RM1m Spent By 10 MPs For Festivities PDF Print
Tuesday, 18 November 2008 22:38

KUALA LUMPUR: Ten Barisan Nasional (BN) members of parliament spent almost RM1 million each for various festive celebrations including open houses in their constituencies last year, the Dewan
Rakyat was told today.

Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister's Department, Datuk Johari Baharum, said they were among 196 BN MPs who used a special allocation to pay for festive celebrations like Hari Raya Aidilfitri/Aidiladha, the Muslim fasting month of Ramadhan, Chinese New Year, Deepavali, Hari Gawai, the Keamatan Fest, Christmas, Wesak Day, the National Day and the like.

"The expenses cover food and drink; canopy and equipment rental; contributions to the poor, orphans and the disabled; and related services," he said in a written reply to a question by Tan Kok Wai (DAP-Cheras) in the Dewan Rakyat here today.

Tan wanted to know the cost of festive celebrations held by BN parliamentarians through a special 2007 allocation and the 10 highest spending parliamentary ares.

Mohd Johari said of the 10 areas, three in Terengganu were the highest in terms of programmes, led by Kuala Terengganu which held 304 functions costing RM917,588.00.

The Kuala Nerus constituency held 248 functions costing RM946,115.30 while Marang held 186 functions costing RM914,250.00.

Other constituencies that used the allocation were Tenom (58 programmes, RM988,475), Dungun (87 programmes, RM977,000.00), Putatan (86 programmes, RM971,000), Tawau (66 programmes, RM948,575), Silam (40 programmes, RM946,420.00), Sepanggar (54 programmes, RM918,480.00) and Parit (37 programmes, RM916,407.50).

- Bernama

written by biggun129, November 18, 2008 22:49:17
This is Money Politic by UMNO, the gave RM 1 million to each of the 196 MP totaling 196 millions every years, Malaysia, Malaysia,Malaysia sudah Berjaya, by spending the people's money, all these MP should be call 'Yang Buruk'!!!
written by Hello Keithy, November 18, 2008 22:51:41
Sometimes one wonders when all these will stop. All these looting and robbing off public wealth, using sports clubs as in local councils as a front to get 'contributions' which are in fact, bribes and now this. How you just wish these bastards will bleed from their seven senses and rot from inside out. Damn all their future generations to hell. Malaysians, please vote them out in the next election. This will end all their 'joyride' at the expense of the Rakyat.
written by DreamLady, November 18, 2008 22:57:51
Sedapnya pakai duit rakyat! mana maruah engkau semua??? Muka tembok betul!!!!
written by michael chick, November 18, 2008 23:10:54
There is a Phrase called "Casting Pearls before Swine"
written by merchant222, November 18, 2008 23:18:31
Isn't this extravagance of BN, using tax payers money for their own agenda. If the Rakyat is so dumb to vote BN again, what we say.

The Blind Nation(BN) is leading "THE BLIND VOTERS"...TOO BAD they don't know how to chose the right and the wrong! That is Ketua-Nan BN!
written by Krepot, November 18, 2008 23:23:56
Why do I even bother paying income tax!
Damn!
written by michael chick, November 18, 2008 23:35:05
Pay tax? Krepot? Coz someone said, "God told me to Tell you to Pay Taxes".
Go slap UMNO in the face !!!
written by johntyc, November 18, 2008 23:38:55
Entah apa nak dikatakan kepada pengundi di kawasan mereka (BN). Tidakkah pengundi-pengundi ini berpendapat bahawa peruntukan ini harus disalurkan kepada mereka yang lebih memerlukannya daripada dibazirkan dalam majlis kenduri. Sedarlah!
written by ilovepakatan, November 18, 2008 23:41:22

Read: http://bolehjokes.********.com
written by onnetline, November 18, 2008 23:54:59
What's new about corruption and abuse of power in Barisan Najis government ???
written by gx27, November 19, 2008 00:51:23
Tahu kenduri and makan only.
Hello BN bastards, stop wasting public's money.
why not give it in the form of scholarships and welfare to the hard core poor people.
to the extremely obesed datin datin and fatso datuk datuks, you all are too fat now!!
be careful, you might die of heart attack if you are too greedy and lazy!!
written by teohchye, November 19, 2008 05:28:29
I think what has been disclosed in Dewan Rakyat is only the tip of the iceberg. These goons have been robbing the country silly for half a century. Actually, our country is blessed with so much resources (tin, rubber, oil palm, timber, land, oil, etc, etc .. you name it, we have it!) and also practically no natural calamities such as earthquakes, typhoons & cyclones, tidal waves etc, etc, (you name it, we do not have it!). The states with oil such as Terengganu, Sabah and Sarawak have become the poorest states. Why? Because of all the "robbing and looting" by the leaders. Enough is enough. Porah!
written by JJFoo, November 19, 2008 09:58:12
These figures speak for itself. Systematic scheming? The numbers of functions and programmes held varies like hell but the RM figures remain constant, well within the 900K bracket.

Kuala Terengganu-304 functions- RM917,588.00.
Kuala Nerus - 248 functions - RM946,115.30
Marang-186 functions - RM914,250.00.
Tenom -58 programmes- RM988,475,00
Dungun -87 programmes- RM977,000.00
Putatan -86 programmes - RM971,000.00
Tawau-66 programmes - RM948,575.00
Silam -40 programmes- RM946,420.00
Sepanggar-54 programmes- RM918,480.00
Parit-37 programmes- RM916,407.50.
written by AngryTaxpayer, November 19, 2008 11:10:27
Wanna bet that half of all those money spent for feasts goes into commissions?

I voted for an end to all these looting in March '08.......and i hope those idiots who voted the thieves back into our nation's coffers are kicking themselves very hard in their ass smilies/angry.gif
written by thor, November 19, 2008 20:18:57
And u must NOT FORGET, there are some who went AND was later labelled as GATECRASHERS. See their twisted logic, using OUR MONIES as IF it BELONGS to TO THEIR GRANDFATHERS, u make yr own judgement whether the food and drinks served there are VFM (Value For Money)or inflated with "commissions"

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES