Opposition leaders urged not to belittle security forces PDF Print
Tuesday, 18 November 2008 22:26

PUTRAJAYA, Nov 18 (Bernama): Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar today urged the opposition parties not to belittle the security forces because they are the enforcement agencies responsible for safeguuarding peace and security in the country.

He said they should criticise if there were any shortcomings and action would be taken if the criticisms had basis but they shold not politicise the
matter.

"I hope that the opposition parties will not simply belittle everyone. I see all sorts of people running us down.

"If something is good, say so. If it's not, criticise and we will rectify it. We admit that not everything is perfect. I accept that. We got problem and we intend to tackle it but please don't condemn all the time," he told reporters after the ministry's monthly gathering here, when asked to comment on the attitude of DAP advisor Lim Kit Siang who is said to be constantly questioning the credibilty of the security ofrces.

Syed Hamid said Lim should act maturely and not condemn the security forces just to become popular.

He did not deny that there were cases which were difficult to solve but said that if this became the focus to belittle the security forces it would not help in confidence building.

"If there are unsolved cases, no police force will rest easy, especially if they are cases involving the kidnapping of small children, and these are case that we would want to solve but sometimes they cannot be solved," he said.

He also said that during a financial crisis the security aspects must be stepped up to ensure that the secret societies and the loan sharks did not capitalise on the situation to fleece the people.

"If people are pressured, they may do things that they don't normally do so we must continue to step up our security," he said.

- BERNAMA

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by SocratesI, November 18, 2008 22:32:01

The Anjing are doing an Excellent job of belittling themselves in the eyes of any onlooker, whether Rakyat or criminal !! We don't need to do it for them ! There is nothing we can do that can be better than what the Anjing themselves are doing to lose the Rakyat's respect and earn the disdain and disgust of the criminals !!

written by budakindia, November 18, 2008 22:37:11
Maybe we should pat them at the back for taking bribes? Or for beating us to pulp? What can these animals be commended for? smilies/cheesy.gif
written by biggun129, November 18, 2008 22:38:58
The Police always want to solve the problems of the citizen, is you, the HM Syed amid albar that give the forces problems, you instructed them to create problems, they have no choice because they are your Servants not our Servants,you should get lost from Malaysia, we do not need you this kind of Pariah Menteri!!!
written by Kathy, November 18, 2008 22:39:50
"Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar today urged the opposition parties not to belittle the security forces because they are the enforcement agencies responsible for safeguuarding peace and security in the country."

Correction, the security forces are agencies who enforce the law for the benefit of UMNO politicians, and I'm sure many Malaysians will agree with me. It is the duty of the Opposition to question the shortcomings of the security forces, make the rakyat aware when they are not doing their duty or performing well in order that they can improve. That is not belittling, Comical Albar, it is constructive criticism. Mind you, the UMNO govt. is not used to being criticised, is it? For far too long they have not had a meaningful Opposition yapping at their ankles; now they have it they are put on the defensive.
written by DreamLady, November 18, 2008 22:43:52
More is coming, to add fuel to the fire !!! The home minister is now threatening the opposition party with armed forces !!!

Something is definitely not right to begin with. The ministry would not tolerate any constructive criticism. For those who fail to abide by its rules, wrath is awaiting them !!!!

To all my dearest Malaysians, our politicians are threatening the rakyat with armed forces. Use your six sense to analyze what the home minister is driving at!!!!I know and you know that our well-beings are in danger!!

Once again, Hamid is throwing his weights around to show us he is in power, this time, with the help of military forces !!!!

written by BennyG, November 18, 2008 22:48:27
Now UMNO strategy is if you speak against UMNOputras, you are against all Malay, ISLAM and now security forces.

Do not allow UMNO to twist it to their favour in this case as the security forces will take it out on the candlelight vigils or similar events.

Time for PR to state that the security forces who are impartial should not be polluted by UMNO lapdogs. Time to make them realise that the high petrol prices will erode their earnings and livelihood as well.

High petrol prices are meant to ensure that their billion ringgit project will go ahead so that the "commissions" will flow to them. Time for the security forces to know who benefit most from all the corrupt practices. Not the security forces definitely.
written by Heaven8402, November 18, 2008 22:49:07
Bunyi macam amaran aje!!!

Botak said.."He did not deny that there were cases which were difficult to solve but said that if this became the focus to belittle the security forces it would not help in confidence building"

Difficult case to solve if they involve um-no and cronies and the easiest and fastest case to solve if they involve the opposition parties. smilies/tongue.gif
written by arazak, November 18, 2008 22:58:38
Syed Botak said, "during a financial crisis the security aspects must be stepped up to ensure that the secret societies and the loan sharks did not capitalise on the situation to fleece the people".
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

WTF!!!. . .UMNO is the secret society and the loan shark that have fleeced the rakyaats' money in good and bad times to the tune of billions of ringgit for the past 50 years!

This slimeball Botak is a real myopic. . .!

written by Bloodhound, November 18, 2008 23:02:56
There will be no smoke without fire!

Security forces being used to do the political biddings of the government will result in an inefficient force. When they should be concentrating on maintaining security of the nation and reduce crime rate, politicians sees it fit to send them running around doing unnecessary minor work - overkill in cases of brutality against peaceful gatherings and chasing after RPk and Anwar.

No wonder crime rates are soaring - even a simple citizen can easily come to such a conclusion...wonder why those who are in charge of leading the security forces are unable to arrive at such simple conclusions - it's what we call prioritising workload to get maximum effect with minimum input!

How would the public perceived a security force running around like beheaded chickens chasing insignificant shadows when the general public are experiencing the unpleasant effect of rising crime rates?

