Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malaysians are now paying petrol tax

Malaysians are now paying petrol tax PDF Print
Tuesday, 18 November 2008 16:10

By Shannon Teoh

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 18 — Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shahrir Samad revealed today the government has stopped subsidising petrol since Nov 1 and has been effectively collecting taxes instead on petrol consumption.

A motorist pumps petrol at a service station in Kuala Lumpur today. The government lowered the petrol price to RM2 per litre today and RM1.90 for diesel. — AP pic

Speaking to reporters in Parliament, he explained that even after the 15-sen drop today, which saw RON97 petrol dropping to RM2 per litre, and RON92 and diesel down to RM1.90, the government was no longer subsidising petrol at the pumps.

"Even if prices return to RM1.92, we will still have a bit of surplus," he said, adding that subsidies had disappeared once the global price of oil had dipped under US$65 per barrel.

Current prices are hovering at US$55 per barrel.

As oil companies take a 19-sen cut and fuel station operators take 12 sen, it can be inferred that the cost price of RON97 petrol is currently below RM1.61 if the government can still generate income at RM1.92.

Shahrir explained that the difference between petrol pump prices and the cost plus commission for the companies and operators was being returned to the government effectively as a form of tax.

This gels with the 2009 Budget winding-up speech by Finance Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak where he claimed a projected RM7 billion savings in fuel subsidies will be utilised to stimulate the troubled economy.

The statement was puzzling as the government had earlier said it would maintain a 30-sen fuel subsidy to keep pump prices below market prices.

Shahrir also projected that with RM21 billion budgeted for fuel subsidies in 2009 and subsidies for 2007, when prices had averaged US$65 per barrel, amounting to RM8.8 billion, savings from fuel subsidies would be far more than RM7 billion.

"If crude oil stays under US$60 per barrel, I am expecting at least RM10 billion," he said.

He also added that subsidies for diesel and natural gas are still in place.

Shahrir, however, explained that this did not mean that the people were not being helped by the government.

"We are still giving the RM625 road tax rebate for cars and RM150 for motorbikes that goes straight into your pocket," he said, referring to the rebate announced when RON97 shot up to RM2.70.

"So the rebate is for when the people suffered for about three months," he said.

The Johor Baru MP had called a press conference to announce that a total cost of RM21.4 billion had been incurred by the government up to October this year due to tax exemptions and subsidies for fuel against RM16.2 billion last year.

This, however, is without tax exemption figures for October 2008.

He also said that government would consider a floor price for fuel.

- The Malaysian Insider

written by michael chick, November 18, 2008 16:14:23
I say we cripple UMNO forever !!!

agree 152
written by michael chick, November 18, 2008 16:26:41
Brother and Sisters of Sabah and Sarawak, UMNO is using YOUR OIL money to finance their SINS !! Please stop this today !!
Ask why is Petrol more expensive in Sabah and Sarawak compared to the Peninsular, when it comes from YOUR LAND?
I say you TAKE BACK YOUR OIL Money, and Develop YOUR COUNTRY yourself !!! You have been raped for too long. Announce this up and down the Rejang! Announce this up and down the Kinabatangan !!!
agree 155
written by karyeowl, November 18, 2008 16:28:20
Satu lagi Project BOHONG dari Kerajaan Barisan Nasional In this internet age, we can check and know of all the petroleum prices worldwide, yet BN dares to cheat us. The gas price in USA has dropped below US$2.00 per US gallon (or RM1.91 per liter) a few weeks ago. Malaysian are really rich. We pay higher than world market price for fuel and also car. For less than US$27,000 one can buy a new 2.4l Toyota Camry Hybrid.

What a lie!
agree 123
written by kennyeu, November 18, 2008 16:31:30
the government had earlier said it would maintain a 30-sen fuel subsidy to keep pump prices below market prices

What was the term use to describe people who never keep promises... oh yeah... UMNO.
written by ahmadneil, November 18, 2008 16:39:27
The Petronas twin towers are built using Sabah and Sarawak's oil revenue.The 2 states gov't have already informed the federal gov't that we have sent a demolition team to tear down the twin towers and bring them home,one for Sabah and the other one for Sarawak.All the expenses incurred will be bored by the federal gov't.
written by ahmadneil, November 18, 2008 16:43:32
Michael Chick,
Sabah and Sarawak are in agreement to stop Petronas from drilling oil here.Unless all the agreements are renegotiated,Petronas are banned from our shores.If all is right,then we Sabahan and Sarawakian will have free petrol for life.We will be importing big Americans cars like Hammer.
written by Steven Tan, November 18, 2008 16:57:45
Dear Brothers and Sisters,

Telling lies is not something new to "them", All of them having PhD in telling lies, probably PhD from UiTM smilies/wink.gif. Just imagine the price mentioned for Eurocopter was RM2.3 billion but all of sudden it became RM1.6 billion. Since they been caught red handed (tangkap basah) quickly the reviewed the price and act like innocent.

