Armed Forces, Police To Jointly Tackle Security Threats - Armed Forces Chief PDF Print
Tuesday, 18 November 2008 20:39

PUTRAJAYA, Nov 18 (Bernama) -- The Malaysian Armed Forces (ATM) and the Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM) will proceed with the second phase of their joint-exercise next year, as preparation to tackle security threats following the current global economic crisis.

ATM chief Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Zainal said several threats had been identified, following the economic crisis, such as increase in criminal cases, influx of negative foreign ideologies and the current political situation.

He said these required the ATM to work closely with other security agencies like the police, to tackle the challenges.

"We will probably set the date next year, as we all have our respective agendas and need to study other aspects," he told reporters at the seminar on Global Trends and Its Implication On Security, jointly-organised by ATM and PDRM here, Tuesday.

Also present were Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan and his deputy, Tan Sri Ismail Omar.

Abdul Aziz said the seminar was aimed at strengthening the cooperation between ATM and the police, not only in practice, but also in sharing information for more effective action.

Abdul Aziz said the influx of negative foreign ideologies such as Jemaah Islamiyah (JI) was openly discussed in the seminar.

"Several possible threats are also being studied and analysed in the seminar. We could then learn how they could be detected and tackled using possible security measures," he said.

Meanwhile, Musa said the current global economic crisis would also push up the crime rate in the country, especially with the overflowing arrivals of illegal immigrants.

For that, he said, the police and armed forces should strengthen border controls and seek cooperation from all enforcement agencies, such as the immigration and customs departments, to establish an integrated action plan to safeguard borders.

On JI, Musa said the police had been monitoring the movement, especially after its leaders Imam Samudra, Amrozi Nurhasyim and Ali Ghufron were sentenced to death in Nusakambangan Prison, Indonesia early this month.

The trio were found guilty of the Bali bombing in 2002 which left 202 people dead.

The death sentence, however, had triggered dissatisfaction among their followers.

"Many are discontented. As a neighbouring country, we (Malaysia) believe that when they take a little too much on the ideology, it will become a threat.

"However, we are monitoring the situation closely so that it will not spread into the country," he said, adding that the police were also eyeing the local scene, including the political situation.

-- BERNAMA

written by michael chick, November 18, 2008 20:46:13
MALAYSIANS unite NOW !!!!

They will find every excuse to arrest from now on !!!
written by shan, November 18, 2008 20:57:33
Yahoo,.,.,.,Marshal law, next, and then umno dream of ketuanan melayu and islam hadhari will be realised by killing all the infidel Indians and Chinese.,.,Better we learn kungfu and kalari payat for protection. smilies/angry.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by densemy, November 18, 2008 21:01:29
More Fear Tactics In Malaysia that can mean anything from reporting accurately what a bigot has to say to full scale nuclear attack
written by borneoman, November 18, 2008 21:02:52
who is actualy threatening our national security?the police are needed to keep our streets,roads etc safe and now you want them to prepare for war?the malaysian army are a bunch of overweight idiots who spend the whole day munching food because they have nothing else better to do.the moron army are envious of the police who can terrorise bolehland do anything they like eg..bashing innocent people who practices the true spirit of democracy.stop wasting the taxpayers money in your stupid war games.
written by Dongra Dude, November 18, 2008 21:07:40
"More Flow of Illegal Immigrants" more monthly collections! Hurray smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by ahmadneil, November 18, 2008 21:13:09
Arrest the person who use C4 on Altantuya.This is the real security threat not arresting a writer RPK, a singer Paula,a MP Theresa Kok,a journalist etc.Get your priorities right.
written by michael chick, November 18, 2008 21:17:13
What would you expect if UMNO find a Teddy Bear a Threat to National Security??
written by Dogboy, November 18, 2008 21:24:49
Yeah on their list of security threats are Anwar Inbrahim, Lim Kit Siang, RPK, and other bloggers and anti-government people. I'm sure they've got their priorities right our beloved and efficient police and army C4
written by DreamLady, November 18, 2008 21:25:07
My speculation few hours ago becomes reality less than 24 hours. From now on till next March, there will be more rampant arrests based on ISA to detain rakyat so that the take over PM post by najib shall be smooth-sailing.

That is why the military and police join forces to gang up on those people who voice the loudest, even though the rakyat have every right to do so as individuals. I am not surprised that whatever we comment at MT is being scrutinized to the last digit by the goons.

Economic recession has nothing to do with the frustration of the rakyat, it is the unjust way we are being treated by those who are paid to protect us and our interest as individuals.

The death of three fanatic muslim followers from Indonesia does not create any impact on Malaysians overall, cos' we are peace-loving people. It is just a lame excuse for the forces to say so.

But on second thoughts, people like Raja Petra could be bundled into the dungeon for upholding his principle, anything could happen to any innocent person on the street based on cut and paste police reports.

