Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Build excellence in national schools

Build excellence in national schools PDF Print
Wednesday, 19 November 2008 08:44

WE must admit that our present education system is not doing our nation any favours, as far as race relations is concerned. In fact, we can even go so far as to conclude that it is working against national unity.

Our Constitution, of course, guarantees us a variety of schools. There are now about 6,000 national primary schools, 1,200 Chinese primary schools and more than 500 Tamil primary schools.

More and more non-Malays now send their children to vernacular schools -- for example, nine out of 10 Chinese kids enter Chinese school, it seems -- while the national schools are predominantly Malay, leading many to now refer to them as Malay schools.

Thus, here we are, a fork at the road that leads to three paths, and we took all of them and if they ever meet, we will never know. Our schools are now effectively defined by races. There are exceptions of course, but exceptions do not count.

Now, this cannot be good for the nation.

In urban areas, our children are likely to go to the same kindergarten, but would be separated at six or seven, and for some, perhaps, to be re-united at 13.

However, during the six important formative years, they would only see their kind and in a multi-racial country like ours, it should not happen. How can they make friends with kids of other races, share their food, play catch, or be on the same team if they are never together?

Many will argue that there are other causes of racial polarisation, and all of them can be valid, too. But we all cannot be frozen by inertia as we wait for things to be to our liking before we act. We must strive to change because we desperately must.

The first step is to admit that not having our kids in the same classrooms is not doing us, the country and the future generations, any good. Getting them together may not cure all our racial ills, but it can go a long way towards improving them.

It is, of course, convenient, and at times therapeutic, to blame politicians for all our ills, but in this case we may not be too far wrong. With one hand waving the Constitution and the other leading the populist charge of the need to keep racial and cultural identities, they seem to have found comfort that keeping our children separated is actually good.

In many political parties, it is burned into their characters that vernacular schools must be preserved, come hell or high water, or presumably the consequences to the nations.

Our kids are being governed by our politics, ideology and agenda. Surely, they will pay for the sins of their fathers.

But while some take their kids away from national schools, others stand still as national schools are being taken away from us, evolving into something that we do not recognise now. They have become as intense in championing their Malay-ness, as vernacular schools in their Chinese and Indian identities.

I would consider the current situation as critical. But no one, it seems, from our alphabet soup of political parties, from either side of the aisle, seems to be seriously concerned, the Constitution notwithstanding, with the consequences of institutionalised polarisation of our seven-year-olds.

Perhaps, the government should consider stopping funding new vernacular and religious schools for the very fact that their existence work against national integration. Nevertheless, as per the Constitution, such existing government-funded schools shall continue to be supported.

At the same time, serious effort must be made to make national schools the destination of choice, compelling and attractive propositions for all races.

Many claim vernacular schools, especially Chinese schools, are good for education. One can argue about the benefits of rote-learning, but many parents are convinced of the value. Parents also say their charges get to be in touch with their roots and learn Mandarin or Tamil.

Now, if children's mother tongues are required, let's have them during school hours. If we can include Arabic into religious study, we surely should be accommodating Mandarin and Tamil.

Not enough qualified teachers? Hire on contracts teachers from Taiwan, China and India, not one, but a few to a school. Similarly, national schools should encourage and push for English excellence as opposed to basic proficiency. Hire native speakers, a few to a school, too.

Some of the biggest opponents of the teaching of science and mathematics in English are representatives of Chinese schools, and Chinese politicians, who want to revert to Bahasa Malaysia, Mandarin and Tamil. To each their own, but make sure that national schools continue with the policy.

Get more non-Malays into the profession, even if there is a need for preferential treatment. Hire sports coaches, drama teachers, build swimming pools, etc. Make the schools great.

Let us make strengthening the national school a national mission, like promoting integrity or abolishing corruption. It is bigger than the problem of fuel prices or urban mass transport.

Most of us will be dead 50 years from now, but surely our biggest sin for the future generations would be to guarantee them a country destined to be divided.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it in nst

written by binarytan, November 19, 2008 08:49:31
Our current education system is a definite failure.

