Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow DSAI power game plan that fell apart

DSAI power game plan that fell apart PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 19 November 2008 09:02

The main plan of the opposition was to get the MP's from Sabah to jump ship and form a new national government with the PR, thus toppling the BN and elect Anwar Ibrahim as Prime Minister.

Kazi Mahmood, World Futures

The political storm that hit Malaysia on March 2008 is not over and there are signs of a massive cyclone gathering on the horizons. Will Anwar Ibrahim make it or break this time? His strategy, from the start, was to depend on the states of Sabah and Sarawak where the wind of change is still filled with uncertainty.

Anwar Ibrahim is at the center of the current political storm that is hitting Malaysia. He is working day and night to get the majority that is needed to topple the Barisan National (BN) regime but so far, he managed to grab non-Parliamentarians who fell off the ranks within the BN and the United Malays National Organization (Umno) and this is not sufficient for his strategy to be implemented.

It is now obvious that Sabah was the core of the Anwar Ibrahim strategy to run down the BN government by September 16th 2008, six months after the devastating electoral set back suffered by the BN against the loose coalition headed by Anwar Ibrahim. The strategy fell apart after it was clear that Sabah MP's were not willing to be pawns in the power game plan laid by the astute opposition leader.

Wooing the Sabahans with promises of a better economic deal and more power to the locals in the running of the state did not led the political class to bite the bait. Instead, many of the potential MP's targeted by the Party Keadilaan Rakyat (PKR) became vociferous opponents of the Anwar Ibrahim;s plan to topple the BN.

Opposition websites and newspapers were filled with stories of dejection, poverty and abuse of power or of resources in the states of Sabah and Sarawak. The aim was to create a sensation of despair within the BN and among the people of the states. This was expected to force the people of these states to think of alternatives rather than to keep fulfilling their allegiance to the BN.

Cracking Sabah alone could be damaging to the BN government. When the SAPP decided to quit the BN and join the opposition, hopes were high in the opposition ranks that there will be more MP's from the state of Sabah who would join the SAPP in the opposition, thus fulfilling Anwar's ambition.

While the BN were feeling the heat of the opposition campaign to dislodge it from power after more than 50 years of rule, the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) were also taken by a storm that shocked the supporters of the PKR and of the Democratic Action Party (DAP). The Party Islam Se-Malaysia (PAS) was being courted by the Umno and offers were being made to create a new 'Islamic' alliance in the country to prevent the loss of Malay-Muslim political power.

The PAS was not in agreement with Anwar's original plans for take over. The leaders of the Islamic party certainly knew how the former jail bird planned to arrest power from Abdullah Ahmad Badawi but the glitches that existed in the plan put them off. The fact that most of the MP's willing to jump ship from the BN to join the PR were non-Muslims would have created a situation of great unrest in the country among Malays-Muslims. The Muslims would not want a regime headed by a Malay but run by non-Muslims in general. The number of MP's of Islamic faith within the PR became an important question that Anwar could not tackle.

The September 16 date clashed with dates that are important in the Islamic calender, such as the Nuzul Quraan. The Muslims in Semenanjung Malaysia felt Anwar was being 'sarcastic' and were showing 'disrespect' to the Muslims by repeatedly calling for a change of regime in Malaysia on that fatal day for the opposition grouping. The PKR failed to rally the majority of MP's to take power based on the predictions and the landmark date set by Anwar Ibrahim himself.

The month of Ramadan in Malaysia is not the same as those in Afghanistan or Iraq and Somalia where war is still ravaging the countries and disturbing the fasting month of the Muslims. It is a peaceful, joyful and enriching month with prayers and recitations across the Muslim community in Malaysia. Setting the target date to take power by overthrowing the ruling regime – a Malay regime by all means – was a mistake by Anwar.

He gave more importance to the date when Sabah and Sarawak effectively joined Malaya to form Malaysia and in the process offended many Muslims who would have otherwise supported his plans to throw Umno out of power. The date could have differed from the September 16th date says critics of Anwar Ibrahim who added that it might have been different had Anwar waited patiently for his time to make a breakthrough.