Belittling of the security forces can only be possible if politicians choose to interfere with their rightful duties to protect the people and instead divert the limited resources to areas which have no impact on the daily lives of the citizens.

When we see security forces being made fools of by politicians sending them chasing shadows which are perceived to be insignificant as compared to normal policing duties which have a direct impact on lives of the people, then, any normal person will conclude that the security forces are incapable, inept, plain stupid and uncaring for the needs of the public.

So, Mr. Home Minister, its the politicians who are creating a climate whereby the security forces are seen to be inept, inefficient, incapable and when they unleash their brutality onto innocent citizens of the nation, they deserved to be belittled.
written by eskay, November 18, 2008 23:03:28
Come on HM,it's those who made use of PDRM as their political tools that put PDRM in shame, don't put the blame on opposition or your rakyat, ok ? How can you twist yr words around to such extend ? OMG !! Can't believe it !

Rakyat are smart enough to see this very clearly. They don't respect & have no confidence in PDRM anymore all b'coz UMNO people have abused their power & manipulated PDRM as if PDRM are their paid staff. It's very obvious & as clear as a crystal to everyone's eyes. Sssh, stop saying such thing anymore for goodness sake, at least for the sake of your own reputation lah !
written by Joe, November 18, 2008 23:10:20
Its clear cut. En. Albar here is saying things like that, on the one side, to defend criticism on the police force, and on the other to sic the police on the opposition.

Any self-respecting police man will now look upon Lim Kit Siang and his ilk (the opposition), as trouble makers trying to pick a fight/point out their weaknesses for political mileage.

Is this how a Home Minister should carry himself?

What should he say? Well, he should defend the criticism raised, point by point. Offer up an explanation if not an apology. He should not target the person who raised the issues. This is akin to killing the messenger, or targeting whistle-blowers.

He does not deserve his position, nor his titles.
written by Kapsiow, November 18, 2008 23:20:00
Just because I honked at an unmarked police 4-wheel drive that was trying to muscle into my lane on the Penang bridge yesterday, the a**holes in the 4-wheel drive flashed their blue light to intimidate me. The f**king badge doesn't give you the right to drive like you own the road or maybe this is what "ketuanan" means. Respect is earned, a**holes !!!!!
written by michael chick, November 18, 2008 23:20:43
written by wood, November 18, 2008 23:23:36
I as an ordinary rakyat cannot understand why ordinary rakyat carrying candles and singing songs can be a threat to peace and security . Why not try and leave them alone and see what happens for a change?
written by merchant222, November 18, 2008 23:30:58
Hey brader shiitte, people are belittling you-lah, not just the police force. You are a politician, you don't know how to "Read In Between The Lines" ah???

That is BN Ministers' incompetence!

written by johntyc, November 18, 2008 23:51:11
.....please don't condemn all the time,"

How do you expect us to not condemn all the time since you did bad things and did things badly all the time?!
written by PRman, November 19, 2008 00:10:55
Our cops are corrupted, incompetent and abusive to the core! Just ask any persons among your friends/collegue/families, and I am sure there will be bad stories about cops to tell. Please SYED, stop all the nonsense or comment, and get back to work professionally! Being incompetent is one thing, but consistently acting incompetent and stupid are really as unacceptable as it can bear by Malaysians. If you can't do ur job right, quit!
written by Semut Jantan, November 19, 2008 03:46:52
The Anjing Diraja Malaysia is safeguarding the UMNOputras. Or, who ever has milk, the Anjing would call her, MAMA.

If PR becomes the gomen, the Anjing would also call them MAMA too.

So, the Anjing is what, a laughing stock right? Porah punya Anjing! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAH!!!!!! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by A MI, November 19, 2008 06:43:04
Talking about other who need to be act mature??? Look who is talking.
Give respect and earn respect.
You- and because of you - your ministry and the PeeDeeArEm have lost the respect of the ordinary thinking people. I can't say much for the "ignorant" gullible people whom you have been hoodwinking through the mass media.

Botak please be informed that you are not god!
Were you dropped on your head at birth?

Did you ever think that you could drop dead anytime too and then what?
Your arrogance and all your injustice to date would have already secured a place for you in HELL. Ameen.
Just wondering how many curses you receive each day.

Who are the idiots who voted for you? Oh I forgot you are among those who won by postal posts wakakakaka
written by dumbfounded, November 19, 2008 09:07:25
Facts speak for themselves. But then if no one complains, the home mister is going to think everything is hunky dory. And the police is a corrupt inefficient lot because the head of the troop are a corrupt servant of the executive himself.

Your ministry has so far arrested ppl for things concerning religion, for wearing t-shirts, and for lighting candles.

If at all the opposition is getting popular, it is because they are saying it on behalf of us ordinary Malaysians. To find your proof, why don't you go undercover, shed your coat and bodyguards and walk on the streets in places with high crime rate? Then lodge a report and see what your minions tell you. "Oh it happens all the time. You're lucky you survived."

If you want a good report card, do your homework.
written by tanwi, November 19, 2008 13:47:21
Idiot is one word to start of this post. Firstly, its all about numbers and accountability. Crimes reported vs crimes solved. If this numbers suck, than it has to do with resources and management of the police force. nuff said, the numbers are bad and the police force is mismanaged. I wonder by who. By the FEDERAL GOVERNMENT!!

Besides numbers, the aggressive police action on the ISA supporters and Cheras toll issue is disgusting. The lack of action against rowdy supporters demonstrating against the Bar Council is another example of biasness and lack of decisiveness and decision making by the force.

From a citizen to Encik Syed, you are appointed by the citizens and i ask you to shut up and stop making idiotic remarks. Just show improved numbers and stop being defensive!