The English teaching in primary school is a real burden for our kids.

Mother tongue is very important, like Mandarin and Tamil. Why, India and China going to be superpower in the next decades and I have seen many Malay sending their kids even to Chinese school.

Education system should not be politicised and should not be controlled by political party such as UMNO typically.

MCA deputy minister is not doing anything good for the nation, I just ask how many chinese school have you put up so far? Even a simple Damansara you also cannot handle well.

MCA full of shame to serve our society, same as MIC.

Just let UMNO destroys our next generation.

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by asguard, November 19, 2008 09:22:13
UMNO SCREW-UP THE WHOLE EDUCATION SYSTEMS since 1970's ....and now paying for heavy price... and not so distant future, we having new bunch of people neither speak rojak english or don't understand neither a single worf of english just like indonesia.... where most than half of their population don't speak english at all... is this good for the nation? ....when do business with other countries ... english is have learned language!
written by Malaysiaputra, November 19, 2008 09:23:20
More and more non-Malays now send their children to vernacular schools -- for example, nine out of 10 Chinese kids enter Chinese school, it seems -- while the national schools are predominantly Malay, leading many to now refer to them as Malay schools.

====

National Schools today are not like those of my time, which is the sixties. Today the national school resembles more like an Islamic school. They promote activities during school hours stressing Islamic practices .

My son who is now in a National secondary school ,after school end,has to wait for the Muslim students to finish their prayers before they are allowed to go home . The Principle says that it is directive from the education dept.

I of course find it very sickening. The excuse given is that it is respect for Islam. Then what about respect for others believe ?.

My son also has an Ustazah teaching his class of non Muslim moral lessson and she will always propagate Islam to the class saying that it is her duty to do so. I find it very very sickening.

Zainol either genuinely does not know the problem and harassment the non Malay students face or is feigning ignorence.

If the National schools are acceptable, will the non Malays want to go in hoards to the vernacular schools ?. Take the log out of you eye before you talk of the plinter in others'.
written by Bigjoe99, November 19, 2008 09:39:44
Another simpleton analysis. Worst thing is lots more simpleton buys it. Education is no magic - ask the thousands of unemployed graduates. Education can't fix what is fundamentally wrong legally and constitutionally. Diversity in education is A GOOD THING especially in the long run and nothing so wrong as with Vernacular education- Are Taiwanese, Hongkonger and Singaporean and Chinese or Thai, Tagalog educated people racist fundamentally?
written by c53k, November 19, 2008 09:59:00
Another punching bag tagged onto the vernacular schools!

Every time when this issue is raised the notion of schooling children mixing happily in national school is been projected. As if these school children can only be 'mixed around' in national school.

What a crap piece from a typical MSM writer.

In reality why can't national & vernacular school co-exist? Does that jeopardise national unity? Has the contributions of the vernacular schools over the years conveniently ignored? & what has national schools contributed that the vernacular schools have not done more?

And don't raise the rubbish cry of BM is the national language as if the vernacular school pupils cannot handle BM. The true of the fact is closed to 90% of these children can write/converse in BM. Yet can we say anything about the reverse? How about 1% of the national school pupil write/converse in Mandarin/Tamil!

The biggest obstacle to national unity is 'ketuanan' NOT vernacular schooling! The 'thundering' frustration of non-Malay national school pupils with top academic distinctions & yet seeing their Malay friends with much lesser credits getting all the goodies is doing more to set the dichotomy in national unity.

U create a monster in the mind of young children that skin colour matter in M'sia. U also create a generation of young Malay conveniently thinking that it is their birth right to have nice things put on the platter for them, without much hardworks.

Perhaps Aisehman has put it right;

'You know why? Just as Malay “rights” are part of the so-called social contract hammered out in the days of yore, so is the “right” to mother tongue education.

Or have you forgotten?

If you UMNO types want your Ketuanan Melayu, then you got no business complaining about Chinese education.'
written by truthbespoken, November 19, 2008 10:10:55
If the government is sincere about promoting excellence and harmony in schools, revert the medium of instruction in schools to English. The good outcome will be reaped by future generations of young Malaysians if the proposal is firmly implemented.