Most of the observers met by WorldFutures said Anwar has a huge problem that is going to haunt him. He fails to realize that he has to be patient and to work out better strategies before he aims for the Prime Ministerial post. He seems in a hurry in preventing Najib Tun Razak from taking power and fails to understand that he may get better allies within the Umno itself if he has the right political strategy and policies. They cite the PAS which made breakthroughs with Umno leaders on several issues since the parties where Muslims are majority has understood that in the end, they may need each other to salvage what is left of 'Ketuanan Melayu' or Malay political power in Malaysia.

In the meantime, Anwar annouced on his blog that his party made breakthroughs in Sabah where some 12,000 grass root members and supporters of the BN were joining the PKR. This indeed consolidates the PKR in Sabah but it does not deal an immediate blow to the BN since no MP's are leaving their places in the government to join the BN.

Anwar has the charisma and the capacity to bring the supporters of the BN to rally in his favor but has lost the charm and the power to break down the MP's – those he needs to take power in the short run and prevent Najib Razak from becoming PM.

It is undoubted that he will be able to drag more grass root support for the PKR but in the mean time he cannot afford to sit back and watch Najib rise to the occasion as Prime Minister. While the entire nation is feeling that Umno is heading for a slow but sure death, there are reasons to believe that such an institution can still defeat its own ogres and rise as the phoenix from its own ashes.

Efforts within the Umno and outside the party, made to salvage the Umno ideology, cannot be ignored. The party members appeared to have withstood the challenges posed by the September 16th deadline and has re-aligned behind the future PM, Najib Razak. The immediate effect of the announcement of the resignation of Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in March next year is the rallying of the party grass roots, leaders and members to the folds.

It must also be said the Umno garnered enough Malay votes in the March 2008 elections while in the Permatang Pauh defeat against Anwar despite the trashing it received, it garnered sufficient Malay votes to indicate that it has not lost all the support.

Permatang Pauh also indicated that the other race based parties in the BN were 'passe' and has to adopt new policies and strategies before they face any elections in the future. The rejection of the BN so far is still focused on the shift of non-Malay voters to the opposition camp, a situation that can be healed if the Umno applies the right policies and strategies, WorldFutures was told.

Nevertheless, pressure is mounting on the Umno to prove that it can seal the various races into a nation and failing to do so will impede its chances of a quick recovery in the next general elections (GE). With these elements in his favor, Anwar Ibrahim should be able to cause more damages to the Umno and the BN in a future GE but it is not certain whether the Umno will tumble and fall this time around. It is also not certain whether the PAS will continue to play second fiddle to the PKR in the future as the party is facing internal pressure to advance further in its agenda of becoming a national party rather than remain a 'Malay' belt party. The PAS has a great need to win more Parliamentary seats in order to influence the course of the nation's future. Winning 20 seats will not help it contain the largely non-Muslim supporters and their agendas for a more secular Malaysia to emerge after the downfall of the BN.

With Sabah now calm and the possibility of a massive cross-over dimmed, the Anwar Ibrahim plan to seize power must now focus on the Umno and its supporters and MP's. Why? The Umno remains the largest political organization in the country. The attempts at chipping away the BN with the wooing of non-Muslim parties to leave the coalition having failed, the Umno is the most attractive and lucrative target for Anwar Ibrahim and the PKR. And that would include, though with limited chances, a return of Anwar Ibrahim to the Umno!

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by Newkidonblog, November 19, 2008 09:17:27
Titanic's GPS is showing the correct reading which is headed straight to the iceberg which they need to sink themselves. Judging from the state of denial to continue money politics, race instigation, abuse of govt. machinery to protect their interest, it's all pointing towards the iceberg.