With current World Oil Price, easily the petrol can be sold below RM1.50 per litre but still they finding excuses to sustain the higher price simply to protect their and their cronies personal interest. Ultimately we're forced to pay for their luxury life.

DSAI and PKR pleaseeeeee do something A.S.A.P before to late smilies/sad.gif
written by Path Fighter To truth, November 18, 2008 17:00:58

Lies and Lies again. When will they stop telling bullshit and let me live in peace. Do not make any promise if you cannot deliever. Stupid people from the power of corrider.
written by wartank, November 18, 2008 17:23:06
Bro' & sis',

They take away your subsidies when fuel prices escalate and they earn huge profits from oil taxes. Now, they tax the people when prices are down and they also earn. So, why are the country and its residents, more so the people of Sabah & Sarawak not enjoying the returns? Why are prices of other essentials/commodities still high?

It seemed that either way we lose. The power to change is in your hands, people of S & S. Pls act now!
written by boeytahan, November 18, 2008 17:25:31
MALAYSIAN BEING RAPED IN DAYLIGHT AGAIN.

A steep increase when global fuel prices soars. This government is making us soooo foolish in their endeavour.

Haven't they thought of inflating prices of necessary daliy items with their action which caused severe hardship to all communities? It's very unfair to have rebates for vehicle owners. What's happenning to those who doesn't own cars? Would they compansate those who travelled by public transport and those in the rural areas?

Now the world fuel prices if at USD55 per barrel and they are cocking about not subsidising fuel for the rakyat. Adhoi! is this a fair explanation?

Should the government spend RM30 million as commission for dispersing the subsidy for motorist at this hard-up days? Somebody is putting millions into pockets of Pos Malaysia's bosses.

Super calculators at work!

BOEYTAHAN!!!
written by temenggong, November 18, 2008 17:26:31
Good, that there is no more fuel subsidies. That was an inadvertent stroke of luck. From now on please ensure that fuel prices fluctuates with the market prices and NEVER introduce subsidies again!

Now get rid of the road tax rebate.
written by BennyG, November 18, 2008 17:45:48
Time to have candlelight vigils for NO TO PAYING PETROL TAXES. This time, thousands will turn up. This time everyone will be affected by UMNO's HIGH PETROL PRICES. Tell all the aunties & uncles why their coffee, tea, are still so expensive and why bus fare has to go up. I'm sure that there will be more people than FRU at the candlelight vigils.
written by Wudan, November 18, 2008 18:15:46
Based on Sharir’s press conference, at USD 55 per barrel, the refining cots of our country refiners is RM1.61/litre. The refiners (we have only 3 refiners i.e. Petronas, Shell and ExxonMobil) margin are 19sen/litre (I don’t know if Gomen fixes this rate). The margin for petrol retailers are now 12sen/litre (after raised from 9 sen/litre).
At the effective retail price of Rm2.00 today, you and I are now subsidizing our BN government 8sen for every litre of RON 97 we consume.

“He also said that government would consider a floor price for fuel.”

The above statement means all lower crude price savings will go to the BN Government in the form of ‘petrol tax’.

Najib, please explain your earlier promise that the BN Governmant will maintain a 30sen/litre subsidy .

Jangan tipu lagi!
written by aykf9439, November 18, 2008 18:24:16
When the oil price per barrel is hovering at Usd 120, the goverment raised the petrol price to the max of Rm 2.70 and it just effected the mutiple effect for the inflation of the household goods to rise to all time high, that makes all of us to suffer and lost our purchasing power with our ringgits. Now ur talking abt the petrol is lower and much cheaper and there is there are cealing price impose on the essential goods for rice , meat? Tell me , Mr. Minister , do u know wat is the price of a kg of Chicken as of today in the market? Wat's the price of a 10kg of 10% rice as of today? the ceiling price that the Kementerian Perdagangan imposed, is there any follow up mechanism available to check from the importer to wholesaler and to the end users like us that the price is as low as what u guys r shouting about? The problems starts when the goverment did make the most stupidest mistake in history to raise the fuel price to the max of Rm 2.70 without concrete study and analysis of the mutiple effect that it will caused to us the normal citizens out there and to the whole nation economic cycle. Evendo with a much reduced price for petrol , we're still paying 2 times of the prices of what we can purchased last 2 - 3 years back. All this happened just bcoz of us , Malaysians , having voted some brainless politicians and leaders to powers and thats the price we're paying now!
written by Harsher, November 18, 2008 18:48:14
i was right after all.. about the petrol price scam by the gahmen... http://my.0163286699.com/2008/...e-was.html
written by user1001, November 18, 2008 19:19:24
u see.. all the subsidies petrol suppose to give to us are gone! government has taken out the our petrol subsidies. Damm! if the government still paying our subsidies for petrol.. the petrol prices will be dropped to much more lower.. rite? Gov SuXks!
written by user1001, November 18, 2008 19:23:53
Otherwise if the idiots are saying that malaysians are paying the petrol tax, Why are we "malaysians" still need to pay for the road tax!? So the petrol tax covered the road tax! Damm stupid gahmen! Damm stupid Xhahrir Xamad!
written by DanielYahya, November 18, 2008 20:22:08
Wow... Didn't the government said they are gonna peg the "subsidy" at 30 sen per liter? Bunch of liars...