Our education system cannot continue to have headmasters and teachers with lopsided religious leanings teaching real subjects to the children in a realistic and appropriate manner. We got to wean out and replace those half-past-six headmasters and teachers before we can even talk about improving the system. Or are our young Malaysians going to be just stuck with this malady for all time? Sigh...
written by renoir, November 19, 2008 10:47:16
Well, as I wrote in Dr Azly's column, "the greater reason (for non-bumis leaving national schools) is probably the drastic and rapid decline of educational standards. The intellectual vandalization of mission schools, on a scale unheard of since the barbarians brought the Dark Ages to Rome and consequently the whole of Europe, forced even very poor families, INCLUDING THOUSANDS OF MALAY FAMILIES, to send their kids to vernacular schools, especially the better-funded but still overcrowded Chinese schools. Meanwhile, the children of richer families, ESPECIALLY THOSE OF UMNOPUTRA ORIGIN, avoided these sekolah kebangsaan like the plague. For these privileged few, international schools, even those located overseas, are their destination....

In order to attract future students of all races to our national schools, we must return the administration of mission schools to their original owners - the Churches that built them. This is the best way to ensure the hiring of qualified staff, the inculcating of proper spiritual and ethical values that promote not only respect for all peoples and religions, but also thrift and hard work.

For former government schools that were not religious institutions, such as Ipoh's Anderson School or Taiping's King Edward, a conscious hiring of qualifed personnel, especially alumni from those schools during the 50s and early 60s, might do the trick. Whatever the case, we've to get rid of the highly disproportional race-based ratio in the teaching staff, as well those in higher administrative positions. A proper, diverse workforce not only instils more competition and better work habits, it also restrains extremist behavior like the recent incident which saw a poor Indian girl insulted for no reason other than the color of her skin."

The suggestions above are meant for quick results; it's of course possible to reform our schools with a gradual return to meritocracy. But the very idea of excellence is clearly not within UMNO's vocabulary: anything is ok, including the decline of education or the bankruptcy of the nation, if and only if the UMNOputras are in charge.

written by aiyomanaboleh, November 19, 2008 11:34:22
I don't know about tamil schools, but chinese schools have dedicated teachers. Students who are found to be lacking or performing below par in their studies are required to stay back after school to do additional work. Parents are called in as and when students are under performing. That's is the attraction of the chinese schools so much so that non chinese and even expatriates I heard are sending their charges there.

On the other side of the spectrum, we have the national type schools. Things starts off with the morning prayers which sometimes make others uneasy. Leave religion out of the schools but if they can't then make religious studies as a subject rather than applying it wholesale to non believers. I think the environment is then more conducive for those parents who are also steadfast in their beliefs to send their off springs there.

There are also issues of discipline not only with the students but also teachers. We have sometimes classes that are not manned and when manned, teachers sometimes just ask the students to do their own work because he/she has other things like marking etc to do or the teacher has gone for "kursus".

Talking about teaching mandarin in national type schools, I think sometimes it is a joke. My daughter's school did not have a chinese teacher since she was Form 1 and next year she will be in Form 5. What dedication are we talking about? Guru Besar's explanation all these years was that no chinese teachers available. But when asked time and again, the ministry has stated that they are getting the same from Taiwan and China, all she said was the Ministry did not take up the matter. What can the guru besar do when there is no political will to guarantee what is provided for in the constitution?

So, you think by abolishing the vernacular schools, all will be well?
That's the trouble with the mindset, just abolish without first looking at the cause or the underlying reason for things that are happening.

The solution is so obvious, just improve oneself and provide every thing like in the residential schools, then I think there is no need to abolish because the vernacular schools will by itself fade into oblivion.

Give some credit to the intelligence of the parents. They know what is good for their children and if the authorities still can't see it, then maybe it's time whoever is sitting up is changed.
written by c53k, November 19, 2008 11:35:51
Re-established of the English-medium school is not the magic that will revert the dichotomy in national unity.