Sink Titantic!
agree 108
written by biggun129, November 19, 2008 09:36:13
The BN is using our money to block their 130 MP to cross over, every year BN paid RM 1 Million for them to enjoy the Raya of all festivals, If DSAI is prepared to provide more lucrative offer to them, there will be enough nos of MPs to form a New Government, 'Buy them out from BN', lets form the Government first, do like what CJ zaki do, bought the seat first, the rest is history!!!
disagree 89
written by cheekymate, November 19, 2008 09:40:10
There is nothing written here that we do not know. These daunting remarks appear to be aimed at creating uncertainty amongst the opposition supporters. Let it be known that in NO UNCERTAIN TERMS that we freedom fighters are determined and resolute as ever that our battle will be won. We stand firm in our belief that our struggles will see justice prevail in our beloved country; we will not waver us from our one heart, one soul moving forward in our united journey.
agree 119
written by Taikohtai, November 19, 2008 09:45:36
I would like to think that a lot of good came out of that episode. Yes, many of us are now more aware of the situation in both Sabah and Sarawak. Power failures, Mycard abuses, divide and rule, MP of Miri and Taiwan Agriculture trip, etc.
I suppose failure is not something we should be ashamed of but not to try is. So is blantant corruption and abuse of power.
I think the rakyat has empowered themselves more, a whole lot more since PR came into contention. Yes, there is finally hope that we can rid ourselves of all the parasites and start putting Malaysia back into the map to the road of true development, competitiveness and democracy.
written by ENCIK NASIR, November 19, 2008 09:47:20
this story fits for rubbish bin....kazi mahmood didn't mama tell you not to spread lies.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 19, 2008 10:08:03
I am highly surprise (or I shouldn’t be because of the sensitive issue and the threat of the ISA) that the subject of “Project IC/MyKad implemented in Sabah in the eighties is not even mentioned in this article.
This is highly relevant as DSAI seem to have given up hope to capture Sabah due to the impossible high migrant voters support of Sabah UMNO against the real Sabahan voters who desire change but cannot effect change due to being out-voted 2 to 1.

DSAI is now focusing his attention on Sarawak as it is the last bastion of UMNO free Malaysian State and, by all indication, easier to crack with the prospect that Sarawak might yet be like the Sabah in the early seventies which kicked political arses through ‘people’s power’.
However, with DSAI poking around Sarawak and openly courting support and getting some too, this might spook UMNO to initiate a “Project IC/MyKad in that state along the line with Sabah. With 31 MP seats, which is almost 14% of the total parliamentary seats, DSAI must think that much worthwhile to woo Sarawak. Even though Sabah’s 25 MP seats, representing 11.26% of the total parliamentary seats, is significant, DSAI knows that at the most he might get 12 parliamentary seats from the non UMNO strongholds.

DSAI, through his experiences in UMNO as the DPM of Malaysia, should know the workings of the UMNO government and must take all precautionary measures to prevent Sarawak from being made into another one of UMNO’s ‘Fixed Deposit” through another ‘Project IC/MyKad’.
written by chrisyong, November 19, 2008 10:13:34
Without PR being a strong opposotion, ALL the RAKYAT will be in the dark of the magnitude of corruption in BN. Having exposed ALL THESE, I wonder why MPs from other BN Coalition parties are not defecting? It is sickening to see them doing nothing but claim to represent their party supporters? They seem to be oblivious to CORRUPTION and JUSTICE, are they corrupted in the same way, it appears so.
written by Panglima Gantang, November 19, 2008 10:20:49
I briefly glanced through this report and I say its premature to say that Sabah cannot be won over by PR. Maybe the BN MP's are very contented now with all the stimuli given to them but don't forget it is the people that want a change and not Dompok's UPKO or Pairin's PBS MPs.

Dompok appears content now because he has secured big deals with Petronas on the Kimanis Bintulu gas pipeline but he forgot that the people are not stupid. We will rise to the occassion and PBS, UPKO and the rest of Sabah's BN clowns will suddenly wake to a different tune.

It may be true that the price of Minyak has gone down but the PRICE OF RICE AND OTHER BASIC NECCESSITIES ARE STILL SKY HIGH. I was in Kuching a month ago and I noted that the price of Beras Malaysia was only RM15.00 Here in Kota Kinabalu it is sold at RM18.00 Why is the difference so far. Maybe to cover up for the 1 or 2 Billion that Badawi pruportedly spent as development incentives for Sabah!? But, Is there developments now? I say, some people may be fooled sometime but not all people can be fooled all the time. WAKE UP SABAH AND ENJOY WHAT SHOULD BE OURS. LET'S PRESS FOR OUR RIGHTFUL OIL ROYALTY AND WE WILL THEN BE ABLE TO GET THE PROGRESS THAT WE WANT. WE WILL ALSO BE ABLE TO MAP OUT STRATEGIES TO GET RID OF ALL THOSE DUBIOUS CITIZENS.
written by Toyolbuster, November 19, 2008 11:48:07
It is always the storm after a calm that is most deadly. The 1st wave that hit in March was just a warning. Just like the real Tsunami, when it 1st hit the shore, people were happy picking up fishes being washed up, they did not see the warnings, then came the killer waves.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 19, 2008 11:51:26
Panglima Gantang,

To give Sabah back to the real Sabahans who can dictate the course of their future, you must first & foremost have the necessary numbers to do so. At the present moment, even if all real Sabahans voted for the opposition, they would still be out voted 2 to 1 by migrant voters.
Without a complete change in the Federal government, weeding out those 2 million over migrant voters who are UMNO members is downright impossible.