written by Steven Tan, November 18, 2008 16:57:45
Dear Brothers and Sisters,

Telling lies is not something new to "them", All of them having PhD in telling lies, probably PhD from UiTM

Dear sir,

I think you can get your point across without insulting UiTM grads, after all not all UiTM grads are bigots smilies/wink.gif
written by mikewang, November 18, 2008 20:34:11
"He also added that subsidies for diesel and natural gas are still in place."

Please qualify.
The diesel car owners are subsidising the government and the fishermen as the unsubsidised industrial diesel is cheaper than diesel sold at the pump.
written by ANAKSABAHAN, November 18, 2008 20:37:30
The fuel subsidy of RM625 for each vehicle below 2500cc is just another scam by the 4th floor boys. Anyone who have taken the RM625 knew that it's only took the vehicle owner IC and just mentioned the registration number of your vehicle and a signature on a piece of paper then you have your money. Here is the catch !!! When the government announce the last date for claiming the subsidy, there would be hundred of thousands vehicle owners who wouldn't know there is such a subsidy and those who are out of the country or not aware of the subsidy. These money will be hi-jackby those who manipulate the system , ie the POST OFFICE !!!!!!!!!!!!! Believe it or not
written by budakindia, November 18, 2008 21:45:21
They should also introduce the limit a person can take for stupidity! I'm just waiting for the price to shot down USD 30 per barrel! I'm sure you'll be telling you're trying to make up for the losses which you subsidized in the last 3 months! See the reaction Sharir! You think by paying RM625 per year that is enough to run a car?
written by archie, November 18, 2008 23:25:52
"He also said that the government would consider a floor price for fuel".

There is no ceiling price, so it will be a "heads you (the government) win, tails we (the people) lose" system.

The government did say that it would remove the subsidy and let the fuel price follow the crude market price.
written by Joe, November 19, 2008 00:05:40
The problem here is:
1. what is the govt going to do about all the other expenses that went up with the petrol increase, as this hits both motorists as non-motorists as well.
2. Can we trust the govt who at one point said one thing and at this point, are doing something else.

written by sarawakian, November 19, 2008 00:49:58
He also added that subsidies for diesel and natural gas are still in place.

Shahrir, however, explained that this did not mean that the people were not being helped by the government.

what a liar!!! price of cooking gas is STILL RM25 per canister and it has NOT gone down since it went up.

moreover, before the huge increment, diesel was more than 30 sen cheaper than petrol.

LIAR LIAR PANTS ON FIRE

written by binkah1, November 19, 2008 05:03:49
Shahrir, dont you remember your lie to us rakyat about how our government still subsidies petrol now that you have decided to come clean for reasons known to you? What a shame. smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by Kamikaze, November 19, 2008 07:32:41
Our leaders said we are not badly hit by the current financial turmoil.

Ya, I agree... We SHOULD NOT be so adversely affected by the current financial meltdown compared with countries such as Japan, South Korea and Taiwan in the sense that they are very much relying on exports to earn revenues.

Furthermore, we are blessed with various natural resources.

SO WHAT? Read the below and you will understand what I am trying to tell...

Taiwan government is giving out FREE shopping vouchers worth NT $3600 (about RM 390) to every citizen to boost the economy.

Back home, despite we are still net oil exporter, not only the government no longer subsize us RM 0.30 per litre of petrol as promised less than 6 months ago, we are now paying petrol tax and SUBSIDZING THE GOVERNMENT! At current prices, they are earning some revenues from our petrol purchase.

We are net oil exporter, we are blessed with various natural resources, we are not badly affected by the current financial crisis, bla bla bla... SO WHAT?

Are you wondering what our Federal Government has been doing all the while...

http://ooibenghooi.********.co...aiwan.html
written by tanwi, November 19, 2008 13:50:07
nope, the 625 rebate was a rash policy which was suppose to be either annual or one off. the govt never expected the price of petrol to plummet to todays prices. Idiots.