The question here is vernacular schools have been the scapegoats for the split in the 'proposed' unity among school children. Whereas the actual fact has the finger pointed at national schools' administration.

The MSM writer has pointed it out & yet take a swing at vernacular schools.

No point having all the old English schools resurrect without getting back all the old formats, like LChuah has noted.

But can this be done?

The same old question of can ketuanan be eliminated by the current NEP inspired crutch users? U better bet the sun coming out from the west, its more likely!
written by Tom n Jerry, November 19, 2008 11:48:21
With globalization & IT era;its a fact that English is the most common form of communication today in Asia;Mandarin is picking up fast because of China*s open door policy;we would certainly be left far behind if we are to stick to our ancient & traditional Bahasa which is only useful here in this nation;as progressive citizens we should be proactive and anticipate what is in store for us in the immediate future;language of communication would be French in Europe,and English & Mandarin in Asia!
written by miwaki, November 19, 2008 12:31:54
Studying in the same schools whether in national or vernacular schools do not guarantee there will be no racial polarization.Those who oppose the idea of vernacualr schools are people who do not understnad what it takes to get their people united.

You need to have a competent,fair and open-minded government to unite the people of this country.With bigotted politicians,incompetent and corrupted government ruling this country,even with one single race,you would have problem uniting them.Do not blame vernacular schools for the problem face by the government.Change the government and see whether the new government can unite the people.

written by densemy, November 19, 2008 12:50:29
This is the sort of apologist wishy washy comment that makes my blood boil... and it the reason for much of Malaysias plight as it exists today

Nobody is prepared to say what they think outright and to start making demands of the Malaysian Government... Remember they are your employees

The national education system is just a propaganda arm of islam that occasionally throws in a bit of indoctrinal education to make it appear like its doing its job.

The whole education system, whether it be national or vernacular is outdated, understaffed and the infrastructure is at best primitive. In fact the whole attitude of education is appalling... its either so laid back as to be worthless or so dominated by rigorous ritual to be no longer any fun for anyone

What Malaysia needs is an education system that is directed at improving the education of all Malaysians and that's not going to be achieved by a system dominated by racial, religious and language issues

Malaysia need an education department which can actually think into the future and for the benefit of its charges. Forget about National Issues, forget about Language issues, forget about Religious Issues... In fact get religion and its iconography right out of education... All religion does is fukc things up for everyone

Religion belongs in the mosque and in the home.... not in schools

.....AND DO WHAT'S BEST FOR MALAYSIAN CHILDREN AND MALAYSIA'S FUTURE

written by riversnail, November 19, 2008 13:05:06
due to no proper/strict rules in govt schools,we are having fanatic teachers with UMNO's mindset,teaching racism to the students. smilies/cry.gif
written by MalaysianUnited, November 19, 2008 13:52:29
people say about standard..standard..standard..

My comment will be..time for Malaysian..be Malaysian..come into one system.

With vernacular systems..our kids have been marginalize even from 9 years old!!

written by MalaysianUnited, November 19, 2008 13:55:32
Get more non-Malays into the profession, even if there is a need for preferential treatment. Hire sports coaches, drama teachers, build swimming pools, etc. Make the schools great.

Will our rakyat accept to pay more in their children fee?..