The taxpayers pay for the upkeep of police and military forces, without the taxpayers, there will not be the forces. It would be the case of those who bite the hands that feed them should the forces victimize the rakyat cum taxpayers in the most unbecoming manner!!
written by Sabahfan, November 18, 2008 21:34:55
THE REAL THREAT to the security of Malaysialand are the UMNO members spying like GESTAPOS in the police and army. Dictatorship is here unless you get rid of evil UMNO.
written by chanatak, November 18, 2008 21:40:06
Oh Oh! This sounds like the army wants in on brutalizing of Abolish ISA movement and bloggers. I cannot believe this!! But it is happening.
written by hellboykl, November 18, 2008 21:40:29
Yeah sure!!
Now the ATM joined with PDRM to curb peaceful activists, they might shoot us for carrying a candle or joining the candlelight vigil.
All this while it was PDRM was corrupted the next its going to be the ATM.
written by hiro, November 18, 2008 21:44:36
It is horendous that the government is allowing military intervention into peaceful expression. One word comes to mind. Will Malaysia end up being the other Tiananmen?
written by SamSan, November 18, 2008 22:06:51
The real security threat is Altantuya rising from her grave and terrorising all those scumbags who perpetrated this heinous crime to cover up their slime ball activity. I suppose it it correct to get the army involved in this security threat given that C4 explosives was used to blow Altantuya to pieces.
written by cheekhiaw, November 18, 2008 22:14:18
Our real security threat are the thieves from within...

written by Goostee, November 18, 2008 22:36:04
Don't be a big bully. I go to rallies merely with a water bottle to express my frustration against the way you all squandered our money despite you being Muslims.
written by Old Man, November 18, 2008 23:10:56
Who is feeling insecured? No neighbouing country is about to wage a war against Malaysia. So why get the ATM involved? Of course the stepping up of security by the PDRM was long overdue because nowadays there are more rapists and extremists on the loose even before the execution of the 3 Bali bombers! smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by Joe, November 18, 2008 23:18:29
I think its a good sign that the government want to team the ATM and PDRM to come down hard on "foreign ideologies". This shows one thing: Desperation.

written by Fart Fart Wah, November 19, 2008 01:42:29
YOU CANNOT EVEN TAKE CARE OF SIPADAN...AND BATU PUTEH..

....HELLLO..WE ARE NOT UNDER ANY THREAT....??? PUT MORE SOLDIERS ON ALL THE BOATS AND SHIPS HEADING TO MADAGASCAR AND THE PIRATE ZONES INSTEAD OF THEM SITTING HERE LIKE SITTING DUCKS LAH...

AND EVEY BANK AND EVERY CROSS ROAD SO THAT NO BODY WILL RAPE NO BODY AND NO BODY WILL SNATCH NOBODYS HANDBAG....INSTEAD OF LETTING THEM SIT AROUND INT HE CAMPS..

AND STOP THE POLICE FROM HAVING 8-10 BREAKFAST...ONE ROUND COLLECTION...TILL 12...AND THEN ADJOURN FOR FREE LUNCH....12- 2 AND THEN ONE MORE COLLECTION TILL 4...AND THEN WAIT TO PUCH CARD BALEK...
written by Admiral Tojo, November 19, 2008 02:08:41
I do not give a **** what the General says as he most probably is already involved in corruption alongside UMNO. The Colonels and brigade commanders will determine whether the Army leaves the barracks or not.

Peace
Ex Commando
written by Vasily, November 19, 2008 02:55:16
written by Admiral Tojo, November 19, 2008 02:08:41

I do not give a **** what the General says as he most probably is already involved in corruption alongside UMNO. The Colonels and brigade commanders will determine whether the Army leaves the barracks or not.

Peace
Ex Commando
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Tojo,

You mentioned Brigade comander..aren't you?...did you mean Brigadier General (Rt) Datuk Paduka Hussainay "Fcuking" Hussein...setiausha kerja UMNO tu??
written by talk2stop, November 19, 2008 06:20:26
This is a very unusual move for a nation to "mobilise" the army during economic crisis. It must the hidden stimulus plan. Why didn't the Americans think of that?
Nice move Malaysia.
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 19, 2008 08:36:37
The Malaysian Armed Forces (ATM) and the Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM) will proceed with the second phase of their joint-exercise next year, as preparation to tackle security threats following the current global economic crisis.
ATM chief Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Zainal said several threats had been identified, following the economic crisis, such as increase in criminal cases, influx of negative foreign ideologies and the current political situation

WE CAN ACCEPT CRIME INCREASES. PLS DEFINE NEGATIVE FOREIGN IDEOLOGIES AND CURRENT POLITICAL SITUATION. SO, BY YR INTERPRETATION/INFERENCE, WE CAN EXPECT YR SUBMARINE TO SURFACE UP OUR TOILET BOWLS, SUKHOI PLANES TO LAND ON OUR ROOFS AS LONG AS WE OPPOSE THE TYRANNY OF THE YR MASTERS?? SAY LAH, YOU ARE PREPARING FOR MARSHALL LAW TO KEEP THE PM ELECT/DICTATOR IN POWER AND SUPPRESS ALL DISSENT/OPPOSITION.

written by Jit Dharma, November 19, 2008 12:48:39
I will remind you Sir, that the armed forces and Police are the protectors of the
Rakyat and not their oppressors.Be prepared for a change of Government.Don't get in
our way.