more than we need him.
written by carribeanking7, November 19, 2008 10:35:24
This whole thing seems to be a putera MIC brainchild, interesting to note that one of the speakers is Ahiruddin Atan aka Rocky's Bru.
And attendance is limited to 100 bloggers.
BN is trying to groom new bloggers who support its clause

Since one of the topics is Ethics, Khir Toyo and Ali Rustam should attend.

If you want to read utter rubbish , go visit some pro BN blogs, they cannot even articulate their arguments, fudge the facts or publish blatant lies.
For example after the spate of ISA arrests one charlatan claiming to be an ex editor, posted an article on KPMU.net- in it he posts blatant rubbish like the ISA was legistlated after the may 13th 1969 race riots.

I for one am all for dissenting views and healthy debate, but many of these twits cannot even get their facts right, I find no worthy opponent and they delete my dissenting views anyway.

They should just change the slogan of above event to " Please help us - we are not getting much support on the blogosphere"

written by kent chong, November 19, 2008 10:47:53
If your blog PRO UMNO-BN then YOU ARE BLOGGER, If your blog against UMNO-BN then you are CRIMINAL under ISA!
written by funfac3, November 19, 2008 11:05:29
Forget it people! With the likes of Mahathir and the MIC involved, and we are aware of what has become of the protem President of All Blogs, this is plain simple propaganda!
written by ahmadneil, November 19, 2008 11:24:00
Blogger king,RPK should be the guest of honour.
written by krising1, November 19, 2008 11:27:51
Vijay, I do not visit any of the UMNOputra sites...even that of the Maa.mak. They ignorance and language will make one cry in anguish. Spare yourself this misery Vijay. It is enough that we have their hear antics in Parliament.

Anyway the good news is that the hairless, brainless and clueless home minister is having trouble in his own division in Kota Tinggi. They too think that he is hairless, brainless and clueless. Haha.

The UMNOputras are doing themselves in!
written by New Malaysian, November 19, 2008 11:28:05
The brilliant and corrupt Mahathir is making a comeback, guys. You have to hand it to him: Just not too long ago he was a political pariah, and complaining of being blocked from even meeting other UMNO members, of not getting any coverage in the media; today, there's a long line of parasites waiting to kiss his hand!!! And see how often he is reported in the MSM!Incredible! A master politician at work.........
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 19, 2008 11:58:10
I failed to understand why fellow bloggers here are against Mamathir being the ‘guest of honour’ at the bloggers conference.
Didn’t Mamathir spoke out against the government blockage of MT and very vocal for freedom to blog?
Yes, we don’t like Mamathir, but still he is a fellow blogger and is in a better position than most of us to tell the government to ‘hands-off’ in blocking censorship.

Furthermore, none of us have to attend that Bloggers Buff 2008; do we?
written by densemy, November 19, 2008 12:17:10
Has anybody bothered to ask why you would want UNITY amongst Bloggers

I thought their strength was in their independence
written by krising1, November 19, 2008 12:46:44
Rainbowseahorse tolong jangang mudah lupa. Isn't it maa...mak who only last week said that RPK writes nonsense? Tell me that RPK writs nonsense. Every ill in this country has been nurtured by him. What you see today - corruption, abuse of power,UMNOputraism, cronyism and emascualtion of a our public institution- every single ill is the handiwork of the maa...mak. Has he done anything to reverse it since has become vocal? Has he not been advocating ketuanan Melayu lately? Did he not accuse the Indians of demanding too much? If he has, I stand corrected and will bow in reverence to him. I promise you I will stop calling him names. Even today I read in the paper about the Indian stateless woman, married to a citizen, whose 3 children have been refused citizenship. Why does this have to happen in this country? Maa..mak's policies!
written by LACOBRA, November 19, 2008 12:52:48
What a waste of time & money, this event is Exclusive for Pro BN Bloggers.
written by FFT, November 19, 2008 12:55:47
The one-day event is endorsed by Empower Lives, All Blogs and Malaysian Indian Bloggers (MIB) and supported by Putera MIC.

Ah, I see that the rotten old kaka is trying to rekindle his roots.