I dont think people came from 50' mindset will agree..
written by Sinewy, November 19, 2008 14:56:30
I think Zainul is writing for a political agenda here. I sent my two elder sons to national primary schools thinking that national school can provide better education and facilities. After their primary, they went on to the national secondary school. When I need to sent my youngest son to primary school, they objected the choice to send him to the national primary school. They said that the national primary school system was prejudiced towards the non malays and non muslim. They had suffered a lot in the national school. The adult teachers blatantly demonstrated favouritism and discrimination against students of other races as if they were not welcomed. Any activities related to other faith were totally banned. The teachers even told them that this country belonged to the malays. How outrages this is! Now you tell me Zainul, how in the world can such national schools be the excellent choice for my children? So I have no better choice than to send my youngest son to the vernacular school. Also with all these racist teachers and school administrators around, how will it be possible to cultivate unity among the students? I think all these teachers, especially those who have attended the BTN programme by the UMNO propaganda machine, will only cause more disunity and create distrust among those young minds. Therefore the national schools are the places that cultivate disunity among the colour blind young students right from the beginning and please don't put all the blame on the vernacular schools. With the NEP rhetoric and discrimination going full force into the secondary school, there is little chance left to bring unity back to the innocent minds of these students. Again, I believe the BTN programme has done wonder to put many of the secindary school staff and administrators on the need to defend the supremacy and the right of the malays. Believe me, if you are a matured intellectual, you will not like to allow your children to be subjected to all these racial prejudice and disrimination from such a young age. To me, the national schools, their teaching and administration staff, the state education departments and the government's discriminating policies are the main culprit to create disunity among the young in this country and not the vernacular schoold for heaven sake. Go ahead and tell your son that he has lesser right than another and then you tell me how he is going to behave and how you can convince him that this is for the sake of unity. Wake up man, don't write nonsense and try to look intelligent.
written by cruzeiro, November 19, 2008 17:16:47
Zainul,
I'm almost convinced that you've got the right idea.
While your intention in suggesting that funding for "vernacular" schools, for reason that it works against national intergration may be noble - it is sorely misguided and myopic. Just introducing teachers of Mandarin and Tamil, isn't going to convince parents to send their children to SKs.

It isn't so much the fault of these vernacular schools, that national intergration doesn't exist. It is only becos the SKs are bent on keeping their students in coccoons in the name of "Ketuanan Melayu" and "Islamisation".

The people hate the idea that their children are exposed to these corrupting influences of BTN, facilitated by teachers who are sub-standard.
I hear parents complaining almost every day that the children are left to their own devices towards the end of the year - and so they cook up all sorts of excuses not to send them to school during this period.
The cyber cafes make tons of money from these children who play truant (not to mention the makan shops where teenage boys & girls hang out for idle talk & cigarettes.

The problemn isn't with the vernacular schools - it lies with govt policies. As such many parents seek many an excuse to send them to Chinese schools. "Education" in SKs are designed to suppress and alienate those they perceive to be "aliens/ kafirs".
If at all the Govt wishes intergration, they need to do away with indoctrination, promote "critical pedagogy" and recognize meritocracy - with the healthy competition, the loser can be phased out naturally due to poor demand or marketability.

Sadly the Govt of the day, thru the Ministry of Education (since Mahathirs day's) is bent on creating a bunch of losers through their SKs, just so that they can thump their chest with the empty pride of "ketuanan" ideas.
written by cruzeiro, November 19, 2008 17:18:32
TYPO
While your intention in suggesting that funding for "vernacular" schools be stopped, for the reason that it ......
written by wongsen, November 20, 2008 00:21:27
The Government simply do not paid enough to attract talent to take up teaching. I remember vividly back in my sixth form year in 1983, My applied maths teacher advicing us not to take up teaching as the paid is suck. He end up quitting the teacher profession when I left for University.

I can see even the standard of teaching in Vernacular school had dropped significantly as well, teachers these day are spending more time and effort in their tuition class than at the school.

I remember one incident few year back, when my son's friend had some question to ask in class, the teacher write down her mobile number on the blackboard and tell the student to ask his mum to called the number to enroll for tuition class. what's a disgrace to the teaching profession.

Discrimination in promotion and low pay scale is some of the major factor why most people shun having a career in teaching profession.
written by DontPlayGod, November 20, 2008 23:46:19
What is the author talking about? UMNO is practising racial discrimination, apartheid, ketuanan Melayu, NEP, and here he is saying the main reason is our schooling system? Read my lips, UMNO doesn't want integration/unity. Period.

UMNO has turned the national schools into Malay supremacy shools where ketuanan is stressed, and now Islam is also stressed. The non-Malays are only keen for their children to have quality education, and they can't find it in the national schools. As an example, there is a national school in a small township in north Perak where the students in this SPM year have not attended class for the last 6 months(not for lack of teachers), but the teachers don't teach or are bothered about whether their students attend classes or not.

Can you now see why the non-Malays send their children to vernacular schools?