DSAI knows it and that is precisely why he is focusing his hopes on Sarawak' 31 Parliamentary seats. At most, DSAI might get 12 Parliamentary seats in Sabah through the non UMNO strongholds.
written by DreamLady, November 19, 2008 11:54:09
kazi Mahmud, allow me to ask you, how much you are paid to write this too convincing an article about Anwar? 1/4 million ringgits? 1/2 million ringgits or 1 million ringgits???

Your speculations and arguements are for your own perusal. We need no such article to pour cold water over all the PR supporters. It is demeaning enough to destroy someone like Anwar's credibility, it is worse to predict what you think should take place or happen.

I know you are too smart to meander around your coined words to impress the reader, but for your info, I have firsthand info. hundred times better than yours, which I rather keep it for myself to salvage the sweetness the way I choose fit.

Come the day shall you vow not to write any more smear campaign against someone who chooses to fight for people's freedom cos' you shall be in big shit!!

I have yet to note any soft feeling and burning passion you have for the rakyat as a whole in this article. You are practically WITHOUT FEELINGS for the rakyat.

What you keep going on is revolving on the impending failure of Anwar. You might have got all the facts intact, but how sure are you that your facts are not flawed at all??

Save your breath and stop being a cybertropper. At this hour, the supporters need motivators, not demotivator like you !!
written by Solarium, November 19, 2008 12:56:26
Wrong move for Sabah, DSAI. You shouldn't have vouched on that Ansari for your Liason in Sabah.
written by ohuat, November 19, 2008 13:24:21
DSAI fail on 16, September take over is because of his BIG MOUTH. Hope he learns from it.
disagree 41
written by Motherchell, November 19, 2008 13:45:22
All this trials and tribulations wont be long DSAI!!----- good will prevail against the EVIL. UMNO will Take a "cynide" from the inside itself soon....

http://sjsandteam.wordpress.com
written by emcube, November 19, 2008 14:57:48

Either by wooing the MPs to jump over (surely involves money - but maybe BN paid much more to stop them) or by rejoining UMNO just to ensure he gets the PM seat, its non-ethical. What kind of a government we will be having if the power was gained this way? No difference from the present BN lead by UMNOMCAMICGERAKAN and the other lanuns and perompaks.

We are looking for a change in the way the country is governed. Change of leaders from selfish leaders to god fearing leaders. The interest of the country and the people is the utmost priority, not their own/cronies pockets by using the country's resources - meaning the rakyat's money.

written by talk2stop, November 19, 2008 16:37:24
Why do we fall? So that we can pick ourselves up and fight another day. DSAI is not a quiter. He is more intellegent than all BN he*** combine together with spare space to add more if needed.
written by Zorro, November 19, 2008 20:30:09
Rainbowseahorse & Panglima Gantang,

The problem is the KDMs are divided and worse getting outnumbered by the day. Our political leaders are all busy with self preservation. So how do we the next generation( i assume you are in the same generation as me) fight?

I am thinking of a pressure group..not aligned with any political party..i dont know anything about organisation..but i know when the voice is united it will be heard.

What say u?
written by tenang, November 20, 2008 01:29:50
Kazi Mahmood,

Your article is long but bereft of life and hope. It does not contain any aspiration nor emotion of the people. Even for analyzing the political situation, the article is not able to put forward reasonable arguments. Worse still, it makes many claims such as "Most of the observers met by WorldFutures said ..." without supporting evidence and argument. I think it is the World Future website that is falling apart with this type of editorial article.
written by crazygweilo, November 20, 2008 01:57:45
I do not think that Anwar has failed. In fact, I sensed that change would not be immediate, reading between the lines of Lim Kit Siangs words at Kelana Jaya stadium, when he stated that "916 is an expression, a symbol of the change that we want in Malaysia"

My heart sank in a way, but thinking it through it made logical sense.