And by the way, what is All Blogs, headed by Rocky Bru, doing cavorting with Putera MIC? Do you now understand why I say Rocky Bru is an intelligence gathering outfit for Mahathir.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 19, 2008 13:17:57
Krising,

I think you have misunderstood my meaning, lah!
Haven’t you heard the phrase : “The enemy of my enemy is my friend!”

Of course I do not support, nor have I FORGOTTEN, Mamathir and his very racist and despotic rule.
What I am saying is, Mamathir has more clout then most of us here bloggers put together to prevent UMNO government from initiating and implementing blockages against freedom of the blogosphere. His criticism of UMNO blockage of MT played a part in the government withdrawal of the blockage some two/three months back. What do you think would had happened if Mamathir do not blog nor do he wants unrestricted blogging? So, even though Mamathir is our enemy, but the fact that he is also the enemy of UMNO in blogosphere, that would make Mamathir our ally; right?
Of course we know why Mamathir supported free and unrestricted blogging in Malaysia. That’s because he is a fellow blogger himself, and is most definitely supportive of his own agenda and not for any love of our bro Pete whose articles he (Mamathir) classified as “nonsense”.

But, being free and democratic as we all are, we do not have to listen nor read Mamathir’s foolish and stupid articles; do we?
written by cruzeiro, November 19, 2008 13:21:16
".....to comment on issues that affect bloggers in the country,’’ Putera MIC national coordinator P. Kamala-nathan said.
======================================

Ha ha!
Mahadey, is the patron to the Thambi MIC project!!
They wanna learn about blogging!!!
ROTFLOL!
written by cruzeiro, November 19, 2008 13:28:41
They are trying hard to cultivate a pro-BN suck-up circle of bloggers that would end up as our MSM.
This is just another subversive action to penetrate the blog world.
Mahthir became popular becos he was known "controversial" with his twisted logic on statecraft - not becos he build up a reputation as a blogger.
Rocky is just a mercenary who'll sell out to the highest bidder.

The MIC Thambis in their "rebranding" exercise, got the right kinda people to address them ....
This is just a bloggers bluff!
written by MalaysianFirst, November 19, 2008 15:41:08
Quote:
I think it’s good strategy to get Tun involvement to encourage him to support a more liberated bloggersphere in Malaysia. His influence and exertion to curb UMNO’s desire to restrict bloggers harpers well for the community at large.
Unquote.

We must learn when to give up on a person. Mahathir will always be Mahathir until the day he dies. To expect him to wake up one day and say "Oh my God, what have I done to my country!" is to expect me to wake up one day and find Miss Universe 2008 sleeping beside me. It will NEVER happen.

Please just give up on him NOW.
written by kksam, November 19, 2008 15:48:26
NIAMAH suddenly Dr Evil becomes the more senior bloggers PTUI!!!!
and it was organize by MIC ptui!!!!
written by boeytahan, November 19, 2008 16:19:25
Ooops sorry la....not with that viper.
written by DanDan, November 19, 2008 16:32:07
Tun Dr. Mahathir to be the guests of honour??? Don't they know who is more deserving to be the guests of honour? Just compare Dr. Mahathir and our dear Raja Petra. You folks decide.
written by mob1900, November 19, 2008 17:00:50
waah!
so many sponsors! though the list of speakers skewed towards cari-makan blogging and WTF is PuteraMIC? lolx
written by SuperShyteStirrer, November 19, 2008 19:29:34
Ahem.....errrr... who are the organisers of this event - PUTERA MIC??? Ah so... UMNO has PUTERA UMNO and now we have PUTERA MIC. How very original - looks like a case of see monkey do and the slave dog follows. Maybe more in following cthe name of their main political party, MIC, they should call themselves P*KI MIC...at least there is an "I" in it!!!! Sorry guys having a bad day so I thought a bit of sick humour might be appropriate.
written by The Hammer, November 20, 2008 00:34:14
This Buff is a Big BLuff because there is no BuffET! The bloogers have to pay big money to sit in those facy looking BUFFet chairs. Absolutely no idea whether they have light refreshment or not .Funny, bloogers are are going to KL just to hear this old man talk. Why not read his text online!