Why else did BN have that daft backbencher club trip to Taiwan? There must be some reality in it.

So my suspicion is that Anwar has changed tack, and a game of chess is taking place.

My thoughts are:

1. Anwar waits until the whole sodomy mess is cleared up?
2. Anwar allows Najib Vaderthir to take over, and lets his gang screw up the economy when the economic Tsunami hits sometime between March and May 2009?

After 2, follows discontent amongst the Rakyat, as no reforms take place, and the Najib regime turns out to be both utterly incompetent and corrupt. The economy continues to stagnate and this le*** to civil discontent. The old Mahathir style options are no longer (ISA and show trials) viable in the current climate, and consequently

3. After 2, Pak Lah resigns, Najib takes over. Pak Lah then dishes the dirt on those who blocked his reforms and the UMNO-Putras within UMNO who stabbed him in the back. For all his faults, Pak Lah does have his heart in the right place (some would say his wallet also, but thats another story) but he is blocked by the antics of many elements within UMNO which are poisoned in many ways.

4. Anwar then takes over by stealth, but a takeover will be negotiated and peaceful. He too, as a Malaysian and a patriot needs to be seen as honourable, and needs to tread carefully. We'd like to see UMNO/BN backed into a corner, and have a showfight for entertainment. We'd like to see a few numbskulls going to Kamunting. But thats not going to happen.

5. Anwar needs the newly installed Pakatan Rakyat states to learn the art of governance for a year or more, and then make a play for the top spot.

If anything, the prescence of a political opposition, more than anything will force BN to clean up its act. If it fails to do so, there are another Million or more new voters in 2012-2013 who will kick them out.

written by Rainbowseahorse, November 20, 2008 10:47:17
Zorro,

You are a fellow Sabahan too? Sorry, by mistake, I think I ‘hantam’ you too in another posting!

Agreed that we are much divided in Sabah at the moment, and our leaders are…ok…busy in self preservation, as you put it.
The key to having a united Sabah once more lies with those Legalized Migrants (i.e. the first & second generation Philippine & Indonesia), who are also majority voters, becoming patriotic to motherland Sabah. If we original Sabahans can persuade and to convince them that they are now real Sabahans and that nobody can take that rights away from them (especially UMNO), then perhaps, just perhaps, one day Sabah can and will become united like before the mid eighties. Only under that scenario can Sabahans begin to dictate their own future.

You mentioned “pressure group” not aligned with any political party which can exert necessary changes to Sabah. Unfortunately, as you should know, the reality in Sabah is that everybody knows everybody and those in position to effect changes feel quite helpless and unwilling to go the distance. Sabah, like our sister State Sarawak, is controlled by very big conglomerate companies (with very strong ties with UMNO Semanjung)and the majority of these people who can or have influence on Sabah politics are dependant one way or another on these big companies for business.
So Zorro, in the foreseeable future, I don’t see very much changes taking place in Sabah politics. People like Yong, Christina Liew, and the rest can go on politicking because they are either linked to West Malaysian politicians or have some ‘understanding’ with some politicians who would not undermined their businesses and freedom. Yah right, it’s the same old “It’s not what you know, but whom you know”.

Pairin and the rest of the non UMNO gang can still concentrate on their tiny enclaves of majority real Sabahans constituencies and will, in all likelihood, continue to be elected by the people. As long as these politicians play ball with UMNO, things will remain basically the way it is.
written by magickriver, November 20, 2008 10:48:12
Oh no... NOT this untalented hack again!!! At least Baraddan Kuppusamy writes fairly well smilies/smiley.gif
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 20, 2008 11:22:21
Another UMNO supporter poking his head out of the hole! smilies/grin.gif
written by nangkarajah, November 20, 2008 14:03:00
People say that people learn from their mistakes. But this applies only when DECENT people are involved. When you've people who are crazy for money, then they can easily be bought with anything which promises money, lots and lots and lots of money. Things like power-laden and power-filled political posts. Things like shares which are easily converted, if necessary, in millions of cold cash. And so forth and so forth. Perhaps Malaysians are familiar with the TV program just introduced a month ago called MOMENT OF TRUTH in Astro Channel 711 where participants have been strapped onto lie-detectors and asked questions for truthful answers earlier and then during contest to answer some of same questions to see whether participants are truthful enough to win hundreds thousands US dollars in prizes. Sometimes, I've an uneasy feeling if Malaysians were to be participants (so far not yet) in that program, they would walk away EASILY with the top prize. Why? You may ask. I can understand why you may ask. Aren't we Malaysians humans just like Americans? Sure, we are humans. But we are humans with NO FEELINGS OF GUILT when we do things which are INDECENT and WRONG.We have different interpretation of what is wrong and what is right. We 've totally different values! We eat belacan. You ask a westerner to eat belacan offering him thousands ringgit he or she may not be able to do it. To us a lie-detector would never be able to detect our making a lie. Simply because we have a very narrow interpretation of what is/are wrong. To us killing our children just because they are noisy at home is wrong. But snatching a ladies handbag and kicking her fast-moving motor-bike in the process sending her off-balance to her death is not wrong because her handphone and cash in her handbag/purse can be used to buy RM10 worth of food for survival or to use it for dates with girl-friend(s) or some beer or booze sessions with like-minded buddies. If the Arab perpetrators who slammed their two jumbo-jets into New York WTC on 9/11 were to be asked by God in Heaven "Do you regret you caused the death of thousands of innocent NON-ARAB human lives?", would you expect these terrorists to feel remorseful? For sure they would feel they had accomplished their mission. Instead of feeling guilty causing unnecessary deaths on innocent human lives they would feel jubilation and justification for their deeds. So Anwar Ibrahim must not forget that no matter what human mouths (some may be traitorous) may report to him, TIMBER MONEY (timber-tycoons in Sarawak are 99.50 per cent money-seeking no matter what Foochows) is something he has to come to terms with. No doubt, many WEST Malaysian Malays have the DECENCY to vote in such a way that Pakatan power to BN power (MPs-wise)is exactly 50:50. It is the precious 59 Sabah/Sarawak MPs who are now calling the shots and who are providing the life-support to the BN Gov't. By the way, how in the name of HEAVEN can Pakatan topple BN Gov't when the Speaker of Dewan Rakyat will never allow confidence-vote to be tabled against BN Gov't?
written by dassky2000, November 20, 2008 20:51:09
I am sceptical now since the government has already started issuing green identity cards to those who have no birth certs and to filipino's who have stayed in sabah for a long period without documents. It is said that after 2 years these people will be given red myk***.
So, BN has already started to recruit it's voters for the next election. In sabah, there more phantom voters which can outrun the locals.

Can DSAI really win the hearts and mind of these people in Sabah????????????

I wish him luck ........
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 21, 2008 10:16:38
Dassky2000,

Yes, it appears that UMNO is increasing their “Fixed Deposit” in Sabah with this new project “Green IC”.

As for them being issued with Red MyK***…well… remember those IMM13 documents issued to thousands (if not millions) of so called “refugees”? These IMM13 have been turned into Red MyK*** from 2004 and is still on going at Putra Jaya. But take heart in the fact that on these new Red MyK*** nationality status, it is stated as “Philippine” or “Indonesian” according to the holder’s origin. I don’t think these Red MyKad holders can vote, but they are allowed to stay & work in Sabah like any Sabahans. When will these Red MyK*** be turned into Malaysian Citizens MyK***? I honestly do not know, but our Sabah Politicians should keep a very close eye on events.

Can DSAI really win the hearts & minds of Sabahans? I also am not sure at the moment. You should know we have no credible leaders in Sabah and the majority of them are self serving ones. In predominantly Chinese voters area, the DAP will stand a better chance than PK since many are still highly suspicious of DSAI due to his political past. In Muslims dominated areas, especially those with high percentage of migrants issued with MyK*** under “Project IC/MyK***”, these will remain UMNO stronghold for the foreseeable future. These legalized migrants are highly afraid that their Malaysian citizenship will be withdrawn if UMNO lost in their constituencies.

Under these circumstances, and regardless of our real Sabahans feelings, Sabah will remain under the control of UMNO for as long as these over two million migrants feel insecure of their citizenship status. They are the ones who can dictate the future of Sabah politics through their sheer numbers at the polling station.